Highest Paying Colleges in Texas (2026)
Updated
Highest Paying Colleges in Texas lists 78 four-year institutions in Texas. The list follows Azimuth's return pillar for Texas, highest first.
Rice University ranks 1st on this list; its graduates report $110,080 in median earnings four years after completing. Southern Methodist University follows at 2nd; its graduates report $95,051 in median earnings four years after completing.
The University of Texas at Austin ranks 3rd, and its graduates report $79,115 in median earnings four years after completing. The group includes 39 public and 39 private nonprofit institutions.
50% of the listed institutions are public. The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
Texas A & M International University posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $3,637.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rice University · Houston, TX | $110,080 | $13,370 | $5,827 | 8.0% |
| Rice University reports median earnings of $110,080 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 95% six-year completion rate. | |||||
| 2 | Southern Methodist University · Dallas, TX | $95,051 | $40,892 | $23,544 | 63.4% |
| Southern Methodist University admits 63% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $95,051 four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $79,115 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $19,857. | |||||
| 4 | The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX | $79,176 | $13,951 | $11,893 | 79.9% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington graduates earn a median of $79,176 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $11,893 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 5 | The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston · Houston, TX | $101,125 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston ranks 5th on this list with median earnings of $101,125 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston · Galveston, TX | $93,089 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston reports median earnings of $93,089 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 442nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 7 | Texas A&M University-College Station · College Station, TX | $76,234 | $21,315 | $12,784 | 57.4% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station admits 57% of applicants and graduates 84% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 8 | The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center · Houston, TX | $85,744 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center ranks 8th on this list, with median earnings of $85,744 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center · Lubbock, TX | $90,257 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center reports median earnings of $90,257 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 499th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 10 | The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX | $76,497 | $18,267 | $12,814 | 65.1% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas shows an average net price of $12,814 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 76%. | |||||
| 11 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $76,188 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| Texas Christian University admits 44% of applicants and reports median earnings of $76,188 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | North American University · Stafford, TX | $56,795 | $18,721 | $18,720 | Not reported |
| North American University reports a six-year completion rate of 32% and an average net price of $18,721. | |||||
| 13 | The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $84,730 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, a public university in San Antonio, reports median earnings of $84,730 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 14 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $64,179 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 96.1% |
| Texas Woman's University admits 96% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 15 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $68,091 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 73.9% |
| University of Houston ranks 13th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with graduates earning a median of $68,091 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | The University of Texas Permian Basin · Odessa, TX | $63,864 | $12,723 | $11,930 | 94.9% |
| The University of Texas Permian Basin carries an average net price of $12,723, and its graduates earn a median of $63,864 four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | The University of Texas at Tyler · Tyler, TX | $68,633 | $13,323 | $10,307 | 94.0% |
| Graduates of The University of Texas at Tyler earn a median of $68,633 four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
| 18 | University of St Thomas · Houston, TX | $66,137 | $19,359 | $18,441 | 89.9% |
| University of St Thomas reports an average net price of $19,359 and graduates 69% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 19 | Lamar University · Beaumont, TX | $66,816 | $9,366 | $7,568 | 86.4% |
| Lamar University ranks 19th on this list, with an average net price of $9,366 and a median of $66,816 in earnings four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | University of North Texas at Dallas · Dallas, TX | $62,574 | $6,420 | $4,713 | 84.5% |
| University of North Texas at Dallas posts an average net price of $6,420, and graduates earn a median of $62,574 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of the Incarnate Word · San Antonio, TX | $63,004 | $22,775 | $19,260 | 98.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Antonio, University of the Incarnate Word admits 98% of applicants and reports median earnings of $63,004 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Houston Christian University · Houston, TX | $62,310 | $20,629 | $17,933 | 84.4% |
| Houston Christian University reports median earnings of $62,310 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX | $66,144 | $19,070 | $12,457 | 72.7% |
| Texas Tech University admits 73% of applicants and reports median earnings of $66,144 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Amberton University · Garland, TX | $72,929 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Amberton University ranks 1111th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $72,929 four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Baylor University · Waco, TX | $69,608 | $41,104 | $22,024 | 51.3% |
| Baylor University reports median earnings of $69,608 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 80%. | |||||
| 26 | Concordia University Texas · Austin, TX | $64,701 | $23,131 | $18,764 | 91.3% |
| With an admission rate of 91%, Concordia University Texas carries an average net price of $23,131. | |||||
| 27 | Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX | $62,250 | $11,656 | $8,856 | 93.5% |
| Midwestern State University, a public university in Wichita Falls, ranks 27th on this list and shows an average net price of $11,656. | |||||
| 28 | University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX | $60,550 | $10,542 | $9,439 | 90.0% |
| University of Houston-Downtown ranks 73rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $60,550 four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Schreiner University · Kerrville, TX | $58,631 | $21,507 | $17,863 | 88.2% |
| Schreiner University posts a six-year completion rate of 43% and an average net price of $17,863 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | University of Mary Hardin-Baylor · Belton, TX | $61,024 | $26,106 | $22,089 | 95.8% |
| Graduates of University of Mary Hardin-Baylor earn a median of $61,024 four years after completing, and the school admits 96% of applicants. | |||||
| 31 | Criswell College · Dallas, TX | $66,210 | $21,630 | $20,353 | 100.0% |
| Criswell College ranks 916th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 32 | Saint Edward's University · Austin, TX | $59,999 | $25,578 | $20,799 | 81.4% |
| Saint Edward's University reports median earnings of $59,999 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $25,578. | |||||
| 33 | Prairie View A & M University · Prairie View, TX | $60,602 | $13,570 | $12,120 | 79.3% |
| Prairie View A & M University admits 79% of applicants and carries an average net price of $12,120 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 34 | The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX | $58,771 | $9,403 | $7,863 | 99.9% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso ranks 39th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $58,771 four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | University of Houston-Clear Lake · Houston, TX | $59,865 | $15,563 | $7,330 | 90.5% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 52%, University of Houston-Clear Lake reports median earnings of $59,865 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | Trinity University · San Antonio, TX | $67,249 | $23,464 | $10,356 | 25.9% |
| Trinity University admits 26% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $67,249 four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Our Lady of the Lake University · San Antonio, TX | $55,876 | $16,442 | $16,236 | Not reported |
| Our Lady of the Lake University reports median earnings of $55,876 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 46%. | |||||
| 38 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $58,786 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| A public university in San Marcos, Texas State University has an average net price of $16,805 and an Azimuth composite rank of 40th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 39 | The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $60,333 | $10,836 | $7,870 | 86.8% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio admits 87% of applicants and posts median earnings of $60,333 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | St. Mary's University · San Antonio, TX | $58,545 | $21,145 | $18,352 | 97.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 59%, St. Mary's University reports an average net price of $18,352 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 41 | Dallas Baptist University · Dallas, TX | $59,308 | $28,516 | $25,326 | 88.8% |
| Dallas Baptist University ranks 41st on this list and shows an admission rate of 89% alongside median earnings of $59,308 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX | $56,982 | $12,090 | $10,207 | 90.9% |
| Texas A&M University-Kingsville graduates 42% of its students within six years, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $56,982 four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi · Corpus Christi, TX | $59,765 | $15,225 | $11,445 | 88.6% |
| An average net price of $11,445 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 40% at Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi. | |||||
| 44 | Texas Southern University · Houston, TX | $55,112 | $16,590 | $16,437 | 96.9% |
| Texas Southern University admits 97% of applicants and reports median earnings of $55,112 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX | $57,044 | $16,404 | $12,474 | 90.3% |
| Sam Houston State University ranks 117th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $57,044 four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Tarleton State University · Stephenville, TX | $57,758 | $20,783 | $15,574 | 89.6% |
| A public university in Stephenville, Tarleton State University has an average net price of $20,783 and a six-year completion rate of 48%. | |||||
| 47 | East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX | $57,494 | $11,841 | $9,709 | 92.2% |
| East Texas A&M University reports an average net price of $9,709 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $57,494 four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $58,743 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 72.2% |
| University of North Texas admits 72% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 61% alongside median earnings of $58,743 four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX | $53,888 | $4,831 | $3,785 | 94.2% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley reports median earnings of $53,888 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $4,831. | |||||
| 50 | Texas Wesleyan University · Fort Worth, TX | $57,671 | $24,066 | $21,812 | 69.2% |
| Texas Wesleyan University, a private nonprofit university in Fort Worth, ranks 50th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 32%. | |||||
| 51 | Texas A&M University-San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $55,112 | $11,196 | $9,596 | 92.8% |
| With an admission rate of 93%, Texas A&M University-San Antonio ranks 51st on this page and posts median earnings of $55,112 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | LeTourneau University · Longview, TX | $65,664 | $28,185 | $22,785 | 38.0% |
| LeTourneau University admits 38% of applicants and reports median earnings of $65,664 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Southwestern Adventist University · Keene, TX | $55,144 | $22,778 | $16,725 | 78.4% |
| Southwestern Adventist University ranks 53rd on this list and carries an average net price of $22,778, with a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 54 | Lubbock Christian University · Lubbock, TX | $57,061 | $24,456 | $23,018 | 73.1% |
| Lubbock Christian University reports median earnings of $57,061 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $23,018 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 55 | Texas A&M University-Victoria · Victoria, TX | $57,364 | $8,109 | $5,317 | 95.9% |
| Texas A&M University-Victoria ranks 55th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 26% and median earnings of $57,364 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX | $55,013 | $14,260 | $10,318 | 94.0% |
| Stephen F Austin State University admits 94% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 53%, alongside median earnings of $55,013 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Texas Lutheran University · Seguin, TX | $56,629 | $24,654 | $20,512 | 95.7% |
| Texas Lutheran University ranks 57th on this page and carries an average net price of $24,654, with median earnings of $56,629 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX | $59,305 | $26,182 | $20,285 | 66.0% |
| Abilene Christian University reports median earnings of $59,305 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 59%. | |||||
| 59 | University of Dallas · Irving, TX | $61,870 | $22,610 | $12,711 | 53.4% |
| University of Dallas admits 53% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 73%, with median earnings of $61,870 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX | $55,166 | $19,487 | $16,525 | 98.7% |
| West Texas A & M University ranks 60th on this list and carries an average net price of $16,525 for families earning under $30,000, alongside a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 61 | Wayland Baptist University · Plainview, TX | $56,530 | $20,590 | $20,070 | 56.0% |
| Wayland Baptist University ranks 61st on this list and reports median earnings of $56,530 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 62 | Angelo State University · San Angelo, TX | $54,923 | $15,091 | $12,008 | 83.0% |
| Angelo State University, a public university in San Angelo, has an average net price of $15,091 and a six-year completion rate of 44%. | |||||
| 63 | Arlington Baptist University · Arlington, TX | $48,934 | $24,906 | $21,759 | Not reported |
| Arlington Baptist University shows an average net price of $21,759 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 19%. | |||||
| 64 | Southwestern University · Georgetown, TX | $59,994 | $29,224 | $22,478 | 43.1% |
| Southwestern University posts a six-year completion rate of 73% alongside median earnings of $59,994 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Hardin-Simmons University · Abilene, TX | $53,769 | $19,555 | $13,822 | 90.0% |
| Hardin-Simmons University ranks 1133rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an admission rate of 90%. | |||||
| 66 | Austin College · Sherman, TX | $57,361 | $21,107 | $16,528 | 47.7% |
| Austin College reports median earnings of $57,361 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $21,107. | |||||
| 67 | Sul Ross State University · Alpine, TX | $49,811 | $13,286 | $11,110 | 98.7% |
| Sul Ross State University admits 99% of applicants and has an average net price of $11,110 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 68 | Texas A & M International University · Laredo, TX | $50,288 | $3,637 | $3,097 | 44.4% |
| Texas A & M International University carries an average net price of $3,637 and ranks 94th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 69 | Howard Payne University · Brownwood, TX | $50,567 | $23,627 | $24,043 | 67.4% |
| Howard Payne University reports median earnings of $50,567 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 28%. | |||||
| 70 | Nelson University · Waxahachie, TX | $46,199 | $21,662 | $17,583 | 89.0% |
| Nelson University admits 89% of applicants and shows an average net price of $17,583 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 71 | Hallmark University · San Antonio, TX | $59,410 | $12,513 | $10,662 | 51.3% |
| Hallmark University posts a six-year completion rate of 66% and median earnings of $59,410 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 72 | Dallas Christian College · Dallas, TX | $47,383 | $22,960 | $19,302 | 21.8% |
| Dallas Christian College ranks 958th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and has an admission rate of 22%. | |||||
| 73 | McMurry University · Abilene, TX | $48,273 | $19,581 | $15,946 | 57.0% |
| McMurry University reports median earnings of $48,273 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $19,581. | |||||
| 74 | Texas College · Tyler, TX | $43,887 | $10,958 | $9,639 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 14%, Texas College posts an average net price of $9,639 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 75 | Texas A&M University-Texarkana · Texarkana, TX | $48,048 | $12,997 | $11,002 | 63.5% |
| Texas A&M University-Texarkana admits 64% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $48,048 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | Wiley University · Marshall, TX | $39,988 | $7,092 | $6,137 | Not reported |
| Wiley University ranks 755th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its average net price is $7,092. | |||||
| 77 | Jarvis Christian University · Hawkins, TX | $40,867 | $9,825 | $11,606 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Jarvis Christian University earn a median of $40,867 four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 15%. | |||||
| 78 | East Texas Baptist University · Marshall, TX | $48,425 | $23,911 | $20,420 | 57.8% |
| East Texas Baptist University reports a six-year completion rate of 47% and an average net price of $20,420 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Texas, highest first. The pillar measures four-year earnings, modeled value added and program earnings relative to national benchmarks, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The ordering metric is the median earnings of federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, for graduates who were working and not enrolled. The list does not measure earnings in any one major, nor does it adjust for graduate school enrollment or teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 78 schools with a reported completion median. Rice University leads the list with median earnings of $110,080, while Southern Methodist University follows at $95,051.