Best Nursing Programs in the West (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 87 Nursing programs in the West by the median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing. California State University-East Bay leads the list with median earnings of $150,921 four years after completing, just $819 ahead of San Francisco State University at $150,102.
Across the listed schools, the median figure is $98,632, with a range from $150,921 to $59,080.
Public institutions account for 61% of the programs, with 53 public and 34 private nonprofit schools represented. California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
California State University-Los Angeles reports the lowest average net price on the page at $3,967.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $150,921 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay ranks 1st on this list, reporting $150,921 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $150,102 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University posts an average net price of $12,278 and median earnings of $150,102 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $149,622 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Rafael, Dominican University of California shows median federal debt of $27,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 4 | Samuel Merritt University · Oakland, CA | $148,193 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Samuel Merritt University reports $148,193 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a cohort of 508 graduates. | |||||
| 5 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $143,886 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| With an admission rate of 93%, Sonoma State University lists median earnings of $143,886 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $143,356 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| University of San Francisco carries an average net price of $41,431 and reports median earnings of $143,356 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $134,489 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay ranks 134th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median federal debt of $5,500 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 8 | Bushnell University · Eugene, OR | $131,400 | $20,789 | $17,924 | 67.3% |
| Bushnell University reports $131,400 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 14 graduates. | |||||
| 9 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $129,960 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento ranks 10th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $9,338. | |||||
| 10 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $126,959 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| Median federal debt among Nursing completers who borrowed reaches $22,000 at California State University-Stanislaus, which also shows an average net price of $6,067. | |||||
| 11 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $120,799 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University admits 36% of applicants and reports median federal debt of $17,375 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 12 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $120,258 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa lists median earnings of $120,258 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,664. | |||||
| 13 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $120,196 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| California State University-San Marcos reports median earnings of $120,196 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,229. | |||||
| 14 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $119,502 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| A public university in Irvine, University of California-Irvine ranks 14th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $13,500 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 15 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $119,353 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton admits 91% of applicants and posts median earnings of $119,353 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | University of Providence · Great Falls, MT | $119,206 | $17,649 | $14,257 | 50.3% |
| University of Providence, a private nonprofit institution in Great Falls, ranks 226th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a 100-graduate earnings cohort. | |||||
| 17 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $119,050 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| With an average net price of $23,849 for families earning under $30,000, Mount Saint Mary's University reports median earnings of $119,050 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $118,588 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills ranks 18th on this list and carries a median federal debt of $10,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $118,588 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $118,566 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles admits 9% of applicants, the lowest admission rate on the page, and reports median earnings of $118,566 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $118,549 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University posts median earnings of $118,549 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,781 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 21 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $117,543 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| California State University-Chico ranks 91st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a 127-graduate earnings cohort for its Nursing program. | |||||
| 22 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $116,613 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| Median federal debt among Nursing completers who borrowed is $15,041 at California State University-Northridge, which reports median earnings of $116,613 four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $116,182 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $116,182 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $114,919 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Diego, Point Loma Nazarene University reports a median federal debt of $24,784 among Nursing completers who borrowed and an average net price of $38,729. | |||||
| 25 | Simpson University · Redding, CA | $113,623 | $27,817 | $25,511 | 86.0% |
| Simpson University, a private nonprofit university in Redding, reports median earnings of $113,623 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
| 26 | Hawaii Pacific University · Honolulu, HI | $112,964 | $29,657 | $25,758 | 85.9% |
| Hawaii Pacific University ranks 26th on this list, with 114 graduates in the earnings cohort and a median federal debt of $22,500 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 27 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $112,691 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| With an average net price of $9,849, California State University-Channel Islands posts median earnings of $112,691 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $112,178 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| Fresno Pacific University reports an admission rate of 64% and a school-wide median federal debt of $23,146 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 29 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $111,681 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach ranks 5th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Nursing graduates four years after completing earn a median of $111,681. | |||||
| 30 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $111,278 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| A public institution in Fresno, California State University-Fresno admits 95% of applicants and reports median earnings of $111,278 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $111,200 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University ranks 31st on this list, with median earnings of $111,200 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and a median federal debt of $29,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 32 | University of Hawaii at Hilo · Hilo, HI | $111,027 | $11,856 | $8,983 | 60.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Hilo admits 61% of applicants and reports median earnings of $111,027 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $109,499 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| California State University-San Bernardino ranks 43rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Nursing graduates four years after completing earn a median of $109,499. | |||||
| 34 | Linfield University · Mcminnville, OR | $109,374 | $26,536 | $20,059 | 85.2% |
| Linfield University reports median earnings of $109,374 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with 238 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 35 | Chaminade University of Honolulu · Honolulu, HI | $108,622 | $28,856 | $31,589 | 91.4% |
| Chaminade University of Honolulu lists an average net price of $31,589 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $28,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 36 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $108,157 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| California Baptist University ranks 36th on this list, with an admission rate of 85% and median earnings of $108,157 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $105,657 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| Concordia University-Irvine reports median earnings of $105,657 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 108 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 38 | Oregon Health & Science University · Portland, OR | $104,592 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| A public university in Portland, Oregon Health & Science University ranks 434th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 39 | University of Portland · Portland, OR | $103,823 | $28,210 | $20,070 | 89.2% |
| University of Portland admits 89% of applicants and carries an average net price of $20,070 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $102,298 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| California State University-Bakersfield posts an average net price of $5,652 and a school-wide median federal debt of $16,600 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 41 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $102,239 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California ranks 41st on this list, with median federal debt of $18,930 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 42 | Roseman University of Health Sciences · Henderson, NV | $101,932 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Roseman University of Health Sciences reports median earnings of $101,932 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a cohort of 291 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 43 | Walla Walla University · College Place, WA | $101,497 | $23,329 | $18,675 | Not reported |
| Walla Walla University carries an average net price of $18,675 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 1001st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 44 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $98,632 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus admits 39% of applicants and reports median earnings of $98,632 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | University of Nevada-Reno · Reno, NV | $97,949 | $15,927 | $12,674 | 73.7% |
| An average net price of $12,674 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with University of Nevada-Reno's 45th position on this list. | |||||
| 46 | New Mexico Highlands University · Las Vegas, NM | $97,309 | $14,838 | $13,511 | Not reported |
| New Mexico Highlands University reports median federal debt of $10,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed and median earnings of $97,309 four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $96,695 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| Western Washington University admits 93% of applicants and carries an average net price of $12,915 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 48 | Nevada State University · Henderson, NV | $95,918 | $14,068 | $11,438 | 86.8% |
| Nevada State University ranks 296th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a cohort of 396 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 49 | Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus · Portales, NM | $95,650 | $4,904 | $3,663 | 91.7% |
| Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $95,650 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $4,904. | |||||
| 50 | Gonzaga University · Spokane, WA | $95,155 | $35,119 | $20,833 | 81.7% |
| Gonzaga University ranks 50th on this list, with median earnings of $95,155 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and a median federal debt of $27,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 51 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $94,600 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| University of Nevada-Las Vegas ranks 76th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a 96% admission rate. | |||||
| 52 | George Fox University · Newberg, OR | $93,740 | $31,679 | $22,871 | 93.5% |
| With an average net price of $22,871 for families earning under $30,000, George Fox University reports median earnings of $93,740 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Seattle Pacific University · Seattle, WA | $93,334 | $24,488 | $20,735 | 83.4% |
| Seattle Pacific University admits 83% of applicants and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $93,334 four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | University of Alaska Anchorage · Anchorage, AK | $93,001 | $15,301 | $11,582 | Not reported |
| University of Alaska Anchorage reports median federal debt of $20,834 among Nursing completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $93,001 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $92,277 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University ranks 23rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $13,760. | |||||
| 56 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $91,528 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| Pacific Lutheran University reports median earnings of $91,528 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with a 78% admission rate. | |||||
| 57 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $91,495 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University reports median federal debt of $13,476 among Nursing completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $91,495 four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Boise State University · Boise, ID | $91,491 | $21,610 | $18,165 | 87.2% |
| Boise State University ranks 58th on this list and reports an average net price of $18,165 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 59 | Seattle University · Seattle, WA | $90,918 | $34,662 | $22,896 | 76.9% |
| Seattle University reports median earnings of $90,918 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $23,593 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 60 | Northwest University · Kirkland, WA | $89,673 | $22,288 | $17,996 | 83.2% |
| Northwest University admits 83% of applicants and reports median earnings of $89,673 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | University of Arizona · Tucson, AZ | $88,892 | $16,674 | $13,353 | 86.1% |
| University of Arizona reports median earnings of $88,892 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,674. | |||||
| 62 | Colorado Christian University · Lakewood, CO | $87,990 | $29,500 | $26,010 | Not reported |
| Colorado Christian University, a private nonprofit university in Lakewood, ranks 62nd on this list and shows a median federal debt of $37,500 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 63 | Regis University · Denver, CO | $87,862 | $18,397 | $13,713 | 86.5% |
| Regis University admits 86% of applicants and posts median earnings of $87,862 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $86,576 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| Arizona State University Campus Immersion holds an Azimuth composite rank of 21st among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $86,576 four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | University of New Mexico-Main Campus · Albuquerque, NM | $86,559 | $15,489 | $11,938 | 95.2% |
| University of New Mexico-Main Campus reports an average net price of $11,938 for families earning under $30,000, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $86,559 four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | Metropolitan State University of Denver · Denver, CO | $86,259 | $15,327 | $12,481 | 98.8% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver ranks 66th on this list, with an admission rate of 99% and a median federal debt of $22,195 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 67 | University of Utah · Salt Lake City, UT | $86,243 | $16,200 | $13,123 | 86.0% |
| University of Utah reports median earnings of $86,243 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,200. | |||||
| 68 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $84,996 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University holds an Azimuth composite rank of 127th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $84,996 four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus · Denver, CO | $84,950 | $11,900 | $6,743 | 74.7% |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus reports an average net price of $6,743 for families earning under $30,000, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $84,950 four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | Western New Mexico University · Silver City, NM | $84,626 | $8,522 | $8,381 | Not reported |
| Western New Mexico University ranks 70th on this list, with a median federal debt of $25,481 among Nursing completers who borrowed and an average net price of $8,522. | |||||
| 71 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $83,712 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado admits 86% of applicants and posts median earnings of $83,712 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 72 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | $83,525 | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| With an average net price of $13,599, University of Wyoming reports median earnings of $83,525 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Lewis-Clark State College · Lewiston, ID | $83,303 | $15,635 | $13,080 | 87.7% |
| Lewis-Clark State College reports median earnings of $83,303 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with 202 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 74 | Whitworth University · Spokane, WA | $82,980 | $26,534 | $16,788 | 89.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Spokane, Whitworth University admits 90% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $14,418 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 75 | Montana Technological University · Butte, MT | $81,504 | $16,481 | $11,914 | 91.1% |
| Montana Technological University posts an average net price of $11,914 for families earning under $30,000, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $81,504 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | Carroll College · Helena, MT | $80,878 | $23,960 | $17,072 | 70.9% |
| Carroll College ranks 76th on this list and holds the 1328th position on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 77 | Colorado State University Pueblo · Pueblo, CO | $80,676 | $10,051 | $9,374 | 94.9% |
| With an average net price of $10,051, Colorado State University Pueblo reports median earnings of $80,676 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | Westminster University · Salt Lake City, UT | $80,037 | $27,094 | $22,972 | 66.6% |
| Westminster University carries a median federal debt of $21,432 among Nursing completers who borrowed, alongside an admission rate of 67%. | |||||
| 79 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $78,951 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| New Mexico State University-Main Campus reports an average net price of $6,648 for families earning under $30,000, and its Nursing graduates earn a median of $78,951 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs · Colorado Springs, CO | $78,904 | $15,788 | $12,065 | 97.4% |
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs admits 97% of applicants and posts median earnings of $78,904 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | Adams State University · Alamosa, CO | $78,402 | $12,980 | $9,947 | Not reported |
| Adams State University carries a median federal debt of $24,950 among Nursing completers who borrowed, with 14 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 82 | Northwest Nazarene University · Nampa, ID | $76,250 | $29,580 | $28,732 | 64.7% |
| Northwest Nazarene University ranks 82nd on this list, with an average net price of $29,580 and an admission rate of 65%. | |||||
| 83 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $76,146 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| Montana State University reports median earnings of $76,146 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, with 261 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 84 | Idaho State University · Pocatello, ID | $73,953 | $12,193 | $10,593 | Not reported |
| Idaho State University carries a median federal debt of $25,000 among Nursing completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $73,953 four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | Montana State University-Northern · Havre, MT | $66,461 | $12,664 | $9,940 | Not reported |
| Montana State University-Northern ranks 85th on this list, with median earnings of $66,461 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 86 | Saint Martin's University · Lacey, WA | $66,045 | $28,119 | $22,810 | 89.8% |
| Saint Martin's University, a private nonprofit university in Lacey, admits 90% of applicants and reports an average net price of $28,119. | |||||
| 87 | Brigham Young University · Provo, UT | $59,080 | $15,564 | $10,444 | 67.8% |
| Brigham Young University posts median earnings of $59,080 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $7,830 among Nursing completers who borrowed. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Nursing graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the West appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 3 of the 87 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap between California State University-East Bay and San Francisco State University is $819, while the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $91,841.
Job market context in the West
The labor market for Nursing graduates in the West links to occupations such as Registered Nurses and Nurse Practitioners. Across those occupations the median annual wage is $125,771, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $108,284. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 20.6% higher, with about 190 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. These market figures describe the occupations, not the earnings of any listed program, which the ranking above measures directly from graduate outcomes.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the West
- Best Nursing Colleges in the West by Earnings
- Health Professions Colleges in the West for Social Mobility
- Health Professions Colleges in the West
- Nursing Colleges in the West for Social Mobility
- Physical Therapy Colleges in the West for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in the West for Social Mobility