Best Nursing Colleges in Illinois (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 32 Nursing programs in Illinois by the median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing. Benedictine University ranks 1st on this list, and Chicago State University reports the highest figure at $92,024.
Across the listed schools, median earnings range from $97,934 to $65,924, with a median of $83,220. For 2 of the 32 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 8 public and 24 private nonprofit institutions. Saint Xavier University posts the lowest average net price at $10,970, while Bradley University reports the highest six-year completion rate at 76%.
University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Nursing Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Benedictine University · Lisle, IL | $97,934 | $22,313 | $20,168 | 95.2% |
| Benedictine University ranks 1st on this list, reporting $97,934 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (80 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (55 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($97,934), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($50,130) | |||||
| 2 | Chicago State University · Chicago, IL | $92,024 | $12,335 | $9,073 | 43.3% |
| A public university in Chicago, Chicago State University posts an average net price of $12,335 alongside a six-year completion rate of 15%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (26 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($92,024) | |||||
| 3 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $88,391 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Governors State University admits 48% of applicants and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $88,391 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (44 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (22 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($88,391), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($53,227), Public Health ($51,027) | |||||
| 4 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $87,922 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| With an average net price of $36,079, Loyola University Chicago sits at 4th on this list and graduates 73% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (415 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (32 graduates), Public Health (13 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,922), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($82,040) | |||||
| 5 | University of St Francis · Joliet, IL | $87,383 | $13,006 | $8,547 | 65.3% |
| University of St Francis reports $87,383 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $8,547 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (127 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (67 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,383), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($79,421) | |||||
| 6 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $87,170 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| Ranking 6th on this list, Saint Xavier University holds an average net price of $10,970 and an admission rate of 84%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (138 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,170) | |||||
| 7 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $87,037 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $87,037 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (296 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (164 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (71 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,037), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($66,694) | |||||
| 8 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $86,941 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| Bradley University posts a six-year completion rate of 76% and median earnings of $86,941 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (79 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (41 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($86,941), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($67,735) | |||||
| 9 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $86,694 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| A public university in Macomb, Western Illinois University reports an average net price of $6,941 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 71%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (28 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (20 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($86,694), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($56,771) | |||||
| 10 | North Park University · Chicago, IL | $86,581 | $16,948 | $14,845 | 68.5% |
| North Park University reports median earnings of $86,581 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, and a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (64 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($86,581) | |||||
| 11 | Lewis University · Romeoville, IL | $85,320 | $17,028 | $10,382 | 71.3% |
| Ranking 11th on this list, Lewis University admits 71% of applicants and posts an average net price of $17,028. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (111 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (6 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($85,320) | |||||
| 12 | Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL | $84,705 | $20,729 | $17,232 | 55.9% |
| Olivet Nazarene University reports median earnings of $84,705 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $17,232 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (87 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,705) | |||||
| 13 | Illinois Wesleyan University · Bloomington, IL | $84,527 | $28,199 | $17,732 | 39.3% |
| Illinois Wesleyan University admits 39% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (53 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,527) | |||||
| 14 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $84,022 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University posts median earnings of $84,022 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,838. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (158 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (40 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (34 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,022), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($52,987) | |||||
| 15 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $83,867 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| A public university in Edwardsville, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ranks 15th on this list and carries an average net price of $14,889. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (479 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (24 graduates), Public Health (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,867) | |||||
| 16 | Lakeview College of Nursing · Danville, IL | $83,636 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lakeview College of Nursing reports median earnings of $83,636 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and ranks 738th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (61 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,636) | |||||
| 17 | Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences · Rock Island, IL | $82,804 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences shows median earnings of $82,804 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (47 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($82,804) | |||||
| 18 | Millikin University · Decatur, IL | $82,200 | $21,989 | $18,659 | 66.7% |
| Millikin University graduates 55% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $21,989. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (55 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($82,200) | |||||
| 19 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $81,264 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University ranks 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $81,264 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (207 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (92 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (41 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($84,790), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($81,264), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($73,220) | |||||
| 20 | Dominican University · River Forest, IL | $80,703 | $11,745 | $9,759 | 90.3% |
| Dominican University admits 90% of applicants and records median earnings of $80,703 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (37 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (36 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (10 graduates) | |||||
| 21 | Saint Anthony College of Nursing · Rockford, IL | $79,997 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Anthony College of Nursing reports median earnings of $79,997 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and ranks 725th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,997) | |||||
| 22 | McKendree University · Lebanon, IL | $79,916 | $24,717 | $21,928 | 71.7% |
| McKendree University admits 72% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (69 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,916) | |||||
| 23 | Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL | $79,811 | $19,125 | $12,891 | 84.9% |
| Trinity Christian College posts median earnings of $79,811 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,125. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (32 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,811) | |||||
| 24 | St. John's College · Springfield, IL | $79,694 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| St. John's College reports median earnings of $79,694 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and ranks 890th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (49 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,694) | |||||
| 25 | Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL | $79,372 | $24,185 | $17,892 | 73.6% |
| Elmhurst University, a private nonprofit university in Elmhurst, reports a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $24,185. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (56 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (29 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,372) | |||||
| 26 | Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Quincy, IL | $79,303 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences ranks 26th on this list with median earnings of $79,303 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (53 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,303) | |||||
| 27 | Quincy University · Quincy, IL | $78,599 | $20,359 | $16,502 | 50.9% |
| Quincy University admits 51% of applicants and posts an average net price of $16,502 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (20 graduates) | |||||
| 28 | Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL | $75,716 | $20,194 | $18,018 | 97.2% |
| Roosevelt University ranks 699th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a 97% admission rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (31 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (19 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (15 graduates) | |||||
| 29 | Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing · Peoria, IL | $73,765 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing reports median earnings of $73,765 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, ranking 29th on this page. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (114 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($73,765) | |||||
| 30 | Rockford University · Rockford, IL | $70,537 | $22,436 | $20,877 | 92.9% |
| Rockford University graduates 47% of its students within six years and shows an average net price of $22,436. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($70,537) | |||||
| 31 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $70,176 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University, a public university in Charleston, reports median earnings of $70,176 for its Nursing graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (46 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (14 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (7 graduates) | |||||
| 32 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $65,924 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Northern Illinois University ranks 116th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $10,126 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (166 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (153 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (47 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($76,856), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($55,778), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions ($55,586) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Nursing graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figures are medians for federally aided Nursing graduates who were working and not enrolled after completing. For 2 of the 32 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from Benedictine University to the bottom of the list is $32,010.
Job market context in Illinois
Nursing graduates in Illinois enter a labor market linked to occupations such as Nursing Assistants, Registered Nurses, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $67,040, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $54,685. The state projects about 442 openings a year for every hundred graduates, with more projected openings than graduates. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 8.9% higher. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the occupation-wide figures described here.
Related rankings
- Health Professions Colleges
- Best Colleges in Illinois
- Best Health Professions Colleges in California
- Best Nursing Colleges in New York
- Top Physical Therapy Colleges in Texas by Earnings
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Minnesota
- Health Professions Colleges in Illinois for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in Illinois for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in Illinois for Social Mobility