College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Ohio (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 60 four-year nonprofit colleges in Ohio by Azimuth's composite score for the state. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Ohio, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $70,682 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the listed schools, median earnings range from $72,188 at University of Cincinnati-Main Campus to $61,322 at Cleveland State University.

Public institutions account for 13 of the 60 schools, or 22%, while private nonprofits make up the remaining 47. Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 90th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Wilberforce University posts the lowest average net price on the list, at $5,567.

The ranked list

60 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$70,682$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 88%.
2Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH$61,322$14,764$11,95891.3%
Graduates of Cleveland State University report median earnings of $61,322 four years after completing, and the school admits 91% of applicants.
3University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH$72,188$25,648$17,97485.3%
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus carries an average net price of $25,648 and a six-year completion rate of 75%.
4Case Western Reserve University · Cleveland, OH$94,237$41,190$19,02536.5%
A private nonprofit institution, Case Western Reserve University reports median earnings of $94,237 four years after completing.
5Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH$70,528$21,637$15,67385.0%
Ohio University-Main Campus admits 85% of applicants and shows an average net price of $21,637.
6The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Cincinnati, OH$74,804$18,378$17,25558.9%
The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences ranks 6th on this list, with median earnings of $74,804 four years after completing.
7Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH$62,601$15,415$11,95296.3%
With a six-year completion rate of 42%, Wright State University-Main Campus reports an average net price of $15,415.
8University of Toledo · Toledo, OH$66,084$17,249$13,52492.0%
University of Toledo admits 92% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $66,084 four years after completing.
9University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH$62,809$13,946$10,41359.7%
Reporting an average net price of $13,946, University of Akron Main Campus graduates 52% of its students within six years.
10Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH$56,839$20,787$15,28086.3%
Graduates of Kent State University at Kent report median earnings of $56,839 four years after completing, and the school admits 86% of applicants.
11Wilberforce University · Wilberforce, OH$45,958$5,567$5,63040.5%
Wilberforce University posts the lowest average net price on the page at $5,567, alongside a six-year completion rate of 12%.
12Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$56,047$12,767$9,32884.5%
Youngstown State University admits 84% of applicants and reports median earnings of $56,047 four years after completing.
13Ursuline College · Pepper Pike, OH$73,605$16,164$13,13474.9%
Ursuline College reports median earnings of $73,605 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,134 for families earning under $30,000.
14Mercy College of Ohio · Toledo, OH$71,303$17,989$19,86793.2%
With a six-year completion rate of 56%, Mercy College of Ohio admits 93% of applicants and ranks 14th on this list.
15Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH$70,785$28,384$16,01575.4%
Miami University-Oxford, a public university in Oxford, graduates 80% of its students within six years and shows an average net price of $28,384.
16University of Dayton · Dayton, OH$78,870$29,533$21,73665.5%
Graduates of University of Dayton earn a median of $78,870 four years after completing, and the school's admission rate stands at 65%.
17Kettering College · Kettering, OH$80,027$21,650$16,00076.5%
Kettering College ranks 653rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 65%.
18Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH$50,129$14,381$12,310Not reported
An average net price of $12,310 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $50,129 for graduates of Shawnee State University four years after completing.
19Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH$54,998$24,022$18,39681.0%
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus admits 81% of applicants and reports median earnings of $54,998 for its graduates four years after completing.
20Antioch College · Yellow Springs, OH$39,456$14,834$12,57889.1%
Antioch College ranks 20th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 41% and an average net price of $14,834.
21Antioch University · Yellow Springs, OH$63,882Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graduates of Antioch University earn a median of $63,882 four years after completing, and the school ranks 851st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
22Ohio Northern University · Ada, OH$72,080$24,478$18,52574.4%
Ohio Northern University posts a six-year completion rate of 75% and an average net price of $18,525 for families earning under $30,000.
23Walsh University · North Canton, OH$63,410$20,493$20,45870.7%
With an admission rate of 71%, Walsh University reports median earnings of $63,410 for its graduates four years after completing.
24The College of Wooster · Wooster, OH$57,840$23,458$12,51259.5%
The College of Wooster ranks 24th on this list, admits 60% of applicants, and shows an average net price of $23,458.
25Ashland University · Ashland, OH$59,855$21,988$16,48976.4%
Ashland University reports median earnings of $59,855 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 61%.
26Denison University · Granville, OH$62,838$40,007$16,65617.4%
With an admission rate of 17%, Denison University is the most selective school on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 79%.
27Mount St. Joseph University · Cincinnati, OH$61,602$16,530$11,68959.1%
Mount St. Joseph University carries an average net price of $16,530, and its graduates earn a median of $61,602 four years after completing.
28Ohio Dominican University · Columbus, OH$61,640$20,079$16,99794.2%
Ohio Dominican University admits 94% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $61,640 four years after completing.
29Kenyon College · Gambier, OH$57,786$38,512$18,24231.0%
Graduates of Kenyon College earn a median of $57,786 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 82%.
30John Carroll University · University Heights, OH$67,580$28,746$19,94580.9%
John Carroll University ranks 30th on this list and reports median earnings of $67,580 for its graduates four years after completing.
31Tiffin University · Tiffin, OH$63,797$26,500$24,27880.1%
Tiffin University has a six-year completion rate of 40% and an average net price of $24,278 for families earning under $30,000.
32Capital University · Columbus, OH$59,121$22,576$19,06270.2%
Capital University reports median earnings of $59,121 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 70%.
33Baldwin Wallace University · Berea, OH$59,094$27,603$21,29675.7%
Baldwin Wallace University has an average net price of $27,603 and a six-year completion rate of 67%.
34Otterbein University · Westerville, OH$58,068$19,237$12,45884.5%
Otterbein University admits 85% of applicants and carries an average net price of $12,458 for families earning under $30,000.
35Lake Erie College · Painesville, OH$57,903$20,961$20,19570.4%
Lake Erie College ranks 35th on this list, and its graduates earn a median of $57,903 four years after completing.
36Marietta College · Marietta, OH$64,527$21,083$18,25479.3%
Graduates of Marietta College earn a median of $64,527 four years after completing, and the school's admission rate is 79%.
37Central State University · Wilberforce, OH$42,843$13,096$19,58198.6%
Central State University ranks 1098th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $13,096.
38Xavier University · Cincinnati, OH$71,477$32,997$26,72886.4%
Graduates of Xavier University, a private nonprofit university in Cincinnati, earn a median of $71,477 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 69%.
39Cedarville University · Cedarville, OH$60,679$24,468$18,98765.3%
Cedarville University reports an average net price of $24,468 and a six-year completion rate of 73%.
40University of Mount Union · Alliance, OH$57,955$23,280$16,78678.2%
With an admission rate of 78%, University of Mount Union posts median earnings of $57,955 for its graduates four years after completing.
41Ohio Wesleyan University · Delaware, OH$54,483$20,897$15,41255.6%
Ohio Wesleyan University ranks 1157th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $20,897.
42Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH$54,622$18,649$17,60972.4%
Wittenberg University graduates a median of $54,622 four years after completing, and the school admits 72% of applicants.
43Ohio Christian University · Circleville, OH$49,508$20,607$22,11338.0%
Ohio Christian University has a six-year completion rate of 34% and an average net price of $22,113 for families earning under $30,000.
44Muskingum University · New Concord, OH$50,429$19,532$14,68481.8%
Muskingum University reports median earnings of $50,429 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,532.
45Wilmington College · Wilmington, OH$52,364$24,153$19,82092.4%
Wilmington College admits 92% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 47%.
46The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH$60,876$27,221$22,05283.4%
Graduates of The University of Findlay earn a median of $60,876 four years after completing, and the school ranks 1247th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
47Oberlin College · Oberlin, OH$51,715$38,645$18,77434.2%
Oberlin College reports an average net price of $18,774 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $51,715 for its graduates four years after completing.
48Malone University · Canton, OH$51,485$20,948$13,29075.9%
Malone University posts a six-year completion rate of 45% and an admission rate of 76%.
49Mount Vernon Nazarene University · Mount Vernon, OH$53,516$22,421$22,35884.2%
Mount Vernon Nazarene University reports median earnings of $53,516 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 68%.
50Bluffton University · Bluffton, OH$49,053$19,943$16,36367.2%
Bluffton University admits 67% of applicants and posts an average net price of $19,943.
51Franciscan University of Steubenville · Steubenville, OH$49,762$23,589$19,69658.4%
Graduates across all fields at Franciscan University of Steubenville earn a median of $49,762 four years after completing, and the school's admission rate is 58%.
52Heidelberg University · Tiffin, OH$52,647$20,556$18,21785.8%
Heidelberg University has a six-year completion rate of 52% and an average net price of $20,556.
53Hiram College · Hiram, OH$52,304$21,058$16,55093.5%
Hiram College reports median earnings of $52,304 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,550 for families earning under $30,000.
54Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science · Cincinnati, OH$52,859Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science ranks 54th on this list and reports median earnings of $52,859 for its graduates four years after completing.
55Cleveland Institute of Art · Cleveland, OH$41,829$29,208$23,42361.4%
Cleveland Institute of Art admits 61% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $41,829 four years after completing.
56Defiance College · Defiance, OH$46,468$26,337$27,19647.6%
Defiance College has a six-year completion rate of 31% and an average net price of $27,196 for families earning under $30,000.
57Lourdes University · Sylvania, OH$55,959$23,206$22,22074.1%
Lourdes University reports median earnings of $55,959 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 74%.
58Art Academy of Cincinnati · Cincinnati, OH$35,735$34,253$33,83534.5%
Art Academy of Cincinnati has an average net price of $34,253 and a six-year completion rate of 41%.
59Columbus College of Art & Design · Columbus, OH$41,994$29,439$24,20467.7%
Columbus College of Art & Design admits 68% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $41,994 four years after completing.
60Cleveland Institute of Music · Cleveland, OH$37,132$28,226$23,78247.3%
Cleveland Institute of Music reports a six-year completion rate of 72% and an average net price of $28,226.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Ohio, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each institution are the median earnings of federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those who were working and not enrolled. The list does not adjust for cost or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The 60 schools on this page include 13 public and 47 private nonprofit institutions.