College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Virginia (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Virginia lists 41 four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Virginia, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. George Mason University ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $78,425 for its graduates four years after completing.

University of Virginia-Main Campus follows at 2nd with $91,448, and Liberty University places 3rd with $57,700.

The list includes 15 public and 26 private nonprofit schools. George Mason University ranks 33rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

University of Virginia's College at Wise posts the lowest average net price at $9,210, while University of Virginia-Main Campus reports the highest six-year completion rate at 96%.

The ranked list

41 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1George Mason University · Fairfax, VA$78,425$17,915$11,94287.5%
George Mason University ranks 1st on this list and posts median earnings of $78,425 for its graduates four years after completing.
2University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA$91,448$21,565$8,17416.8%
University of Virginia-Main Campus admits 17% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 96%.
3Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA$57,700$29,357$30,66799.0%
Liberty University, a private nonprofit university in Lynchburg, carries an average net price of $29,357.
4Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Blacksburg, VA$85,647$24,953$11,68954.8%
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ranks 4th on this list and shows median earnings of $85,647 for its graduates four years after completing.
5Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA$64,472$14,638$9,73990.4%
Old Dominion University has an average net price of $14,638 and an admission rate of 90%.
6Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA$64,703$23,433$17,51292.6%
Virginia Commonwealth University reports median earnings of $64,703 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 63%.
7Washington and Lee University · Lexington, VA$100,514$23,781-$1,77714.0%
Washington and Lee University admits 14% of applicants and carries an average net price of $23,781.
8William & Mary · Williamsburg, VA$80,445$19,096$3,10634.1%
William & Mary ranks 8th on this list and posts an average net price of $3,106 for families earning under $30,000.
9James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA$70,627$23,322$11,44471.5%
James Madison University reports median earnings of $70,627 for its graduates four years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 80%.
10University of Richmond · University Of Richmond, VA$84,260$31,309$12,80822.2%
University of Richmond, a private nonprofit university in University Of Richmond, admits 22% of applicants and reports median earnings of $84,260 for its graduates four years after completing.
11Norfolk State University · Norfolk, VA$52,371$15,282$12,80487.8%
Norfolk State University has an average net price of $15,282 and a six-year completion rate of 38%.
12Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA$51,739$15,840$13,22088.6%
Virginia State University admits 89% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,739 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Radford University · Radford, VA$57,832$14,578$8,96589.5%
Radford University reports median earnings of $57,832 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $14,578.
14Virginia Military Institute · Lexington, VA$75,027$17,113$12,69771.3%
Graduates of Virginia Military Institute earn a median of $75,027 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 76%.
15Regent University · Virginia Beach, VA$56,558$19,923$20,06438.1%
Regent University, a private nonprofit institution in Virginia Beach, admits 38% of applicants and ranks 666th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
16University of Virginia's College at Wise · Wise, VA$47,686$9,210$8,89128.5%
University of Virginia's College at Wise posts the lowest average net price on this list at $9,210, and its graduates earn a median of $47,686 four years after completing.
17Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing · Richmond, VA$84,129Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
With median earnings of $84,129 four years after completing, Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing ranks 17th on this list.
18Mary Baldwin University · Staunton, VA$51,402$12,756$12,717Not reported
Mary Baldwin University has a six-year completion rate of 39% and an average net price of $12,717 for families earning under $30,000.
19University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA$59,661$20,667$10,30479.8%
University of Mary Washington admits 80% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $59,661 four years after completing.
20Hampden-Sydney College · Hampden-Sydney, VA$71,699$22,400$13,42240.9%
Hampden-Sydney College reports median earnings of $71,699 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 62%.
21Sentara College of Health Sciences · Chesapeake, VA$80,530Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graduates of Sentara College of Health Sciences earn a median of $80,530 four years after completing, and the school ranks 885th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
22Christopher Newport University · Newport News, VA$62,140$23,015$12,46186.0%
Christopher Newport University has an admission rate of 86% and an average net price of $23,015.
23Marymount University · Arlington, VA$74,242$29,137$27,41393.2%
Marymount University graduates earn a median of $74,242 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 54%.
24Averett University · Danville, VA$59,911$22,925$23,06456.6%
Averett University reports an average net price of $23,064 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $59,911 four years after completing.
25Virginia Union University · Richmond, VA$50,840$13,235$11,42498.0%
Virginia Union University reports median earnings of $50,840 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,235.
26Bluefield University · Bluefield, VA$53,206$25,573$25,80759.3%
Bluefield University admits 59% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 18%.
27Sweet Briar College · Sweet Briar, VA$52,366$17,758$11,73475.5%
Sweet Briar College ranks 27th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 52% and an average net price of $11,734 for families earning under $30,000.
28Hampton University · Hampton, VA$61,865$25,319$32,10162.3%
Hampton University reports median earnings of $61,865 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 62%.
29Randolph College · Lynchburg, VA$50,675$15,921$13,04893.7%
Randolph College admits 94% of applicants and reports an average net price of $15,921.
30Randolph-Macon College · Ashland, VA$61,824$27,866$16,60186.6%
Randolph-Macon College ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $61,824 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 70%.
31University of Lynchburg · Lynchburg, VA$60,701$22,235$20,69243.0%
University of Lynchburg reports an admission rate of 43% and median earnings of $60,701 for its graduates four years after completing.
32Bridgewater College · Bridgewater, VA$55,722$17,800$13,28391.7%
Bridgewater College posts a six-year completion rate of 53% and an average net price of $13,283 for families earning under $30,000.
33Longwood University · Farmville, VA$54,005$19,066$11,89690.2%
Longwood University ranks 33rd on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 61% and an average net price of $19,066.
34Shenandoah University · Winchester, VA$65,784$30,298$24,35677.0%
Shenandoah University reports median earnings of $65,784 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 67%.
35Roanoke College · Salem, VA$56,840$24,503$15,20483.1%
Roanoke College admits 83% of applicants and reports an average net price of $15,204 for families earning under $30,000.
36Eastern Mennonite University · Harrisonburg, VA$60,150$24,588$22,994100.0%
Eastern Mennonite University ranks 36th on this list, with median earnings of $60,150 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 100%.
37Hollins University · Roanoke, VA$44,151$20,896$17,51168.0%
Hollins University reports median earnings of $44,151 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $20,896.
38Emory & Henry University · Emory, VA$47,079$19,061$14,24683.7%
Emory & Henry University admits 84% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 56%.
39Southern Virginia University · Buena Vista, VA$44,267$22,213$18,95796.4%
Southern Virginia University ranks 39th on this list, with an average net price of $18,957 for families earning under $30,000.
40Ferrum College · Ferrum, VA$46,725$20,082$16,94089.0%
Ferrum College posts median earnings of $46,725 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 32%.
41Virginia Wesleyan University · Virginia Beach, VA$50,183$19,676$14,08072.9%
Virginia Wesleyan University holds an admission rate of 73% and reports median earnings of $50,183 for its graduates four years after completing.

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Virginia, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each school are the median earnings of its federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The composite score is not a measure of fit or teaching quality. The list includes 15 public and 26 private nonprofit institutions.