Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Missouri (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Missouri lists 41 four-year institutions in Missouri. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Missouri, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $69,651 for its graduates four years after completing.
Washington University in St Louis ranks 97th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The list includes 13 public and 28 private nonprofit schools. College of the Ozarks posts the lowest average net price at $6,100, while Washington University in St Louis reports the highest six-year completion rate at 94%.
Culver-Stockton College has the highest admission rate, admitting 99% of applicants.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $69,651 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $69,651 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Washington University in St Louis · St. Louis, MO | $95,899 | $21,786 | $1,716 | 12.1% |
| Washington University in St Louis admits 12% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 94%. | |||||
| 3 | University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $131,813 | $31,817 | $24,456 | 89.8% |
| Graduates of University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis earn a median of $131,813 four years after completing, and the school ranks 230th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | $93,514 | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology carries an average net price of $16,298 and ranks 136th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 5 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $65,925 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City reports an average net price of $10,576 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 6 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $53,058 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield ranks 6th on this list, with median earnings of $53,058 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing · Saint Louis, MO | $79,407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing reports median earnings of $79,407 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 772nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 8 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $62,350 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis admits 63% of applicants and carries an average net price of $13,031 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 9 | Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary · Kansas City, MO | $62,368 | $23,006 | $19,818 | 96.4% |
| Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary posts a six-year completion rate of 48% and an average net price of $23,006. | |||||
| 10 | Calvary University · Kansas City, MO | $32,281 | $16,334 | $16,764 | 71.7% |
| Calvary University ranks 10th on this list and reports median earnings of $32,281 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO | $44,258 | $6,100 | $6,381 | 12.0% |
| College of the Ozarks admits 12% of applicants and carries an average net price of $6,381 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 12 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $54,054 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri reports median earnings of $54,054 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
| 13 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $56,947 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University reports median earnings of $56,947 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $51,502 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 58%, Southeast Missouri State University ranks 14th on this list and posts median earnings of $51,502 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $52,213 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University admits 86% of applicants and shows median earnings of $52,213 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Rockhurst University · Kansas City, MO | $76,125 | $25,884 | $22,797 | 69.6% |
| A private nonprofit university in Kansas City, Rockhurst University reports median earnings of $76,125 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 17 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $77,024 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University holds an Azimuth composite rank of 498th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $77,024 four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Maryville University of Saint Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $84,871 | $22,066 | $16,528 | 95.1% |
| Graduates of Maryville University of Saint Louis earn a median of $84,871 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $16,528 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 19 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $52,419 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University reports an average net price of $12,007 and a six-year completion rate of 42%. | |||||
| 20 | William Jewell College · Liberty, MO | $66,965 | $17,562 | $12,909 | 38.4% |
| William Jewell College admits 38% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $66,965 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Kansas City Art Institute · Kansas City, MO | $36,640 | $27,650 | $26,293 | 54.8% |
| With an admission rate of 55%, Kansas City Art Institute reports median earnings of $36,640 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Evangel University · Springfield, MO | $46,593 | $18,669 | $16,198 | 71.6% |
| Evangel University shows a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $16,198 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 23 | Park University · Parkville, MO | $63,456 | $21,032 | $18,687 | Not reported |
| Park University reports median earnings of $63,456 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $21,032. | |||||
| 24 | Mission University · Springfield, MO | $38,240 | $21,383 | $22,017 | Not reported |
| Mission University holds an Azimuth composite rank of 977th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $38,240 four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Avila University · Kansas City, MO | $61,078 | $16,053 | $15,694 | 87.8% |
| Avila University, a private nonprofit university in Kansas City, reports median earnings of $61,078 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 26 | William Woods University · Fulton, MO | $52,367 | $26,569 | $24,014 | 71.0% |
| William Woods University admits 71% of applicants and carries an average net price of $26,569. | |||||
| 27 | Ozark Christian College · Joplin, MO | $40,563 | $20,580 | $17,900 | 93.6% |
| Ozark Christian College graduates 64% of its students within six years and ranks 1212th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 28 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $53,293 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University posts an average net price of $11,243 for families earning under $30,000 alongside a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
| 29 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $58,207 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University ranks 29th on this list, with median earnings of $58,207 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Southwest Baptist University · Bolivar, MO | $54,286 | $21,677 | $21,978 | 68.4% |
| Southwest Baptist University reports a six-year completion rate of 55% and an average net price of $21,978 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 31 | Culver-Stockton College · Canton, MO | $48,225 | $21,983 | $17,712 | 99.1% |
| Culver-Stockton College admits 99% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $48,225 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | $50,859 | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University ranks 859th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 21%. | |||||
| 33 | Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO | $52,550 | $27,006 | $21,808 | 68.6% |
| Missouri Baptist University posts median earnings of $52,550 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $27,006. | |||||
| 34 | Hannibal-LaGrange University · Hannibal, MO | $46,655 | $22,814 | $21,285 | 72.6% |
| Hannibal-LaGrange University admits 73% of applicants and carries an average net price of $21,285 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 35 | Webster University · Saint Louis, MO | $75,697 | $27,047 | $22,359 | 86.2% |
| Webster University reports median earnings of $75,697 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 36 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $57,679 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College ranks 592nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $22,715. | |||||
| 37 | Westminster College · Fulton, MO | $51,238 | $24,314 | $24,543 | 79.2% |
| Westminster College reports median earnings of $51,238 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,314. | |||||
| 38 | Harris-Stowe State University · Saint Louis, MO | $46,752 | $9,922 | $9,827 | Not reported |
| Harris-Stowe State University has a six-year completion rate of 28% and an average net price of $9,827 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 39 | Drury University · Springfield, MO | $47,568 | $20,831 | $18,759 | 57.6% |
| Drury University, a private nonprofit university in Springfield, ranks 1300th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 40 | Stephens College · Columbia, MO | $46,218 | $23,459 | $9,918 | 77.2% |
| Stephens College admits 77% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $46,218 four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Missouri Valley College · Marshall, MO | $49,963 | $18,086 | $16,132 | 69.2% |
| Missouri Valley College ranks 41st on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 22% and an average net price of $18,086. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Missouri, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The mobility pillar draws on the earnings of federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those working and not enrolled. It does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The list includes 13 public and 28 private nonprofit institutions.