Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Puerto Rico (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Puerto Rico lists 21 institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Puerto Rico, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $51,164 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 11 public and 10 private nonprofit schools.
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 133rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Universidad Central de Bayamon reports the lowest average net price, at $4,827.
Albizu University-San Juan posts the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 67% of its students within six years.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez · Mayaguez, PR | $51,164 | $17,936 | $17,939 | 56.5% |
| University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $51,164 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus · Gurabo, PR | $33,439 | $7,051 | $7,135 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus, a private nonprofit institution, carries an average net price of $7,051 alongside a six-year completion rate of 31%. | |||||
| 3 | University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras · San Juan, PR | $36,313 | $9,175 | $8,018 | 54.6% |
| University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras admits 55% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 4 | University of Puerto Rico-Medical Sciences · San Juan, PR | $44,928 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates of University of Puerto Rico-Medical Sciences earn a median of $44,928 four years after completing, and the school ranks 1177th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 5 | University of Puerto Rico at Cayey · Cayey, PR | $32,963 | $10,176 | $9,495 | 53.0% |
| University of Puerto Rico at Cayey posts an average net price of $10,176 and a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 6 | University of Puerto Rico-Humacao · Humacao, PR | $33,230 | $12,675 | $12,036 | 54.8% |
| With an admission rate of 55%, University of Puerto Rico-Humacao ranks 6th on this list and graduates 47% within six years. | |||||
| 7 | University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo · Arecibo, PR | $30,977 | $10,680 | $10,332 | 59.2% |
| University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo reports median earnings of $30,977 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,680. | |||||
| 8 | University of Puerto Rico · Bayamon, PR | $35,322 | $8,484 | $7,035 | 35.3% |
| A public institution in Bayamon, University of Puerto Rico admits 35% of applicants and graduates 37% within six years. | |||||
| 9 | University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla · Aguadilla, PR | $29,117 | $7,765 | $7,200 | 81.4% |
| Median earnings of $29,117 for its graduates four years after completing coincide with an average net price of $7,765 at University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla. | |||||
| 10 | Escuela de Artes Plasticas y Diseno de Puerto Rico · San Juan, PR | $23,081 | $5,669 | $5,208 | 100.0% |
| Escuela de Artes Plasticas y Diseno de Puerto Rico admits 100% of applicants and posts an average net price of $5,208 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 11 | University of Puerto Rico at Ponce · Ponce, PR | $29,384 | $10,990 | $10,114 | 52.5% |
| A six-year completion rate of 46% and median earnings of $29,384 for its graduates four years after completing are reported by University of Puerto Rico at Ponce, which ranks 11th on this list. | |||||
| 12 | University of Puerto Rico-Carolina · Carolina, PR | $28,995 | $12,945 | $12,287 | 54.5% |
| Ranks 12th on this list, University of Puerto Rico-Carolina carries an average net price of $12,945 and admits 55% of applicants. | |||||
| 13 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus · San Juan, PR | $29,751 | $7,646 | $6,929 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus reports median earnings of $29,751 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $7,646. | |||||
| 14 | Atlantic University · Guaynabo, PR | $22,917 | $6,425 | $5,705 | Not reported |
| Atlantic University has a six-year completion rate of 39% and an average net price of $5,705 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 15 | Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus · Carolina, PR | $28,676 | $7,761 | $7,401 | Not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus ranks 291st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $28,676 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Universidad del Sagrado Corazon · Santurce, PR | $35,718 | $12,924 | $12,027 | 58.0% |
| With an admission rate of 58%, Universidad del Sagrado Corazon reports a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 17 | Universidad Adventista de las Antillas · Mayaguez, PR | $37,996 | $9,919 | $9,519 | 100.0% |
| Universidad Adventista de las Antillas admits 100% of applicants and posts median earnings of $37,996 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce · Ponce, PR | $27,811 | $13,192 | $12,384 | 98.1% |
| Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce reports an average net price of $13,192 and a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 19 | Universidad Central de Bayamon · Bayamón, PR | $31,246 | $4,827 | $3,827 | 65.9% |
| Universidad Central de Bayamon carries the lowest average net price on the list at $4,827, and its graduates earn a median of $31,246 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Albizu University-San Juan · San Juan, PR | $60,661 | $9,732 | $8,880 | 100.0% |
| Albizu University-San Juan ranks 20th on this list, with median earnings of $60,661 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico · Hato Rey, PR | $69,903 | $17,540 | $16,406 | Not reported |
| Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico reports median earnings of $69,903 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $16,406 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Puerto Rico, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The pillar draws on the median earnings of federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, across all fields. It does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The list includes 11 public and 10 private nonprofit institutions. University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $51,164 for its graduates four years after completing, while Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus ranks 2nd with median earnings of $33,439.