Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Massachusetts (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Massachusetts lists 64 four-year institutions in Massachusetts. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Massachusetts, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Massachusetts-Amherst ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $78,620 for its graduates four years after completing.
Of the 64 schools, 13 are public and 51 are private nonprofit, a public share of 20%. Harvard University ranks 32nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, and Worcester State University posts the lowest average net price at $13,381.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Massachusetts-Amherst · Amherst, MA | $78,620 | $22,383 | $10,164 | 59.7% |
| University of Massachusetts-Amherst ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $78,620 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of Massachusetts-Boston · Boston, MA | $69,532 | $17,707 | $14,070 | 83.8% |
| Graduates of University of Massachusetts-Boston earn a median of $69,532 four years after completing, and the school posts a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 3 | Boston University · Boston, MA | $83,615 | $24,402 | $9,500 | 11.1% |
| Boston University, a private nonprofit university in Boston, admits 11% of applicants and reports median earnings of $83,615 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Harvard University · Cambridge, MA | $134,794 | $19,066 | $8,697 | 3.7% |
| Harvard University reports median earnings of $134,794 for its graduates four years after completing and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 32nd among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 5 | Bridgewater State University · Bridgewater, MA | $59,669 | $16,383 | $10,007 | 87.8% |
| Bridgewater State University reports an average net price of $10,007 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 6 | University of Massachusetts-Lowell · Lowell, MA | $81,163 | $17,163 | $9,943 | 83.0% |
| University of Massachusetts-Lowell ranks 6th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $81,163 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Massachusetts Maritime Academy · Buzzards Bay, MA | $103,680 | $21,582 | $8,757 | 94.7% |
| Massachusetts Maritime Academy admits 95% of applicants and reports median earnings of $103,680 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Tufts University · Medford, MA | $97,474 | $39,998 | $11,284 | 11.5% |
| A six-year completion rate of 94% and an average net price of $39,998 are reported by Tufts University. | |||||
| 9 | College of the Holy Cross · Worcester, MA | $84,553 | $38,782 | $14,343 | 17.6% |
| College of the Holy Cross ranks 9th on this list and has an admission rate of 18%. | |||||
| 10 | Boston College · Chestnut Hill, MA | $96,145 | $41,704 | $4,284 | 16.4% |
| Boston College reports an average net price of $4,284 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 11 | University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth · North Dartmouth, MA | $69,251 | $20,927 | $15,976 | 90.6% |
| University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth graduates 52% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $69,251 four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | Westfield State University · Westfield, MA | $59,434 | $16,721 | $10,751 | 81.4% |
| Westfield State University admits 81% of applicants and has an average net price of $16,721. | |||||
| 13 | Salem State University · Salem, MA | $62,605 | $15,996 | $10,516 | 95.9% |
| Salem State University reports median earnings of $62,605 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $10,516 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | Bentley University · Waltham, MA | $108,577 | $37,930 | $21,196 | 45.1% |
| Bentley University admits 45% of applicants and graduates 87% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 15 | Babson College · Wellesley, MA | $117,794 | $40,514 | $23,641 | 17.1% |
| Babson College ranks 182nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 93%. | |||||
| 16 | Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences · Boston, MA | $93,192 | $39,545 | $35,206 | 85.2% |
| Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences posts median earnings of $93,192 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $39,545. | |||||
| 17 | Framingham State University · Framingham, MA | $61,569 | $16,114 | $11,934 | 83.6% |
| Framingham State University ranks 17th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 48%. | |||||
| 18 | Wellesley College · Wellesley, MA | $72,449 | $25,496 | $2,546 | 14.1% |
| Wellesley College carries an average net price of $2,546 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $72,449 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Cambridge, MA | $161,961 | $20,111 | -$2,533* | 4.6% |
| Massachusetts Institute of Technology admits 5% of applicants and reports median earnings of $161,961 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Boston, MA | $45,607 | $24,100 | $16,351 | 76.3% |
| Graduates of Massachusetts College of Art and Design earn a median of $45,607 four years after completing, and the school admits 76% of applicants. | |||||
| 21 | Simmons University · Boston, MA | $73,823 | $25,265 | $18,027 | 70.0% |
| Simmons University reports median earnings of $73,823 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $18,027 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Franklin W Olin College of Engineering · Needham, MA | $126,895 | $25,171 | Not reported | 25.2% |
| Franklin W Olin College of Engineering graduates 96% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $126,895 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | Amherst College · Amherst, MA | $79,243 | $23,367 | $1,086 | 9.0% |
| Amherst College carries an average net price of $1,086 for families earning under $30,000, and admits 9% of applicants. | |||||
| 24 | MGH Institute of Health Professions · Boston, MA | $93,163 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| MGH Institute of Health Professions posts median earnings of $93,163 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1077th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 25 | William James College · Newton, MA | $91,134 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| William James College reports median earnings of $91,134 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 581st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 26 | Hult International Business School · Cambridge, MA | $75,197 | $45,447 | $43,305 | 60.5% |
| Hult International Business School admits 60% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 67%, with an average net price of $43,305 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 27 | Northpoint Bible College · Haverhill, MA | $36,818 | $23,635 | $23,323 | Not reported |
| Northpoint Bible College has an average net price of $23,635, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $36,818 four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Fitchburg State University · Fitchburg, MA | $63,994 | $14,262 | $10,204 | 86.9% |
| A public university in Fitchburg, Fitchburg State University ranks 28th on this list and graduates 55% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 29 | Northeastern University · Boston, MA | $101,903 | $30,915 | $2,264 | 5.2% |
| Northeastern University posts a six-year completion rate of 91% and an average net price of $2,264 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | Montserrat College of Art · Beverly, MA | $35,321 | $33,216 | $25,388 | Not reported |
| Montserrat College of Art reports median earnings of $35,321 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $33,216. | |||||
| 31 | Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Worcester, MA | $105,724 | $43,071 | $24,018 | 60.2% |
| Worcester Polytechnic Institute admits 60% of applicants and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $105,724 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Smith College · Northampton, MA | $57,618 | $27,579 | $1,363 | 21.0% |
| Smith College ranks 679th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $1,363 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 33 | Wheaton College (Massachusetts) · Norton, MA | $57,982 | $29,822 | $20,076 | 67.7% |
| Wheaton College (Massachusetts) graduates 73% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $57,982 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Mount Holyoke College · South Hadley, MA | $54,450 | $26,441 | $10,882 | 36.0% |
| Mount Holyoke College has an admission rate of 36% and an average net price of $26,441, with a six-year completion rate of 84%. | |||||
| 35 | College of Our Lady of the Elms · Chicopee, MA | $64,421 | $17,545 | $8,099 | 85.3% |
| College of Our Lady of the Elms reports median earnings of $64,421 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $8,099 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 36 | Wentworth Institute of Technology · Boston, MA | $95,027 | $34,170 | $27,018 | 91.2% |
| Wentworth Institute of Technology ranks 553rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and admits 91% of applicants. | |||||
| 37 | Brandeis University · Waltham, MA | $76,742 | $35,736 | $13,363 | 40.5% |
| Brandeis University reports median earnings of $76,742 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 86%. | |||||
| 38 | Emerson College · Boston, MA | $55,925 | $49,180 | $32,650 | 51.3% |
| Emerson College admits 51% of applicants and shows an average net price of $49,180. | |||||
| 39 | Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts · North Adams, MA | $48,835 | $16,068 | $9,845 | 89.7% |
| Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, a public university in North Adams, carries an average net price of $9,845 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Worcester State University · Worcester, MA | $63,801 | $13,381 | $8,793 | 88.0% |
| Worcester State University ranks 40th on this list and posts median earnings of $63,801 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Emmanuel College · Boston, MA | $63,280 | $26,706 | $20,399 | 75.7% |
| Emmanuel College graduates 68% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $26,706. | |||||
| 42 | Suffolk University · Boston, MA | $74,456 | $29,618 | $24,745 | 82.3% |
| Suffolk University sits 668th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an admission rate of 82%. | |||||
| 43 | Hampshire College · Amherst, MA | $36,500 | $24,034 | $13,749 | 75.3% |
| Hampshire College shows median earnings of $36,500 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,749 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 44 | Assumption University · Worcester, MA | $67,745 | $29,498 | $19,885 | 83.0% |
| Assumption University reports a six-year completion rate of 75% alongside median earnings of $67,745 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Clark University · Worcester, MA | $63,965 | $28,714 | $18,188 | 39.5% |
| Clark University admits 40% of applicants and carries an average net price of $28,714. | |||||
| 46 | Bay Path University · Longmeadow, MA | $62,912 | $14,271 | $11,948 | 85.2% |
| Bay Path University ranks 46th on this list and reports an average net price of $11,948 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 47 | Merrimack College · North Andover, MA | $65,506 | $37,927 | $31,710 | 70.0% |
| Merrimack College posts median earnings of $65,506 for its graduates four years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 70%. | |||||
| 48 | Stonehill College · Easton, MA | $73,137 | $33,016 | $23,605 | 66.3% |
| Stonehill College sits 1072nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $33,016. | |||||
| 49 | Williams College · Williamstown, MA | $80,487 | $17,716 | -$2,610* | 8.3% |
| Williams College reports median earnings of $80,487 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 94%. | |||||
| 50 | Gordon College · Wenham, MA | $57,638 | $24,883 | $21,829 | 69.2% |
| With an admission rate of 69%, Gordon College posts an average net price of $21,829 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 51 | Regis College · Weston, MA | $84,660 | $27,477 | $21,415 | 69.8% |
| Regis College ranks 51st on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 607th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 52 | Lasell University · Newton, MA | $58,411 | $27,511 | $18,334 | 81.2% |
| Graduates of Lasell University earn a median of $58,411 four years after completing, and the school admits 81% of applicants. | |||||
| 53 | Endicott College · Beverly, MA | $69,414 | $40,654 | $29,780 | 71.2% |
| Endicott College shows a six-year completion rate of 76% and an average net price of $40,654. | |||||
| 54 | Western New England University · Springfield, MA | $76,928 | $27,290 | $20,726 | 83.5% |
| Western New England University reports median earnings of $76,928 for its graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $20,726 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 55 | Curry College · Milton, MA | $72,447 | $29,207 | $23,806 | 87.7% |
| Admitting 88% of applicants, Curry College posts a six-year completion rate of 51% and an average net price of $29,207. | |||||
| 56 | Lesley University · Cambridge, MA | $55,117 | $31,152 | $24,799 | 96.9% |
| Lesley University ranks 56th on this list and reports median earnings of $55,117 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Springfield College · Springfield, MA | $60,428 | $30,587 | $22,519 | 71.9% |
| Springfield College shows a six-year completion rate of 74% and an average net price of $22,519 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 58 | The New England Conservatory of Music · Boston, MA | $33,743 | $46,754 | $47,882 | 41.1% |
| With an admission rate of 41%, The New England Conservatory of Music reports median earnings of $33,743 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 59 | Nichols College · Dudley, MA | $64,532 | $33,036 | $22,054 | 80.8% |
| Nichols College ranks 59th on this list and posts an average net price of $33,036. | |||||
| 60 | American International College · Springfield, MA | $71,565 | $23,274 | $24,437 | 99.6% |
| Admitting 100% of applicants, American International College reports a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
| 61 | Berklee College of Music · Boston, MA | $41,028 | $49,465 | $42,734 | 43.5% |
| Berklee College of Music, a private nonprofit institution in Boston, reports median earnings of $41,028 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 62 | Dean College · Franklin, MA | $41,151 | $30,684 | $26,996 | 73.7% |
| Dean College admits 74% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
| 63 | Anna Maria College · Paxton, MA | $74,347 | $28,333 | $25,554 | 50.3% |
| Graduates of Anna Maria College earn a median of $74,347 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $28,333. | |||||
| 64 | Fisher College · Boston, MA | $57,557 | $26,649 | $25,071 | 70.7% |
| Fisher College ranks 64th on this list, with an average net price of $25,071 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Massachusetts, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The mobility pillar draws on the median earnings of federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. It does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The list includes 13 public and 51 private nonprofit institutions. University of Massachusetts-Amherst ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $78,620 for its graduates four years after completing, while University of Massachusetts-Boston ranks 2nd and reports $69,532.