Most Affordable Colleges in California (2026)
Updated
Most Affordable Colleges in California lists 94 four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Stanford University ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $13,807. Across the 88 schools with a published figure, the average net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $-2,536 to $61,407, with a median of $15,347.
The list includes 32 public and 62 private nonprofit schools. San Diego Christian College reports the lowest average net price at $992, while California Institute of Technology posts the highest six-year completion rate at 94%.
University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Stanford University · Stanford, CA | $136,959 | $13,807 | -$2,536* | 3.6% |
| Stanford University reports median earnings of $136,959 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 92%. | |||||
| 2 | California Institute of Technology · Pasadena, CA | $152,843 | $16,075 | -$2,133* | 2.6% |
| Graduates of California Institute of Technology earn a median of $152,843 four years after completing, and the school admits 3% of applicants. | |||||
| 3 | San Diego Christian College · Santee, CA | $50,741 | $992 | $992 | 30.8% |
| San Diego Christian College posts a six-year completion rate of 20% and an average net price of $992 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 4 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $55,441 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| California State University-San Bernardino ranks 4th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 55% and median earnings of $55,441 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $59,756 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| An average net price of $2,877 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with an admission rate of 91% at California State University-Los Angeles. | |||||
| 6 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $63,753 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton ranks 6th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $63,753 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $59,109 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| A six-year completion rate of 50% and an average net price of $3,536 for families earning under $30,000 are reported by California State University-Bakersfield. | |||||
| 8 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $58,952 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| Admitting 98% of applicants, California State University-Stanislaus posts a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
| 9 | Pomona College · Claremont, CA | $77,544 | $19,285 | $4,841 | 7.1% |
| Pomona College reports an average net price of $4,841 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $77,544 four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $59,664 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| California State University-Northridge ranks 7th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 11 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $59,992 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| An admission rate of 95% and median earnings of $59,992 for its graduates four years after completing are posted by California State University-Fresno. | |||||
| 12 | University of California-Berkeley · Berkeley, CA | $96,018 | $13,481 | $5,311 | 11.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley posts a six-year completion rate of 93% and an average net price of $5,311 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $77,677 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| Reporting median earnings of $77,677 for its graduates four years after completing, University of California-Los Angeles shows an average net price of $5,579 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $67,891 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| Admitting 95% of applicants, California State University-San Marcos posts a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 15 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $72,596 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| With an average net price of $6,360 for families earning under $30,000, California State University-East Bay ranks 15th on this list. | |||||
| 16 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $64,511 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| Graduates of California State University-Sacramento earn a median of $64,511 four years after completing, and the school ranks 10th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 17 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $59,304 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| A six-year completion rate of 51% coincides with an average net price of $6,857 for families earning under $30,000 at California State University-Channel Islands. | |||||
| 18 | Scripps College · Claremont, CA | $75,301 | $36,294 | $6,948 | 38.3% |
| Scripps College, a private nonprofit institution in Claremont, reports median earnings of $75,301 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $63,140 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach ranks 5th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 46% of applicants. | |||||
| 20 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $58,922 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| An average net price of $7,303 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 43% are reported by California State University-Dominguez Hills. | |||||
| 21 | University of California-San Diego · La Jolla, CA | $83,130 | $12,470 | $7,525 | 26.7% |
| University of California-San Diego reports median earnings of $83,130 for its graduates four years after completing, and it ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 22 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $90,662 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo admits 31% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $90,662 four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $71,138 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| Posting a six-year completion rate of 68%, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona ranks 23rd on this list. | |||||
| 24 | University of California-Merced · Merced, CA | $65,410 | $11,983 | $7,945 | 90.5% |
| University of California-Merced shows an average net price of $7,945 for families earning under $30,000 and admits 91% of applicants. | |||||
| 25 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $74,438 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| Reporting median earnings of $74,438 for its graduates four years after completing, University of California-Irvine has an average net price of $8,123 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 26 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $65,997 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University admits 93% of applicants, with a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 27 | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Arcata, CA | $51,571 | $13,171 | $8,483 | 98.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt ranks 27th on this list and carries an average net price of $8,483 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | University of California-Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA | $67,085 | $17,890 | $8,717 | 65.8% |
| University of California-Santa Cruz shows median earnings of $67,085 for its graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 66%. | |||||
| 29 | University of California-Riverside · Riverside, CA | $64,926 | $14,304 | $8,852 | 76.4% |
| At University of California-Riverside, an average net price of $8,852 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with an Azimuth composite rank of 31st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 30 | University of California-Davis · Davis, CA | $73,086 | $14,741 | $9,211 | 41.8% |
| University of California-Davis graduates 86% of its students within six years, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $73,086 four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | University of California-Santa Barbara · Santa Barbara, CA | $70,323 | $16,109 | $9,231 | 33.0% |
| With an admission rate of 33%, University of California-Santa Barbara reports an average net price of $9,231 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 32 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $67,804 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University admits 96% of applicants, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $67,804 four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $89,614 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| A public university in San Jose, San Jose State University ranks 23rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $89,614 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Bethesda University · Anaheim, CA | $38,703 | $11,097 | $9,747 | Not reported |
| Bethesda University, a private nonprofit institution, reports an average net price of $9,747 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 11%. | |||||
| 35 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $65,228 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| California State University-Chico ranks 35th on this list and shows median earnings of $65,228 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $68,268 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University posts an admission rate of 36% and an average net price of $9,910 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 37 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $62,324 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay reports median earnings of $62,324 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,970 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $63,285 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Fresno, Fresno Pacific University admits 64% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 39 | Soka University of America · Aliso Viejo, CA | $53,646 | $18,260 | $12,020 | 43.4% |
| Soka University of America ranks 793rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $53,646 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | University of Southern California · Los Angeles, CA | $95,739 | $32,740 | $13,516 | 9.8% |
| With an admission rate of 10%, University of Southern California posts median earnings of $95,739 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Cal Poly Maritime Academy · Vallejo, CA | $108,757 | $20,555 | $13,552 | 95.0% |
| Cal Poly Maritime Academy reports an average net price of $13,552 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $108,757 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · Los Angeles, CA | $36,185 | $14,959 | $14,300 | 58.2% |
| Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary graduates 12% of its students within six years, and the institution reports median earnings of $36,185 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Pitzer College · Claremont, CA | $69,786 | $34,191 | $14,535 | 25.2% |
| Pitzer College admits 25% of applicants and reports an average net price of $14,535 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 44 | Claremont McKenna College · Claremont, CA | $110,798 | $28,849 | $15,308 | 9.6% |
| Graduates of Claremont McKenna College earn a median of $110,798 four years after completing, and the school ranks 169th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 45 | California College of ASU · Los Angeles, CA | $38,025 | $17,683 | $15,386 | Not reported |
| California College of ASU shows a six-year completion rate of 37% and an average net price of $15,386 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 46 | University of San Diego · San Diego, CA | $85,309 | $30,365 | $15,586 | 52.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in San Diego, University of San Diego reports median earnings of $85,309 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $71,925 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University admits 88% of applicants and posts an average net price of $15,781 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 48 | Life Pacific University · San Dimas, CA | $47,070 | $20,898 | $16,786 | 95.8% |
| Life Pacific University reports a six-year completion rate of 40% and median earnings of $47,070 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $81,820 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| University of the Pacific, a private nonprofit university in Stockton, reports median earnings of $81,820 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 50 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $65,874 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California ranks 50th on this list and carries an average net price of $17,225 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 51 | Touro University Worldwide · Los Alamitos, CA | $67,614 | $19,058 | $18,342 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Touro University Worldwide earn a median of $67,614 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 29%. | |||||
| 52 | Saint Mary's College of California · Moraga, CA | $74,325 | $30,378 | $19,462 | 86.5% |
| Saint Mary's College of California admits 87% of applicants and shows an average net price of $19,462 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 53 | Thomas Aquinas College · Santa Paula, CA | $49,755 | $26,196 | $19,761 | 83.1% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 84%, Thomas Aquinas College reports median earnings of $49,755 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | University of La Verne · La Verne, CA | $64,109 | $20,161 | $20,151 | 71.2% |
| University of La Verne ranks 54th on this list and posts an average net price of $20,151 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 55 | Occidental College · Los Angeles, CA | $68,467 | $38,263 | $20,705 | 44.2% |
| Occidental College admits 44% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $68,467 four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Westmont College · Santa Barbara, CA | $64,044 | $29,053 | $20,899 | 77.1% |
| Westmont College carries an average net price of $20,899 for families earning under $30,000 and graduates 70% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 57 | SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary · El Dorado Hills, CA | $38,089 | $21,680 | $21,249 | 40.7% |
| SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary reports median earnings of $38,089 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 85%. | |||||
| 58 | Whittier College · Whittier, CA | $57,988 | $25,757 | $21,718 | 80.8% |
| Whittier College ranks 58th on this list and shows an average net price of $21,718 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 59 | California Lutheran University · Thousand Oaks, CA | $69,695 | $30,109 | $22,161 | 75.7% |
| California Lutheran University admits 76% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $69,695 four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $68,600 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| Graduates of California Baptist University earn a median of $68,600 four years after completing, and the school reports a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
| 61 | Santa Clara University · Santa Clara, CA | $108,517 | $50,062 | $22,985 | 48.0% |
| Santa Clara University reports median earnings of $108,517 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,985 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 62 | William Jessup University · Rocklin, CA | $55,374 | $28,062 | $23,123 | 93.3% |
| William Jessup University admits 93% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
| 63 | Providence Christian College · Pasadena, CA | $46,288 | $25,163 | $23,481 | 100.0% |
| Providence Christian College ranks 63rd on this list, with an average net price of $23,481 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 64 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $79,546 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| Graduates of Mount Saint Mary's University earn a median of $79,546 four years after completing, and the school's average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $23,849. | |||||
| 65 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $95,437 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| Dominican University of California posts a six-year completion rate of 78% and an admission rate of 84%. | |||||
| 66 | The Master's University and Seminary · Santa Clarita, CA | $55,487 | $32,647 | $24,624 | 84.0% |
| The Master's University and Seminary reports median earnings of $55,487 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $24,624. | |||||
| 67 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $83,064 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| Concordia University-Irvine ranks 67th on this list, with an admission rate of 66% and a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 68 | Simpson University · Redding, CA | $59,198 | $27,817 | $25,511 | 86.0% |
| Simpson University shows an average net price of $25,511 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $59,198 four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | Menlo College · Atherton, CA | $79,903 | $31,100 | $25,546 | 68.5% |
| Menlo College admits 68% of applicants and reports median earnings of $79,903 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | California Institute of the Arts · Valencia, CA | $35,256 | $46,080 | $26,686 | 32.3% |
| California Institute of the Arts ranks 70th on this list, with an average net price of $26,686 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 71 | John Paul the Great Catholic University · Escondido, CA | $40,588 | $34,666 | $27,029 | 79.6% |
| John Paul the Great Catholic University reports median earnings of $40,588 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 80%. | |||||
| 72 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $61,363 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University shows an average net price of $27,144 for families earning under $30,000, and its six-year completion rate is 68%. | |||||
| 73 | Harvey Mudd College · Claremont, CA | $137,100 | $35,924 | $27,979 | 12.7% |
| Harvey Mudd College reports median earnings of $137,100 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $27,979 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 74 | Hope International University · Fullerton, CA | $53,687 | $29,310 | $27,991 | 33.0% |
| Hope International University admits 33% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 75 | University of Redlands · Redlands, CA | $75,863 | $30,031 | $28,287 | 82.7% |
| University of Redlands ranks 651st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $75,863 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | Woodbury University · Burbank, CA | $66,794 | $33,692 | $28,815 | 81.7% |
| An average net price of $28,815 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a 60% six-year completion rate at Woodbury University. | |||||
| 77 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $72,880 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University posts median earnings of $72,880 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate stands at 84%. | |||||
| 78 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $91,483 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| University of San Francisco reports an average net price of $31,537 for families earning under $30,000, while its graduates across all fields earn a median of $91,483 four years after completing. | |||||
| 79 | Loyola Marymount University · Los Angeles, CA | $78,039 | $48,381 | $32,268 | 45.1% |
| Loyola Marymount University admits 45% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 79%. | |||||
| 80 | Chapman University · Orange, CA | $73,336 | $46,555 | $33,559 | 65.4% |
| Graduates of Chapman University earn a median of $73,336 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $33,559 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 81 | Southern California Institute of Architecture · Los Angeles, CA | $73,456 | $43,923 | $36,824 | 76.6% |
| Southern California Institute of Architecture ranks 1429th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a six-year completion rate of 71%. | |||||
| 82 | Laguna College of Art and Design · Laguna Beach, CA | $48,922 | $42,505 | $37,203 | 94.3% |
| Laguna College of Art and Design shows an admission rate of 94% and median earnings of $48,922 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Art Center College of Design · Pasadena, CA | $74,009 | $48,661 | $39,645 | 74.5% |
| An average net price of $39,645 for families earning under $30,000 at Art Center College of Design coincides with a 79% six-year completion rate. | |||||
| 84 | Otis College of Art and Design · Los Angeles, CA | $50,900 | $51,248 | $44,731 | 81.8% |
| Otis College of Art and Design reports median earnings of $50,900 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 82%. | |||||
| 85 | La Sierra University · Riverside, CA | $57,898 | $45,566 | $44,988 | 91.5% |
| La Sierra University reports median earnings of $57,898 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $44,988 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 86 | Pepperdine University · Malibu, CA | $84,459 | $58,098 | $50,560 | 62.9% |
| Pepperdine University admits 63% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 83%. | |||||
| 87 | San Francisco Conservatory of Music · San Francisco, CA | $50,407 | $42,607 | $55,704 | 54.9% |
| San Francisco Conservatory of Music, a private nonprofit institution in San Francisco, ranks 87th on this list and posts an average net price of $55,704 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 88 | California College of the Arts · San Francisco, CA | $53,517 | $53,909 | $61,407 | 91.1% |
| Graduates of California College of the Arts earn a median of $53,517 four years after completing, while the school's admission rate stands at 91%. | |||||
| 89 | The Chicago School at Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $82,068 | Not reported | Not reported | 46.3% |
| The Chicago School at Los Angeles ranks 305th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $82,068 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | Samuel Merritt University · Oakland, CA | $148,182 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| With median earnings of $148,182 four years after completing, Samuel Merritt University ranks 90th on this list. | |||||
| 91 | Pacific Oaks College · Pasadena, CA | $56,852 | Not reported | Not reported | 34.4% |
| Pacific Oaks College admits 34% of applicants and ranks 471st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 92 | Golden Gate University · San Francisco, CA | $115,758 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Golden Gate University reports median earnings of $115,758 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 476th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 93 | Palo Alto University · Palo Alto, CA | $88,171 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Palo Alto University, a private nonprofit institution in Palo Alto, ranks 93rd on this list and reports median earnings of $88,171 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 94 | California Institute of Integral Studies · San Francisco, CA | $52,742 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| California Institute of Integral Studies ranks 1066th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $52,742 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures are medians for federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for who enrolls and is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 88 schools with a published figure. The difference between Stanford University and California Institute of Technology is $-403 for families earning under $30,000.