Research brief & institution hub

Boricua College

NYSmall private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #253 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Boricua College #253 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Boricua College is a small private nonprofit in New York whose degree mix is concentrated in Public Administration & Social Services and Education. Access is among the highest we track, and affordability is among the highest we track.

Graduates earn less than predicts for students like them. The model attributes a subtraction to the factors it measures — field of study, enrollment and the local labor market — and an addition to the remainder it cannot explain.

The published cost is low for a private institution, and what students actually pay after aid is below the typical amount at similar schools. Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study, and the four-year earnings figure is based on federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled.

The page cannot tell you what the classroom experience is like in a program this small. It also cannot separate how the degree mix relates to the earnings picture beyond what the model can measure.

Boricua College at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
80.6%
Four-year earnings[3]
$50,662

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$23,253
Median student debt[4]
$6,733
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
Not reported

Boricua College rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Boricua College is a private nonprofit university in New York, New York, enrolling 391 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits in the upper fifth of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (83rd percentile).

The four sit far apart. Access is the strongest (97th percentile), and affordability is close behind (96th percentile).

Return and mobility are the weakest, at the 35th and 34th percentiles respectively.

Access and affordability are the pillars that stand out in Azimuth's assessment of Boricua College, both in the 97th and 96th percentiles among nonprofit four-year institutions. Return and mobility sit much lower, in the 35th and 34th percentiles.

The profile is one of a school that opens its doors wide and keeps costs low, with outcomes that are more measured.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Boricua College rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#253

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 34
Access & reach
National percentile: 97
Affordability
National percentile: 96
Return on investment
National percentile: 35

01 / Boricua College briefing

Boricua College cost & financial aid[6][7]

The published cost of attendance at Boricua College is $24,213, with tuition and fees of $13,025. For the average aid recipient, the net price after grants and scholarships is $15,245.

That is $7,102 below the $22,347 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Financial aid reduces the sticker price by an average of $8,968, meaning aid covers about 37% of the published cost for the average aid recipient.

Azimuth ranks the university #58 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 96th percentile.

The published cost of attendance at Boricua College is $24,213. Azimuth ranks the university #58 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

After grants and scholarships, the average net price for aid recipients from families earning under $30,000 is $14,809, for those earning $30,001 to $48,000 it is $13,907, and for those earning $48,001 to $75,000 it is $23,253. Aid covers about 37% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, bringing the across all bands to $15,245.

That is $7,102 below the median for comparable institutions (same type and size), which is $22,347. Borrowers who finish carry a median of $6,733 in federal student loans, $18,267 below the median for comparable institutions.

About 12.4% of federal aid recipients take federal loans. If repaid over ten years, that median debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $77 a month.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$23,253

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Boricua College

Borrowers who complete a degree at Boricua College carry a median of $6,733 in federal student loans. That is $18,267 below the $25,000 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

12.4% of federal aid recipients take federal loans. If repaid over ten years, the median debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $77 a month.

Four years after completion, the median for federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled is $50,662. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, that figure stands at the 19th percentile.

Comparable institutions (same type and size) show a median of $55,915, so Boricua College sits $5,253 below that level. Graduates earn about $1,257 less than the model expects for similar students.

That outcome is at the 50th percentile. Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, run from $45,733 on the downside to $55,959 on the upside, with $50,662 as the typical case.

Borrowers who complete leave with a median of $6,733 in federal loans. That amount is $18,267 below the $25,000 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

If repaid over ten years, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $77 a month.

For borrowers with the median federal student debt, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $77 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$6,733
Institution Parent PLUS debt
No federal loan data

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$77/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
No federal loan data

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Boricua College briefing

Boricua College career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Azimuth places the return pillar for Boricua College in the 35th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Earnings for federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled reach a median of $50,662 four years after completing a degree, in the 19th percentile.

Boricua College's median falls $5,253 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Graduates earn about $1,257 less than the model expects for similar students.

That places the result in the 50th percentile. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) subtracts $7,859.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $6,602. Within the measured factors, the STEM component subtracts $1,659.

Four years after completing a degree at Boricua College, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $50,662. That figure sits below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size), and Azimuth places it in the 19th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The earnings cohort is 168 completers. Earnings scenarios estimated from the program mix put the typical outcome at $50,662, with a downside scenario of $45,733 and an upside scenario of $55,959.

These are scenarios, not observed groups of graduates. An estimated 32.7% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

That estimate suggests most completers enter the workforce directly, so the four-year earnings figures capture the early-career picture for the majority.

The median for comparable institutions is $55,915, and earnings at Boricua College fall $5,253 below that four years after completion. The median for federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled is $50,662 four years after completion, at the 19th percentile.

Azimuth places the university at #955 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Its graduates earn about $1,257 less than the model expects for similar students.

Its graduates earn about $1,257 less than the model expects for similar students. That result, drawn from a cohort of 168 completers, sits at the 50th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) subtracts $7,859. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $6,602.

Within the measured factors, the STEM component subtracts $1,659. The institution awards bachelor's degrees in three main fields: Public Administration & Social Services, Education and Business.

Earnings scenarios are estimated from the program mix, with the downside scenario at $45,733 and the upside scenario at $55,959. An estimated 32.7% of graduates continue to graduate study based on the program mix, not from observed enrollment.

The earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, range from $45,733 on the downside to $55,959 on the upside, with $50,662 as the typical scenario. These are scenarios, not observed groups of graduates.

The two programs with published earnings data are Teacher Education and Business Administration and Management. Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $55,959 four years after completion, from 30 degrees awarded.

Business Administration and Management graduates earn $42,710, from 9 degrees awarded.

Graduates of Boricua College earn about $1,257 less than the model expects for similar students. Borrowers who finish carry a median of $6,733 in federal student loans.

That is $18,267 below the $25,000 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). If repaid over ten years, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $77 a month.

The published cost of attendance is $24,213, and aid covers about 37% of the published cost for the average aid recipient. The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $15,245, which is $7,102 below the peer median. Low debt and a net price below the peer median point the same way here.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
-$7,859
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
+$6,602
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
-$1,257

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Boricua College briefing

Boricua College acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Boricua College enrolls 391 undergraduates. Most students rely on federal grant aid, and more than half arrive after starting coursework elsewhere. The campus is not built around a single traditional entry path.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Boricua College briefing

What are the largest majors at Boricua College?[12]

Boricua College awards bachelor's degrees in two fields with published earnings, and the range between them is wide. Teacher Education is both the largest program with published earnings and the highest-earning one, at 30 degrees awarded and median earnings of $55,959 four years after completion.

Business Administration and Management is the other program with earnings data, at 9 degrees awarded and a median of $42,710. The university has no ranked programs and no STEM degrees.

Teacher Education awards more than three times as many degrees as the other published program.

The university awards degrees in a small number of fields, with Public Administration & Social Services and Education together accounting for nearly all of them. Teacher Education is the largest program with published earnings at 30 degrees awarded a year, and its graduates earn a median of $55,959 four years after completion.

Business Administration and Management is the second-largest program with published earnings, with 9 degrees awarded and median earnings of $42,710. Earnings data is available for 2 programs, so the picture is narrow but clear: the largest program is also the highest-earning one.

Boricua College awards bachelor's degrees across a small set of programs, with 2 fields reporting four-year earnings data. The degree mix is concentrated in two families: Public Administration & Social Services accounts for 47.3% of degrees awarded, and Education for 40.5%.

Business makes up the remaining 12.2%. Teacher Education is the largest program with published earnings, at 30 degrees awarded a year, and it is also the highest-earning.

Graduates earn a median of $55,959 four years after completion, a benchmark ratio of 1.18x against the national median for its field. Business Administration and Management is the second-largest program with published earnings, with 9 degrees awarded.

Its median earnings are $42,710, which is 0.63x the national median for the field. The pattern is one of concentration: nearly all degrees come from two families, and the largest program is also the best-paid.

0.0% of degrees are in STEM fields. Four-year earnings for fields where graduate study is common may understate later trajectories.

Four-year earnings · three largest reported fields
Human Services, General 35 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 30 degrees awarded
$55,959
Business Administration, Management and Operations 9 degrees awarded
$42,710

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings