Research brief & institution hub

Unity Environmental University

MEMedium private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #372 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Unity Environmental University #372 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Unity Environmental University is a private nonprofit university in New Gloucester, Maine, built around environmental and life sciences. The degree mix is narrow, led by Natural Resources & Conservation and Biological Sciences, so a student wanting a broad menu of majors would not find it here.

Access is among the highest we track and the strongest . Those who finish earn less than predicts for similar students, and most are estimated to go into work rather than further study.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures adds, and the part it cannot explain subtracts. Return is below the levels seen at many peers.

Pell students complete above the rate for the entering cohort as a whole. Families at both ends of the income scale pay amounts near the published cost.

Affordability is around the average. A student drawn to environmental sciences should know the largest program is also the best-paid one. Earnings across the degree mix sit below the national median for their fields.

Unity Environmental University at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
28.7%
Four-year earnings[3]
$45,016

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$20,079
Median student debt[4]
$25,000
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$30,473

Unity Environmental University rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Unity Environmental University is a private nonprofit university in New Gloucester, Maine, enrolling 6,483 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits near the top of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Both figures sit well below the medians for comparable institutions (same type and size), where 83.4% return and 68.8% complete. The four pillars sit far apart.

Access is the strongest, at the 99th percentile, and mobility is also strong. Return is the weakest of the four, at the 7th percentile, and affordability sits near the middle.

The shape is a school that opens its doors wide, with outcomes that vary sharply by the measure.

Azimuth evaluates Unity Environmental University on four pillars among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions. Access is the strongest, at the 99th percentile, and mobility is next at the 85th percentile.

Affordability sits at the 47th percentile. Return is the weakest of the four, at the 7th percentile.

63.9% of undergraduates at Unity Environmental University receive Pell Grants. Azimuth ranks the university #16 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Azimuth ranks the university #218 for mobility. Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Unity Environmental University rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#372

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 85
Access & reach
National percentile: 99
Affordability
National percentile: 47
Return on investment
National percentile: 7

Top-ranked majors

  1. Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy#5
  2. Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management#20

This school’s two highest-ranked programs nationally. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

Explore major rankings

01 / Unity Environmental University briefing

Unity Environmental University cost & financial aid[6][7]

The published cost of attendance at Unity Environmental University is $21,931, an average across living arrangements. Tuition and fees are $12,640, and room and board is $12,800.

For aid recipients, the average net price is $19,104. That figure is $8,267 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Azimuth ranks Unity Environmental University #753 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 47th percentile.

The published cost of attendance at Unity Environmental University is $21,931 (an average across living arrangements). Azimuth ranks the university #753 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

After grants and scholarships, the average net price for aid recipients from families earning under $30,000 is $18,370, for those earning $48,001 to $75,000 it is $20,079, and for those earning over $110,000 it is $21,931. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $3,561.

Financial aid saves the average aid recipient $2,827 off the sticker price. Tuition and fees are $12,640.

The across all aid recipients is $19,104, which is $8,267 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Borrowers who complete a degree carry a median of $25,000 in federal student loans.

That is $801 above the peer median of $24,199. Parents who borrow hold a separate median of $30,473 in Parent PLUS loans.

If repaid over ten years, the median federal student debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $284 a month.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$20,079

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Unity Environmental University

Borrowers who complete a degree at Unity Environmental University leave with a median of $25,000 in federal student loans. That median is $801 above the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Parents who borrow through the Parent PLUS program carry a separate median of $30,473.

Four years after completion, federally aided graduates of Unity Environmental University who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $45,016. That median sits at the 10th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The comparable-institution median (same type and size) is $68,250, so the figure here is $23,234 below it. Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students.

That places the gap at the 6th percentile. Estimated earnings scenarios from the program mix are $45,016 in a typical case, $39,030 on the downside and $54,220 on the upside.

Borrowers who finish hold a median of $25,000 in federal loans. It is $801 above the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

If repaid over ten years, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $284 a month. Earnings are below the peer median, and median federal debt is above the peer median.

For the separate population of parent borrowers, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $30,473. For student borrowers, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $284 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$25,000
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$30,473

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$284/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$387/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Unity Environmental University briefing

Unity Environmental University career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Return is the weakest of the four pillars at Unity Environmental University, sitting at the 7th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. For federal aid recipients who have completed a degree and are employed and no longer enrolled, the median four years after completion is $45,016, in the 10th percentile.

That median is $23,234 below the $68,250 figure for comparable institutions (same type and size). Federal aid recipients who complete a degree earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students.

That result falls at the 6th percentile. The factors the model measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $1,603.

What the model leaves unexplained subtracts $19,457. The STEM element within those factors adds $1,573.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates of Unity Environmental University who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $45,016. The figure comes from a cohort of 207 completers and lands in the 10th percentile for four-year earnings among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students. That gap sits at the 6th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings scenarios estimated from the program mix run from $39,030 at the low end to $54,220 at the high end, with the typical outcome at the same level as $45,016. These scenarios reflect the program mix and are not observed student groups.

An estimated 35.4% of graduates continue on to graduate study, based on the program mix.

Unity Environmental University graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $45,016 four years after completion, placing the figure at the 10th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size) is $68,250, so the university's median falls $23,234 below that level.

Azimuth places Unity Environmental University at #1,363 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students.

That gap sits at the 6th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $1,603.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain subtracts $19,457. Within the measured factors, the STEM component by itself adds $1,573.

Natural Resources & Conservation and Biological Sciences dominate the bachelor's degrees awarded, with a smaller concentration in Agriculture & Natural Resources. Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, stretch from a downside of $39,030 to an upside of $54,220.

An estimated 35.4% of graduates continue on to graduate study, based on the program mix.

The earnings scenarios show a range from $39,030 on the downside to $54,220 on the upside. These are scenarios estimated from the program mix, not observed groups of graduates.

At the program level, Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy graduates earn $53,934 four years after completion, from 35 degrees awarded. Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology follows at $44,652, with 22 degrees awarded.

Borrowers who complete a degree at Unity Environmental University leave with a median of $25,000 in federal student loans. That amount is $801 above the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

If repaid over ten years, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $284 each month. Parent borrowers hold a separate median of $30,473 in federal Parent PLUS loans.

The average net price reflects what aid recipients actually pay after grants and scholarships are applied. At this university, that amount is $19,104.

That average sits $8,267 below the $27,371 median net price for comparable institutions (same type and size). Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students. Graduates earn about $17,854 less than the model expects for similar students.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$1,603
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
-$19,457
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
-$17,854

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Unity Environmental University briefing

Unity Environmental University acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Unity Environmental University enrolls 6,483 undergraduates, and an estimated 62.9% arrive as transfers or part-time students. The student body is built from multiple entry points rather than a single first-year path.

Most undergraduates did not start here as first-time students. Pell-eligible students can use the cost calculator to estimate their own grant-adjusted price.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Unity Environmental University briefing

What are the largest majors at Unity Environmental University?[12]

The university's degrees are concentrated in environmental and biological fields, with Natural Resources & Conservation accounting for 61.5% of degrees awarded and Biological Sciences for 26.9%. Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy is both the largest program and the highest-earning, with 35 degrees awarded and median earnings of $53,934 four years after completion.

Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management is the second-largest program at 31 degrees awarded. Azimuth ranks it #20 nationally within its field and #1 in Maine, with median earnings of $39,017.

At the more moderate end, Zoology/Animal Biology reports 13 degrees awarded and median earnings of $39,302.

Natural Resources & Conservation accounts for 61.5% of bachelor's degrees awarded, with Biological Sciences second at 26.9%. Azimuth ranks 2 of the university's programs nationally.

Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy is the largest single program, at 35 degrees a year. Azimuth ranks it #5 within its field, and graduates earn a median of $53,934 four years after completion.

Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management follows with 31 degrees awarded. It ranks #20 nationally, and its completers earn $39,017.

Unity Environmental University awards nearly all of its bachelor's degrees in environmental and life sciences. Natural Resources & Conservation accounts for 61.5% of degrees awarded, with Biological Sciences at 26.9% and Agriculture & Natural Resources at 7.7%.

The university has 2 programs with an Azimuth national rank and 4 with published four-year earnings data. The largest program is Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy, at 35 degrees awarded a year.

It is also the highest-earning program, with a median of $53,934 four years after completion. Azimuth ranks it #1 in Maine within its field.

Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management is the second-largest program, with 31 degrees awarded. Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology follows at 22 degrees awarded and median earnings of $44,652.

The program mix is tightly focused. The top two programs alone account for most of the degrees, and the highest-earning field is also the largest. Across all fields, 19.5% of degrees awarded are in STEM.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy 35 degrees awarded
$53,934
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management 31 degrees awarded
$39,017
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology 22 degrees awarded
$44,652
Natural Resources Conservation and Research 14 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report
Zoology/Animal Biology 13 degrees awarded
$39,302
Animal Sciences 10 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings