Communication Sciences and Disorders Programs in the South
Updated
Part of Best Health Professions Colleges in the South
Regional list from Best Communication Sciences and Disorders Programs Ranked
This page ranks 69 Communication Sciences and Disorders programs in the South by the median earnings of Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, highest first. Towson University ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $72,365 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the median figure is $56,071, with a range from $72,365 to $25,194. For 2 of the 69 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 60 of the programs, or 87% of the list, alongside 9 private nonprofit programs. The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley posts the lowest average net price at $4,831, and The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
Northeastern State University reports the highest admission rate, admitting 100% of applicants.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Towson University · Towson, MD | $72,365 | $17,413 | $6,962 | 82.0% |
| Towson University ranks 1st on this list, reporting $72,365 in median earnings for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing with 66 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 2 | Loyola University Maryland · Baltimore, MD | $72,055 | $30,574 | $20,549 | 75.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Baltimore, Loyola University Maryland posts median earnings of $72,055 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $30,574. | |||||
| 3 | Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX | $70,864 | $26,182 | $20,285 | 66.0% |
| Abilene Christian University admits 66% of applicants and its Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed left with a median of $15,100 in federal loans. | |||||
| 4 | University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA | $70,141 | $21,565 | $8,174 | 16.8% |
| With an admission rate of 17%, University of Virginia-Main Campus is the most selective school on the page and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $70,141 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $69,730 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| Texas Christian University reports median earnings of $69,730 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 6 | University of Maryland-College Park · College Park, MD | $69,033 | $15,678 | $2,962 | 44.8% |
| University of Maryland-College Park ranks 6th on this list and carries an average net price of $2,962 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 7 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $68,338 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University posts median earnings of $68,338 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 55 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 8 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $67,975 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| University of Georgia ranks 95th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $67,975 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $67,405 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median federal debt of $20,500 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 10 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $67,180 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| Florida State University reports an average net price of $11,297 and median earnings of $67,180 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $66,995 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| Texas State University ranks 40th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 89% of applicants. | |||||
| 12 | James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA | $65,770 | $23,322 | $11,444 | 71.5% |
| James Madison University reports median earnings of $65,770 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 82 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 13 | University of Florida · Gainesville, FL | $65,370 | $6,541 | $1,982 | 24.2% |
| University of Florida reports $65,370 in median earnings for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $6,541. | |||||
| 14 | Baylor University · Waco, TX | $63,909 | $41,104 | $22,024 | 51.3% |
| A private nonprofit university in Waco, Baylor University ranks 14th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $19,681 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 15 | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center · Lubbock, TX | $63,026 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center posts median earnings of $63,026 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 94 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 16 | Ouachita Baptist University · Arkadelphia, AR | $62,886 | $22,409 | $15,207 | 67.5% |
| Ouachita Baptist University admits 68% of applicants and reports median earnings of $62,886 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $62,592 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| University of Arkansas ranks 218th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $62,592 four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $61,620 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| With an admission rate of 89%, University of North Carolina at Greensboro reports median earnings of $61,620 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX | $61,476 | $14,260 | $10,318 | 94.0% |
| Stephen F Austin State University shows a median federal debt of $19,500 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $61,476 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $60,039 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 82.3% |
| Arkansas State University reports an average net price of $12,366 and median earnings of $60,039 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX | $59,624 | $4,831 | $3,785 | 94.2% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley ranks 11th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $59,624 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $59,564 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 96.1% |
| Texas Woman's University admits 96% of applicants and reports median earnings of $59,564 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | The University of Tennessee Health Science Center · Memphis, TN | $59,407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Tennessee Health Science Center posts median earnings of $59,407 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with a median federal debt of $7,500 among completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 24 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN | $59,347 | $18,976 | $10,029 | 41.6% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville reports an average net price of $18,976 and median earnings of $59,347 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Longwood University · Farmville, VA | $59,207 | $19,066 | $11,896 | 90.2% |
| Longwood University reports median earnings of $59,207 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 24. | |||||
| 26 | Louisiana Tech University · Ruston, LA | $59,081 | $11,864 | $7,676 | 86.4% |
| Louisiana Tech University admits 86% of applicants and shows an average net price of $11,864. | |||||
| 27 | University of Louisiana at Monroe · Monroe, LA | $58,406 | $13,466 | $11,490 | 84.8% |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe completers of the Communication Sciences and Disorders program who borrowed left with a median of $16,450 in federal loans. | |||||
| 28 | Harding University · Searcy, AR | $58,184 | $22,130 | $15,418 | 70.5% |
| Harding University, a private nonprofit university in Searcy, ranks 1206th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 29 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $57,888 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 72.2% |
| University of North Texas posts median earnings of $57,888 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,311 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $57,844 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University ranks 30th on this list and reports an admission rate of 94%. | |||||
| 31 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $57,186 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| University of Central Oklahoma records a median federal debt of $17,000 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed and an average net price of $18,309. | |||||
| 32 | University of Mississippi · University, MS | $56,930 | $13,314 | $8,945 | 96.6% |
| With 103 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Mississippi reports median earnings of $56,930 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $56,781 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Middle Tennessee State University admits 69% of applicants and ranks 236th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 34 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $56,543 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 75.0% |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus shows an average net price of $12,243 for families earning under $30,000, with median earnings of $56,543 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $56,071 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama completers of the Communication Sciences and Disorders program who borrowed left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, and the school admits 77% of applicants. | |||||
| 36 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $56,039 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University ranks 36th on this list and reports median earnings of $56,039 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $55,630 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 73.3% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports median earnings of $55,630 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 92 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 38 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $55,508 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University admits 46% of applicants and shows a median federal debt of $15,000 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 39 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $55,426 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 72.3% |
| An average net price of $9,378 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies Valdosta State University's 39th position on this list. | |||||
| 40 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $55,316 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| University of Central Arkansas ranks 440th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an 89% admission rate. | |||||
| 41 | Marshall University · Huntington, WV | $55,037 | $7,502 | $4,648 | 95.7% |
| Marshall University carries an average net price of $7,502 and reports median earnings of $55,037 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Hampton University · Hampton, VA | $54,286 | $25,319 | $32,101 | 62.3% |
| Hampton University, a private nonprofit university, shows a median federal debt of $25,442 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 43 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $54,252 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 89.0% |
| West Virginia University reports median earnings of $54,252 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 73 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 44 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $54,204 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| University of South Alabama admits 71% of applicants and shows a median federal debt of $21,999 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 45 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $54,126 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 73.9% |
| Ranking 13th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of Houston reports median earnings of $54,126 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Lamar University · Beaumont, TX | $54,087 | $9,366 | $7,568 | 86.4% |
| An average net price of $7,568 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies Lamar University's 46th position on this list. | |||||
| 47 | Northeastern State University · Tahlequah, OK | $53,271 | $12,710 | $10,598 | 99.6% |
| Northeastern State University admits 100% of applicants and shows a median federal debt of $15,150 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 48 | Radford University · Radford, VA | $53,171 | $14,578 | $8,965 | 89.5% |
| Radford University reports median earnings of $53,171 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 19 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 49 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $53,125 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University ranks 49th on this list, with median earnings of $53,125 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 50 | Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX | $53,019 | $12,090 | $10,207 | 90.9% |
| Texas A&M University-Kingsville posts an average net price of $12,090 and a median federal debt of $24,500 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 51 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $52,815 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| University of Kentucky admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $52,815 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $52,183 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Western Carolina University ranks 343rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing earned a median of $52,183. | |||||
| 53 | Southern University and A & M College · Baton Rouge, LA | $51,611 | $20,077 | $19,047 | 35.1% |
| Southern University and A & M College, a public university in Baton Rouge, reports median earnings of $51,611 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $51,531 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette shows a median federal debt of $22,000 among Communication Sciences and Disorders completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $51,531 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $51,381 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 99.1% |
| An admission rate of 99% and an average net price of $21,708 accompany University of Southern Mississippi's median earnings of $51,381 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $51,378 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 43.2% |
| With 143 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of South Florida reports median earnings of $51,378 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $51,149 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 40.1% |
| University of Central Florida carries an average net price of $10,411 and ranks 19th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 58 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $50,818 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Eastern Kentucky University carries a median federal debt of $22,500 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing earned a median of $50,818. | |||||
| 59 | Murray State University · Murray, KY | $50,387 | $9,096 | $6,242 | 85.7% |
| Murray State University reports median earnings of $50,387 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL | $49,979 | $17,683 | $14,471 | 53.9% |
| University of Montevallo ranks 940th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing earned a median of $49,979. | |||||
| 61 | The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX | $49,834 | $18,267 | $12,814 | 65.1% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas reports median earnings of $49,834 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, with 96 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 62 | Mississippi University for Women · Columbus, MS | $49,488 | $12,411 | $10,676 | 90.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Mississippi University for Women left with a median of $15,000 in federal loans, and the school's average net price is $12,411. | |||||
| 63 | Our Lady of the Lake University · San Antonio, TX | $48,740 | $16,442 | $16,236 | Not reported |
| A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, Our Lady of the Lake University ranks 373rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 64 | West Liberty University · West Liberty, WV | $47,212 | $15,366 | $12,714 | 97.3% |
| West Liberty University admits 97% of applicants and posts median earnings of $47,212 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $46,061 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University has an average net price of $10,507 for families earning under $30,000, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $46,061 four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $45,806 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia ranks 66th on this list, with a 52% admission rate and 44 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 67 | University of Arkansas at Little Rock · Little Rock, AR | $40,107 | $17,248 | $15,195 | 58.8% |
| The median federal debt across all of University of Arkansas at Little Rock's borrowers who completed is $22,000, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $40,107 four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX | $26,625 | $19,487 | $16,525 | 98.7% |
| West Texas A & M University reports median earnings of $26,625 for its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,487. | |||||
| 69 | Columbia College · Columbia, SC | $25,194 | $18,408 | $17,541 | 93.9% |
| Columbia College ranks 807th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Communication Sciences and Disorders graduates earned a median of $25,194 four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Audiology/Audiologist graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The figure covers federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. For 2 of the 69 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap between first-ranked Towson University and second-ranked Loyola University Maryland is $310, while the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $47,171.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the South
- Best Health Professions Colleges in the South
- Health Professions Colleges in the South for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in the South for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in the South
- Physical Therapy Colleges in the South for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in the South for Social Mobility