College research / Rankings

Best Criminal Justice Colleges in Texas (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 41 colleges in Texas that report a Criminal Justice earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing. Saint Edward's University ranks 1st with median earnings of $61,566 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the 39 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $61,566 to $29,685, with a median of $50,809.

Public institutions make up 63% of the list, with 26 public and 15 private nonprofit schools. Texas A & M International University posts the lowest average net price at $3,637, while The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

41 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Criminal Justice EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Saint Edward's University · Austin, TX$61,566$25,578$20,79981.4%
Saint Edward's University reports $61,566 in median earnings of Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $25,578.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (23 graduates), Security Science and Technology (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($66,986)

2Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX$60,708$11,963$9,94896.1%
Texas Woman's University admits 96% of applicants and its Criminal Justice graduates earn a median of $60,708 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($60,708)

3Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX$58,606$14,260$10,31894.0%
With a six-year completion rate of 53%, Stephen F Austin State University posts median earnings of $58,606 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (46 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($58,606)

4West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX$58,011$19,487$16,52598.7%
West Texas A & M University ranks 4th on this list and carries an average net price of $16,525 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (41 graduates), Homeland Security (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($58,011)

5Wayland Baptist University · Plainview, TX$57,805$20,590$20,07056.0%
Wayland Baptist University reports median earnings of $57,805 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 19%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (58 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($57,805)

6The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX$57,210$13,951$11,89379.9%
The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and its Criminal Justice graduates earn a median of $57,210 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (169 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($57,210)

7Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX$56,791$36,660$17,95644.5%
Texas Christian University graduates 86% within six years and reports an average net price of $17,956 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (71 graduates)

8University of North Texas · Denton, TX$54,824$15,649$12,31172.2%
University of North Texas posts median earnings of $54,824 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing and admits 72% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (276 graduates), Homeland Security (43 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Homeland Security ($63,622), Criminal Justice and Corrections ($53,453)

9Lamar University · Beaumont, TX$54,509$9,366$7,56886.4%
Lamar University carries an average net price of $9,366 and its Criminal Justice graduates earn a median of $54,509 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (99 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($54,509)

10University of the Incarnate Word · San Antonio, TX$54,097$22,775$19,26098.1%
University of the Incarnate Word ranks 10th on this list with median earnings of $54,097 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (41 graduates), Security Science and Technology (8 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($54,097)

11Tarleton State University · Stephenville, TX$53,821$20,783$15,57489.6%
Tarleton State University reports a six-year completion rate of 48% and an average net price of $15,574 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (209 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($53,821)

12Texas A&M University-College Station · College Station, TX$53,792$21,315$12,78457.4%
Texas A&M University-College Station admits 57% of applicants and its Criminal Justice graduates earn a median of $53,792 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Security Science and Technology (30 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Security Science and Technology ($53,792)

13University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX$53,589$10,542$9,43990.0%
University of Houston-Downtown reports median earnings of $53,589 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,542.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (255 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($53,589)

14Our Lady of the Lake University · San Antonio, TX$53,505$16,442$16,236Not reported
A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, Our Lady of the Lake University posts a six-year completion rate of 46% and an average net price of $16,236 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (23 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($53,505)

15Texas State University · San Marcos, TX$52,447$16,805$12,71589.3%
Texas State University ranks 40th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 89% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (339 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($52,447)

16Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX$51,748$16,404$12,47490.3%
With median earnings of $51,748 four years after completing, Sam Houston State University graduates 55% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (838 graduates), Homeland Security (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($51,748)

17The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX$51,034$10,836$7,87086.8%
The University of Texas at San Antonio carries an average net price of $10,836 and reports median earnings of $51,034 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (241 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($51,034)

18University of Mary Hardin-Baylor · Belton, TX$50,900$26,106$22,08995.8%
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor admits 96% of applicants and shows an average net price of $22,089 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (12 graduates)

19Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX$50,888$11,656$8,85693.5%
Midwestern State University ranks 19th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 43% and an average net price of $11,656.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($50,888)

20Texas A&M University-Victoria · Victoria, TX$50,809$8,109$5,31795.9%
Texas A&M University-Victoria reports median earnings of $50,809 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, the same as the list median of $50,809.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (38 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($50,809)

21The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX$49,979$4,831$3,78594.2%
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley holds an average net price of $4,831 and ranks 11th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (581 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($49,979)

22Texas Wesleyan University · Fort Worth, TX$49,909$24,066$21,81269.2%
A private nonprofit institution in Fort Worth, Texas Wesleyan University admits 69% of applicants and reports median earnings of $49,909 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (15 graduates)

23Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX$49,907$12,090$10,20790.9%
Texas A&M University-Kingsville posts a six-year completion rate of 42% and an average net price of $10,207 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (39 graduates)

24Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi · Corpus Christi, TX$49,859$15,225$11,44588.6%
An admission rate of 89% and median earnings of $49,859 four years after completing are reported by Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi for its Criminal Justice graduates.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (64 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($49,859)

25Angelo State University · San Angelo, TXNo published median$15,091$12,00883.0%
Angelo State University admits 83% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 44%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (47 graduates), Homeland Security (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($54,853)

26Hardin-Simmons University · Abilene, TX$49,389$19,555$13,82290.0%
Hardin-Simmons University reports median earnings of $49,389 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($49,389)

27Texas A & M International University · Laredo, TX$48,833$3,637$3,09744.4%
Texas A & M International University, a public university in Laredo, posts an average net price of $3,097 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (178 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($48,833)

28Prairie View A & M University · Prairie View, TX$47,743$13,570$12,12079.3%
Prairie View A & M University ranks 28th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 43%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (129 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($47,743)

29The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX$47,211$9,403$7,86399.9%
The University of Texas at El Paso reports median earnings of $47,211 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing and admits 100% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (283 graduates), Security Science and Technology (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($47,681), Security Science and Technology ($42,459)

30East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX$46,596$11,841$9,70992.2%
East Texas A&M University carries an average net price of $11,841 and ranks 185th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (144 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($46,596)

31Texas Southern University · Houston, TX$45,961$16,590$16,43796.9%
Texas Southern University graduates 22% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $45,961 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (62 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($45,961)

32The University of Texas at Tyler · Tyler, TX$44,607$13,323$10,30794.0%
The University of Texas at Tyler admits 94% of applicants and carries an average net price of $10,307 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($44,607)

33Texas College · Tyler, TX$43,156$10,958$9,639Not reported
Texas College reports median earnings of $43,156 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 14%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($43,156)

34Texas A&M University-Texarkana · Texarkana, TX$42,676$12,997$11,00263.5%
A public institution in Texarkana, Texas A&M University-Texarkana admits 64% of applicants and ranks 628th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (28 graduates)

35Sul Ross State University · Alpine, TX$42,239$13,286$11,11098.7%
Sul Ross State University carries an average net price of $13,286 and reports median earnings of $42,239 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (51 graduates)

36St. Mary's University · San Antonio, TXNo published median$21,145$18,35297.8%
St. Mary's University admits 98% of applicants and graduates 59% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Security Science and Technology (15 graduates), Criminal Justice and Corrections (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($46,782)

37Wiley University · Marshall, TX$35,424$7,092$6,137Not reported
Wiley University, a private nonprofit university in Marshall, reports median earnings of $35,424 for its Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Criminal Justice and Corrections ($35,424)

38Dallas Baptist University · Dallas, TX$33,993$28,516$25,32688.8%
Dallas Baptist University admits 89% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 57%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (11 graduates)

39Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX$31,741$26,182$20,28566.0%
Graduates of Abilene Christian University earn a median of $31,741 two years after completing, and the school's average net price is $26,182.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (16 graduates)

40East Texas Baptist University · Marshall, TX$30,409$23,911$20,42057.8%
East Texas Baptist University has an average net price of $20,420 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 47%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (13 graduates)

41Lubbock Christian University · Lubbock, TX$29,685$24,456$23,01873.1%
Ranking 41st on this list, Lubbock Christian University reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Criminal Justice graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Criminal Justice and Corrections (21 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Criminal Justice graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Criminal Justice earnings cohort in Texas appear. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided Criminal Justice graduates who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. For 4 of the 41 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 39 schools with a published figure. Saint Edward's University leads with $61,566, just $858 ahead of Texas Woman's University at $60,708, while the spread from top to bottom reaches $31,881.

Job market context in Texas

Graduates of Criminal Justice programs in Texas enter a labor market that includes occupations such as Security Guards, Police and Sheriff’s Patrol Officers, and Firefighters. The median annual wage across those occupations is $59,013, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $47,746. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 12.7% higher, with 44,650 projected openings a year. That works out to about 877 openings a year for every hundred graduates, which is more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the occupation-wide wages shown here.