Best Special Education and Teaching Programs in the South
Updated
Regional list from Special Education and Teaching Programs Ranked by Earnings
This page ranks 52 Special Education and Teaching programs in the South by median earnings of Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. University of North Florida leads the list with median earnings of $59,429 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed schools, the figures range from $59,429 to $29,685, with a median of $47,135. The gap between the top two programs is $1,856.
Public institutions dominate the list, accounting for 44 of the 52 schools, while 8 are private. Florida State University ranks 65th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Northern Kentucky University reports the lowest average net price, at $8,191.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of North Florida · Jacksonville, FL | $59,429 | $10,154 | $6,647 | 53.2% |
| University of North Florida reports median earnings of $59,429 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $57,573 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| Florida State University admits 24% of applicants and ranks 65th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 3 | Towson University · Towson, MD | $56,971 | $17,413 | $6,962 | 82.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $18,718 in federal loans at Towson University, which ranks 3rd on this page. | |||||
| 4 | Florida Gulf Coast University · Fort Myers, FL | $56,467 | $12,568 | $8,220 | 63.4% |
| Florida Gulf Coast University posts an average net price of $12,568 and a $56,467 median for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $55,544 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University ranks 264th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with $55,544 in median earnings for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Georgia College & State University · Milledgeville, GA | $54,380 | $20,686 | $15,396 | 78.2% |
| With an admission rate of 78%, Georgia College & State University reports median earnings of $54,380 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $53,272 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| Georgia Southern University shows an average net price of $15,267 and a median of $23,250 in federal debt across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 8 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $53,054 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| University of Arkansas ranks 8th on this list, with median earnings of $53,054 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $52,494 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| An average net price of $10,778 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $52,494 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing are reported by University of North Carolina Wilmington. | |||||
| 10 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $51,259 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| University of Georgia admits 38% of applicants and ranks 95th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 11 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $50,763 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $22,750 in federal loans at The University of Alabama, which reports $50,763 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN | $50,585 | $18,976 | $10,029 | 41.6% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville posts an average net price of $18,976 and ranks 132nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 13 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $50,404 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 77.7% |
| Jacksonville State University reports median earnings of $50,404 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with 16 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 14 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $50,264 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Appalachian State University left with a median of $20,231 in federal loans, and the program's earnings figure is $50,264 four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | Hood College · Frederick, MD | $50,200 | $20,873 | $12,424 | 77.8% |
| Hood College, a private nonprofit institution in Frederick, admits 78% of applicants and posts median earnings of $50,200 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $49,301 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte ranks 98th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $49,301 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $49,005 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| An average net price of $9,563 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $49,005 for Special Education and Teaching graduates at Coastal Carolina University four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $48,410 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University reports median earnings of $48,410 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 89% and 30 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 19 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $48,151 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro carries an average net price of $10,965 and median earnings of $48,151 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | University of West Florida · Pensacola, FL | $47,968 | $9,364 | $4,815 | 58.2% |
| School-wide median federal debt at University of West Florida is $16,624, and its Special Education and Teaching graduates earn a median of $47,968 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $47,864 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| University of Central Oklahoma ranks 338th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Special Education and Teaching graduates earn a median of $47,864 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Nicholls State University · Thibodaux, LA | $47,646 | $12,947 | $10,714 | 90.8% |
| Nicholls State University admits 91% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,646 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with 17 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 23 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $47,550 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Athens State University left with a median of $18,051 in federal loans, and the program's median earnings are $47,550 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $47,465 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 72.0% |
| University of Memphis reports median earnings of $47,465 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,607 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 25 | Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA | $47,241 | $29,357 | $30,667 | 99.0% |
| Liberty University reports $47,241 in median earnings for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 26 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $47,239 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Middle Tennessee State University left with a median of $20,000 in federal loans, and the program's earnings cohort numbered 8 graduates. | |||||
| 27 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $47,031 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University ranks 27th on this list and posts an average net price of $13,315. | |||||
| 28 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $45,383 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 66.1% |
| An average net price of $3,022 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with $45,383 in median earnings for Florida Atlantic University graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Winthrop University · Rock Hill, SC | $44,766 | $15,343 | $12,608 | 79.3% |
| Winthrop University ranks 696th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a median of $44,766 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $44,224 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 86.2% |
| East Tennessee State University admits 86% of applicants and reports $44,224 in median earnings for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $43,536 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| University of Central Arkansas lists an average net price of $16,511 and a median of $20,346 in federal debt across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 32 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $42,964 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 67.7% |
| Northern Kentucky University reports $42,964 in median earnings for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with an earnings cohort of 9 graduates. | |||||
| 33 | Mississippi State University · Mississippi State, MS | $41,627 | $17,595 | $14,332 | 77.6% |
| Mississippi State University ranks 299th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $17,595. | |||||
| 34 | Georgia Gwinnett College · Lawrenceville, GA | $40,821 | $15,844 | $14,356 | 95.5% |
| An average net price of $14,356 for families earning under $30,000 at Georgia Gwinnett College sits alongside median earnings of $40,821 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $40,705 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University admits 94% of applicants and shows a median of $22,095 in federal debt across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 36 | Morehead State University · Morehead, KY | $39,777 | $9,793 | $7,150 | 77.2% |
| Morehead State University reports $39,777 in median earnings for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with an earnings cohort of 45 graduates. | |||||
| 37 | Elon University · Elon, NC | $39,369 | $41,555 | $26,523 | 66.4% |
| Elon University, a private nonprofit university in Elon, reports median earnings of $39,369 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 38 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $38,991 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $22,500 in federal loans at Eastern Kentucky University, which ranks 38th on this list. | |||||
| 39 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $38,670 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia admits 52% of applicants and posts median earnings of $38,670 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Mars Hill University · Mars Hill, NC | $38,289 | $19,910 | $17,021 | 67.9% |
| Mars Hill University carries an average net price of $19,910 and an Azimuth composite rank of 1225th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 41 | Carson-Newman University · Jefferson City, TN | $37,054 | $20,251 | $16,672 | 90.5% |
| With an admission rate of 90%, Carson-Newman University reports median earnings of $37,054 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Lee University · Cleveland, TN | $36,999 | $18,878 | $12,834 | 70.5% |
| Lee University ranks 42nd on this list and shows an average net price of $12,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 43 | Murray State University · Murray, KY | $36,657 | $9,096 | $6,242 | 85.7% |
| Murray State University reports median earnings of $36,657 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, alongside a school-wide median federal debt of $20,500. | |||||
| 44 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $36,521 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| University of Kentucky ranks 220th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an admission rate of 93%. | |||||
| 45 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $36,398 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 96.4% |
| Austin Peay State University reports median earnings of $36,398 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $9,735. | |||||
| 46 | Northeastern State University · Tahlequah, OK | $35,861 | $12,710 | $10,598 | 99.6% |
| Northeastern State University admits 100% of applicants and carries an average net price of $10,598 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 47 | Bellarmine University · Louisville, KY | $35,060 | $21,499 | $18,430 | 86.1% |
| Bellarmine University, a private nonprofit university in Louisville, reports median earnings of $35,060 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Anderson University · Anderson, SC | $33,993 | $23,544 | $17,188 | 54.7% |
| Anderson University ranks 48th on this list and posts an Azimuth composite rank of 1203rd among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 49 | College of Charleston · Charleston, SC | $33,828 | $18,960 | $12,133 | 60.0% |
| College of Charleston reports median earnings of $33,828 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, with 17 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 50 | Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN | $33,138 | $14,246 | $9,815 | 76.1% |
| Tennessee Technological University admits 76% of applicants and carries an average net price of $14,246. | |||||
| 51 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $32,658 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Clemson University ranks 232nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an admission rate of 38%. | |||||
| 52 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $29,685 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate posts median earnings of $29,685 for its Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,618 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Special Education and Teaching graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The earnings figures cover federally aided completers of Special Education and Teaching who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 15 of the 52 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap between University of North Florida and Florida State University is $1,856, and the spread from the top of the list to the bottom is $29,744.
Related rankings
- Special Education and Teaching Programs Ranked by Earnings
- Best Colleges in the South
- Top Special Education and Teaching Programs in the Midwest
- Special Education and Teaching Programs in the Northeast
- Best Special Education and Teaching Programs in the West
- Education Colleges in the South for Social Mobility
- Education Colleges in the South
- Teacher Education Colleges in the South for Social Mobility