Most Affordable Colleges in North Carolina (2026)
Updated
Most Affordable Colleges in North Carolina lists 52 four-year institutions in North Carolina. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Duke University ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $735 for families earning under $30,000. Across the 51 schools with a reported completion median, the average annual net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $735 to $32,763, and the median stands at $15,779 for families earning under $30,000.
Public institutions account for 16 of the schools, or 31%, while private nonprofits make up the remaining 36. Elizabeth City State University posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $6,364.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Duke University · Durham, NC | $115,722 | $29,612 | $735 | 5.7% |
| Duke University reports an average net price of $735 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $115,722 four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $81,033 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill admits 15% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 91%. | |||||
| 3 | University of North Carolina School of the Arts · Winston Salem, NC | $42,023 | $14,906 | $3,165 | 30.0% |
| Graduates of University of North Carolina School of the Arts earn a median of $42,023 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $3,165 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 4 | Elizabeth City State University · Elizabeth City, NC | $50,194 | $6,364 | $4,246 | 64.2% |
| Elizabeth City State University holds the lowest average net price on the page at $6,364, and its graduates earn a median of $50,194 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC | $51,687 | $7,892 | $6,233 | 82.2% |
| Fayetteville State University posts a six-year completion rate of 38% and an admission rate of 82%. | |||||
| 6 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $75,943 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh reports median earnings of $75,943 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $6,382 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 7 | Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC | $92,943 | $28,719 | $6,525 | 21.7% |
| Wake Forest University ranks 195th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 22% of applicants. | |||||
| 8 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $51,594 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro reports an average net price of $7,305 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
| 9 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $49,668 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| An admission rate of 93% coincides with median earnings of $49,668 for graduates of University of North Carolina at Pembroke four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $45,777 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 91.9% |
| Ranking 10th on this list, University of North Carolina Asheville posts a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
| 11 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $56,996 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University reports median earnings of $56,996 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 50%. | |||||
| 12 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $54,667 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University reports an average net price of $8,816 for families earning under $30,000 and admits 82% of applicants. | |||||
| 13 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $54,010 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University reports median earnings of $54,010 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,325 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | Davidson College · Davidson, NC | $72,718 | $17,379 | $9,497 | 13.4% |
| Davidson College, a private nonprofit institution in Davidson, admits 13% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 91%. | |||||
| 15 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $60,888 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University ranks 15th on this list and carries an average net price of $10,046 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $65,370 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| Graduates of University of North Carolina at Charlotte earn a median of $65,370 four years after completing, and the school ranks 98th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 17 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $61,925 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington shows a six-year completion rate of 71% and an average net price of $10,778 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 18 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $56,396 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| Winston-Salem State University admits 78% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $56,396 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC | $50,812 | $15,359 | $13,032 | 87.0% |
| North Carolina Central University ranks 19th on this list, with an average net price of $13,032 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
| 20 | Warren Wilson College · Swannanoa, NC | $36,684 | $21,249 | $13,566 | 71.3% |
| Warren Wilson College reports median earnings of $36,684 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,566 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 21 | Catawba College · Salisbury, NC | $49,190 | $17,879 | $13,618 | 75.2% |
| Catawba College, a private nonprofit institution in Salisbury, admits 75% of applicants and ranks 1202nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 22 | Chowan University · Murfreesboro, NC | $43,702 | $14,086 | $13,726 | 68.8% |
| Chowan University posts a six-year completion rate of 30% and an average net price of $13,726 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 23 | Livingstone College · Salisbury, NC | $37,280 | $13,479 | $13,860 | 59.3% |
| Graduates of Livingstone College earn a median of $37,280 four years after completing, and the school admits 59% of applicants. | |||||
| 24 | Greensboro College · Greensboro, NC | $51,898 | $17,882 | $13,877 | 70.1% |
| Greensboro College ranks 24th on this list, with an average net price of $13,877 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $51,898 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Gardner-Webb University · Boiling Springs, NC | $60,516 | $17,674 | $15,304 | 77.2% |
| Gardner-Webb University reports median earnings of $60,516 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,304 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 26 | William Peace University · Raleigh, NC | $51,163 | $21,649 | $15,779 | 94.3% |
| William Peace University admits 94% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 45%. | |||||
| 27 | North Carolina Wesleyan University · Rocky Mount, NC | $48,447 | $17,432 | $16,114 | 80.2% |
| North Carolina Wesleyan University ranks 27th on this list, with an average net price of $16,114 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | Pfeiffer University · Misenheimer, NC | $57,619 | $19,076 | $16,167 | 96.0% |
| Pfeiffer University posts a six-year completion rate of 35% and median earnings of $57,619 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Shaw University · Raleigh, NC | $44,468 | $16,512 | $16,236 | 80.2% |
| Shaw University ranks 1236th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $16,236 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | Mars Hill University · Mars Hill, NC | $50,256 | $19,910 | $17,021 | 67.9% |
| Mars Hill University reports median earnings of $50,256 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 68%. | |||||
| 31 | Meredith College · Raleigh, NC | $54,650 | $22,488 | $17,207 | 74.2% |
| Meredith College has a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $17,207 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 32 | Carolina University · Winston-Salem, NC | $52,812 | $20,828 | $17,738 | 39.5% |
| Carolina University ranks 773rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $52,812 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | University of Mount Olive · Mount Olive, NC | $57,606 | $18,853 | $18,227 | 75.8% |
| University of Mount Olive admits 76% of applicants, with an average net price of $18,227 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 34 | Guilford College · Greensboro, NC | $50,433 | $22,270 | $18,367 | 80.0% |
| Guilford College reports median earnings of $50,433 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
| 35 | Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary · Wake Forest, NC | $69,450 | $13,090 | $18,587 | 74.6% |
| Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary ranks 600th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $18,587 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 36 | Lenoir-Rhyne University · Hickory, NC | $57,711 | $20,689 | $18,669 | 84.6% |
| Lenoir-Rhyne University admits 85% of applicants and reports median earnings of $57,711 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Wingate University · Wingate, NC | $58,916 | $20,748 | $18,772 | 91.1% |
| Wingate University reports median earnings of $58,916 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,772 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | Salem College · Winston-Salem, NC | $49,227 | $18,277 | $19,074 | 76.7% |
| Salem College, a private nonprofit college in Winston-Salem, admits 77% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 39 | Brevard College · Brevard, NC | $41,671 | $23,509 | $19,294 | 42.2% |
| Brevard College ranks 39th on this list and carries an average net price of $19,294 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Barton College · Wilson, NC | $51,766 | $23,626 | $19,641 | 94.2% |
| Graduates of Barton College earn a median of $51,766 four years after completing, and the school admits 94% of applicants. | |||||
| 41 | Johnson C Smith University · Charlotte, NC | $46,511 | $20,894 | $19,940 | 45.2% |
| Johnson C Smith University has a six-year completion rate of 34% and an average net price of $19,940 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 42 | Methodist University · Fayetteville, NC | $60,011 | $24,704 | $20,371 | 75.1% |
| Methodist University ranks 1227th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $60,011 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Belmont Abbey College · Belmont, NC | $57,346 | $24,639 | $20,610 | 74.7% |
| Belmont Abbey College admits 75% of applicants and carries an average net price of $20,610 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 44 | Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC | $63,540 | $24,516 | $20,751 | 87.2% |
| Campbell University posts a six-year completion rate of 61% alongside median earnings of $63,540 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Queens University of Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $70,176 | $30,857 | $22,792 | 62.1% |
| Queens University of Charlotte reports median earnings of $70,176 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $22,792. | |||||
| 46 | Lees-McRae College · Banner Elk, NC | $50,979 | $28,340 | $23,030 | 76.8% |
| Lees-McRae College ranks 46th on this list, admits 77% of applicants, and reports a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
| 47 | Montreat College · Montreat, NC | $47,821 | $27,061 | $23,261 | 69.2% |
| Montreat College has a six-year completion rate of 50% and reports median earnings of $47,821 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Elon University · Elon, NC | $77,800 | $41,555 | $26,523 | 66.4% |
| Elon University admits 66% of applicants and carries an average net price of $26,523 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 49 | Bennett College · Greensboro, NC | $44,644 | $28,299 | $27,576 | 50.7% |
| Bennett College reports median earnings of $44,644 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $27,576 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 50 | Saint Augustine's University · Raleigh, NC | $41,272 | $24,313 | $27,815 | 33.8% |
| Saint Augustine's University admits 34% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 25%. | |||||
| 51 | High Point University · High Point, NC | $65,028 | $38,707 | $32,763 | 75.3% |
| High Point University ranks 51st on this list, with an average net price of $32,763 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
| 52 | Watts College of Nursing · Durham, NC | $77,794 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Watts College of Nursing ranks 756th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $77,794 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Median earnings reflect federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for who enrolls and is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 51 schools with a reported completion median. Duke University reports an average net price of $735 for families earning under $30,000, and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill reports an average net price of $2,004 for families earning under $30,000, a gap of $1,269 between the top two.