College research / Rankings

Best Physical Therapy Colleges in the Midwest (2026)

Updated

Part of Best Health Professions Colleges in the Midwest

This page lists 65 colleges in the Midwest with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort. Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first.

Only schools with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. University of Nebraska Medical Center ranks 1st on this page, with an Azimuth composite rank of 774th among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Across the 4 schools with a published figure, median earnings of Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing range from $85,450 to $21,508, with a median of $50,772; for 2 of these programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions make up 63% of the list, with 41 public and 24 private nonprofit schools. Indiana University-Kokomo reports the lowest average net price at $3,968.

Wayne State University ranks 80th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

65 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Physical Therapy EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Nebraska Medical Center · Omaha, NE$106,916Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
University of Nebraska Medical Center ranks 1st on this list and places 774th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (398 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (46 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (35 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($76,723), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($69,031)

2University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH$89,915$25,648$17,97485.3%
With a six-year completion rate of 75%, University of Cincinnati-Main Campus admits 85% of applicants and reports an average net price of $25,648.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (379 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (157 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (106 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($89,915), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($85,551), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($79,742)

3Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN$86,888$5,130$1,41973.4%
Indiana University-Northwest posts an average net price of $5,130 and graduates 37% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (73 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (25 graduates), Public Health (20 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($86,888), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($82,626), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($67,468)

4Rush University · Chicago, IL$85,450Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Rush University, a private nonprofit university in Chicago, reports median earnings of $85,450 for its Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (30 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($85,450)

5Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH$83,938$14,764$11,95891.3%
Cleveland State University ranks 211th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 91% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (231 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (153 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (40 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($82,201), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($67,214)

6St Catherine University · Saint Paul, MN$83,211$19,764$17,89091.9%
Graduating 61% of its students within six years, St Catherine University reports an average net price of $19,764.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (167 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (59 graduates), Public Health (48 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($85,514), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($83,211), Public Health ($61,169)

7Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI$81,797$17,124$15,62468.9%
Siena Heights University admits 69% of applicants and has an average net price of $15,624 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (73 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (32 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($82,539), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($81,797)

8Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN$80,783$11,668$5,70176.4%
Indiana University-Indianapolis ranks 139th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a six-year completion rate of 54%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (652 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (126 graduates), Public Health (99 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($80,783), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,722), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($76,220)

9Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL$80,220$13,297$9,41586.9%
With an admission rate of 87%, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale reports an average net price of $13,297 and graduates 62% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (59 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (52 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($80,220), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($68,609), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($61,807)

10Wayne State University · Detroit, MI$78,391$12,766$11,09081.2%
Wayne State University holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on this list at 80th among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 81% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (258 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (178 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (104 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,405), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($78,391), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($67,284)

11Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO$77,671$24,398$22,50175.0%
Saint Louis University graduates 80% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $24,398.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (189 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (57 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (53 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,525), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($77,671), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($70,202)

12North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND$77,589$15,543$9,37095.0%
North Dakota State University-Main Campus admits 95% of applicants and has an average net price of $9,370 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (204 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (58 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (55 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($77,589), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($73,935), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($65,292)

13University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE$77,034$16,242$13,06689.5%
University of Nebraska at Kearney admits 89% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 58%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (45 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (19 graduates)

14Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$76,896$12,767$9,32884.5%
With an average net price of $12,767, Youngstown State University ranks 14th on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (151 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (31 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (22 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,576), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($76,896), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($63,979)

15Concordia University-Wisconsin · Mequon, WI$76,617$36,201$34,99178.2%
Concordia University-Wisconsin, a private nonprofit university in Mequon, has an average net price of $34,991 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (82 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (70 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,505), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($76,617), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($58,979)

16Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI$76,031$8,624$2,55691.4%
Ferris State University posts an average net price of $2,556 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 47%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (107 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (39 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (37 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,718), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($76,031), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($64,703)

17Washburn University · Topeka, KS$75,787$15,280$20,310Not reported
Washburn University ranks 357th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 53%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (152 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (52 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,109), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($75,787), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($66,325)

18University of Evansville · Evansville, IN$75,673$18,499$14,45177.6%
University of Evansville admits 78% of applicants and has an average net price of $14,451 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (36 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (11 graduates), Public Health (10 graduates)

19Kettering College · Kettering, OH$75,481$21,650$16,00076.5%
Kettering College reports a six-year completion rate of 65% and ranks 653rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (110 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (20 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,539), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($83,293), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($75,481)

20University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI$75,197$16,210$8,22475.5%
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse graduates 71% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $8,224 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (68 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (52 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($75,197), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($73,439), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($58,908)

21University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO$73,861$20,268$13,84178.5%
Admitting 78% of applicants, University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 144th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (439 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (253 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (77 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,231), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($73,861), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($69,333)

22Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN$73,678$3,968-$58386.5%
Indiana University-Kokomo reports the lowest average net price on the page at $3,968 and admits 86% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (154 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (13 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,756), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($73,678), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($41,830)

23Clarke University · Dubuque, IA$73,295$24,479$23,40571.8%
Clarke University has an average net price of $23,405 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 56%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (16 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (8 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($74,114)

24Bryan College of Health Sciences · Lincoln, NE$73,221$26,919$23,19667.4%
Bryan College of Health Sciences admits 67% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 70%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (107 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($75,490)

25Bellin College · Green Bay, WI$72,442$37,408$29,99497.2%
Bellin College, a private nonprofit institution in Green Bay, ranks 25th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 63%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (103 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,754), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($72,442)

26Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN$71,862$8,653$4,63783.8%
With an average net price of $8,653, Indiana University-South Bend ranks 26th on this page and admits 84% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (94 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (56 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,541), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($61,436)

27The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH$71,024$27,221$22,05283.4%
The University of Findlay ranks 27th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 1247th among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (64 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (21 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (11 graduates)

28Marian University · Fond Du Lac, WI$70,786$21,937$17,44975.0%
Marian University reports an average net price of $17,449 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 28th on this page.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (43 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (39 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (9 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,278), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($70,786)

29Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI$70,655$16,317$12,27283.0%
Grand Valley State University ranks 29th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 67% and an admission rate of 83%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (247 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (215 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (67 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,188), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($70,655), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($62,482)

30Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$68,942$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 30th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 90th among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services (416 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (280 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (117 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,795), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($80,315), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($74,601)

31Avila University · Kansas City, MO$68,865$16,053$15,69487.8%
Avila University ranks 31st on this page and reports an average net price of $15,694 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (40 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (23 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($74,562), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($68,865)

32Allen College · Waterloo, IA$68,742Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Allen College ranks 32nd on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 989th among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (121 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (15 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($73,177)

33University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA$68,601$22,531$15,31683.6%
University of Iowa admits 84% of applicants, ranks 33rd on this page, and reports a six-year completion rate of 75%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (240 graduates), Public Health (89 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (75 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($78,836), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($68,601), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($66,377)

34University of Mary · Bismarck, ND$67,803$17,770$11,59375.3%
An average net price of $11,593 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies University of Mary's 34th position on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (84 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (28 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (7 graduates)

35Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH$67,676$20,787$15,28086.3%
Kent State University at Kent ranks 35th on this page, with an admission rate of 86% and an average net price of $20,787.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (533 graduates), Public Health (166 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (73 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($78,263), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($67,676), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($57,360)

36University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh · Oshkosh, WI$66,541$14,305$9,23686.5%
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh ranks 36th on this list and reports an average net price of $9,236 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (290 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (31 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (20 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,490)

37Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO$65,601$17,613$13,71890.5%
Missouri State University-Springfield admits 91% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 58%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (110 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (65 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,615), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($65,127), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($50,774)

38University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MINo published median$7,007$1,51770.5%
University of Michigan-Flint posts an average net price of $7,007 and ranks 290th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (258 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (36 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (25 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($86,401), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($56,867), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($53,886)

39Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI$63,925$9,120$4,42287.8%
Oakland University ranks 147th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 58% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (520 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (246 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($85,266), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,667), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($70,486)

40University of Toledo · Toledo, OH$63,908$17,249$13,52492.0%
University of Toledo admits 92% of applicants and carries an average net price of $17,249.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (277 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (130 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (43 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,241), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($63,908), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration ($63,190)

41Ball State University · Muncie, IN$61,584$14,940$7,83485.5%
Ball State University reports a six-year completion rate of 62% and an average net price of $7,834 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (159 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (57 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (31 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($76,161), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($61,584), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($56,078)

42University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO$60,063$14,462$10,96563.8%
University of Central Missouri ranks 593rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 64% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (118 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (27 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($80,542), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($53,677)

43Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN$59,483$13,529$8,90994.8%
Saint Cloud State University graduates 40% of its students within six years and posts an average net price of $13,529.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (88 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (41 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (20 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,470), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($78,067), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($59,483)

44University of St Francis · Joliet, IL$59,124$13,006$8,54765.3%
University of St Francis admits 65% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 67%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (127 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (67 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,383), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($79,421)

45Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN$58,541$10,873$6,45580.8%
Indiana State University carries an average net price of $6,455 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 317th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (185 graduates), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (41 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,988), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($58,541), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions ($51,288)

46Fort Hays State University · Hays, KS$58,463$12,569$7,66190.3%
Fort Hays State University admits 90% of applicants and posts an average net price of $12,569.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (129 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (50 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,957), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($58,463)

47University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH$58,061$13,946$10,41359.7%
University of Akron Main Campus reports a six-year completion rate of 52% and an average net price of $10,413 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (191 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (35 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (29 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($76,089), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($58,061), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services ($55,527)

48Wilmington College · Wilmington, OH$56,044$24,153$19,82092.4%
Wilmington College reports $56,044 in median earnings for its Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (13 graduates)

49Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS$55,985$19,406$13,17881.7%
Kansas State University admits 82% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 71%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (88 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (40 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (29 graduates)

50University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS$53,864$18,059$12,54493.5%
University of Kansas ranks 183rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $18,059.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (196 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (130 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (57 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($78,601), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions ($57,252), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($53,864)

51South Dakota State University · Brookings, SDNo published median$19,841$14,26698.3%
South Dakota State University has an admission rate of 98% and an average net price of $14,266 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (336 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (62 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,932), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($73,360)

52Baker College · Owosso, MI$52,941$13,157$11,97681.9%
Baker College, a private nonprofit institution in Owosso, reports a six-year completion rate of 36%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (219 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (71 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,840), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($51,868)

53Illinois State University · Normal, IL$52,417$19,398$11,56888.2%
Illinois State University ranks 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 65% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (207 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (92 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (41 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($84,790), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,264), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($73,220)

54Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI$52,311$17,597$12,18589.8%
Central Michigan University reports an average net price of $17,597 and an admission rate of 90%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (62 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (30 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (23 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Health and Medical Administrative Services ($67,117), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,082), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services ($55,134)

55Newman University · Wichita, KS$52,107$19,971$18,06074.0%
Newman University ranks 55th on this list, with an average net price of $18,060 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (42 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (8 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (5 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,122)

56Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH$51,385$24,022$18,39681.0%
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus admits 81% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 64%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (93 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (44 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (37 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($78,798), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($73,290), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($66,280)

57Anderson University · Anderson, IN$51,172$25,021$23,11979.3%
Anderson University ranks 1253rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $25,021.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (41 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,507)

58Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health · Omaha, NE$50,856$21,863$17,27273.4%
Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health reports an admission rate of 73% and an average net price of $17,272 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (200 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($76,879)

59Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion · Marion, IN$50,790$22,866$19,79388.9%
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion ranks 59th on this list and graduates 67% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (133 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (13 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,157)

60Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL$49,556$12,786$9,82865.4%
Eastern Illinois University reports an average net price of $12,786 and a six-year completion rate of 47%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (46 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (14 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (7 graduates)

61Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI$48,065$15,273$5,26384.6%
Western Michigan University admits 85% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 58%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (115 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (65 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (51 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,449), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($54,265)

62University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA$47,105$15,901$10,86392.7%
University of Northern Iowa reports an average net price of $10,863 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (55 graduates), Public Health (33 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($60,509), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($52,202)

63North Central College · Naperville, IL$45,500$21,044$12,50777.3%
North Central College, a private nonprofit in Naperville, reports median earnings of $45,500 for its Physical Therapy graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (16 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (5 graduates)

64Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH$33,987$28,384$16,01575.4%
Miami University-Oxford ranks 626th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 80% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (196 graduates), Public Health (102 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (65 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($77,451), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($72,484)

65Central College · Pella, IA$21,508$23,377$16,23186.2%
Central College graduates 66% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $21,508 for its Physical Therapy graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (5 graduates)

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figures cover federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing for most schools. For 2 of the 65 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 4 schools with a published figure. The spread from University of Nebraska Medical Center to University of Cincinnati-Main Campus is $63,942.

Job market context in the Midwest

Physical Therapy graduates in the Midwest enter occupations such as Nursing Assistants, Registered Nurses, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $64,789, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $54,827. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 7.0% higher, with 330,740 projected openings a year, or about 492 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. These market figures describe the occupations, not the earnings of any listed program; the ranking above uses graduate earnings data reported by each school.