College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Massachusetts (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Massachusetts lists 64 four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Massachusetts, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Harvard University ranks 1st on this list and reports $134,794 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 13 public and 51 private nonprofit schools.

Harvard University ranks 32nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Worcester State University posts the lowest average net price at $13,381, and American International College has the highest admission rate, admitting 100% of applicants.

The ranked list

64 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Harvard University · Cambridge, MA$134,794$19,066$8,6973.7%
Harvard University reports median earnings of $134,794 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 98% six-year completion rate.
2Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Cambridge, MA$161,961$20,111-$2,5334.6%
Graduates of Massachusetts Institute of Technology earn a median of $161,961 four years after completing, and the school admits 5% of applicants.
3University of Massachusetts-Boston · Boston, MA$69,532$17,707$14,07083.8%
University of Massachusetts-Boston, a public university in Boston, has an average net price of $17,707 and a 49% six-year completion rate.
4University of Massachusetts-Lowell · Lowell, MA$81,163$17,163$9,94383.0%
With an admission rate of 83%, University of Massachusetts-Lowell reports median earnings of $81,163 for its graduates four years after completing.
5University of Massachusetts-Amherst · Amherst, MA$78,620$22,383$10,16459.7%
University of Massachusetts-Amherst ranks 5th on this list, graduating 83% of its students within six years.
6Boston College · Chestnut Hill, MA$96,145$41,704$4,28416.4%
Boston College posts an average net price of $41,704 and median earnings of $96,145 for its graduates four years after completing.
7Boston University · Boston, MA$83,615$24,402$9,50011.1%
Admitting 11% of applicants, Boston University reports an 89% six-year completion rate and median earnings of $83,615 for its graduates four years after completing.
8Babson College · Wellesley, MA$117,794$40,514$23,64117.1%
Graduates of Babson College earn a median of $117,794 four years after completing, and the school has an average net price of $40,514.
9Williams College · Williamstown, MA$80,487$17,716-$2,6108.3%
Williams College ranks 9th on this list, with a 94% six-year completion rate and an admission rate of 8%.
10Bentley University · Waltham, MA$108,577$37,930$21,19645.1%
Bentley University reports median earnings of $108,577 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 45%.
11Franklin W Olin College of Engineering · Needham, MA$126,895$25,171Not reported25.2%
With an average net price of $25,171, Franklin W Olin College of Engineering graduates 96% of its students within six years.
12Northeastern University · Boston, MA$101,903$30,915$2,2645.2%
Northeastern University ranks 12th on this list, with median earnings of $101,903 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Wellesley College · Wellesley, MA$72,449$25,496$2,54614.1%
Wellesley College reports median earnings of $72,449 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 92%.
14Massachusetts Maritime Academy · Buzzards Bay, MA$103,680$21,582$8,75794.7%
A public college in Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts Maritime Academy admits 95% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 74%.
15Tufts University · Medford, MA$97,474$39,998$11,28411.5%
Tufts University ranks 15th on this list and shows an average net price of $39,998, alongside median earnings of $97,474 four years after completing.
16Amherst College · Amherst, MA$79,243$23,367$1,0869.0%
With an admission rate of 9%, Amherst College carries an average net price of $1,086 for families earning under $30,000.
17Bridgewater State University · Bridgewater, MA$59,669$16,383$10,00787.8%
Bridgewater State University ranks 17th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 53% and an average net price of $16,383.
18College of the Holy Cross · Worcester, MA$84,553$38,782$14,34317.6%
College of the Holy Cross reports median earnings of $84,553 for its graduates four years after completing and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 405th among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth · North Dartmouth, MA$69,251$20,927$15,97690.6%
A public university in North Dartmouth, University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth admits 91% of applicants and posts median earnings of $69,251 four years after completing.
20Salem State University · Salem, MA$62,605$15,996$10,51695.9%
Salem State University ranks 20th on this list and carries an average net price of $10,516 for families earning under $30,000.
21Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences · Boston, MA$93,192$39,545$35,20685.2%
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences reports median earnings of $93,192 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 62%.
22Worcester State University · Worcester, MA$63,801$13,381$8,79388.0%
Worcester State University posts the lowest average net price on the page at $13,381 and admits 88% of applicants.
23Westfield State University · Westfield, MA$59,434$16,721$10,75181.4%
Westfield State University ranks 23rd on this list, with median earnings of $59,434 for its graduates four years after completing.
24Framingham State University · Framingham, MA$61,569$16,114$11,93483.6%
A public university in Framingham, Framingham State University posts a six-year completion rate of 48% and an average net price of $16,114.
25Bay Path University · Longmeadow, MA$62,912$14,271$11,94885.2%
Bay Path University, a private nonprofit university in Longmeadow, reports median earnings of $62,912 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 85%.
26Fitchburg State University · Fitchburg, MA$63,994$14,262$10,20486.9%
Fitchburg State University admits 87% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 55%.
27Wentworth Institute of Technology · Boston, MA$95,027$34,170$27,01891.2%
Wentworth Institute of Technology carries an average net price of $34,170 and reports median earnings of $95,027 for its graduates four years after completing.
28William James College · Newton, MA$91,134Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
William James College ranks 581st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $91,134 for its graduates four years after completing.
29College of Our Lady of the Elms · Chicopee, MA$64,421$17,545$8,09985.3%
College of Our Lady of the Elms graduates 68% of its students within six years and reports an admission rate of 85%.
30Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Worcester, MA$105,724$43,071$24,01860.2%
Worcester Polytechnic Institute posts median earnings of $105,724 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $43,071.
31Regis College · Weston, MA$84,660$27,477$21,41569.8%
Regis College ranks 31st on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 72%.
32Simmons University · Boston, MA$73,823$25,265$18,02770.0%
Simmons University admits 70% of applicants and reports an average net price of $18,027 for families earning under $30,000.
33Suffolk University · Boston, MA$74,456$29,618$24,74582.3%
Suffolk University reports median earnings of $74,456 for its graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 82%.
34Smith College · Northampton, MA$57,618$27,579$1,36321.0%
Smith College carries an average net price of $1,363 for families earning under $30,000 and graduates 89% of its students within six years.
35American International College · Springfield, MA$71,565$23,274$24,43799.6%
American International College admits 100% of applicants and reports median earnings of $71,565 for its graduates four years after completing.
36Brandeis University · Waltham, MA$76,742$35,736$13,36340.5%
Brandeis University ranks 799th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 86%.
37Anna Maria College · Paxton, MA$74,347$28,333$25,55450.3%
Anna Maria College reports median earnings of $74,347 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $28,333.
38Western New England University · Springfield, MA$76,928$27,290$20,72683.5%
Western New England University admits 83% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $76,928 four years after completing.
39Mount Holyoke College · South Hadley, MA$54,450$26,441$10,88236.0%
Mount Holyoke College posts a six-year completion rate of 84% and an average net price of $10,882 for families earning under $30,000.
40Clark University · Worcester, MA$63,965$28,714$18,18839.5%
Clark University ranks 986th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $63,965 for its graduates four years after completing.
41Curry College · Milton, MA$72,447$29,207$23,80687.7%
Curry College has an admission rate of 88% and a six-year completion rate of 51%.
42Stonehill College · Easton, MA$73,137$33,016$23,60566.3%
Stonehill College reports median earnings of $73,137 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $33,016.
43MGH Institute of Health Professions · Boston, MA$93,163Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
MGH Institute of Health Professions ranks 43rd on this list, with median earnings of $93,163 for its graduates four years after completing.
44Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts · North Adams, MA$48,835$16,068$9,84589.7%
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts has an average net price of $9,845 for families earning under $30,000 and admits 90% of applicants.
45Emmanuel College · Boston, MA$63,280$26,706$20,39975.7%
Emmanuel College posts a six-year completion rate of 68% and an average net price of $26,706.
46Wheaton College (Massachusetts) · Norton, MA$57,982$29,822$20,07667.7%
Wheaton College (Massachusetts) admits 68% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $57,982 four years after completing.
47Fisher College · Boston, MA$57,557$26,649$25,07170.7%
Fisher College ranks 1181st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 28%.
48Assumption University · Worcester, MA$67,745$29,498$19,88583.0%
Assumption University reports median earnings of $67,745 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,885 for families earning under $30,000.
49Springfield College · Springfield, MA$60,428$30,587$22,51971.9%
Springfield College reports median earnings of $60,428 for its graduates four years after completing, and a six-year completion rate of 74%.
50Lasell University · Newton, MA$58,411$27,511$18,33481.2%
Lasell University admits 81% of applicants and shows an average net price of $27,511.
51Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Boston, MA$45,607$24,100$16,35176.3%
A public institution in Boston, Massachusetts College of Art and Design has an average net price of $24,100 and a six-year completion rate of 69%.
52Merrimack College · North Andover, MA$65,506$37,927$31,71070.0%
Merrimack College ranks 52nd on this list, with median earnings of $65,506 for its graduates four years after completing.
53Gordon College · Wenham, MA$57,638$24,883$21,82969.2%
Gordon College reports median earnings of $57,638 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $21,829 for families earning under $30,000.
54Endicott College · Beverly, MA$69,414$40,654$29,78071.2%
Endicott College admits 71% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $69,414 four years after completing.
55Lesley University · Cambridge, MA$55,117$31,152$24,79996.9%
Lesley University posts a six-year completion rate of 58% and median earnings of $55,117 for its graduates four years after completing.
56Nichols College · Dudley, MA$64,532$33,036$22,05480.8%
Nichols College ranks 56th on this list and reports an average net price of $33,036.
57Northpoint Bible College · Haverhill, MA$36,818$23,635$23,323Not reported
Northpoint Bible College shows a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $23,323 for families earning under $30,000.
58Hampshire College · Amherst, MA$36,500$24,034$13,74975.3%
Hampshire College admits 75% of applicants and reports an average net price of $13,749 for families earning under $30,000.
59Hult International Business School · Cambridge, MA$75,197$45,447$43,30560.5%
Hult International Business School reports median earnings of $75,197 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 60%.
60Emerson College · Boston, MA$55,925$49,180$32,65051.3%
Emerson College ranks 60th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 77% and an average net price of $49,180.
61Dean College · Franklin, MA$41,151$30,684$26,99673.7%
Dean College reports median earnings of $41,151 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $26,996 for families earning under $30,000.
62Montserrat College of Art · Beverly, MA$35,321$33,216$25,388Not reported
Montserrat College of Art has a six-year completion rate of 53% and an average net price of $33,216.
63Berklee College of Music · Boston, MA$41,028$49,465$42,73443.5%
Berklee College of Music admits 44% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $41,028 four years after completing.
64The New England Conservatory of Music · Boston, MA$33,743$46,754$47,88241.1%
The New England Conservatory of Music ranks 1467th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a six-year completion rate of 73%.

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Massachusetts, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited on this page are the median earnings of federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. The list does not measure fit or teaching quality. Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology occupy the top two spots, with Harvard University posting median earnings of $134,794 for its graduates four years after completing and Massachusetts Institute of Technology reporting $161,961 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 13 public and 51 private nonprofit institutions.