College research / Rankings

Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Ohio (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Ohio ranks 60 four-year institutions in Ohio. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Ohio, highest first.

The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 1st on this list and reports $70,682 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing.

Cleveland State University and University of Cincinnati-Main Campus follow, with median earnings of $61,322 and $72,188 respectively.

The list includes 13 public and 47 private nonprofit schools. Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 90th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, and Ohio State University-Main Campus posts the highest six-year completion rate at 88%. Wilberforce University carries the lowest average net price at $5,567.

The ranked list

60 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$70,682$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 88%.
2Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH$61,322$14,764$11,95891.3%
Graduates of Cleveland State University earn a median of $61,322 four years after completing, and the school admits 91% of applicants.
3University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH$72,188$25,648$17,97485.3%
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus reports median earnings of $72,188 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $25,648.
4Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH$56,839$20,787$15,28086.3%
With a six-year completion rate of 64%, Kent State University at Kent ranks 4th on this page.
5Case Western Reserve University · Cleveland, OH$94,237$41,190$19,02536.5%
Case Western Reserve University, a private nonprofit university in Cleveland, reports median earnings of $94,237 for its graduates four years after completing.
6University of Toledo · Toledo, OH$66,084$17,249$13,52492.0%
University of Toledo admits 92% of applicants and shows an average net price of $17,249.
7The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Cincinnati, OH$74,804$18,378$17,25558.9%
Graduates of The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences earn a median of $74,804 four years after completing, and the school ranks 365th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
8Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH$62,601$15,415$11,95296.3%
Wright State University-Main Campus has an average net price of $15,415 and a six-year completion rate of 42%.
9Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH$70,528$21,637$15,67385.0%
Ohio University-Main Campus ranks 9th on this list, with median earnings of $70,528 for its graduates four years after completing.
10Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH$54,998$24,022$18,39681.0%
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus reports an average net price of $18,396 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 64%.
11Kenyon College · Gambier, OH$57,786$38,512$18,24231.0%
Kenyon College admits 31% of applicants and reports median earnings of $57,786 for its graduates four years after completing.
12Cleveland Institute of Music · Cleveland, OH$37,132$28,226$23,78247.3%
Cleveland Institute of Music ranks 1415th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $28,226.
13Antioch College · Yellow Springs, OH$39,456$14,834$12,57889.1%
Antioch College reports median earnings of $39,456 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $12,578 for families earning under $30,000.
14Art Academy of Cincinnati · Cincinnati, OH$35,735$34,253$33,83534.5%
Art Academy of Cincinnati admits 34% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 41%.
15University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH$62,809$13,946$10,41359.7%
University of Akron Main Campus ranks 15th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $62,809 four years after completing.
16Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$56,047$12,767$9,32884.5%
Youngstown State University carries an average net price of $12,767 and a six-year completion rate of 50%.
17Cleveland Institute of Art · Cleveland, OH$41,829$29,208$23,42361.4%
Cleveland Institute of Art ranks 1387th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $41,829 four years after completing.
18University of Dayton · Dayton, OH$78,870$29,533$21,73665.5%
University of Dayton posts a six-year completion rate of 80% alongside median earnings of $78,870 for its graduates four years after completing.
19The College of Wooster · Wooster, OH$57,840$23,458$12,51259.5%
The College of Wooster admits 60% of applicants and reports an average net price of $12,512 for families earning under $30,000.
20Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH$70,785$28,384$16,01575.4%
Miami University-Oxford ranks 20th on this list, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $70,785 four years after completing.
21Denison University · Granville, OH$62,838$40,007$16,65617.4%
Denison University has an admission rate of 17% and a six-year completion rate of 79%.
22Oberlin College · Oberlin, OH$51,715$38,645$18,77434.2%
Oberlin College reports median earnings of $51,715 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $18,774 for families earning under $30,000.
23Columbus College of Art & Design · Columbus, OH$41,994$29,439$24,20467.7%
Columbus College of Art & Design ranks 1413th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and admits 68% of applicants.
24Mercy College of Ohio · Toledo, OH$71,303$17,989$19,86793.2%
Mercy College of Ohio posts median earnings of $71,303 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 56%.
25Franciscan University of Steubenville · Steubenville, OH$49,762$23,589$19,69658.4%
Franciscan University of Steubenville reports median earnings of $49,762 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,696 for families earning under $30,000.
26John Carroll University · University Heights, OH$67,580$28,746$19,94580.9%
Graduates of John Carroll University earn a median of $67,580 four years after completing, and the school admits 81% of applicants.
27Ohio Northern University · Ada, OH$72,080$24,478$18,52574.4%
Ohio Northern University ranks 881st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 75%.
28Walsh University · North Canton, OH$63,410$20,493$20,45870.7%
With an average net price of $20,493, Walsh University posts a six-year completion rate of 58%.
29Cedarville University · Cedarville, OH$60,679$24,468$18,98765.3%
Cedarville University admits 65% of applicants and reports median earnings of $60,679 for its graduates four years after completing.
30University of Mount Union · Alliance, OH$57,955$23,280$16,78678.2%
University of Mount Union ranks 30th on this list, with an average net price of $16,786 for families earning under $30,000.
31Wilmington College · Wilmington, OH$52,364$24,153$19,82092.4%
Wilmington College graduates a median of $52,364 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 47%.
32Ohio Wesleyan University · Delaware, OH$54,483$20,897$15,41255.6%
Ohio Wesleyan University ranks 1157th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its admission rate is 56%.
33Baldwin Wallace University · Berea, OH$59,094$27,603$21,29675.7%
Baldwin Wallace University reports an average net price of $27,603 and median earnings of $59,094 for its graduates four years after completing.
34Central State University · Wilberforce, OH$42,843$13,096$19,58198.6%
A public university, Central State University admits 99% of applicants and has an average net price of $13,096.
35Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH$50,129$14,381$12,310Not reported
Shawnee State University ranks 710th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $12,310 for families earning under $30,000.
36Capital University · Columbus, OH$59,121$22,576$19,06270.2%
Capital University reports a six-year completion rate of 60% and median earnings of $59,121 for its graduates four years after completing.
37Xavier University · Cincinnati, OH$71,477$32,997$26,72886.4%
Xavier University reports median earnings of $71,477 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $26,728 for families earning under $30,000.
38Kettering College · Kettering, OH$80,027$21,650$16,00076.5%
Kettering College ranks 38th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 65% and median earnings of $80,027 for its graduates four years after completing.
39Ashland University · Ashland, OH$59,855$21,988$16,48976.4%
Ashland University admits 76% of applicants and shows an average net price of $16,489 for families earning under $30,000.
40Ursuline College · Pepper Pike, OH$73,605$16,164$13,13474.9%
Ursuline College posts an average net price of $16,164, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $73,605 four years after completing.
41Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science · Cincinnati, OH$52,859Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science ranks 41st on this list and reports median earnings of $52,859 for its graduates four years after completing.
42Ohio Christian University · Circleville, OH$49,508$20,607$22,11338.0%
Ohio Christian University has a six-year completion rate of 34% and an average net price of $22,113 for families earning under $30,000.
43Malone University · Canton, OH$51,485$20,948$13,29075.9%
Malone University reports median earnings of $51,485 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 76%.
44Antioch University · Yellow Springs, OH$63,882Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Antioch University ranks 44th on this list, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $63,882 four years after completing.
45Bluffton University · Bluffton, OH$49,053$19,943$16,36367.2%
Bluffton University admits 67% of applicants and shows an average net price of $16,363 for families earning under $30,000.
46The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH$60,876$27,221$22,05283.4%
The University of Findlay posts a six-year completion rate of 58%, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $60,876 four years after completing.
47Marietta College · Marietta, OH$64,527$21,083$18,25479.3%
Marietta College reports median earnings of $64,527 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $21,083.
48Otterbein University · Westerville, OH$58,068$19,237$12,45884.5%
Otterbein University ranks 48th on this list, with an admission rate of 85% and an average net price of $12,458 for families earning under $30,000.
49Hiram College · Hiram, OH$52,304$21,058$16,55093.5%
Hiram College, a private nonprofit institution in Hiram, reports median earnings of $52,304 for its graduates four years after completing.
50Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH$54,622$18,649$17,60972.4%
Wittenberg University admits 72% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 53%.
51Lake Erie College · Painesville, OH$57,903$20,961$20,19570.4%
Lake Erie College carries an average net price of $20,195 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 38%.
52Muskingum University · New Concord, OH$50,429$19,532$14,68481.8%
Muskingum University ranks 52nd on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 56%.
53Heidelberg University · Tiffin, OH$52,647$20,556$18,21785.8%
Graduates of Heidelberg University earn a median of $52,647 four years after completing, and the school admits 86% of applicants.
54Mount Vernon Nazarene University · Mount Vernon, OH$53,516$22,421$22,35884.2%
Mount Vernon Nazarene University reports a six-year completion rate of 68% and an average net price of $22,421.
55Mount St. Joseph University · Cincinnati, OH$61,602$16,530$11,68959.1%
With an admission rate of 59%, Mount St. Joseph University posts median earnings of $61,602 for its graduates four years after completing.
56Wilberforce University · Wilberforce, OH$45,958$5,567$5,63040.5%
Wilberforce University holds the lowest average net price on the page at $5,567 and admits 40% of applicants.
57Lourdes University · Sylvania, OH$55,959$23,206$22,22074.1%
Lourdes University shows an average net price of $22,220 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 32%.
58Ohio Dominican University · Columbus, OH$61,640$20,079$16,99794.2%
Ohio Dominican University reports median earnings of $61,640 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 94%.
59Defiance College · Defiance, OH$46,468$26,337$27,19647.6%
Defiance College ranks 1391st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $26,337.
60Tiffin University · Tiffin, OH$63,797$26,500$24,27880.1%
Tiffin University ranks 60th on this list, with median earnings of $63,797 for its graduates four years after completing.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Ohio, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The pillar draws on the median earnings of federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, alongside Pell enrollment and completion data. The list does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 60 schools with a reported earnings figure. The list includes 13 public and 47 private nonprofit institutions.