College research / Rankings

Best Parks & Recreation Colleges in Missouri (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 20 schools in Missouri for Parks & Recreation by median earnings of Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing. Saint Louis University leads the list at $77,066, followed by Westminster College at $60,077 and Southwest Baptist University at $58,770.

Across the 18 schools with a published figure, median earnings reach $53,616, with a spread of $48,830 from $77,066 to $28,236. For 2 of the listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

The list includes 8 public and 12 private nonprofit institutions, a 40% public share. Missouri Southern State University posts the lowest average net price at $12,007.

University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 144th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Culver-Stockton College admits 99% of applicants, while Lindenwood University is the most selective with an admission rate of 57%.

The ranked list

20 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Parks & Recreation EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO$77,066$24,398$22,50175.0%
Saint Louis University reports $77,066 in median earnings for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (99 graduates)

2Westminster College · Fulton, MO$60,077$24,314$24,54379.2%
Westminster College posts a six-year completion rate of 55% and ranks 2nd on this page.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (21 graduates)

3Southwest Baptist University · Bolivar, MO$58,770$21,677$21,97868.4%
With an average net price of $21,677, Southwest Baptist University ranks 3rd on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($58,770)

4Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO$58,701$12,007$9,75997.0%
Missouri Southern State University admits 97% of applicants and reports median earnings of $58,701 for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (21 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($58,701)

5Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO$58,020$17,613$13,71890.5%
Ranking 589th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, Missouri State University-Springfield shows a six-year completion rate of 58%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (108 graduates), Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies (20 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($61,070), Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies ($41,550)

6Maryville University of Saint Louis · Saint Louis, MO$56,323$22,066$16,52895.1%
Maryville University of Saint Louis reports median earnings of $56,323 for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing, above the list median of $53,616.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($56,323)

7University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO$55,280$20,268$13,84178.5%
University of Missouri-Columbia holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on this page, 144th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $20,268.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies (83 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies ($55,280)

8Truman State University · Kirksville, MO$55,213$12,780$6,04683.8%
Truman State University has an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 8th on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (78 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($55,213)

9Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO$54,904$27,006$21,80868.6%
Missouri Baptist University reports median earnings of $54,904 for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing and admits 69% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (19 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($54,904)

10University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO$52,328$14,462$10,96563.8%
University of Central Missouri graduates 54% of its students within six years and ranks 10th on this page.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (79 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($52,328)

11William Woods University · Fulton, MO$51,841$26,569$24,01471.0%
William Woods University reports an average net price of $26,569 and median earnings of $51,841 for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($51,841)

12Missouri Valley College · Marshall, MO$49,877$18,086$16,13269.2%
Missouri Valley College admits 69% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 22%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (35 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($49,877)

13Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO$49,025$15,882$12,70473.5%
Southeast Missouri State University reports $49,025 in median earnings for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,882.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (25 graduates), Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies (8 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($51,828)

14Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO$48,991$19,638$15,67856.8%
A private nonprofit university in Saint Charles, Lindenwood University admits 57% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 49%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (92 graduates), Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies (5 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($48,991)

15Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO$45,572$13,251$11,243Not reported
Missouri Western State University ranks 15th on this list and shows an average net price of $11,243 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (50 graduates), Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness ($45,251)

16Evangel University · Springfield, MO$45,034$18,669$16,19871.6%
With a six-year completion rate of 65%, Evangel University graduates 65% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $45,034 for its Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (11 graduates)

17Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MONo published median$16,244$13,17686.1%
Northwest Missouri State University ranks 754th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 86% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies (30 graduates)

18Avila University · Kansas City, MO$36,141$16,053$15,69487.8%
Avila University reports median earnings of $36,141 for its Parks & Recreation graduates two years after completing, with an average net price of $16,053.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (22 graduates)

19Park University · Parkville, MONo published median$21,032$18,687Not reported
A private nonprofit institution in Parkville, Park University shows a six-year completion rate of 38% and an average net price of $18,687 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (16 graduates)

20Culver-Stockton College · Canton, MO$28,236$21,983$17,71299.1%
Culver-Stockton College admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $28,236 for its Parks & Recreation graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (14 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Parks & Recreation graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Parks & Recreation earnings cohort in Missouri appear. The figure covers federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled. For 2 of the 20 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 18 schools with a published figure. Saint Louis University leads Westminster College by a gap of $16,989, and the spread from top to bottom reaches $48,830.