College research / Rankings

Best Dental Support Professions Programs in the Midwest

Updated

Part of Best Health Professions Colleges in the Midwest

Regional list from Top Dental Support Professions Programs in the United States

This page ranks the 15 Dental Support Professions programs in the Midwest by median earnings of Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $76,078 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the listed programs, the median earnings figure is $65,920, with a range from $76,078 to $59,402.

Public institutions account for 13 of the 15 programs, or 87% of the list. Indiana University-Northwest posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $5,130.

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

15 schools in list order
RankSchoolProgram EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN$76,078$16,778$6,64279.8%
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $76,078 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing.
2Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN$72,882$19,139$12,33988.4%
Minnesota State University-Mankato reports median earnings of $72,882 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $21,355 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed.
3University of Nebraska Medical Center · Omaha, NE$69,031Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
University of Nebraska Medical Center reports a median federal debt of $15,000 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $69,031 four years after completing.
4Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL$68,609$13,297$9,41586.9%
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale ranks 243rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earn a median of $68,609 four years after completing.
5University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD$68,556$19,858$14,92198.8%
University of South Dakota reports an average net price of $14,921 for families earning under $30,000, while its Dental Support Professions graduates earn a median of $68,556 four years after completing.
6Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI$68,392$17,124$15,62468.9%
Siena Heights University reports a median federal debt of $18,750 across all of its borrowers who completed, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earn $68,392 four years after completing.
7Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN$67,468$5,130$1,41973.4%
Indiana University-Northwest reports an average net price of $5,130, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earn a median of $67,468 four years after completing.
8Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$65,920$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 90th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earn a median of $65,920 four years after completing.
9University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO$64,838$13,310$10,57672.2%
University of Missouri-Kansas City reports a median federal debt of $18,750 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $64,838 four years after completing.
10Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI$63,582$8,624$2,55691.4%
Ferris State University reports an average net price of $2,556 for families earning under $30,000, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earn a median of $63,582 four years after completing.
11University of Detroit Mercy · Detroit, MI$63,364$15,232$13,08875.4%
University of Detroit Mercy admits 75% of applicants and posts median earnings of $63,364 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing.
12Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$62,099$12,767$9,32884.5%
Youngstown State University reports a median federal debt of $24,905 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $62,099 four years after completing.
13Wichita State University · Wichita, KS$61,982$13,194$9,73494.0%
Wichita State University reports median earnings of $61,982 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, with 59 graduates in the earnings cohort.
14Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN$61,436$8,653$4,63783.8%
Indiana University-South Bend admits 84% of applicants and carries an average net price of $8,653.
15University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI$59,402$13,138$1,04315.6%
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an admission rate of 16%.

How this list is ordered

Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Dental Hygiene/Hygienist graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figures cover federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range from University of Minnesota-Twin Cities to the bottom of the list spans $16,676, and the gap between University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and Minnesota State University-Mankato is $3,196.

Job market context in the Midwest

The occupations linked to Dental Support Professions in the Midwest include such roles as Dental Assistants, Dental Hygienists, and Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary. The median annual wage across those occupations is $69,651, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $57,291. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 9.3% higher, with about 3,152 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses the median earnings of graduates four years after completing, a different measure from the occupational wage figures reported here.