Best Colleges for Social Mobility in North Carolina (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in North Carolina lists 52 four-year institutions in North Carolina. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for North Carolina, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of North Carolina at Charlotte ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $65,370 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 16 public and 36 private schools.
Elizabeth City State University posts the lowest average net price on the page at $6,364. Duke University shows the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 97% of its students within six years.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $65,370 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $65,370 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $81,033 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| An average net price of $2,004 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 91% at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. | |||||
| 3 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $75,943 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh admits 42% of applicants and ranks 99th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $60,888 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| Graduates of East Carolina University earn a median of $60,888 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $15,739. | |||||
| 5 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $51,594 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro ranks 5th on this page, with an average net price of $7,305 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 6 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $54,010 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| A six-year completion rate of 75% and median earnings of $54,010 for its graduates four years after completing are reported by Appalachian State University. | |||||
| 7 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $56,996 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University admits 50% of applicants and posts median earnings of $56,996 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC | $50,812 | $15,359 | $13,032 | 87.0% |
| An average net price of $13,032 for families earning under $30,000 is listed by North Carolina Central University, which ranks 332nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 9 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $54,667 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University reports a six-year completion rate of 60% and an average net price of $13,315. | |||||
| 10 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $61,925 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| Median earnings of $61,925 four years after completing are reported by University of North Carolina Wilmington, which admits 64% of applicants. | |||||
| 11 | Duke University · Durham, NC | $115,722 | $29,612 | $735 | 5.7% |
| Duke University ranks 78th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $735 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 12 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $56,396 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| A six-year completion rate of 47% and median earnings of $56,396 for its graduates four years after completing are posted by Winston-Salem State University. | |||||
| 13 | Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC | $51,687 | $7,892 | $6,233 | 82.2% |
| Fayetteville State University reports median earnings of $51,687 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $7,892. | |||||
| 14 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $49,668 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 44%, University of North Carolina at Pembroke admits 93% of applicants and ranks 14th on this list. | |||||
| 15 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $45,777 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 91.9% |
| University of North Carolina Asheville admits 92% of applicants and reports an average net price of $8,219 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | Watts College of Nursing · Durham, NC | $77,794 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| A private nonprofit institution in Durham, Watts College of Nursing reports median earnings of $77,794 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Davidson College · Davidson, NC | $72,718 | $17,379 | $9,497 | 13.4% |
| Davidson College admits 13% of applicants and graduates 91% of its students within six years, ranking 17th on this page. | |||||
| 18 | Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary · Wake Forest, NC | $69,450 | $13,090 | $18,587 | 74.6% |
| Graduates of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary earn a median of $69,450 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $13,090. | |||||
| 19 | Bennett College · Greensboro, NC | $44,644 | $28,299 | $27,576 | 50.7% |
| Bennett College has an admission rate of 51% and an average net price of $27,576 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 20 | Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC | $92,943 | $28,719 | $6,525 | 21.7% |
| Ranking 20th on this list, Wake Forest University reports median earnings of $92,943 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of North Carolina School of the Arts · Winston Salem, NC | $42,023 | $14,906 | $3,165 | 30.0% |
| University of North Carolina School of the Arts graduates 78% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $3,165 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Elizabeth City State University · Elizabeth City, NC | $50,194 | $6,364 | $4,246 | 64.2% |
| With an average net price of $6,364, Elizabeth City State University reports median earnings of $50,194 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | Wingate University · Wingate, NC | $58,916 | $20,748 | $18,772 | 91.1% |
| Wingate University admits 91% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $58,916 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Gardner-Webb University · Boiling Springs, NC | $60,516 | $17,674 | $15,304 | 77.2% |
| A private nonprofit university in Boiling Springs, Gardner-Webb University reports a six-year completion rate of 55% and ranks 24th on this list. | |||||
| 25 | Meredith College · Raleigh, NC | $54,650 | $22,488 | $17,207 | 74.2% |
| Meredith College reports median earnings of $54,650 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,488. | |||||
| 26 | Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC | $63,540 | $24,516 | $20,751 | 87.2% |
| Campbell University admits 87% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 61%. | |||||
| 27 | Barton College · Wilson, NC | $51,766 | $23,626 | $19,641 | 94.2% |
| Barton College ranks 27th on this list and shows an average net price of $19,641 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | Queens University of Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $70,176 | $30,857 | $22,792 | 62.1% |
| Graduates of Queens University of Charlotte earn a median of $70,176 four years after completing, and the school ranks 1068th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 29 | Catawba College · Salisbury, NC | $49,190 | $17,879 | $13,618 | 75.2% |
| Catawba College has a six-year completion rate of 47% and an admission rate of 75%. | |||||
| 30 | Saint Augustine's University · Raleigh, NC | $41,272 | $24,313 | $27,815 | 33.8% |
| Saint Augustine's University reports median earnings of $41,272 for its graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 34%. | |||||
| 31 | North Carolina Wesleyan University · Rocky Mount, NC | $48,447 | $17,432 | $16,114 | 80.2% |
| North Carolina Wesleyan University ranks 31st on this list and shows an average net price of $16,114 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 32 | Salem College · Winston-Salem, NC | $49,227 | $18,277 | $19,074 | 76.7% |
| Salem College posts a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $49,227 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | University of Mount Olive · Mount Olive, NC | $57,606 | $18,853 | $18,227 | 75.8% |
| University of Mount Olive admits 76% of applicants and reports an average net price of $18,853. | |||||
| 34 | Guilford College · Greensboro, NC | $50,433 | $22,270 | $18,367 | 80.0% |
| Guilford College ranks 1268th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
| 35 | Lees-McRae College · Banner Elk, NC | $50,979 | $28,340 | $23,030 | 76.8% |
| Lees-McRae College reports median earnings of $50,979 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,030 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 36 | Carolina University · Winston-Salem, NC | $52,812 | $20,828 | $17,738 | 39.5% |
| Carolina University admits 40% of applicants and ranks 773rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 37 | Pfeiffer University · Misenheimer, NC | $57,619 | $19,076 | $16,167 | 96.0% |
| Pfeiffer University reports median earnings of $57,619 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $16,167 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | William Peace University · Raleigh, NC | $51,163 | $21,649 | $15,779 | 94.3% |
| William Peace University admits 94% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 45%. | |||||
| 39 | Johnson C Smith University · Charlotte, NC | $46,511 | $20,894 | $19,940 | 45.2% |
| Johnson C Smith University ranks 39th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $46,511 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Lenoir-Rhyne University · Hickory, NC | $57,711 | $20,689 | $18,669 | 84.6% |
| A private nonprofit university in Hickory, Lenoir-Rhyne University has an average net price of $20,689 and a six-year completion rate of 48%. | |||||
| 41 | High Point University · High Point, NC | $65,028 | $38,707 | $32,763 | 75.3% |
| High Point University shows median earnings of $65,028 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 75%. | |||||
| 42 | Warren Wilson College · Swannanoa, NC | $36,684 | $21,249 | $13,566 | 71.3% |
| Warren Wilson College reports an average net price of $13,566 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $36,684 four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Brevard College · Brevard, NC | $41,671 | $23,509 | $19,294 | 42.2% |
| Brevard College ranks 1393rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 44 | Belmont Abbey College · Belmont, NC | $57,346 | $24,639 | $20,610 | 74.7% |
| Belmont Abbey College admits 75% of applicants and reports median earnings of $57,346 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Montreat College · Montreat, NC | $47,821 | $27,061 | $23,261 | 69.2% |
| Montreat College has a six-year completion rate of 50% and an average net price of $23,261 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 46 | Livingstone College · Salisbury, NC | $37,280 | $13,479 | $13,860 | 59.3% |
| Livingstone College reports an average net price of $13,479 and median earnings of $37,280 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | Methodist University · Fayetteville, NC | $60,011 | $24,704 | $20,371 | 75.1% |
| Methodist University ranks 1227th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with graduates earning a median of $60,011 four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Mars Hill University · Mars Hill, NC | $50,256 | $19,910 | $17,021 | 67.9% |
| Mars Hill University admits 68% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 45%. | |||||
| 49 | Chowan University · Murfreesboro, NC | $43,702 | $14,086 | $13,726 | 68.8% |
| Chowan University admits 69% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 30%. | |||||
| 50 | Greensboro College · Greensboro, NC | $51,898 | $17,882 | $13,877 | 70.1% |
| Graduates of Greensboro College earn a median of $51,898 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $17,882. | |||||
| 51 | Elon University · Elon, NC | $77,800 | $41,555 | $26,523 | 66.4% |
| Elon University ranks 1223rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 84%. | |||||
| 52 | Shaw University · Raleigh, NC | $44,468 | $16,512 | $16,236 | 80.2% |
| Shaw University reports an average net price of $16,236 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $44,468 four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for North Carolina, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures are medians for federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those who were working and not enrolled. The list does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 52 schools with a reported completion median. The list includes 16 public and 36 private nonprofit institutions.