Highest Paying Colleges in Michigan (2026)
Updated
Highest Paying Colleges in Michigan lists 39 four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Michigan, highest first.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, a public institution in Ann Arbor, ranks 1st on this list and reports $96,159 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. Of the 39 schools, 15 are public and 24 are private nonprofit.
Public institutions make up 38% of the 39 listed schools, and 24 are private nonprofit. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. University of Michigan-Flint posts the lowest average net price at $7,007.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $96,159 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor reports median earnings of $96,159 for its graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Kettering University · Flint, MI | $99,943 | $34,660 | $24,910 | 78.7% |
| Kettering University admits 79% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 71%. | |||||
| 3 | Lawrence Technological University · Southfield, MI | $90,760 | $32,918 | $25,980 | 55.9% |
| Lawrence Technological University carries an average net price of $32,918 and ranks 814th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | University of Detroit Mercy · Detroit, MI | $78,953 | $15,232 | $13,088 | 75.4% |
| University of Detroit Mercy shows median earnings of $78,953 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,232. | |||||
| 5 | Michigan Technological University · Houghton, MI | $84,560 | $14,182 | $2,045 | 92.4% |
| Michigan Technological University, a public university in Houghton, graduates 68% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 6 | University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI | $77,294 | $9,492 | $7,211 | 55.6% |
| University of Michigan-Dearborn reports an average net price of $9,492 and median earnings of $77,294 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $74,093 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University ranks 69th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 85% of applicants. | |||||
| 8 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $68,551 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University reports median earnings of $68,551 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 9 | Walsh College · Troy, MI | $83,054 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Walsh College posts median earnings of $83,054 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 636th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 10 | Davenport University · Grand Rapids, MI | $69,009 | $17,707 | $16,700 | 97.8% |
| Davenport University admits 98% of applicants and carries an average net price of $17,707. | |||||
| 11 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $68,708 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Oakland University reports an average net price of $9,120 and median earnings of $68,708 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | Cleary University · Howell, MI | $67,914 | $22,143 | $18,046 | 67.5% |
| Cleary University shows a six-year completion rate of 41% and ranks 796th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 13 | Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI | $64,721 | $8,624 | $2,556 | 91.4% |
| Ferris State University reports median earnings of $64,721 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $8,624. | |||||
| 14 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $62,885 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 58%, Western Michigan University ranks 14th on this list and posts median earnings of $62,885. | |||||
| 15 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $65,600 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| Ranking 15th on this list, University of Michigan-Flint reports an average net price of $1,517 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $63,454 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University admits 72% of applicants and shows median earnings of $63,454 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Northwood University · Midland, MI | $67,409 | $27,232 | $25,700 | 64.5% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Midland, Northwood University ranks 1020th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 18 | Siena Heights University · Adrian, MI | $62,131 | $17,124 | $15,624 | 68.9% |
| Siena Heights University reports median earnings of $62,131 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
| 19 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $61,298 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| Central Michigan University ranks 19th on this list, with an admission rate of 90% and an average net price of $17,597. | |||||
| 20 | Andrews University · Berrien Springs, MI | $60,517 | $12,547 | $13,406 | 81.9% |
| Graduates of Andrews University earn a median of $60,517 four years after completing, and the school reports a six-year completion rate of 72%. | |||||
| 21 | Madonna University · Livonia, MI | $61,516 | $17,755 | $14,759 | 63.4% |
| Madonna University admits 63% of applicants and carries an average net price of $14,759 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $59,616 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| Eastern Michigan University ranks 319th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $59,616 for its graduates. | |||||
| 23 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $60,491 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 67%, Grand Valley State University reports median earnings of $60,491 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Lake Superior State University · Sault Ste Marie, MI | $56,687 | $12,822 | $3,516 | Not reported |
| Lake Superior State University ranks 751st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $12,822. | |||||
| 25 | Albion College · Albion, MI | $55,297 | $14,301 | $10,036 | 80.7% |
| Albion College reports median earnings of $55,297 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $14,301. | |||||
| 26 | Hope College · Holland, MI | $60,573 | $27,182 | $17,606 | 79.2% |
| Hope College admits 79% of applicants and graduates 80% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 27 | Baker College · Owosso, MI | $53,754 | $13,157 | $11,976 | 81.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 36%, Baker College ranks 27th on this list and posts median earnings of $53,754 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Adrian College · Adrian, MI | $55,233 | $25,368 | $19,542 | 72.5% |
| Adrian College has an average net price of $25,368 and an admission rate of 73%. | |||||
| 29 | Cornerstone University · Grand Rapids, MI | $53,010 | $20,301 | $20,177 | 77.8% |
| Cornerstone University ranks 1199th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $53,010 four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $60,889 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| Graduates of Calvin University earn a median of $60,889 four years after completing, and the school reports a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
| 31 | Alma College · Alma, MI | $55,040 | $20,694 | $17,162 | 57.0% |
| Alma College admits 57% of applicants and has an average net price of $20,694. | |||||
| 32 | Kalamazoo College · Kalamazoo, MI | $55,566 | $19,072 | $12,019 | 75.3% |
| Ranking 32nd on this list, Kalamazoo College reports median earnings of $55,566 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $19,072. | |||||
| 33 | Rochester Christian University · Rochester Hills, MI | $50,000 | $21,456 | $18,463 | 97.7% |
| Rochester Christian University admits 98% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $50,000 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Spring Arbor University · Spring Arbor, MI | $55,203 | $19,353 | $14,530 | 51.5% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 64%, Spring Arbor University ranks 1149th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 35 | Aquinas College · Grand Rapids, MI | $51,578 | $16,626 | $10,725 | 89.9% |
| Aquinas College reports median earnings of $51,578 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $16,626. | |||||
| 36 | The University of Olivet · Olivet, MI | $52,261 | $21,393 | $19,656 | 83.3% |
| The University of Olivet admits 83% of applicants and graduates 35% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 37 | Grace Christian University · Wyoming, MI | $43,821 | $12,404 | $9,538 | 99.2% |
| Grace Christian University reports median earnings of $43,821 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $9,538 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI | $52,624 | $14,085 | $7,697 | 84.0% |
| A public university in Marquette, Northern Michigan University admits 84% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 39 | College for Creative Studies · Detroit, MI | $47,659 | $34,617 | $30,267 | 91.9% |
| College for Creative Studies ranks 39th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 71% and an admission rate of 92%. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Michigan, highest first. The pillar measures four-year earnings, modeled value added and program earnings relative to national benchmarks, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The ordering metric is the median earnings of federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 39 schools with a reported completion median. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $96,159 for its graduates four years after completing, while Kettering University reports $99,943.