Best Kinesiology and Sports Studies Programs in the West
Updated
This page ranks 73 Kinesiology and Sports Studies programs in the West by median earnings of Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, highest first. Sonoma State University leads the list with median earnings of $67,351 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the figure ranges from $67,351 to $17,950, with a median of $53,553. For 7 of the 73 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 46 of the programs and private nonprofits for 27. California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price on the page at $3,967.
California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $67,351 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $67,351 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Saint Mary's College of California · Moraga, CA | $66,265 | $30,378 | $19,462 | 86.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Moraga, Saint Mary's College of California shows an average net price of $30,378 alongside median earnings of $66,265 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | Pepperdine University · Malibu, CA | $65,100 | $58,098 | $50,560 | 62.9% |
| Pepperdine University admits 63% of applicants and posts median federal debt of $23,336 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 4 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $64,579 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| With an admission rate of 31%, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo reports median earnings of $64,579 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | University of Utah · Salt Lake City, UT | $64,356 | $16,200 | $13,123 | 86.0% |
| University of Utah reports $64,356 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 281 graduates. | |||||
| 6 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $61,252 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| California State University-San Marcos posts an average net price of $6,230 for families earning under $30,000 and reports 126 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 7 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $61,250 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University ranks 127th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $61,250 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $60,950 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University shows median federal debt of $20,500 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $60,950 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Fort Collins, CO | $60,835 | $21,279 | $13,259 | 88.5% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins reports median earnings of $60,835 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing and admits 89% of applicants. | |||||
| 10 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $60,816 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Riverside, California Baptist University posts median earnings of $60,816 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $59,914 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University reports median earnings of $59,914 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing and carries an average net price of $15,364. | |||||
| 12 | California Lutheran University · Thousand Oaks, CA | $59,820 | $30,109 | $22,161 | 75.7% |
| California Lutheran University shows median federal debt of $24,000 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed and an average net price of $22,161 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $59,648 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| Concordia University-Irvine, a private nonprofit university in Irvine, reports median earnings of $59,648 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, with 37 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 14 | Willamette University · Salem, OR | $59,337 | $25,121 | $16,182 | 77.1% |
| Willamette University admits 77% of applicants and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $25,343 in federal loans. | |||||
| 15 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $59,142 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento ranks 10th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $9,338. | |||||
| 16 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $59,056 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University posts median earnings of $59,056 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
| 17 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $59,012 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| University of the Pacific reports an average net price of $17,004 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $19,500 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 18 | Linfield University · Mcminnville, OR | $58,347 | $26,536 | $20,059 | 85.2% |
| Linfield University ranks 18th on this list, with median earnings of $58,347 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | $57,949 | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| University of Wyoming admits 97% of applicants and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing earn a median of $57,949. | |||||
| 20 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $57,643 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach ranks 5th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a median federal debt of $14,016 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 21 | Oregon State University · Corvallis, OR | $57,451 | $19,604 | $12,107 | 77.3% |
| Oregon State University posts median earnings of $57,451 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $19,604. | |||||
| 22 | Southern Oregon University · Ashland, OR | $57,299 | $16,732 | $11,830 | 88.6% |
| Southern Oregon University reports a median federal debt of $21,350 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed and an admission rate of 89%. | |||||
| 23 | Lewis-Clark State College · Lewiston, ID | $57,214 | $15,635 | $13,080 | 87.7% |
| Lewis-Clark State College ranks 23rd on this list, with an average net price of $13,080 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 24 | Metropolitan State University of Denver · Denver, CO | $57,096 | $15,327 | $12,481 | 98.8% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver reports median earnings of $57,096 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, with 104 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 25 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $57,060 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| California State University-Stanislaus reports median earnings of $57,060 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $6,067. | |||||
| 26 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $56,938 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| Admitting 97% of applicants, California State University-East Bay posts $56,938 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | Westmont College · Santa Barbara, CA | $56,878 | $29,053 | $20,899 | 77.1% |
| Westmont College, a private nonprofit institution in Santa Barbara, shows median federal debt of $24,250 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed and median earnings of $56,878 four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Pacific University · Forest Grove, OR | $56,053 | $35,273 | $23,318 | 89.6% |
| Pacific University ranks 28th on this list, with an average net price of $35,273 and median earnings of $56,053 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $55,830 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| With 336 graduates in the earnings cohort, Arizona State University Campus Immersion reports median earnings of $55,830 four years after completing and an average net price of $14,967. | |||||
| 30 | La Sierra University · Riverside, CA | $55,711 | $45,566 | $44,988 | 91.5% |
| La Sierra University admits 92% of applicants and reports median earnings of $55,711 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Arcata, CA | $55,222 | $13,171 | $8,483 | 98.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt posts median earnings of $55,222 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $13,171. | |||||
| 32 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $54,944 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| Ranking 43rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, California State University-San Bernardino reports median earnings of $54,944 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $54,849 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno shows median federal debt of $14,426 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $54,849 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Western Oregon University · Monmouth, OR | $54,540 | $17,237 | $15,575 | 98.1% |
| Western Oregon University reports median earnings of $54,540 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $17,237. | |||||
| 35 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $53,798 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| Admitting 96% of applicants, University of Nevada-Las Vegas posts median earnings of $53,798 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | William Jessup University · Rocklin, CA | $53,692 | $28,062 | $23,123 | 93.3% |
| William Jessup University ranks 36th on this list, with median earnings of $53,692 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $28,062. | |||||
| 37 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $53,553 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| California State University-Bakersfield reports $53,553 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $5,652. | |||||
| 38 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $53,332 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa admits 87% of applicants and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates earn a median of $53,332 four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $53,024 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Pomona ranks 15th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed left with a median of $15,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 40 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $52,978 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| An average net price of $9,902 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $52,978 for California State University-Chico's Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Colorado State University Pueblo · Pueblo, CO | $52,746 | $10,051 | $9,374 | 94.9% |
| Colorado State University Pueblo reports $52,746 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 58 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 42 | University of Puget Sound · Tacoma, WA | $52,234 | $38,394 | $23,643 | 72.3% |
| A private nonprofit university in Tacoma, University of Puget Sound shows an average net price of $38,394 and median earnings of $52,234 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $52,113 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| Pacific Lutheran University ranks 682nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing earn a median of $52,113. | |||||
| 44 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $52,016 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado reports median federal debt of $19,500 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed, while its graduates four years after completing earn a median of $52,016. | |||||
| 45 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $51,787 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| With a 541-graduate earnings cohort, California State University-Fullerton reports $51,787 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $51,624 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| Fresno Pacific University admits 64% of applicants and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing earn a median of $51,624. | |||||
| 47 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $51,185 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills ranks 46th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside an average net price of $7,303 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 48 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $50,998 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| New Mexico State University-Main Campus reports $50,998 in median earnings for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $8,889. | |||||
| 49 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $50,663 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| California State University-Northridge reports median earnings of $50,663 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $7,021. | |||||
| 50 | George Fox University · Newberg, OR | $50,510 | $31,679 | $22,871 | 93.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Newberg, George Fox University ranks 50th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $26,000 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 51 | Eastern Oregon University · La Grande, OR | $50,279 | $17,148 | $12,563 | 98.3% |
| Eastern Oregon University admits 98% of applicants and posts median earnings of $50,279 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $50,079 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| Western Washington University ranks 533rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates earned a median of $50,079 four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | University of Idaho · Moscow, ID | $49,651 | $14,831 | $11,270 | 75.5% |
| With an average net price of $14,831, University of Idaho reports median earnings of $49,651 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Northwest Nazarene University · Nampa, ID | $49,132 | $29,580 | $28,732 | 64.7% |
| Northwest Nazarene University shows a median federal debt of $23,750 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates earned a median of $49,132 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | University of Hawaii at Hilo · Hilo, HI | $48,783 | $11,856 | $8,983 | 60.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Hilo ranks 55th on this list, with median earnings of $48,783 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 61%. | |||||
| 56 | Whitworth University · Spokane, WA | $48,006 | $26,534 | $16,788 | 89.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Spokane, Whitworth University reports an average net price of $26,534 and median earnings of $48,006 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Central Washington University · Ellensburg, WA | $47,979 | $18,476 | $11,846 | 90.6% |
| Central Washington University shows a median federal debt of $13,000 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $47,979 four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $47,736 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay ranks 134th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,736 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 59 | Whittier College · Whittier, CA | $47,719 | $25,757 | $21,718 | 80.8% |
| Whittier College admits 81% of applicants, and its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates earned a median of $47,719 four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | Rocky Mountain College · Billings, MT | $46,839 | $19,751 | $15,404 | 69.6% |
| With an average net price of $19,751, Rocky Mountain College reports median earnings of $46,839 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $44,930 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| California State University-Los Angeles reports median earnings of $44,930 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $3,967. | |||||
| 62 | Adams State University · Alamosa, CO | $44,701 | $12,980 | $9,947 | Not reported |
| Adams State University ranks 62nd on this list and carries a median federal debt of $17,125 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 63 | Fort Lewis College · Durango, CO | $41,675 | $17,296 | $18,622 | 77.3% |
| With an admission rate of 77%, Fort Lewis College posts median earnings of $41,675 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | Western Colorado University · Gunnison, CO | $40,636 | $16,425 | $11,490 | 99.7% |
| Western Colorado University admits 100% of applicants and reports median earnings of $40,636 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | University of the Southwest · Hobbs, NM | $38,080 | $16,927 | $15,384 | Not reported |
| University of the Southwest, a private nonprofit university in Hobbs, shows median earnings of $38,080 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $36,848 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| An average net price of $41,431 accompanies median earnings of $36,848 for Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates of University of San Francisco four years after completing. | |||||
| 67 | Seattle University · Seattle, WA | $36,312 | $34,662 | $22,896 | 76.9% |
| Seattle University ranks 67th on this list, with median earnings of $36,312 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $33,281 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University reports median earnings of $33,281 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, and an admission rate of 85%. | |||||
| 69 | Brigham Young University · Provo, UT | $30,791 | $15,564 | $10,444 | 67.8% |
| Brigham Young University carries a median federal debt of $8,987 among Kinesiology and Sports Studies completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $30,791 four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | The University of Montana-Western · Dillon, MT | $30,771 | $16,558 | $14,822 | 99.8% |
| The University of Montana-Western admits 100% of applicants and reports median earnings of $30,771 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 71 | Warner Pacific University · Portland, OR | $28,816 | $25,629 | $18,577 | 71.1% |
| Warner Pacific University ranks 71st on this list, with median earnings of $28,816 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 72 | University of Providence · Great Falls, MT | $24,035 | $17,649 | $14,257 | 50.3% |
| University of Providence shows an admission rate of 50% and median earnings of $24,035 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $17,950 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California, a private nonprofit university in Costa Mesa, reports median earnings of $17,950 for its Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 43. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Kinesiology and Sports Studies graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the West appear. The figures are medians for federally aided completers of Kinesiology and Sports Studies programs who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 7 of the 73 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range from $17,950 to $67,351 and the median of $53,553 cover the 73 schools with a published figure. The gap between Sonoma State University and Saint Mary's College of California is $1,086.
Job market context in the West
The Bureau of Labor Statistics links Kinesiology and Sports Studies to occupations such as Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors, Coaches and Scouts, and fitness and wellness coordinators. Across those occupations in the West, the median annual wage is $51,915; a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $41,166. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 16.6% higher, with 36,890 openings a year, or about 391 openings a year for every hundred graduates, meaning more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. These market figures describe the occupations, not the graduate earnings that order the list above.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the West
- Parks & Recreation Colleges in the West for Social Mobility
- Parks & Recreation Colleges in the West