Most Affordable Colleges in Missouri (2026)
Updated
Most Affordable Colleges in Missouri lists 41 four-year nonprofit schools in Missouri. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Washington University in St Louis ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $1,716 for families earning under $30,000. Across the 40 schools with a reported completion median, the average net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $1,716 to $26,293, with a median of $16,363.
The list includes 13 public and 28 private nonprofit schools. Washington University in St Louis ranks 97th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
College of the Ozarks reports the lowest average net price on the page at $6,100.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Washington University in St Louis · St. Louis, MO | $95,899 | $21,786 | $1,716 | 12.1% |
| Washington University in St Louis reports an average net price of $1,716 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 94%. | |||||
| 2 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $56,947 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University ranks 2nd on this list, with median earnings of $56,947 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO | $44,258 | $6,100 | $6,381 | 12.0% |
| College of the Ozarks admits 12% of applicants and posts an average net price of $6,381 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 4 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $52,419 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University has a six-year completion rate of 42% and an average net price of $9,759 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 5 | Harris-Stowe State University · Saint Louis, MO | $46,752 | $9,922 | $9,827 | Not reported |
| Harris-Stowe State University reports an average net price of $9,827 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $46,752 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Stephens College · Columbia, MO | $46,218 | $23,459 | $9,918 | 77.2% |
| Stephens College ranks 1275th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside an average net price of $9,918 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 7 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $65,925 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City admits 72% of applicants and reports an average net price of $10,576 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 8 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | $93,514 | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology reports median earnings of $93,514 for its graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $10,912 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 9 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $54,054 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri has a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $10,965 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 10 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $53,293 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University reports an average net price of $11,243 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $53,293 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $51,502 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University admits 74% of applicants and posts an average net price of $12,704 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 12 | William Jewell College · Liberty, MO | $66,965 | $17,562 | $12,909 | 38.4% |
| William Jewell College reports median earnings of $66,965 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,909 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $62,350 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis reports median earnings of $62,350 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,031 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $52,213 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University admits 86% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
| 15 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $53,058 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield ranks 15th on this list, with an average net price of $13,718 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $69,651 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| Graduates of University of Missouri-Columbia earn a median of $69,651 four years after completing, and the school ranks 144th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 17 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $58,207 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University, a private nonprofit university in Saint Charles, has an average net price of $15,678 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 18 | Avila University · Kansas City, MO | $61,078 | $16,053 | $15,694 | 87.8% |
| Avila University graduates 52% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $61,078 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Missouri Valley College · Marshall, MO | $49,963 | $18,086 | $16,132 | 69.2% |
| Missouri Valley College ranks 19th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 22%. | |||||
| 20 | Evangel University · Springfield, MO | $46,593 | $18,669 | $16,198 | 71.6% |
| Evangel University posts an average net price of $16,198 for families earning under $30,000, with a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
| 21 | Maryville University of Saint Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $84,871 | $22,066 | $16,528 | 95.1% |
| Maryville University of Saint Louis reports median earnings of $84,871 for its graduates four years after completing, and admits 95% of applicants. | |||||
| 22 | Calvary University · Kansas City, MO | $32,281 | $16,334 | $16,764 | 71.7% |
| Calvary University ranks 1330th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an average net price of $16,764 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 23 | Culver-Stockton College · Canton, MO | $48,225 | $21,983 | $17,712 | 99.1% |
| Culver-Stockton College admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $48,225 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Ozark Christian College · Joplin, MO | $40,563 | $20,580 | $17,900 | 93.6% |
| Ozark Christian College has an average net price of $17,900 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 25 | Park University · Parkville, MO | $63,456 | $21,032 | $18,687 | Not reported |
| Park University reports median earnings of $63,456 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,687 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 26 | Drury University · Springfield, MO | $47,568 | $20,831 | $18,759 | 57.6% |
| Drury University ranks 26th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
| 27 | Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary · Kansas City, MO | $62,368 | $23,006 | $19,818 | 96.4% |
| With an admission rate of 96%, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary posts median earnings of $62,368 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | $50,859 | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University, a public university in Jefferson City, reports a six-year completion rate of 21% and an average net price of $20,070 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 29 | Hannibal-LaGrange University · Hannibal, MO | $46,655 | $22,814 | $21,285 | 72.6% |
| Hannibal-LaGrange University admits 73% of applicants and reports median earnings of $46,655 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO | $52,550 | $27,006 | $21,808 | 68.6% |
| Missouri Baptist University ranks 30th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 48%. | |||||
| 31 | Southwest Baptist University · Bolivar, MO | $54,286 | $21,677 | $21,978 | 68.4% |
| Southwest Baptist University reports an average net price of $21,978 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $54,286 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Mission University · Springfield, MO | $38,240 | $21,383 | $22,017 | Not reported |
| Mission University ranks 32nd on this list and posts median earnings of $38,240 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Webster University · Saint Louis, MO | $75,697 | $27,047 | $22,359 | 86.2% |
| Webster University admits 86% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 34 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $77,024 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University reports an average net price of $22,501 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $77,024 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Rockhurst University · Kansas City, MO | $76,125 | $25,884 | $22,797 | 69.6% |
| Rockhurst University ranks 35th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 36 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $57,679 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College reports median earnings of $57,679 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $23,967 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 37 | William Woods University · Fulton, MO | $52,367 | $26,569 | $24,014 | 71.0% |
| William Woods University reports median earnings of $52,367 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $24,014 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $131,813 | $31,817 | $24,456 | 89.8% |
| University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis ranks 230th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
| 39 | Westminster College · Fulton, MO | $51,238 | $24,314 | $24,543 | 79.2% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Fulton, Westminster College admits 79% of applicants and posts an average net price of $24,543 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Kansas City Art Institute · Kansas City, MO | $36,640 | $27,650 | $26,293 | 54.8% |
| Kansas City Art Institute has a six-year completion rate of 58% and an average net price of $26,293 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 41 | Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing · Saint Louis, MO | $79,407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates of Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing earn a median of $79,407 four years after completing, and the school ranks 41st on this list. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Median earnings figures reflect federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 40 schools with a reported completion median. Washington University in St Louis posts an average net price of $1,716 for families earning under $30,000, while Truman State University reports an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000, a gap of $4,330 between first and second.