College research / Rankings

Best Physical Therapy Colleges in New York (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 18 colleges in New York that offer a Physical Therapy program and have a published earnings cohort in the state. The list is ordered by the median earnings of Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first.

Wagner College leads the ranking, though its earnings figure is not separately citable. Across the 3 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $100,680 to $29,685, with a median of $85,538.

For 1 of the 18 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Of the 18 schools, 6 are public and 12 are private nonprofit. CUNY New York City College of Technology posts the lowest average net price on the list at $5,127.

Stony Brook University ranks 45th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the strongest showing in the group.

The ranked list

18 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Physical Therapy EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Wagner College · Staten Island, NY$156,982$28,241$20,99388.0%
Wagner College ranks 1st on this list and holds an admission rate of 88% alongside a six-year completion rate of 65%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (96 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (42 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (6 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($113,728)

2St. John's University-New York · Queens, NY$142,774$29,999$27,78783.4%
With an average net price of $29,999, St. John's University-New York reports a six-year completion rate of 66% and an admission rate of 83%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (80 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (29 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (23 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($142,774), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($74,937), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($70,521)

3D'Youville University · Buffalo, NY$114,737$20,433$16,25981.4%
D'Youville University posts a six-year completion rate of 67% and an average net price of $20,433, and ranks 449th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (160 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (35 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (29 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($114,737), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($90,891), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($61,801)

4SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University · Brooklyn, NY$114,061Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
A public university in Brooklyn, SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University ranks 4th on this list and 915th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (117 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (23 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($114,061), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($108,786)

5Molloy University · Rockville Centre, NY$111,267$24,347$17,54881.7%
Molloy University admits 82% of applicants and graduates 70% of its students within six years, with an average net price of $24,347.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (489 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (22 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($117,011)

6Long Island University · Brookville, NY$107,539$33,062$22,01986.2%
Long Island University reports a six-year completion rate of 57% and an average net price of $33,062, and ranks 959th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (478 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (176 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (68 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,331), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($107,539), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($66,243)

7Stony Brook University · Stony Brook, NY$103,656$18,784$12,94349.0%
Stony Brook University admits 49% of applicants and ranks 45th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (446 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (219 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (44 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,898), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($110,827), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($103,656)

8Rochester Institute of Technology · Rochester, NY$100,680$34,906$24,68066.9%
Rochester Institute of Technology reports $100,680 in median earnings for its Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (52 graduates), Medical Illustration and Informatics (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($100,680)

9CUNY New York City College of Technology · Brooklyn, NY$96,192$5,127$3,81080.3%
CUNY New York City College of Technology carries the lowest average net price on the page, $5,127, and admits 80% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (76 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (61 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($109,738), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($76,730)

10Hofstra University · Hempstead, NY$88,238$34,176$28,21968.1%
Hofstra University admits 68% of applicants and graduates 69% within six years, with an average net price of $28,219 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (73 graduates), Public Health (57 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (38 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($88,238), Public Health ($58,610)

11Upstate Medical University · Syracuse, NY$86,543Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
A public institution in Syracuse, Upstate Medical University ranks 11th on this list and 749th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (48 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (35 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($116,111), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($88,981), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($86,543)

12Manhattan University · Riverdale, NY$85,538$27,256$27,28178.9%
Manhattan University reports $85,538 in median earnings for its Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, matching the list median of $85,538.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($85,538)

13St. Francis College · Brooklyn, NY$57,318$18,129$15,700Not reported
St. Francis College, a private nonprofit university in Brooklyn, reports a six-year completion rate of 55% and an average net price of $18,129.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (82 graduates), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (33 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($112,171), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($59,885)

14Ithaca College · Ithaca, NY$55,591$33,926$21,90169.0%
Ithaca College admits 69% of applicants and graduates 76% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (126 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (29 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($76,766)

15SUNY Brockport · Brockport, NY$53,717$16,353$10,91170.7%
SUNY Brockport ranks 344th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $16,353.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (250 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (44 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (40 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($88,583)

16State University of New York at Cortland · Cortland, NY$52,067$22,345$12,55059.8%
State University of New York at Cortland posts a six-year completion rate of 68% and an average net price of $12,550 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (48 graduates), Public Health (27 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (13 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($52,654)

17Marist University · Poughkeepsie, NY$42,682$41,544$26,08356.5%
Marist University reports an admission rate of 57% and an average net price of $41,544.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (26 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (7 graduates)

18Alfred University · Alfred, NY$29,685$25,620$16,51273.8%
Alfred University reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Physical Therapy graduates two years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 57%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (6 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort in New York appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing the program. For 1 of the 18 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or differences in who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 3 schools with a published figure. The spread from Wagner College at the top of the list to the bottom reaches $70,995.

Job market context in New York

Physical Therapy graduates in New York enter occupations such as Nursing Assistants, Registered Nurses, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $75,774, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $62,316. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 7.6% higher, with 96,590 projected openings a year, or about 674 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing; the market figures describe the occupations, not the earnings of any listed program.