College research / Rankings

Best Criminal Justice Colleges in Georgia (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 21 Criminal Justice programs in Georgia by median earnings of Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing. Mercer University ranks 1st on this list, reporting $71,602 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the listed schools, the median figure is $50,717, with a spread of $31,693 from $71,602 to $39,909. For 1 of the 21 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions account for 15 of the 21 schools, or 71%, alongside 6 private nonprofits. Dalton State College posts the lowest average net price at $5,012, while Kennesaw State University ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

21 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Criminal Justice EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Mercer University · Macon, GA$71,602$23,847$19,81768.9%
Mercer University reports $71,602 in median earnings for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (13 graduates), Homeland Security (6 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($71,602)

2Reinhardt University · Waleska, GA$67,847$24,425$21,87761.5%
Reinhardt University, a private nonprofit university in Waleska, ranks 2nd on this page with a six-year completion rate of 44%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (20 graduates)

3Thomas University · Thomasville, GA$61,295$18,499$15,64038.3%
Thomas University admits 38% of applicants and posts median earnings of $61,295 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (35 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($61,295)

4University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA$57,813$9,823$6,98167.9%
University of North Georgia carries an average net price of $9,823 and ranks 255th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (123 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($57,813)

5Shorter University · Rome, GA$56,677$16,646$15,92996.5%
Shorter University shows an admission rate of 96% and an average net price of $15,929 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($56,677)

6Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA$55,033$15,048$12,23569.2%
Kennesaw State University ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $55,033 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (160 graduates), Security Science and Technology (87 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($55,033)

7Savannah State University · Savannah, GA$53,458$8,172$6,739Not reported
Savannah State University graduates 28% of its students within six years and posts an average net price of $8,172.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (34 graduates), Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other (14 graduates), Security Science and Technology (9 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other ($58,382), Criminal Justice and Corrections ($51,430)

8Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA$52,857$15,931$13,78755.4%
Georgia State University reports median earnings of $52,857 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 53%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (153 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($52,857)

9Middle Georgia State University · Macon, GA$52,719$12,361$10,66899.7%
Middle Georgia State University admits 100% of applicants and carries an average net price of $10,668 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (62 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($52,719)

10Georgia College & State University · Milledgeville, GA$52,062$20,686$15,39678.2%
Georgia College & State University posts a six-year completion rate of 64% and median earnings of $52,062 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (29 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($52,062)

11University of Georgia · Athens, GA$50,717$13,936$8,08537.7%
University of Georgia admits 38% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,717 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (67 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($50,717)

12Augusta University · Augusta, GA$50,254$13,787$11,06486.4%
Augusta University carries an average net price of $13,787 and ranks 294th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($50,254)

13Columbus State University · Columbus, GA$49,956$13,115$11,27199.1%
Columbus State University reports median earnings of $49,956 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 42%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (50 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($49,956)

14Albany State University · Albany, GA$49,310$11,898$10,693Not reported
Albany State University carries an average net price of $11,898 and a six-year completion rate of 31%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (80 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($49,310)

15Dalton State College · Dalton, GA$48,341$5,012$3,962Not reported
Dalton State College ranks 15th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 25%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (37 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($48,341)

16Clayton State University · Morrow, GA$47,627$8,365$7,40568.5%
Clayton State University admits 68% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,627 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (37 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($47,627)

17Clark Atlanta University · Atlanta, GA$47,012$37,702$37,35664.2%
Clark Atlanta University, a private nonprofit university in Atlanta, shows a six-year completion rate of 49% and an average net price of $37,702.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (55 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($47,012)

18Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA$46,593$10,945$9,37872.3%
Valdosta State University reports median earnings of $46,593 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 72%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (85 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($46,593)

19Fort Valley State University · Fort Valley, GA$45,033$10,338$9,01765.9%
Fort Valley State University has an average net price of $10,338 and a six-year completion rate of 41%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (49 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($45,033)

20Piedmont University · Demorest, GA$43,125$20,599$15,41693.3%
Piedmont University ranks 802nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $43,125 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (12 graduates)

21Georgia Gwinnett College · Lawrenceville, GA$39,909$15,844$14,35695.5%
Georgia Gwinnett College reports median earnings of $39,909 for its Criminal Justice graduates two years after completing, and its admission rate is 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (60 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Criminal Justice earnings cohort in Georgia appear. The figure is the median for federally aided Criminal Justice completers who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 1 of the 21 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Mercer University leads Reinhardt University by $3,755, and the spread from the top to the bottom of the list is $31,693.

Job market context in Georgia

The occupations linked to Criminal Justice in Georgia include such roles as Security Guards, Police and Sheriff’s Patrol Officers, and Firefighters. Across those occupations, the median annual wage is $56,888, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $46,755. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 7.4% higher, with 17,980 projected openings a year, or about 1,137 openings a year for every hundred graduates, which is more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses the median earnings of graduates four years after completing, a different measure from the occupational wage figures described here.