Business/Commerce, General Programs in the Midwest (2026)
Updated
Part of Best Business Colleges in the Midwest
This page ranks the 65 Business/Commerce, General programs in the Midwest by the median earnings of Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, highest first. University of Notre Dame leads the list with median earnings of $111,444 four years after completing.
Across the 56 programs with a published figure, earnings range from $111,444 to $32,925, with a median of $63,876. For 4 of the 65 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 29 public and 36 private nonprofit programs. Indiana University-Bloomington ranks 96th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the best on the page.
Trinity International University-Illinois posts the lowest average net price at $2,835, and Trinity International University-Illinois admits 100% of applicants, the highest admission rate on the list.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN | $111,444 | $26,780 | $7,244 | 11.3% |
| University of Notre Dame reports median earnings of $111,444 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN | $105,583 | $16,264 | $6,324 | 78.2% |
| Indiana University-Bloomington admits 78% of applicants and ranks 2nd on this page, with a cohort of 2,132 graduates in the earnings data. | |||||
| 3 | University of Minnesota-Crookston · Crookston, MN | No published median | $12,212 | $5,758 | 87.9% |
| University of Minnesota-Crookston, a public university in Crookston, carries an average net price of $12,212 and an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 4 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $84,534 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| Ranks 4th on this list, University of Missouri-Columbia reports median earnings of $84,534 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Franklin College · Franklin, IN | $84,491 | $22,855 | $14,790 | 69.8% |
| Franklin College posts median earnings of $84,491 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,855. | |||||
| 6 | Avila University · Kansas City, MO | $83,385 | $16,053 | $15,694 | 87.8% |
| Avila University ranks 511th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 7 | Gustavus Adolphus College · Saint Peter, MN | $79,260 | $22,900 | $12,015 | 61.0% |
| Gustavus Adolphus College shows median earnings of $79,260 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside a median of $25,500 in federal debt among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 8 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | No published median | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago carries an average net price of $36,079 and ranks 8th on this page. | |||||
| 9 | Southwestern College · Winfield, KS | No published median | $29,824 | $26,294 | 75.6% |
| Southwestern College ranks 855th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 76% of applicants. | |||||
| 10 | Kalamazoo College · Kalamazoo, MI | $75,260 | $19,072 | $12,019 | 75.3% |
| Kalamazoo College reports median earnings of $75,260 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 44. | |||||
| 11 | Wartburg College · Waverly, IA | $74,824 | $32,908 | $21,688 | 75.8% |
| Wartburg College shows median earnings of $74,824 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $32,908. | |||||
| 12 | Lake Forest College · Lake Forest, IL | $74,632 | $28,673 | $19,605 | 56.8% |
| Lake Forest College admits 57% of applicants and reports median earnings of $74,632 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Davenport University · Grand Rapids, MI | $73,948 | $17,707 | $16,700 | 97.8% |
| Davenport University, a private nonprofit university in Grand Rapids, reports median earnings of $73,948 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $24,850 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 14 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | No published median | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology ranks 14th on this list and 136th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 15 | Benedictine University · Lisle, IL | No published median | $22,313 | $20,168 | 95.2% |
| Benedictine University admits 95% of applicants and shows a median federal debt of $18,750 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 16 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $70,903 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis posts median earnings of $70,903 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $5,701 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 17 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $70,601 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| Kansas State University ranks 17th on this list and reports median earnings of $70,601 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,406. | |||||
| 18 | Walsh College · Troy, MI | $70,449 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Walsh College shows median earnings of $70,449 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing and a median federal debt of $16,854 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 19 | Nebraska Wesleyan University · Lincoln, NE | $70,281 | $18,327 | $14,925 | 79.8% |
| Nebraska Wesleyan University admits 80% of applicants and reports median earnings of $70,281 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | No published median | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus ranks 20th on this list and carries a median federal debt of $25,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, with an average net price of $24,022. | |||||
| 21 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $68,873 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater reports median earnings of $68,873 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $8,440 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Bethel University · Mishawaka, IN | $68,689 | $18,610 | $17,580 | 97.7% |
| Bethel University admits 98% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $25,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 23 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $68,572 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| University of Kansas ranks 23rd on this list and reports median earnings of $68,572 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,059. | |||||
| 24 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $68,496 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Oakland University posts median earnings of $68,496 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $4,422 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 25 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $67,141 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports median earnings of $67,141 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with 174 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 26 | Trinity International University-Illinois · Deerfield, IL | $66,803 | $2,835 | $1,242 | 100.0% |
| A private nonprofit university in Deerfield, Trinity International University-Illinois carries an average net price of $2,835 and an admission rate of 100%. | |||||
| 27 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $65,447 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| Saint Xavier University ranks 176th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows median federal debt of $25,000 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 28 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $65,373 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis posts median earnings of $65,373 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, drawn from a cohort of 333. | |||||
| 29 | Edgewood University · Madison, WI | $64,738 | $26,113 | $22,291 | 75.7% |
| With an admission rate of 76%, Edgewood University reports an average net price of $22,291 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | Midland University · Fremont, NE | $64,469 | $26,267 | $21,086 | 66.1% |
| Midland University ranks 30th on this list and shows median federal debt of $26,000 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 31 | Mount Mercy University · Cedar Rapids, IA | $64,408 | $20,168 | $17,070 | 82.5% |
| Mount Mercy University reports median earnings of $64,408 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $20,168. | |||||
| 32 | Indiana University-South Bend · South Bend, IN | $64,275 | $8,653 | $4,637 | 83.8% |
| A public university in South Bend, Indiana University-South Bend admits 84% of applicants and reports an average net price of $4,637 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 33 | Saint Norbert College · De Pere, WI | $64,162 | $26,172 | $19,721 | 85.7% |
| Saint Norbert College ranks 1390th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $64,162 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Grand View University · Des Moines, IA | $64,126 | $21,774 | $18,512 | 99.1% |
| Grand View University shows median federal debt of $21,750 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed and an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 35 | Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN | $63,627 | $13,171 | $8,306 | 83.9% |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne reports median earnings of $63,627 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with 131 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 36 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $63,569 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City ranks 262nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $13,310. | |||||
| 37 | Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO | $63,524 | $19,638 | $15,678 | 56.8% |
| Lindenwood University reports median earnings of $63,524 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,638. | |||||
| 38 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $63,398 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| A public university in Ypsilanti, Eastern Michigan University ranks 38th on this list and carries an average net price of $15,407. | |||||
| 39 | Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH | $62,936 | $18,649 | $17,609 | 72.4% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans at Wittenberg University, a private nonprofit institution where the Business/Commerce, General program posts median earnings of $62,936 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $61,958 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| Columbia College reports median earnings of $61,958 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 264 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 41 | Ripon College · Ripon, WI | $61,701 | $20,216 | $15,712 | 79.8% |
| With an admission rate of 80%, Ripon College reports median earnings of $61,701 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $61,553 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University ranks 210th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and lists median earnings of $61,553 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN | $60,570 | $7,888 | $3,782 | 84.5% |
| Indiana University-Southeast carries an average net price of $7,888 and reports median earnings of $60,570 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN | $60,496 | $3,968 | -$583* | 86.5% |
| An average net price of $3,968 accompanies median earnings of $60,496 for Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing at Indiana University-Kokomo. | |||||
| 45 | Concordia University-Nebraska · Seward, NE | $60,031 | $23,965 | $19,107 | 85.7% |
| Concordia University-Nebraska reports median earnings of $60,031 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $19,107 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 46 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $59,853 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University ranks 172nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $59,853 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | University of Wisconsin-Stout · Menomonie, WI | No published median | $17,490 | $10,966 | 87.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stout ranks 47th on this list and carries an average net price of $10,966 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 48 | Ashland University · Ashland, OH | $59,115 | $21,988 | $16,489 | 76.4% |
| Ashland University reports median earnings of $59,115 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 76%. | |||||
| 49 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $58,039 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Wright State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $58,039 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,415. | |||||
| 50 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | $57,171 | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| Indiana State University admits 81% of applicants and its Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $22,265 in federal loans. | |||||
| 51 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $56,215 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield ranks 51st on this list and posts a median of $56,215 for Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with 98 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 52 | Indiana University-Northwest · Gary, IN | $56,211 | $5,130 | $1,419 | 73.4% |
| Indiana University-Northwest carries an average net price of $5,130 and its Business/Commerce, General graduates earned a median of $56,211 four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $55,286 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University ranks 631st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median federal debt of $18,116 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 54 | Holy Cross College · Notre Dame, IN | $52,927 | $26,728 | $15,377 | 75.2% |
| Holy Cross College, a private nonprofit institution in Notre Dame, shows median earnings of $52,927 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Bethel College-North Newton · North Newton, KS | $48,612 | $32,917 | $35,147 | 93.5% |
| Bethel College-North Newton has an admission rate of 94% and an average net price of $35,147 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 56 | Bethany College · Lindsborg, KS | No published median | $27,686 | $22,561 | 56.0% |
| Bethany College ranks 56th on this list and carries a school-wide median federal debt of $23,250 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 57 | Baker University · Baldwin City, KS | $47,595 | $25,301 | $21,057 | 94.2% |
| Baker University reports median earnings of $47,595 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $25,301. | |||||
| 58 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $47,065 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University ranks 360th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median federal debt of $28,000 among Business/Commerce, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 59 | Defiance College · Defiance, OH | $46,536 | $26,337 | $27,196 | 47.6% |
| Defiance College admits 48% of applicants and reports median earnings of $46,536 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | Concordia University-Wisconsin · Mequon, WI | $44,751 | $36,201 | $34,991 | 78.2% |
| Concordia University-Wisconsin carries an average net price of $34,991 for families earning under $30,000 and a school-wide median federal debt of $25,750 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 61 | Central State University · Wilberforce, OH | $44,662 | $13,096 | $19,581 | 98.6% |
| Central State University reports median earnings of $44,662 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with 143 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 62 | Trine University · Angola, IN | $39,009 | $25,355 | $19,661 | 85.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Angola, Trine University admits 85% of applicants and ranks 1110th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 63 | Dordt University · Sioux Center, IA | $37,208 | $25,807 | $22,597 | 68.5% |
| Dordt University posts an average net price of $25,807 and an admission rate of 68%. | |||||
| 64 | Saint Mary's University of Minnesota · Winona, MN | No published median | $11,704 | $16,182 | 92.8% |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota ranks 64th on this list and carries an average net price of $11,704, alongside an admission rate of 93%. | |||||
| 65 | Lake Superior State University · Sault Ste Marie, MI | $32,925 | $12,822 | $3,516 | Not reported |
| Lake Superior State University shows median earnings of $32,925 for its Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $3,516 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Business/Commerce, General graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure reflects federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 4 of the 65 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 56 schools with a published figure. University of Notre Dame leads the list at $111,444, with Indiana University-Bloomington trailing by $5,861 at $105,583.
Related rankings
- Business/Commerce, General Programs
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- Business/Commerce, General Programs in the Northeast
- Business/Commerce, General Programs in the South
- Business/Commerce, General Programs in the West
- Best Business Colleges in the Midwest
- Accounting Colleges in the Midwest for Social Mobility
- Accounting Colleges in the Midwest
- Best Business Colleges for Social Mobility in the Midwest