College research / Rankings

Best Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in Texas (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 16 colleges in Texas that offer a Speech-Language Pathology program. Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Speech-Language Pathology graduates four years after completing, highest first.

Only schools with a reported Speech-Language Pathology earnings cohort in Texas appear. Across the 2 schools with a published figure, median earnings of Speech-Language Pathology graduates four years after completing ranges from $53,019 to $48,740, with a median of $50,880. Abilene Christian University ranks 1st on this list.

The list includes 12 public and 4 private institutions. The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley reports the lowest average net price at $4,831.

The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

16 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Speech-Language Pathology EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX$70,864$26,182$20,28566.0%
Abilene Christian University, a private nonprofit university in Abilene, ranks 1st on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 59%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (48 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (16 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($89,079)

2Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX$69,730$36,660$17,95644.5%
Texas Christian University admits 44% of applicants and carries an average net price of $36,660.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (180 graduates), Movement and Mind-Body Therapies and Education (36 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (35 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($89,690)

3The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX$67,405$19,857$12,55326.6%
The University of Texas at Austin graduates 89% of its students within six years and ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (305 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (116 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (99 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,891), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($67,405), Public Health ($61,390)

4Texas State University · San Marcos, TX$66,995$16,805$12,71589.3%
Texas State University has an admission rate of 89% and an average net price of $12,715 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (120 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (87 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (83 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,557), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($79,289), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($60,895)

5Baylor University · Waco, TX$63,909$41,104$22,02451.3%
Baylor University ranks 5th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 80%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (317 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (155 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (79 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($89,510), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs ($68,460), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($63,909)

6Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center · Lubbock, TX$63,026Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center ranks 499th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (937 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (94 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (56 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($89,234), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($80,639), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($75,237)

7Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX$61,476$14,260$10,31894.0%
Stephen F Austin State University reports an average net price of $14,260 and an admission rate of 94%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (136 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (74 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (63 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,107), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($61,476), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($52,716)

8The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX$59,624$4,831$3,78594.2%
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley carries an average net price of $4,831 and ranks 11th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (183 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (91 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (45 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($88,067), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($63,426), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($44,201)

9Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX$59,564$11,963$9,94896.1%
Texas Woman's University admits 96% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 49%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (470 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (94 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (65 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($89,115), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($66,034), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($59,564)

10University of North Texas · Denton, TX$57,888$15,649$12,31172.2%
University of North Texas ranks 41st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an average net price of $15,649.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (94 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (79 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($57,888), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($45,354)

11University of Houston · Houston, TX$54,126$14,276$10,92973.9%
An admission rate of 74% and a six-year completion rate of 65% are reported by University of Houston.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (241 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (96 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (77 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($91,276), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($54,471), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($54,126)

12Lamar University · Beaumont, TX$54,087$9,366$7,56886.4%
Lamar University carries an average net price of $7,568 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 86%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (169 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (20 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($93,709), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($57,524)

13Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX$53,019$12,090$10,20790.9%
Texas A&M University-Kingsville reports $53,019 in median earnings of Speech-Language Pathology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $12,090.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($53,019)

14The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX$49,834$18,267$12,81465.1%
The University of Texas at Dallas admits 65% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 76%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (209 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (96 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (96 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($65,617), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($60,602), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($49,834)

15Our Lady of the Lake University · San Antonio, TX$48,740$16,442$16,236Not reported
A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, Our Lady of the Lake University shows a six-year completion rate of 46% alongside median earnings of $48,740 for its Speech-Language Pathology graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (17 graduates)

16West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX$26,625$19,487$16,52598.7%
West Texas A & M University ranks 16th on this list and carries an average net price of $19,487.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (126 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (109 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($79,583), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($51,397)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Speech-Language Pathology graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Speech-Language Pathology earnings cohort in Texas appear. The figures cover federally aided Speech-Language Pathology completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost of attendance, or the characteristics of the students a program admits, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 2 schools with a published figure. The spread from Abilene Christian University to Texas Christian University is $4,279.

Job market context in Texas

Graduates of Speech-Language Pathology programs in Texas enter a labor market that links to occupations such as Registered Nurses, Nursing Assistants, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $67,557, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $54,180. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 16.1% higher, with about 784 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses the earnings of graduates four years after completing, which is a different measure from the occupation-wide wages reported here.