College research / Rankings

Highest Paying Colleges in Virginia (2026)

Updated

Highest Paying Colleges in Virginia covers 41 institutions in Virginia. Azimuth's return pillar sets the order, highest first.

Washington and Lee University ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $100,514 for its graduates four years after completing. The private nonprofit school reports a six-year completion rate of 94%.

The school admits 14% of applicants. The group includes 15 public and 26 private nonprofit institutions.

Public institutions make up 37% of the list. University of Virginia's College at Wise posts the lowest average net price at $9,210.

George Mason University ranks 33rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

41 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Washington and Lee University · Lexington, VA$100,514$23,781-$1,77714.0%
Washington and Lee University reports median earnings of $100,514 for its graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list.
2University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA$91,448$21,565$8,17416.8%
A public university in Charlottesville, University of Virginia-Main Campus posts a six-year completion rate of 96% and an average net price of $21,565.
3University of Richmond · University Of Richmond, VA$84,260$31,309$12,80822.2%
University of Richmond admits 22% of applicants and shows median earnings of $84,260 for its graduates four years after completing.
4George Mason University · Fairfax, VA$78,425$17,915$11,94287.5%
Ranking 33rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, George Mason University has an average net price of $17,915.
5Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Blacksburg, VA$85,647$24,953$11,68954.8%
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University graduates 86% of its students within six years, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $85,647 four years after completing.
6William & Mary · Williamsburg, VA$80,445$19,096$3,10634.1%
With an admission rate of 34%, William & Mary reports an average net price of $3,106 for families earning under $30,000.
7Marymount University · Arlington, VA$74,242$29,137$27,41393.2%
Marymount University ranks 7th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 54%.
8Sentara College of Health Sciences · Chesapeake, VA$80,530Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graduates of Sentara College of Health Sciences earn a median of $80,530 four years after completing, placing the institution 8th on this page.
9Virginia Military Institute · Lexington, VA$75,027$17,113$12,69771.3%
Virginia Military Institute admits 71% of applicants and reports an average net price of $17,113.
10Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing · Richmond, VA$84,129Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Ranking 695th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing shows median earnings of $84,129 for its graduates four years after completing.
11James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA$70,627$23,322$11,44471.5%
James Madison University reports a six-year completion rate of 80% and an average net price of $11,444 for families earning under $30,000.
12Hampden-Sydney College · Hampden-Sydney, VA$71,699$22,400$13,42240.9%
A private nonprofit college in Hampden-Sydney, Hampden-Sydney College admits 41% of applicants and shows median earnings of $71,699 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA$64,703$23,433$17,51292.6%
Virginia Commonwealth University reports median earnings of $64,703 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 63%.
14Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA$64,472$14,638$9,73990.4%
Old Dominion University admits 90% of applicants and posts an average net price of $14,638.
15Shenandoah University · Winchester, VA$65,784$30,298$24,35677.0%
Shenandoah University ranks 15th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $65,784 four years after completing.
16Eastern Mennonite University · Harrisonburg, VA$60,150$24,588$22,994100.0%
Eastern Mennonite University has a six-year completion rate of 67% and an average net price of $22,994 for families earning under $30,000.
17Randolph-Macon College · Ashland, VA$61,824$27,866$16,60186.6%
Randolph-Macon College, a private nonprofit college in Ashland, reports median earnings of $61,824 for its graduates four years after completing.
18Hampton University · Hampton, VA$61,865$25,319$32,10162.3%
Hampton University admits 62% of applicants and ranks 1119th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19Christopher Newport University · Newport News, VA$62,140$23,015$12,46186.0%
Christopher Newport University posts a six-year completion rate of 72% and an average net price of $23,015.
20Norfolk State University · Norfolk, VA$52,371$15,282$12,80487.8%
Norfolk State University ranks 20th on this list, with median earnings of $52,371 for its graduates four years after completing.
21Averett University · Danville, VA$59,911$22,925$23,06456.6%
Averett University admits 57% of applicants and reports an average net price of $23,064 for families earning under $30,000.
22Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA$57,700$29,357$30,66799.0%
Liberty University has a six-year completion rate of 65% and ranks 79th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
23Sweet Briar College · Sweet Briar, VA$52,366$17,758$11,73475.5%
Sweet Briar College reports median earnings of $52,366 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,758.
24Mary Baldwin University · Staunton, VA$51,402$12,756$12,717Not reported
Mary Baldwin University posts a six-year completion rate of 39% and an average net price of $12,717 for families earning under $30,000.
25Radford University · Radford, VA$57,832$14,578$8,96589.5%
Radford University reports median earnings of $57,832 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 49%.
26University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA$59,661$20,667$10,30479.8%
University of Mary Washington, a public university in Fredericksburg, admits 80% of applicants and shows an average net price of $20,667.
27Roanoke College · Salem, VA$56,840$24,503$15,20483.1%
Graduates of Roanoke College earn a median of $56,840 four years after completing, and the college admits 83% of applicants.
28Bridgewater College · Bridgewater, VA$55,722$17,800$13,28391.7%
Bridgewater College ranks 28th on this list, with an average net price of $17,800 and an admission rate of 92%.
29Bluefield University · Bluefield, VA$53,206$25,573$25,80759.3%
Bluefield University posts a six-year completion rate of 18% and median earnings of $53,206 for its graduates four years after completing.
30University of Lynchburg · Lynchburg, VA$60,701$22,235$20,69243.0%
University of Lynchburg reports median earnings of $60,701 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $20,692 for families earning under $30,000.
31Longwood University · Farmville, VA$54,005$19,066$11,89690.2%
Longwood University admits 90% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 61%.
32Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA$51,739$15,840$13,22088.6%
Virginia State University ranks 315th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $51,739 for its graduates four years after completing.
33Virginia Union University · Richmond, VA$50,840$13,235$11,42498.0%
An average net price of $11,424 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with an admission rate of 98% at Virginia Union University.
34Randolph College · Lynchburg, VA$50,675$15,921$13,04893.7%
Randolph College reports median earnings of $50,675 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 46%.
35Hollins University · Roanoke, VA$44,151$20,896$17,51168.0%
Hollins University admits 68% of applicants and reports an average net price of $20,896.
36Virginia Wesleyan University · Virginia Beach, VA$50,183$19,676$14,08072.9%
Virginia Wesleyan University ranks 36th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 42% and median earnings of $50,183 for its graduates four years after completing.
37Ferrum College · Ferrum, VA$46,725$20,082$16,94089.0%
Ferrum College reports median earnings of $46,725 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 32%.
38University of Virginia's College at Wise · Wise, VA$47,686$9,210$8,89128.5%
With an average net price of $9,210, University of Virginia's College at Wise is the lowest on this list and admits 29% of applicants.
39Regent University · Virginia Beach, VA$56,558$19,923$20,06438.1%
Regent University ranks 39th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 57% alongside median earnings of $56,558 for its graduates four years after completing.
40Emory & Henry University · Emory, VA$47,079$19,061$14,24683.7%
Emory & Henry University admits 84% of applicants and reports an average net price of $19,061.
41Southern Virginia University · Buena Vista, VA$44,267$22,213$18,95796.4%
Southern Virginia University ranks 41st on this list, with median earnings of $44,267 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 33%.

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Virginia, highest first. The pillar measures four-year earnings, modeled value added and program earnings relative to national benchmarks, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The figures are medians for federally aided completers of each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. Washington and Lee University ranks 1st on this list with median earnings of $100,514 for its graduates four years after completing, while University of Virginia-Main Campus follows at 2nd with $91,448. The page covers 15 public and 26 private nonprofit institutions.