Best Colleges in Missouri (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Missouri lists 41 four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Missouri, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Washington University in St Louis ranks 1st on this list and reports $95,899 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 13 public and 28 private nonprofit schools.
College of the Ozarks posts the lowest average net price at $6,100, and Washington University in St Louis ranks 97th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Washington University in St Louis reports the highest six-year completion rate at 94%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Washington University in St Louis · St. Louis, MO | $95,899 | $21,786 | $1,716 | 12.1% |
| Washington University in St Louis reports median earnings of $95,899 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 94% six-year completion rate. | |||||
| 2 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | $93,514 | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology admits 73% of applicants and carries an average net price of $16,298. | |||||
| 3 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $69,651 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 3rd on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $69,651 four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Maryville University of Saint Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $84,871 | $22,066 | $16,528 | 95.1% |
| Maryville University of Saint Louis posts a 66% six-year completion rate and an average net price of $22,066. | |||||
| 5 | University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $131,813 | $31,817 | $24,456 | 89.8% |
| University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis reports median earnings of $131,813 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 230th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 6 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $65,925 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| A public institution in Kansas City, University of Missouri-Kansas City graduates 55% of its students within six years and carries an average net price of $13,310. | |||||
| 7 | Park University · Parkville, MO | $63,456 | $21,032 | $18,687 | Not reported |
| Park University ranks 386th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $63,456 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Harris-Stowe State University · Saint Louis, MO | $46,752 | $9,922 | $9,827 | Not reported |
| Harris-Stowe State University reports an average net price of $9,827 for families earning under $30,000 alongside a six-year completion rate of 28%. | |||||
| 9 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $62,350 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis admits 63% of applicants and reports median earnings of $62,350 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $77,024 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University graduates 80% of its students within six years and carries an average net price of $24,398. | |||||
| 11 | College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO | $44,258 | $6,100 | $6,381 | 12.0% |
| College of the Ozarks ranks 510th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a 64% six-year completion rate. | |||||
| 12 | Avila University · Kansas City, MO | $61,078 | $16,053 | $15,694 | 87.8% |
| Avila University admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $61,078 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $53,058 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield reports median earnings of $53,058 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,613. | |||||
| 14 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $57,679 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College has a six-year completion rate of 42% and an average net price of $23,967 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 15 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $54,054 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri admits 64% of applicants and ranks 593rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 16 | Rockhurst University · Kansas City, MO | $76,125 | $25,884 | $22,797 | 69.6% |
| Rockhurst University ranks 16th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $76,125 four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $52,419 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University posts an average net price of $9,759 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
| 18 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $51,502 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University reports median earnings of $51,502 for its graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 74%. | |||||
| 19 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $53,293 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University has a six-year completion rate of 39% and an average net price of $13,251. | |||||
| 20 | Webster University · Saint Louis, MO | $75,697 | $27,047 | $22,359 | 86.2% |
| Webster University ranks 673rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $75,697 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $56,947 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University admits 84% of applicants and reports an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | William Jewell College · Liberty, MO | $66,965 | $17,562 | $12,909 | 38.4% |
| William Jewell College ranks 22nd on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 68% and median earnings of $66,965 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary · Kansas City, MO | $62,368 | $23,006 | $19,818 | 96.4% |
| Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary reports an average net price of $23,006 and an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
| 24 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $52,213 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University has a six-year completion rate of 54%, and its graduates earn a median of $52,213 four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing · Saint Louis, MO | $79,407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing, a private nonprofit institution in Saint Louis, reports median earnings of $79,407 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 26 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $58,207 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University admits 57% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 27 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | $50,859 | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University graduates across all fields earn a median of $50,859 four years after completing, and the public university in Jefferson City shows a six-year completion rate of 21%. | |||||
| 28 | Mission University · Springfield, MO | $38,240 | $21,383 | $22,017 | Not reported |
| Mission University, a private nonprofit institution in Springfield, posts an average net price of $21,383. | |||||
| 29 | Southwest Baptist University · Bolivar, MO | $54,286 | $21,677 | $21,978 | 68.4% |
| Southwest Baptist University ranks 998th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 30 | William Woods University · Fulton, MO | $52,367 | $26,569 | $24,014 | 71.0% |
| With an admission rate of 71%, William Woods University graduates 47% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 31 | Ozark Christian College · Joplin, MO | $40,563 | $20,580 | $17,900 | 93.6% |
| Ozark Christian College reports median earnings of $40,563 for its graduates four years after completing and admits 94% of applicants. | |||||
| 32 | Evangel University · Springfield, MO | $46,593 | $18,669 | $16,198 | 71.6% |
| Evangel University posts a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $18,669. | |||||
| 33 | Westminster College · Fulton, MO | $51,238 | $24,314 | $24,543 | 79.2% |
| Westminster College admits 79% of applicants, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $51,238 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Stephens College · Columbia, MO | $46,218 | $23,459 | $9,918 | 77.2% |
| Stephens College carries an average net price of $9,918 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
| 35 | Missouri Valley College · Marshall, MO | $49,963 | $18,086 | $16,132 | 69.2% |
| Missouri Valley College ranks 1289th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $49,963 four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | Drury University · Springfield, MO | $47,568 | $20,831 | $18,759 | 57.6% |
| Drury University admits 58% of applicants and reports an average net price of $20,831. | |||||
| 37 | Calvary University · Kansas City, MO | $32,281 | $16,334 | $16,764 | 71.7% |
| Calvary University ranks 37th on this list and reports median earnings of $32,281 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 38 | Culver-Stockton College · Canton, MO | $48,225 | $21,983 | $17,712 | 99.1% |
| Culver-Stockton College admits 99% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
| 39 | Hannibal-LaGrange University · Hannibal, MO | $46,655 | $22,814 | $21,285 | 72.6% |
| Hannibal-LaGrange University has an average net price of $22,814, and its graduates earn a median of $46,655 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO | $52,550 | $27,006 | $21,808 | 68.6% |
| Graduates of Missouri Baptist University earn a median of $52,550 four years after completing, and the school ranks 1394th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 41 | Kansas City Art Institute · Kansas City, MO | $36,640 | $27,650 | $26,293 | 54.8% |
| Kansas City Art Institute posts a six-year completion rate of 58% and an admission rate of 55%. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Missouri, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each school are the median earnings of its federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The composite score does not measure fit or teaching quality. Washington University in St Louis ranks 1st on this list and 97th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, while Missouri University of Science and Technology follows at 2nd with median earnings of $93,514 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 13 public and 28 private nonprofit institutions.