Highest Paying Colleges in North Carolina (2026)
Updated
Highest Paying Colleges in North Carolina lists 52 four-year institutions in North Carolina. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for North Carolina, highest first.
Duke University ranks 1st on this list and reports $115,722 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 16 public and 36 private nonprofit institutions.
Public institutions make up 31% of the 52 schools. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
Elizabeth City State University carries the lowest average net price on the page, $6,364.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Duke University · Durham, NC | $115,722 | $29,612 | $735 | 5.7% |
| Duke University reports median earnings of $115,722 for its graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC | $92,943 | $28,719 | $6,525 | 21.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 89%, Wake Forest University graduates 89% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 3 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $81,033 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $81,033 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Elon University · Elon, NC | $77,800 | $41,555 | $26,523 | 66.4% |
| Elon University admits 66% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 84%. | |||||
| 5 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $75,943 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| A public university in Raleigh, North Carolina State University at Raleigh reports median earnings of $75,943 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Watts College of Nursing · Durham, NC | $77,794 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Watts College of Nursing ranks 6th on this list, with median earnings of $77,794 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Davidson College · Davidson, NC | $72,718 | $17,379 | $9,497 | 13.4% |
| Davidson College carries an average net price of $17,379 and a six-year completion rate of 91%. | |||||
| 8 | Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary · Wake Forest, NC | $69,450 | $13,090 | $18,587 | 74.6% |
| Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary reports an average net price of $18,587 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 9 | Queens University of Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $70,176 | $30,857 | $22,792 | 62.1% |
| Queens University of Charlotte admits 62% of applicants and reports median earnings of $70,176 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $65,370 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte ranks 10th on this list and reports an average net price of $15,435. | |||||
| 11 | Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC | $63,540 | $24,516 | $20,751 | 87.2% |
| Campbell University reports median earnings of $63,540 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 61%. | |||||
| 12 | Wingate University · Wingate, NC | $58,916 | $20,748 | $18,772 | 91.1% |
| Wingate University admits 91% of applicants and carries an average net price of $20,748. | |||||
| 13 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $60,888 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University reports median earnings of $60,888 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $15,739. | |||||
| 14 | High Point University · High Point, NC | $65,028 | $38,707 | $32,763 | 75.3% |
| High Point University admits 75% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
| 15 | Carolina University · Winston-Salem, NC | $52,812 | $20,828 | $17,738 | 39.5% |
| Carolina University ranks 15th on this list, with an average net price of $17,738 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | Lenoir-Rhyne University · Hickory, NC | $57,711 | $20,689 | $18,669 | 84.6% |
| Graduates of Lenoir-Rhyne University earn a median of $57,711 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 48%. | |||||
| 17 | Pfeiffer University · Misenheimer, NC | $57,619 | $19,076 | $16,167 | 96.0% |
| Pfeiffer University has an admission rate of 96% and reports median earnings of $57,619 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Gardner-Webb University · Boiling Springs, NC | $60,516 | $17,674 | $15,304 | 77.2% |
| Gardner-Webb University ranks 823rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $60,516 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $56,396 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| Winston-Salem State University, a public university in Winston-Salem, reports an average net price of $13,479 and a six-year completion rate of 47%. | |||||
| 20 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $61,925 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington ranks 20th on this list, with median earnings of $61,925 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Meredith College · Raleigh, NC | $54,650 | $22,488 | $17,207 | 74.2% |
| Meredith College admits 74% of applicants and has an average net price of $17,207 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Methodist University · Fayetteville, NC | $60,011 | $24,704 | $20,371 | 75.1% |
| Graduates of Methodist University earn a median of $60,011 four years after completing, and the school's admission rate is 75%. | |||||
| 23 | University of Mount Olive · Mount Olive, NC | $57,606 | $18,853 | $18,227 | 75.8% |
| University of Mount Olive ranks 899th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 24 | Salem College · Winston-Salem, NC | $49,227 | $18,277 | $19,074 | 76.7% |
| Salem College reports an average net price of $18,277 and median earnings of $49,227 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Belmont Abbey College · Belmont, NC | $57,346 | $24,639 | $20,610 | 74.7% |
| Belmont Abbey College reports median earnings of $57,346 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,639. | |||||
| 26 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $56,996 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University admits 50% of applicants and graduates 57% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 27 | Bennett College · Greensboro, NC | $44,644 | $28,299 | $27,576 | 50.7% |
| Bennett College ranks 795th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 25%. | |||||
| 28 | University of North Carolina School of the Arts · Winston Salem, NC | $42,023 | $14,906 | $3,165 | 30.0% |
| With an admission rate of 30%, University of North Carolina School of the Arts reports median earnings of $42,023 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC | $50,812 | $15,359 | $13,032 | 87.0% |
| North Carolina Central University posts an average net price of $13,032 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $50,812 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $54,010 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University ranks 320th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 75% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 31 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $54,667 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University reports median earnings of $54,667 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 32 | Barton College · Wilson, NC | $51,766 | $23,626 | $19,641 | 94.2% |
| Barton College admits 94% of applicants and has an average net price of $23,626. | |||||
| 33 | Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC | $51,687 | $7,892 | $6,233 | 82.2% |
| Fayetteville State University ranks 275th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $7,892. | |||||
| 34 | Lees-McRae College · Banner Elk, NC | $50,979 | $28,340 | $23,030 | 76.8% |
| Lees-McRae College reports median earnings of $50,979 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $23,030 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 35 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $51,594 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro admits 89% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,594 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | William Peace University · Raleigh, NC | $51,163 | $21,649 | $15,779 | 94.3% |
| William Peace University ranks 1344th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an average net price of $21,649. | |||||
| 37 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $49,668 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke reports median earnings of $49,668 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $10,260. | |||||
| 38 | Guilford College · Greensboro, NC | $50,433 | $22,270 | $18,367 | 80.0% |
| Guilford College, a private nonprofit institution in Greensboro, ranks 38th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
| 39 | Mars Hill University · Mars Hill, NC | $50,256 | $19,910 | $17,021 | 67.9% |
| Mars Hill University admits 68% of applicants and posts median earnings of $50,256 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Elizabeth City State University · Elizabeth City, NC | $50,194 | $6,364 | $4,246 | 64.2% |
| Elizabeth City State University carries an average net price of $6,364, the lowest on the page, and its graduates earn a median of $50,194 four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Greensboro College · Greensboro, NC | $51,898 | $17,882 | $13,877 | 70.1% |
| Greensboro College ranks 41st on this list, with median earnings of $51,898 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Catawba College · Salisbury, NC | $49,190 | $17,879 | $13,618 | 75.2% |
| Catawba College graduates 47% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $17,879. | |||||
| 43 | North Carolina Wesleyan University · Rocky Mount, NC | $48,447 | $17,432 | $16,114 | 80.2% |
| North Carolina Wesleyan University admits 80% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $48,447 four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | Shaw University · Raleigh, NC | $44,468 | $16,512 | $16,236 | 80.2% |
| Shaw University shows a six-year completion rate of 22% and median earnings of $44,468 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Montreat College · Montreat, NC | $47,821 | $27,061 | $23,261 | 69.2% |
| Montreat College reports an average net price of $27,061 and a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 46 | Johnson C Smith University · Charlotte, NC | $46,511 | $20,894 | $19,940 | 45.2% |
| Johnson C Smith University admits 45% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $46,511 four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | Chowan University · Murfreesboro, NC | $43,702 | $14,086 | $13,726 | 68.8% |
| Chowan University ranks 47th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 30% and median earnings of $43,702 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $45,777 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 91.9% |
| University of North Carolina Asheville reports an average net price of $12,250 and admits 92% of applicants. | |||||
| 49 | Saint Augustine's University · Raleigh, NC | $41,272 | $24,313 | $27,815 | 33.8% |
| Saint Augustine's University reports median earnings of $41,272 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,313. | |||||
| 50 | Brevard College · Brevard, NC | $41,671 | $23,509 | $19,294 | 42.2% |
| Brevard College admits 42% of applicants and graduates 49% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 51 | Livingstone College · Salisbury, NC | $37,280 | $13,479 | $13,860 | 59.3% |
| Livingstone College ranks 1117th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 28%. | |||||
| 52 | Warren Wilson College · Swannanoa, NC | $36,684 | $21,249 | $13,566 | 71.3% |
| Warren Wilson College has an average net price of $13,566 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $36,684 four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for North Carolina, highest first. The figure covers federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for cost or for differences in who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Of the 52 schools on the page, 16 are public and 36 are private nonprofit.