College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in North Carolina (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in North Carolina ranks 52 four-year nonprofit institutions in the state on Azimuth's overall score for North Carolina. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for North Carolina, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 1st on this list and reports $81,033 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing.

The list includes 16 public and 36 private nonprofit institutions. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 50th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Elizabeth City State University posts the lowest average net price at $6,364, while Duke University reports the highest six-year completion rate at 97%.

The ranked list

52 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC$81,033$11,655$2,00415.3%
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 91%.
2Duke University · Durham, NC$115,722$29,612$7355.7%
Graduates of Duke University report median earnings of $115,722 four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 6%.
3University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC$65,370$15,435$10,35779.6%
University of North Carolina at Charlotte admits 80% of applicants and reports median earnings of $65,370 for its graduates four years after completing.
4North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC$75,943$17,303$6,38241.7%
With an average net price of $17,303, North Carolina State University at Raleigh ranks 4th on this list.
5North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC$56,996$10,846$8,22349.9%
North Carolina A & T State University reports a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $56,996 for its graduates four years after completing.
6University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC$51,594$10,965$7,30588.5%
University of North Carolina at Greensboro ranks 6th on this list and carries an average net price of $7,305 for families earning under $30,000.
7East Carolina University · Greenville, NC$60,888$15,739$10,04689.2%
Graduates of East Carolina University earn a median of $60,888 four years after completing, and the school admits 89% of applicants.
8Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC$92,943$28,719$6,52521.7%
Wake Forest University ranks 8th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 89%.
9Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC$56,396$13,479$11,46378.3%
Winston-Salem State University admits 78% of applicants and carries an average net price of $13,479.
10Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC$51,687$7,892$6,23382.2%
With median earnings of $51,687 for its graduates four years after completing, Fayetteville State University ranks 10th on this list.
11Appalachian State University · Boone, NC$54,010$16,836$9,32590.1%
Appalachian State University reports a six-year completion rate of 75% and an average net price of $9,325 for families earning under $30,000.
12North Carolina Central University · Durham, NC$50,812$15,359$13,03287.0%
North Carolina Central University ranks 12th on this list and reports median earnings of $50,812 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC$54,667$13,315$8,81681.8%
Western Carolina University reports median earnings of $54,667 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,315.
14University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC$61,925$20,109$10,77864.2%
With a six-year completion rate of 71%, University of North Carolina Wilmington ranks 14th on this list and shows median earnings of $61,925 four years after completing.
15University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC$49,668$10,260$7,91993.3%
University of North Carolina at Pembroke admits 93% of applicants and posts an average net price of $7,919 for families earning under $30,000.
16Davidson College · Davidson, NC$72,718$17,379$9,49713.4%
Davidson College, a private nonprofit institution, reports median earnings of $72,718 for its graduates four years after completing alongside a 13% admission rate.
17Elizabeth City State University · Elizabeth City, NC$50,194$6,364$4,24664.2%
Elizabeth City State University carries an average net price of $6,364 and a six-year completion rate of 44%.
18Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary · Wake Forest, NC$69,450$13,090$18,58774.6%
Graduates of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary earn a median of $69,450 four years after completing, and the school ranks 600th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19Wingate University · Wingate, NC$58,916$20,748$18,77291.1%
Wingate University shows an average net price of $18,772 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 46%.
20Watts College of Nursing · Durham, NC$77,794Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Ranking 20th on this list, Watts College of Nursing reports median earnings of $77,794 for its graduates four years after completing.
21Carolina University · Winston-Salem, NC$52,812$20,828$17,73839.5%
Carolina University admits 40% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 22%.
22Bennett College · Greensboro, NC$44,644$28,299$27,57650.7%
With an average net price of $28,299, Bennett College reports median earnings of $44,644 for its graduates four years after completing.
23University of North Carolina School of the Arts · Winston Salem, NC$42,023$14,906$3,16530.0%
University of North Carolina School of the Arts graduates earn a median of $42,023 four years after completing, and the school admits 30% of applicants.
24Gardner-Webb University · Boiling Springs, NC$60,516$17,674$15,30477.2%
Gardner-Webb University shows a six-year completion rate of 55% and an average net price of $15,304 for families earning under $30,000.
25Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC$63,540$24,516$20,75187.2%
Campbell University reports median earnings of $63,540 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,516.
26University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC$45,777$12,250$8,21991.9%
A public university in Asheville, University of North Carolina Asheville admits 92% of applicants and graduates 54% of its students within six years.
27University of Mount Olive · Mount Olive, NC$57,606$18,853$18,22775.8%
University of Mount Olive ranks 27th on this list, with an average net price of $18,227 for families earning under $30,000.
28Salem College · Winston-Salem, NC$49,227$18,277$19,07476.7%
Salem College posts a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $49,227 for its graduates four years after completing.
29Pfeiffer University · Misenheimer, NC$57,619$19,076$16,16796.0%
With an admission rate of 96%, Pfeiffer University ranks 974th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
30Lenoir-Rhyne University · Hickory, NC$57,711$20,689$18,66984.6%
Lenoir-Rhyne University reports median earnings of $57,711 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 48%.
31Queens University of Charlotte · Charlotte, NC$70,176$30,857$22,79262.1%
Queens University of Charlotte admits 62% of applicants and reports an average net price of $30,857.
32Johnson C Smith University · Charlotte, NC$46,511$20,894$19,94045.2%
Johnson C Smith University ranks 32nd on this list, with median earnings of $46,511 for its graduates four years after completing.
33North Carolina Wesleyan University · Rocky Mount, NC$48,447$17,432$16,11480.2%
North Carolina Wesleyan University graduates 42% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $16,114 for families earning under $30,000.
34Meredith College · Raleigh, NC$54,650$22,488$17,20774.2%
Meredith College posts a six-year completion rate of 70% and median earnings of $54,650 for its graduates four years after completing.
35Livingstone College · Salisbury, NC$37,280$13,479$13,86059.3%
Livingstone College admits 59% of applicants and reports an average net price of $13,479.
36Catawba College · Salisbury, NC$49,190$17,879$13,61875.2%
Catawba College ranks 1202nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $49,190 for its graduates four years after completing.
37Lees-McRae College · Banner Elk, NC$50,979$28,340$23,03076.8%
Lees-McRae College reports median earnings of $50,979 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $28,340.
38Elon University · Elon, NC$77,800$41,555$26,52366.4%
Elon University admits 66% of applicants and graduates 84% of its students within six years.
39Mars Hill University · Mars Hill, NC$50,256$19,910$17,02167.9%
Mars Hill University has a six-year completion rate of 45%, and its graduates earn a median of $50,256 four years after completing.
40Methodist University · Fayetteville, NC$60,011$24,704$20,37175.1%
Methodist University ranks 1227th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $60,011 four years after completing.
41Shaw University · Raleigh, NC$44,468$16,512$16,23680.2%
Shaw University has a six-year completion rate of 22% and an average net price of $16,512.
42Barton College · Wilson, NC$51,766$23,626$19,64194.2%
Barton College reports median earnings of $51,766 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 94%.
43Guilford College · Greensboro, NC$50,433$22,270$18,36780.0%
Guilford College ranks 43rd on this list, with an average net price of $18,367 for families earning under $30,000.
44Greensboro College · Greensboro, NC$51,898$17,882$13,87770.1%
Greensboro College graduates 46% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $51,898 four years after completing.
45Chowan University · Murfreesboro, NC$43,702$14,086$13,72668.8%
Chowan University posts an average net price of $14,086, and its graduates earn a median of $43,702 four years after completing.
46Belmont Abbey College · Belmont, NC$57,346$24,639$20,61074.7%
Belmont Abbey College admits 75% of applicants and reports median earnings of $57,346 for its graduates four years after completing.
47William Peace University · Raleigh, NC$51,163$21,649$15,77994.3%
William Peace University ranks 1344th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $15,779 for families earning under $30,000.
48Saint Augustine's University · Raleigh, NC$41,272$24,313$27,81533.8%
Saint Augustine's University has an admission rate of 34% and a six-year completion rate of 25%.
49Brevard College · Brevard, NC$41,671$23,509$19,29442.2%
Brevard College reports median earnings of $41,671 for its graduates four years after completing, and a six-year completion rate of 49%.
50Montreat College · Montreat, NC$47,821$27,061$23,26169.2%
Montreat College, a private nonprofit institution in Montreat, admits 69% of applicants and carries an average net price of $27,061.
51High Point University · High Point, NC$65,028$38,707$32,76375.3%
High Point University ranks 51st on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $65,028 four years after completing.
52Warren Wilson College · Swannanoa, NC$36,684$21,249$13,56671.3%
Warren Wilson College posts an average net price of $13,566 for families earning under $30,000, and its Azimuth composite rank among nonprofit four-year institutions is 1439th.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for North Carolina, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited below are the median earnings of each institution's federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The list includes 16 public and 36 private nonprofit institutions.