Best Colleges in Puerto Rico (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Puerto Rico ranks 21 four-year institutions in Puerto Rico. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Puerto Rico, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 1st on this list and reports $33,439 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 11 public and 10 private nonprofit institutions.
Universidad Central de Bayamon carries the lowest average net price at $4,827. Albizu University-San Juan shows the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 67% of its students within six years.
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 133rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus · Gurabo, PR | $33,439 | $7,051 | $7,135 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 1st on this list and holds the best Azimuth composite rank in Puerto Rico at 133rd among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. | |||||
| 2 | Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico · Hato Rey, PR | $69,903 | $17,540 | $16,406 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico report median earnings of $69,903 four years after completing, the top figure among the listed schools. | |||||
| 3 | University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez · Mayaguez, PR | $51,164 | $17,936 | $17,939 | 56.5% |
| University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, a public university in Mayaguez, admits 57% of applicants and graduates 49% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 4 | Albizu University-San Juan · San Juan, PR | $60,661 | $9,732 | $8,880 | 100.0% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 67%, Albizu University-San Juan posts the top graduation rate on this list alongside an admission rate of 100%. | |||||
| 5 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus · San Juan, PR | $29,751 | $7,646 | $6,929 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus carries an average net price of $7,646, and its graduates earn a median of $29,751 four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | University of Puerto Rico · Bayamon, PR | $35,322 | $8,484 | $7,035 | 35.3% |
| University of Puerto Rico is the most selective institution on the page, admitting 35% of applicants, and reports a six-year completion rate of 37%. | |||||
| 7 | University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras · San Juan, PR | $36,313 | $9,175 | $8,018 | 54.6% |
| An average net price of $9,175 and median earnings of $36,313 for its graduates four years after completing are reported by University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras. | |||||
| 8 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus · Carolina, PR | $28,676 | $7,761 | $7,401 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus ranks 8th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 34% and an average net price of $7,761. | |||||
| 9 | University of Puerto Rico at Cayey · Cayey, PR | $32,963 | $10,176 | $9,495 | 53.0% |
| University of Puerto Rico at Cayey admits 53% of applicants and reports median earnings of $32,963 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | University of Puerto Rico-Humacao · Humacao, PR | $33,230 | $12,675 | $12,036 | 54.8% |
| A six-year completion rate of 47% and an average net price of $12,675 are reported by University of Puerto Rico-Humacao. | |||||
| 11 | University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo · Arecibo, PR | $30,977 | $10,680 | $10,332 | 59.2% |
| Median earnings of $30,977 four years after completing and an admission rate of 59% are reported by University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo. | |||||
| 12 | University of Puerto Rico at Ponce · Ponce, PR | $29,384 | $10,990 | $10,114 | 52.5% |
| University of Puerto Rico at Ponce admits 52% of applicants and carries an average net price of $10,990. | |||||
| 13 | University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla · Aguadilla, PR | $29,117 | $7,765 | $7,200 | 81.4% |
| With an average net price of $7,765, University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla reports median earnings of $29,117 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 14 | University of Puerto Rico-Carolina · Carolina, PR | $28,995 | $12,945 | $12,287 | 54.5% |
| University of Puerto Rico-Carolina admits 55% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 37%. | |||||
| 15 | Atlantic University · Guaynabo, PR | $22,917 | $6,425 | $5,705 | Not reported |
| A private nonprofit institution in Guaynabo, Atlantic University has an average net price of $6,425 and a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
| 16 | Universidad del Sagrado Corazon · Santurce, PR | $35,718 | $12,924 | $12,027 | 58.0% |
| Universidad del Sagrado Corazon ranks 578th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $35,718 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Universidad Adventista de las Antillas · Mayaguez, PR | $37,996 | $9,919 | $9,519 | 100.0% |
| Graduates of Universidad Adventista de las Antillas earn a median of $37,996 four years after completing, and the school has an admission rate of 100%. | |||||
| 18 | Universidad Central de Bayamon · Bayamón, PR | $31,246 | $4,827 | $3,827 | 65.9% |
| Universidad Central de Bayamon reports a six-year completion rate of 34% alongside an average net price of $4,827. | |||||
| 19 | Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce · Ponce, PR | $27,811 | $13,192 | $12,384 | 98.1% |
| Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce admits 98% of applicants, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $27,811 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Escuela de Artes Plasticas y Diseno de Puerto Rico · San Juan, PR | $23,081 | $5,669 | $5,208 | 100.0% |
| Escuela de Artes Plasticas y Diseno de Puerto Rico ranks 761st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an average net price of $5,669. | |||||
| 21 | University of Puerto Rico-Medical Sciences · San Juan, PR | $44,928 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| University of Puerto Rico-Medical Sciences reports median earnings of $44,928 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Puerto Rico, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each school are the median earnings of its federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those working and not enrolled. The list does not measure fit or teaching quality. Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 133rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico follows at 153rd.