College research / Rankings

Best Public Administration Colleges in Texas (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 33 colleges in Texas that offer a Public Administration program by the median earnings of Public Administration graduates four years after completing, highest first. Texas Christian University leads the list with median earnings of $65,536 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the 31 schools with a published figure, earnings range from $65,536 to $28,309, with a median of $50,754. For 3 of the 33 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions account for 22 of the schools, or 67% of the list, while 11 are private nonprofit. The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley posts the lowest average net price at $4,831.

The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

33 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Public Administration EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX$65,536$36,660$17,95644.5%
Texas Christian University reports median earnings of $65,536 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($65,536)

2The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX$62,628$18,267$12,81465.1%
The University of Texas at Dallas admits 65% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 76%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Policy Analysis (22 graduates), Public Administration (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Policy Analysis ($66,209), Public Administration ($55,467)

3The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX$59,850$19,857$12,55326.6%
The University of Texas at Austin admits 27% of applicants, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $59,850 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (67 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($59,850)

4Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX$58,441$19,070$12,45772.7%
Texas Tech University ranks 4th on this list, with median earnings of $58,441 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (32 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($58,441)

5Baylor University · Waco, TX$58,293$41,104$22,02451.3%
Baylor University carries an average net price of $41,104, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $58,293 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (24 graduates)

6Saint Edward's University · Austin, TX$56,637$25,578$20,79981.4%
Saint Edward's University reports a six-year completion rate of 63% alongside median earnings of $56,637 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($56,637)

7The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX$56,557$10,836$7,87086.8%
The University of Texas at San Antonio posts an average net price of $10,836, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $56,557 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Administration (37 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Administration ($56,557)

8Rice University · Houston, TX$55,512$13,370$5,8278.0%
Rice University admits 8% of applicants and reports median earnings of $55,512 for its Public Administration graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Policy Analysis (33 graduates)

9University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX$54,784$10,542$9,43990.0%
University of Houston-Downtown ranks 73rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $54,784 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (62 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($54,784)

10Texas State University · San Marcos, TX$54,080$16,805$12,71589.3%
Texas State University reports an average net price of $12,715 for families earning under $30,000, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $54,080 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (114 graduates), Public Administration (30 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Administration ($59,074), Social Work ($52,766)

11The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX$53,995$9,403$7,86399.9%
The University of Texas at El Paso admits 100% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 50%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($53,995)

12Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX$53,877$26,182$20,28566.0%
Abilene Christian University reports median earnings of $53,877 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $26,182.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates)

13East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX$52,013$11,841$9,70992.2%
East Texas A&M University reports median earnings of $52,013 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $11,841.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (52 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($52,013)

14Our Lady of the Lake University · San Antonio, TX$51,943$16,442$16,236Not reported
A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, Our Lady of the Lake University graduates 46% of its students within six years and shows $51,943 in median earnings for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (43 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,943)

15Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX$51,901$11,656$8,85693.5%
Midwestern State University admits 94% of applicants and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $51,901 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($51,901)

16Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX$50,754$14,260$10,31894.0%
With a six-year completion rate of 53%, Stephen F Austin State University reports $50,754 in median earnings for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (92 graduates), Public Administration (5 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,754)

17Angelo State University · San Angelo, TX$50,651$15,091$12,00883.0%
Angelo State University posts an average net price of $12,008 for families earning under $30,000 and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $50,651 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (62 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,651)

18University of North Texas · Denton, TX$50,579$15,649$12,31172.2%
University of North Texas ranks 41st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $50,579 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (79 graduates), Human Services, General (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,579)

19Lamar University · Beaumont, TX$50,453$9,366$7,56886.4%
Lamar University carries an average net price of $9,366 and reports median earnings of $50,453 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,453)

20The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX$50,388$13,951$11,89379.9%
The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $50,388 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (244 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,388)

21Tarleton State University · Stephenville, TX$50,275$20,783$15,57489.6%
Tarleton State University admits 90% of applicants and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $50,275 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (64 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,275)

22The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX$50,073$4,831$3,78594.2%
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley reports the lowest average net price on the page at $4,831, and its Public Administration graduates earn a median of $50,073 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (184 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($50,073)

23University of Mary Hardin-Baylor · Belton, TX$49,816$26,106$22,08995.8%
A private nonprofit university in Belton, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor shows an average net price of $22,089 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $49,816 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (11 graduates)

24University of Houston-Clear Lake · Houston, TX$49,513$15,563$7,33090.5%
University of Houston-Clear Lake graduates 52% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $49,513 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (25 graduates), Public Administration (18 graduates)

25Lubbock Christian University · Lubbock, TX$49,193$24,456$23,01873.1%
Lubbock Christian University reports median earnings of $49,193 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 51%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,193)

26Texas Southern University · Houston, TXNo published median$16,590$16,43796.9%
Texas Southern University admits 97% of applicants and carries an average net price of $16,590.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (35 graduates), Public Administration (6 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($49,871)

27Wayland Baptist University · Plainview, TX$48,921$20,590$20,07056.0%
With a six-year completion rate of 19%, Wayland Baptist University reports median earnings of $48,921 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Human Services, General (49 graduates)

28Southern Methodist University · Dallas, TX$45,852$40,892$23,54463.4%
Southern Methodist University posts a six-year completion rate of 84% and reports median earnings of $45,852 for its Public Administration graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Policy Analysis (44 graduates)

29Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX$45,761$11,963$9,94896.1%
Texas Woman's University reports median earnings of $45,761 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,963.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (45 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($45,761)

30Prairie View A & M University · Prairie View, TX$45,742$13,570$12,12079.3%
Prairie View A & M University admits 79% of applicants and reports median earnings of $45,742 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (41 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($45,742)

31West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX$44,174$19,487$16,52598.7%
West Texas A & M University reports median earnings of $44,174 for its Public Administration graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 55%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Social Work ($44,174)

32Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX$28,309$12,090$10,20790.9%
Texas A&M University-Kingsville reports median earnings of $28,309 for its Public Administration graduates two years after completing, and its average net price is $12,090.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (16 graduates)

33Texas College · Tyler, TXNo published median$10,958$9,639Not reported
An average net price of $9,639 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 14% at Texas College.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social Work (12 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Public Administration graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Public Administration earnings cohort in Texas appear. The figure captures federally aided Public Administration completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. For 3 of the 33 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 31 schools with a published figure. Texas Christian University leads The University of Texas at Dallas by $2,908, and the spread from Texas Christian University to the bottom of the list reaches $37,227.

Job market context in Texas

Public Administration graduates in Texas enter a labor market that links to occupations such as Child, Family, and School Social Workers, Social and Human Service Assistants, and Eligibility Interviewers, Government Programs. The median annual wage across those occupations is $66,106, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $51,918. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 15.8% higher, with 80,370 projected openings a year, or about 4,232 openings a year for every hundred graduates, suggesting more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the broader occupational wages described here.