Best Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs in the West
Updated
Regional list from Best Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs by Earnings
This page ranks the 33 Subject-Specific Teacher Education programs in the West by median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. California State University-Sacramento ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $82,062 four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the figure ranges from $82,062 to $24,035, with a median of $51,003. For 7 of the 33 programs the earnings figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 28 of the 33 programs, alongside 5 private nonprofit schools. California State University-Sacramento ranks 10th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
California State University-San Bernardino posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $4,564.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $82,062 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento ranks 1st on this list, reporting $82,062 in median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing from a cohort of 30 graduates. | |||||
| 2 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $63,072 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| With an admission rate of 93%, Western Washington University posts median earnings of $63,072 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | Nevada State University · Henderson, NV | $62,684 | $14,068 | $11,438 | 86.8% |
| Nevada State University carries an average net price of $14,068 and reports $62,684 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $62,475 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno ranks 26th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $62,475 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | New Mexico Highlands University · Las Vegas, NM | $62,375 | $14,838 | $13,511 | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $11,399 in federal loans at New Mexico Highlands University, which reports $62,375 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $62,126 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University reports $62,126 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $14,971. | |||||
| 7 | Central Washington University · Ellensburg, WA | $61,604 | $18,476 | $11,846 | 90.6% |
| Median federal debt of $22,068 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed coincides with median earnings of $61,604 four years after completing at Central Washington University. | |||||
| 8 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $61,005 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Fresno, Fresno Pacific University admits 64% of applicants and reports $61,005 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $57,915 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University ranks 9th on this list, with an average net price of $9,547 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $57,915 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $55,713 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| Arizona State University Campus Immersion ranks 21st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports $55,713 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | $55,338 | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| Median federal debt of $17,137 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed accompanies median earnings of $55,338 four years after completing at University of Wyoming. | |||||
| 12 | University of La Verne · La Verne, CA | $54,898 | $20,161 | $20,151 | 71.2% |
| University of La Verne reports $54,898 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 71%. | |||||
| 13 | University of Idaho · Moscow, ID | $54,732 | $14,831 | $11,270 | 75.5% |
| University of Idaho reports median earnings of $54,732 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,831. | |||||
| 14 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $53,246 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University admits 90% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 15 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $53,070 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| University of Nevada-Las Vegas ranks 76th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with 47 graduates in the earnings cohort for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education program. | |||||
| 16 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $51,972 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| New Mexico State University-Main Campus posts an average net price of $8,889 and median earnings of $51,972 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus · Portales, NM | $51,003 | $4,904 | $3,663 | 91.7% |
| Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus shows an average net price of $3,663 for families earning under $30,000, with 29 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 18 | University of New Mexico-Main Campus · Albuquerque, NM | $49,309 | $15,489 | $11,938 | 95.2% |
| University of New Mexico-Main Campus reports median federal debt of $14,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $49,309 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Brigham Young University · Provo, UT | $49,272 | $15,564 | $10,444 | 67.8% |
| Brigham Young University, a private nonprofit university in Provo, ranks 27th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 20 | Metropolitan State University of Denver · Denver, CO | $47,666 | $15,327 | $12,481 | 98.8% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,666 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Boise State University · Boise, ID | $47,505 | $21,610 | $18,165 | 87.2% |
| Boise State University shows an average net price of $18,165 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median federal debt of $24,547 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 22 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $47,303 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado reports median earnings of $47,303 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 33 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 23 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $46,657 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| Montana State University ranks 563rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $22,499. | |||||
| 24 | The University of Montana-Western · Dillon, MT | $46,457 | $16,558 | $14,822 | 99.8% |
| The University of Montana-Western admits 100% of applicants, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 25 | University of Arizona · Tucson, AZ | $46,313 | $16,674 | $13,353 | 86.1% |
| University of Arizona posts median earnings of $46,313 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,674. | |||||
| 26 | Idaho State University · Pocatello, ID | $46,205 | $12,193 | $10,593 | Not reported |
| Idaho State University ranks 26th on this list and reports a median federal debt of $23,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 27 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $44,551 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| A private nonprofit university in Tacoma, Pacific Lutheran University admits 78% of applicants and shows median earnings of $44,551 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $43,426 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus sits 28th on this list with an admission rate of 39%, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $43,426 four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Fort Collins, CO | $35,274 | $21,279 | $13,259 | 88.5% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins reports $35,274 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,259 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $30,771 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Pomona ranks 15th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $30,771 four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $29,685 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| Median earnings of $29,685 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing coincide with an average net price of $26,285 at California Baptist University. | |||||
| 32 | Montana State University Billings · Billings, MT | $29,250 | $16,524 | $13,927 | Not reported |
| Montana State University Billings ranks 32nd on this list, with median earnings of $29,250 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,927 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 33 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $24,035 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| California State University-San Bernardino reports the lowest average net price on the page at $4,564, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $24,035 four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the West appear. The figure is the median for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 7 of the 33 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from California State University-Sacramento to the bottom of the list is $58,027, with California State University-Sacramento reporting $82,062 and Western Washington University following at $63,072, a gap of $18,990.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the West
- Education Colleges in the West for Social Mobility
- Education Colleges in the West
- Teacher Education Colleges in the West for Social Mobility