Biological and Physical Sciences Programs in the Midwest
Updated
This page lists 43 Biological and Physical Sciences programs in the Midwest, ordered by the median earnings of Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing, highest first. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 1st on this list, and University of Notre Dame reports $102,801 for its graduates after completing.
Across the listed schools, median earnings range from $128,291 to $23,693, with a median of $52,001. For 7 of the 43 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 31 of the programs, or 72%, alongside 12 private nonprofits. Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price on the page at $3,968.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $128,291 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor admits 16% of applicants and ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 2 | University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN | $102,801 | $26,780 | $7,244 | 11.3% |
| Reporting $102,801 in median earnings for its Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing, University of Notre Dame carries an admission rate of 11%. | |||||
| 3 | University of Minnesota-Crookston · Crookston, MN | $88,319 | $12,212 | $5,758 | 87.9% |
| An average net price of $12,212 coincides with a median federal debt of $16,648 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed at University of Minnesota-Crookston. | |||||
| 4 | University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND | $70,947 | $18,551 | $13,126 | 76.9% |
| University of North Dakota ranks 4th on this list and shows an admission rate of 77%. | |||||
| 5 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $67,760 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| With an average net price of $22,531, University of Iowa reports a median federal debt of $21,761 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 6 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $66,130 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale ranks 243rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a school-wide median federal debt of $21,543 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 7 | Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN | $63,018 | $3,968 | -$583* | 86.5% |
| Indiana University-Kokomo reports $63,018 in median earnings for its Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing, combined with an average net price of $3,968. | |||||
| 8 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $62,420 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| Ranking 8th on this list, University of Michigan-Flint carries a median federal debt of $25,000 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 9 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $61,145 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| Miami University-Oxford shows an admission rate of 75% and a school-wide median federal debt of $23,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 10 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | $60,441 | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus ranks 250th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a median federal debt of $22,250 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 11 | University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN | $60,270 | $16,778 | $6,642 | 79.8% |
| Posting an average net price of $16,778, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities reports a median federal debt of $19,500 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 12 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $59,072 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| Ohio State University-Main Campus admits 61% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $17,017 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 13 | Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN | $56,547 | $13,529 | $8,909 | 94.8% |
| Saint Cloud State University admits 95% of applicants and reports an average net price of $13,529. | |||||
| 14 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $56,207 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| Eastern Michigan University reports a median federal debt of $25,000 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 15 | Winona State University · Winona, MN | $55,235 | $17,503 | $10,224 | 75.5% |
| Winona State University ranks 579th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $17,503. | |||||
| 16 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $54,791 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University reports an average net price of $9,828 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $16,348 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 17 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $54,597 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| Western Michigan University admits 85% of applicants and ranks 353rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 18 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $54,133 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| University of Missouri-Columbia reports a median federal debt of $25,500 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed, alongside an average net price of $20,268. | |||||
| 19 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $54,064 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| Iowa State University ranks 194th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 89% of applicants. | |||||
| 20 | North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND | $53,907 | $15,543 | $9,370 | 95.0% |
| North Dakota State University-Main Campus reports an average net price of $9,370 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $17,815 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 21 | National Louis University · Chicago, IL | $52,616 | $12,641 | $12,462 | 95.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Chicago, National Louis University ranks 277th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 22 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $52,001 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato reports a median federal debt of $18,500 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed, with an average net price of $19,139. | |||||
| 23 | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI | $51,713 | $15,014 | $10,329 | 90.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee admits 91% of applicants and reports an average net price of $10,329 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 24 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $51,174 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University reports a median federal debt of $21,102 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed, alongside an average net price of $13,251. | |||||
| 25 | University of Wisconsin-Superior · Superior, WI | $50,950 | $12,220 | $9,679 | 93.0% |
| University of Wisconsin-Superior admits 93% of applicants and reports an average net price of $12,220. | |||||
| 26 | Columbia College Chicago · Chicago, IL | $49,593 | $26,598 | $20,924 | 89.5% |
| Columbia College Chicago, a private nonprofit institution in Chicago, carries a median federal debt of $26,000 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 27 | Concordia University-Wisconsin · Mequon, WI | $49,446 | $36,201 | $34,991 | 78.2% |
| Concordia University-Wisconsin ranks 27th on this list and posts an average net price of $34,991 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA | $45,185 | $18,846 | $12,901 | 77.6% |
| Buena Vista University sits at 976th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 29 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $45,167 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University reports a median federal debt of $26,130 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed and an average net price of $19,680. | |||||
| 30 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $45,090 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University reports $45,090 in median earnings for its Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | Lourdes University · Sylvania, OH | $45,057 | $23,206 | $22,220 | 74.1% |
| Lourdes University ranks 1392nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries a median federal debt of $21,810 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 32 | Capital University · Columbus, OH | $44,403 | $22,576 | $19,062 | 70.2% |
| Capital University posts an average net price of $19,062 for families earning under $30,000 and admits 70% of applicants. | |||||
| 33 | Chadron State College · Chadron, NE | $44,030 | $12,549 | $10,047 | Not reported |
| Chadron State College reports a median federal debt of $14,980 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed and an average net price of $12,549. | |||||
| 34 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $42,817 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Wright State University-Main Campus admits 96% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $31,000 among Biological and Physical Sciences completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 35 | Dickinson State University · Dickinson, ND | $42,639 | $14,092 | $10,479 | 37.0% |
| Dickinson State University reports a median federal debt of $18,442 across all of the school's borrowers who completed and an average net price of $14,092. | |||||
| 36 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $39,909 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| University of Northern Iowa reports $39,909 in median earnings for its Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Hope College · Holland, MI | $39,470 | $27,182 | $17,606 | 79.2% |
| Hope College, a private nonprofit college in Holland, reports an average net price of $17,606 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI | $39,009 | $14,559 | $8,833 | 91.8% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point ranks 38th on this list, with median earnings of $39,009 for its Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | Washington University in St Louis · St. Louis, MO | $35,416 | $21,786 | $1,716 | 12.1% |
| Washington University in St Louis admits 12% of applicants and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 97th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 40 | Valparaiso University · Valparaiso, IN | $33,281 | $18,578 | $11,043 | 89.4% |
| Valparaiso University reports an average net price of $11,043 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 89%. | |||||
| 41 | University of Northwestern-St Paul · Saint Paul, MN | $32,382 | $27,705 | $26,696 | 93.5% |
| University of Northwestern-St Paul ranks 1293rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $27,705. | |||||
| 42 | Minnesota State University Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $31,133 | $17,997 | $11,129 | 58.8% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead, a public university in Moorhead, reports an admission rate of 59% and an average net price of $11,129 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 43 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $23,693 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| Calvin University ranks 1140th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $19,281 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Biological and Physical Sciences graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figures are medians for federally aided completers of Biological and Physical Sciences who were working and not enrolled, measured after completing. For 7 of the 43 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from University of Michigan-Ann Arbor to the bottom of the list is $104,598.
Related rankings
- Biological and Physical Sciences Programs
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- Best Biological and Physical Sciences Programs in the South
- Biological and Physical Sciences Programs in the Northeast
- Biological and Physical Sciences Programs in the West
- Interdisciplinary Studies Colleges in the Midwest for Social Mobility
- Interdisciplinary Studies Colleges in the Midwest