College research / Rankings

Best Nursing Colleges in Massachusetts (2026)

Updated

This page orders 21 Nursing programs in Massachusetts by median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing. Across the listed schools, median earnings range from $97,773 to $67,789, with a median of $92,960.

For 2 of the listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. College of Our Lady of the Elms ranks 1st on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 68%.

The list includes 9 public and 12 private nonprofit institutions. Worcester State University posts the lowest average net price at $13,381.

University of Massachusetts-Boston ranks 122nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

21 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Nursing EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1College of Our Lady of the Elms · Chicopee, MA$97,773$17,545$8,09985.3%
College of Our Lady of the Elms ranks 1st on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 68%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (108 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (19 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (5 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($97,773), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($41,831)

2Framingham State University · Framingham, MA$96,620$16,114$11,93483.6%
Framingham State University posts median earnings of $96,620 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (23 graduates)

3University of Massachusetts-Boston · Boston, MA$95,648$17,707$14,07083.8%
University of Massachusetts-Boston holds an Azimuth composite rank of 122nd among nonprofit four-year institutions, and admits 84% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (483 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($95,648)

4Salem State University · Salem, MA$95,550$15,996$10,51695.9%
Salem State University admits 96% of applicants and carries an average net price of $15,996.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (155 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (40 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (38 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($95,550)

5American International College · Springfield, MA$95,137$23,274$24,43799.6%
American International College reports an admission rate of 100%, the most open on the page, alongside a six-year completion rate of 46%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (80 graduates), Public Health (21 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($95,137)

6Boston College · Chestnut Hill, MA$94,867$41,704$4,28416.4%
Boston College ranks 156th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $94,867 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (105 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($94,867)

7Regis College · Weston, MA$94,329$27,477$21,41569.8%
Regis College ranks 7th on this list and reports an average net price of $21,415 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (214 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (31 graduates), Public Health (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($94,329), Public Health ($63,892)

8University of Massachusetts-Lowell · Lowell, MA$93,650$17,163$9,94383.0%
University of Massachusetts-Lowell holds an Azimuth composite rank of 142nd among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 83% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (91 graduates), Public Health (67 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (44 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($93,650), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($86,040)

9Endicott College · Beverly, MA$93,307$40,654$29,78071.2%
Endicott College reports a six-year completion rate of 76% and an average net price of $40,654.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (102 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (7 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($93,307)

10Westfield State University · Westfield, MA$93,248$16,721$10,75181.4%
Westfield State University posts median earnings of $93,248 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, above the list median of $92,960.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (66 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (23 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (6 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($93,248)

11Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences · Boston, MA$92,960$39,545$35,20685.2%
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences ranks 11th on this list and reports an average net price of $35,206 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (351 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (217 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (123 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($92,960), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($92,104), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($90,224)

12Curry College · Milton, MA$92,783$29,207$23,80687.7%
Curry College reports median earnings of $92,783 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, matching the list median of $92,960.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (233 graduates), Public Health (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($92,783)

13Fitchburg State University · Fitchburg, MA$92,187$14,262$10,20486.9%
Fitchburg State University reports median earnings of $92,187 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,262.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (155 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($92,187)

14Worcester State University · Worcester, MA$92,133$13,381$8,79388.0%
Worcester State University admits 88% of applicants and graduates 61% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (71 graduates), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (67 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($92,133), Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions ($63,505), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($58,126)

15Northeastern University · Boston, MA$91,003$30,915$2,2645.2%
With an admission rate of 5%, Northeastern University is the most selective school on this list and carries an average net price of $30,915.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (163 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (116 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (66 graduates)

16Emmanuel College · Boston, MA$90,856$26,706$20,39975.7%
Emmanuel College posts median earnings of $90,856 for its Nursing graduates two years after completing and an average net price of $20,399 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (21 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (7 graduates)

17MGH Institute of Health Professions · Boston, MA$90,412Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
MGH Institute of Health Professions ranks 17th on this list, with median earnings of $90,412 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (186 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($90,412)

18University of Massachusetts-Amherst · Amherst, MA$90,309$22,383$10,16459.7%
University of Massachusetts-Amherst shows a six-year completion rate of 83% and an average net price of $10,164 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (272 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (161 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (52 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($90,309), Public Health ($63,854), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($63,620)

19Anna Maria College · Paxton, MA$88,554$28,333$25,55450.3%
Anna Maria College reports median earnings of $88,554 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 50%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (39 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (14 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (5 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($88,554)

20University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth · North Dartmouth, MA$86,150$20,927$15,97690.6%
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth admits 91% of applicants and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 406th among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (144 graduates), Public Health (30 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (21 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($86,150), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($84,323)

21Simmons University · Boston, MA$67,789$25,265$18,02770.0%
Simmons University graduates 72% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $25,265.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (164 graduates), Public Health (11 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (6 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Nursing graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figures are medians for federally aided Nursing completers who were working and not enrolled after completing. For 2 of the 21 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from Framingham State University to the bottom is $29,984, while College of Our Lady of the Elms ranks first on this page without a citable earnings figure.

Job market context in Massachusetts

Nursing graduates in Massachusetts enter a labor market that includes occupations such as Nursing Assistants, Registered Nurses, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $77,073, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $64,346. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 5.4% higher, with about 671 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, a different measure from the occupational wage figures described here.