Top Dental Support Professions Programs in the United States
Updated
This page ranks the 52 Dental Support Professions programs in the United States by the median earnings of Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. University of the Pacific leads the list with median earnings of $86,150 four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the median figure is $67,796, with a range from $86,150 to $54,022.
Public institutions account for 44 of the 52 programs, or 85% of the list. Indiana University-Northwest reports the lowest average net price at $5,130.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $86,150 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| University of the Pacific ranks 1st on this list, reporting $86,150 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 25. | |||||
| 2 | Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences · Boston, MA | $83,253 | $39,545 | $35,206 | 85.2% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Boston, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences posts an average net price of $39,545 and median earnings of $83,253 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $79,863 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa admits 87% of applicants and its Dental Support Professions graduates earned a median of $79,863 four years after completing, with a cohort of 17. | |||||
| 4 | Pacific University · Forest Grove, OR | $78,641 | $35,273 | $23,318 | 89.6% |
| With a cohort of 33, Pacific University reports $78,641 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $35,273. | |||||
| 5 | Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA | $78,231 | $23,433 | $17,512 | 92.6% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University ranks 171st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earned a median of $78,231 four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Oregon Institute of Technology · Klamath Falls, OR | $78,089 | $15,706 | $9,085 | 95.0% |
| Oregon Institute of Technology reports $78,089 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, and a median federal debt of $20,750 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 7 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $76,662 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 89.0% |
| West Virginia University posts an average net price of $15,634, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earned a median of $76,662 four years after completing from a cohort of 20. | |||||
| 8 | University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN | $76,078 | $16,778 | $6,642 | 79.8% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities admits 80% of applicants and reports $76,078 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $75,533 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University reports $75,533 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,886. | |||||
| 10 | University of Bridgeport · Bridgeport, CT | $74,822 | $27,807 | $27,238 | 83.0% |
| A private nonprofit university in Bridgeport, University of Bridgeport posts median earnings of $74,822 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 36. | |||||
| 11 | University of New England · Biddeford, ME | $74,504 | $38,107 | $31,371 | 91.6% |
| University of New England reports $74,504 in median earnings for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, and a median federal debt of $26,645 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 12 | Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX | $74,347 | $11,656 | $8,856 | 93.5% |
| Midwestern State University admits 94% of applicants, and its Dental Support Professions graduates earned a median of $74,347 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | University of Maryland Baltimore · Baltimore, MD | $74,215 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| University of Maryland Baltimore reports median earnings of $74,215 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $15,000 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 14 | University of New Haven · West Haven, CT | $73,231 | $34,192 | $27,837 | 60.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in West Haven, University of New Haven admits 60% of applicants and posts an average net price of $34,192. | |||||
| 15 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $72,882 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato ranks 15th on this list and carries an average net price of $12,339 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $72,567 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill admits 15% of applicants and reports median earnings of $72,567 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $71,120 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio reports $71,120 in median earnings for Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, with 17 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 18 | Farmingdale State College · Farmingdale, NY | $70,853 | $10,867 | $4,933 | 63.3% |
| Farmingdale State College posts median earnings of $70,853 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $14,718 in federal loans. | |||||
| 19 | Texas A&M University-College Station · College Station, TX | $70,132 | $21,315 | $12,784 | 57.4% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station ranks 25th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $70,132 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $69,732 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University admits 90% of applicants and reports median earnings of $69,732 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 74 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 21 | University of Nebraska Medical Center · Omaha, NE | $69,031 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center reports median earnings of $69,031 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $15,000 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 22 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $68,917 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University carries an average net price of $9,709 for families earning under $30,000 and reports median earnings of $68,917 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $68,609 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale ranks 23rd on this list and reports a median federal debt of $21,500 among Dental Support Professions completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 24 | University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD | $68,556 | $19,858 | $14,921 | 98.8% |
| University of South Dakota admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $68,556 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI | $68,392 | $17,124 | $15,624 | 68.9% |
| Siena Heights University, a private nonprofit university in Adrian, reports median earnings of $68,392 for its Dental Support Professions graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Dental Hygiene/Hygienist graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the United States appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing the program. It does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 52 schools with a published figure. The gap between first-ranked University of the Pacific and second-ranked Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences is $2,897, while the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $32,128.
Job market context in the United States
Graduates of Dental Support Professions programs in the United States enter occupations such as Dental Assistants, Dental Hygienists, and Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary. Across those occupations the median annual wage is $74,819, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $60,037. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects about 3,765 openings a year for every hundred graduates, with more projected openings than graduates. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 9.5% higher. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, which is a different measure from the occupation-wide wage figures described here.
Related rankings
- Health Professions Colleges
- Health Professions Colleges for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges for Social Mobility
- Physical Therapy Colleges for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges for Social Mobility