Cost & financial aid brief

University of La Verne Tuition, Costs & Financial Aid

Updated

How much does University of La Verne cost after financial aid?

University of La Verne lists a published cost of attendance of $62,278, an average across living arrangements. Tuition and fees are $49,470, and room and board are $15,830.

For the average aid recipient, grants and scholarships reduce that sticker price by $42,117, bringing the average net price to $20,161. That net price is $7,210 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Aid covers about 68% of the published cost for the average aid recipient. Azimuth ranks the university #712 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

For the average aid recipient, grants and scholarships cover about 68% of the $62,278 (an average across living arrangements) sticker price at University of La Verne. After grants and scholarships, the average recipient pays $20,161.

Against comparable institutions (same type and size), that amount is $7,210 below the peer median. Azimuth places the affordability at the 50th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Borrowers who complete a degree hold a median of $23,500 in federal student loans. That is $699 below the peer median. The lowest income band averages $20,151, and the next band averages $27,212.

Average net price by family income
$0–30K
$20,151
$30–48K
$27,212
$48–75K
Not reported
$75–110K
Not reported
$110K+
Not reported

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Overall average annual net price: $20,161. After grants and scholarships, including living costs. Source and coverage.

Aid covers about 68% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, an offset of $42,117 against the sticker price. The average net price across all aid recipients is $20,161, and the lowest-income band—families earning under $30,000—averages $20,151, while families in the $30,001–$48,000 band average $27,212.

The pattern shows aid concentrated on families with lower incomes, with the lowest-band average sitting just slightly below the overall average. The sticker-to-net gap and the pricing across bands point the same way: the largest discounts flow to the lowest-income families.

The published cost of attendance at University of La Verne is $62,278, an average across living arrangements. Tuition and fees are $49,470.

Azimuth ranks the university #712 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $20,151 for families earning under $30,000.

Aid covers about 68% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, a savings of $42,117. The across all aid recipients is $20,161, which is $7,210 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Borrowers who finish carry a median of $23,500 in federal student loans, $699 below the $24,199 peer median. 82.6% of federal aid recipients borrow federal loans.

Parents who borrow hold a separate median of $27,977 in Parent PLUS loans. If repaid over ten years, the median federal student debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $267 a month. It estimates costs and payments for your own situation.

Student loans: what does repayment look like?

The University of La Verne's median federal student debt at completion is $23,500, which is below the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size) by $699. For a separate population of parent borrowers, the median Parent PLUS loan is $27,977.

The return picture at University of La Verne is built on earnings that outpace prediction, while borrowing sits close to the peer norm. Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $64,109, at the 63rd percentile nationally.

Graduates earn about $6,347 more than the model expects for similar students, an outcome that falls at the 75th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Earnings scenarios, estimated from the university's program mix, range from a downside case of $50,848 to an upside case of $78,703, with a typical scenario of $64,109.

The median federal student debt at completion is $23,500, $699 below the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $267 a month if repaid over ten years.

Parent borrowers at the university took on a median of $27,977 in Parent PLUS loans, a separate federal borrowing population. The estimated monthly student payment if repaid over ten years is $267.

Repayment figures are in the Financial GPS card below. Borrowing populations and model assumptions.

Parent loans: what can the family afford?

How Parent PLUS borrowing affects families

Median Parent PLUS debt
$27,977
Estimated parent payment
$355/mo
Modeled Parent PLUS pressure by income
IncomeRisk level
$35,000High pressure
$50,000High pressure
$75,000High pressure
$100,000Caution
$150,000Safe
$200,000Safe

The model holds the parent balance fixed and varies parent income. Read the assumptions and limits.

Student and parent loans: the monthly payments

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$23,500
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$27,977

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$267/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$355/mo
Modeled student + parent payments
$622/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Student payment as a share of available income

At median graduate earnings of $64,109, with a $22,590 annual allowance for basic expenses:

7.7% of income above the allowance · Excellent

  1. Excellent Under 8% · selected scenario
  2. Good 8–under 12%
  3. Concerning 12–20%
  4. High risk Over 20%
How this estimate works

These are modeled earnings scenarios, not observed earnings percentiles. Annual student payments ÷ (earnings − basic-expense allowance). The starting allowance, $22,590, uses the published framework’s 2024 baseline; it is not a current local living-cost estimate. Change it for your budget, including taxes and other obligations. This combines school-level figures for illustration, not a typical individual’s budget or an official school rating. Parent PLUS is separate.

Read the framework and its limits.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS

Data & methodology

Sources and reporting periods: methodology.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.

Net price and borrowing. The 2023–24 income-band averages include living costs and cover eligible first-time, full-time aid recipients; public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. They are not individual aid offers. Peer matching supplies overall net prices, not matched income-band averages. College Scorecard data and documentation.

A personal student-risk assessment also needs your major and borrowing plan; these school-level illustrations do not assign you a personal risk zone.

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates. Private-loan figures from the Common Data Set are separate from these federal repayment illustrations.