Best Public Administration Colleges in Missouri (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 14 colleges in Missouri that report a Public Administration earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Public Administration graduates four years after completing, highest first. Saint Louis University ranks 1st with median earnings of $56,306 four years after completing.
Across the 12 schools with a published figure, earnings range from $56,306 to $20,140, with a median of $48,320. For 1 of the 14 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 8 public and 6 private nonprofit institutions. University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 144th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
College of the Ozarks posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $6,100.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Public Administration Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO | $56,306 | $24,398 | $22,501 | 75.0% |
| Saint Louis University reports $56,306 in median earnings for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate of 80% is the highest on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (22 graduates) | |||||
| 2 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $56,157 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia ranks 2nd on this list with median earnings of $56,157 four years after completing, and it holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on the page at 144th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,157) | |||||
| 3 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $53,359 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University admits 57% of applicants and reports median earnings of $53,359 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (9 graduates) | |||||
| 4 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $52,337 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis posts an average net price of $15,071 alongside median earnings of $52,337 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (74 graduates), Public Administration (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,337) | |||||
| 5 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $51,349 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| A six-year completion rate of 54% and median earnings of $51,349 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing are reported by University of Central Missouri. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,349) | |||||
| 6 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $49,855 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| With an admission rate of 97%, Missouri Southern State University reports median earnings of $49,855 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (21 graduates), Public Policy Analysis (7 graduates) | |||||
| 7 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $46,785 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College reports median earnings of $46,785 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $22,715. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Human Services, General (103 graduates), Public Administration (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Human Services, General ($46,785) | |||||
| 8 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $46,403 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield ranks 8th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 58% and median earnings of $46,403 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($46,403) | |||||
| 9 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $46,187 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| An average net price of $13,251 and median earnings of $46,187 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing are reported by Missouri Western State University. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($46,187) | |||||
| 10 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $43,260 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| Southeast Missouri State University admits 74% of applicants and reports median earnings of $43,260 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($43,260) | |||||
| 11 | Missouri Baptist University · Saint Louis, MO | $41,036 | $27,006 | $21,808 | 68.6% |
| Missouri Baptist University ranks 11th on this list, with an average net price of $27,006 and median earnings of $41,036 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Human Services, General (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Human Services, General ($41,036) | |||||
| 12 | Lincoln University · Jefferson City, MO | No published median | $19,092 | $20,070 | Not reported |
| Lincoln University ranks 12th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 21% alongside an average net price of $19,092. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (13 graduates) | |||||
| 13 | College of the Ozarks · Point Lookout, MO | No published median | $6,100 | $6,381 | 12.0% |
| College of the Ozarks admits 12% of applicants, the lowest admission rate on this page, and reports an average net price of $6,100. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates) | |||||
| 14 | Evangel University · Springfield, MO | $20,140 | $18,669 | $16,198 | 71.6% |
| Evangel University reports median earnings of $20,140 for its Public Administration graduates two years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (12 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Public Administration graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Public Administration earnings cohort in Missouri appear. The figure covers federally aided completers of Public Administration who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. For 1 of the 14 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 12 schools with a published figure. The gap between Saint Louis University and University of Missouri-Columbia is $149, while the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $36,166.
Job market context in Missouri
Public Administration graduates in Missouri enter a labor market that links to occupations such as Child, Family, and School Social Workers, Social and Human Service Assistants, and Healthcare Social Workers. The median annual wage across those occupations is $63,791, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $49,246. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 6.0% higher, with 14,380 projected openings a year, or about 2,678 openings a year for every hundred graduates, meaning more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, which is a different measure from the occupational wage figures described here.