Top Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs in the South
Updated
Regional list from Best Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs by Earnings
This page ranks 131 Subject-Specific Teacher Education programs in the South by median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. University of Louisville ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $74,873 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the median earnings figure is $48,255, with a range from $74,873 to $20,140.
Public institutions account for 82 of the 131 programs, or 63%, while private nonprofits make up the remaining 49. Florida International University ranks 14th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the strongest institutional showing on the page. University of Florida posts the lowest average net price, at $6,541.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Louisville · Louisville, KY | $74,873 | $17,988 | $15,138 | 79.4% |
| University of Louisville reports $74,873 in median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and ranks 1st on this list. | |||||
| 2 | William Carey University · Hattiesburg, MS | $61,978 | $14,258 | $12,224 | 60.3% |
| William Carey University, a private nonprofit university in Hattiesburg, shows an average net price of $14,258 alongside earnings of $61,978 four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $61,045 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 73.3% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College posts $61,045 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 366 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 4 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $61,004 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| Texas Christian University admits 44% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $61,004 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $60,703 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University ranks 141st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $60,703 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | George Mason University · Fairfax, VA | $59,979 | $17,915 | $11,942 | 87.5% |
| George Mason University shows an average net price of $11,942 for families earning under $30,000 and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $59,979 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA | $59,442 | $23,433 | $17,512 | 92.6% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University reports median federal debt of $25,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $59,442 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD | $59,311 | $17,743 | $6,743 | 87.5% |
| Salisbury University ranks 8th on this list, with an average net price of $6,743 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 9 | Texas Wesleyan University · Fort Worth, TX | $58,868 | $24,066 | $21,812 | 69.2% |
| Texas Wesleyan University posts an admission rate of 69% and median federal debt of $27,937 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 10 | Texas Lutheran University · Seguin, TX | $58,187 | $24,654 | $20,512 | 95.7% |
| With 18 graduates in the earnings cohort, Texas Lutheran University reports median earnings of $58,187 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Saint Edward's University · Austin, TX | $57,818 | $25,578 | $20,799 | 81.4% |
| Saint Edward's University shows an average net price of $25,578 and ranks 707th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 12 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $57,543 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Middle Tennessee State University reports median federal debt of $20,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $57,543 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Baylor University · Waco, TX | $57,434 | $41,104 | $22,024 | 51.3% |
| Baylor University reports median earnings of $57,434 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $41,104. | |||||
| 14 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $57,287 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| Florida State University admits 24% of applicants and carries a median federal debt of $22,195 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 15 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $57,022 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh ranks 15th on this list, with 90 graduates in the earnings cohort and an average net price of $17,303. | |||||
| 16 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $56,564 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University posts median earnings of $56,564 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $9,739 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 17 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $56,414 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 66.1% |
| Florida Atlantic University carries a median federal debt of $22,250 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, and its average net price is $8,752. | |||||
| 18 | University of Delaware · Newark, DE | $56,133 | $17,799 | $10,901 | 70.6% |
| University of Delaware reports median earnings of $56,133 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 67 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 19 | Howard Payne University · Brownwood, TX | $56,101 | $23,627 | $24,043 | 67.4% |
| Howard Payne University admits 67% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $24,467 in federal loans. | |||||
| 20 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $56,024 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| University of Georgia ranks 20th on this list, with an average net price of $8,085 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 21 | Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD | $55,716 | $14,985 | $9,585 | 82.2% |
| Morgan State University posts median earnings of $55,716 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and carries a median federal debt of $31,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 22 | Towson University · Towson, MD | $55,635 | $17,413 | $6,962 | 82.0% |
| Towson University admits 82% of applicants and reports an average net price of $17,413. | |||||
| 23 | University of Florida · Gainesville, FL | $55,284 | $6,541 | $1,982 | 24.2% |
| University of Florida ranks 29th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $55,284 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $54,953 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 75.0% |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $54,953 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 62 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 25 | Stetson University · Deland, FL | $54,537 | $19,372 | $15,931 | 71.6% |
| Stetson University, a private nonprofit university in Deland, reports median earnings of $54,537 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 18 graduates. | |||||
| 26 | Belmont University · Nashville, TN | $53,999 | $33,147 | $22,950 | 95.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Belmont University left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans, and the school's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers earn a median of $53,999 four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $53,940 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama admits 77% of applicants and ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 28 | Radford University · Radford, VA | $53,863 | $14,578 | $8,965 | 89.5% |
| With an average net price of $14,578, Radford University reports median earnings of $53,863 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $53,265 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette ranks 29th on this list and shows a median federal debt of $25,125 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 30 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $53,197 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 40.1% |
| An average net price of $5,816 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $53,197 for University of Central Florida's Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | University of Mary Hardin-Baylor · Belton, TX | $52,923 | $26,106 | $22,089 | 95.8% |
| University of Mary Hardin-Baylor admits 96% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers earn a median of $52,923 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Southeastern University · Lakeland, FL | $52,697 | $31,942 | $29,498 | 53.0% |
| Southeastern University ranks 1338th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates report median earnings of $52,697 four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA | $52,657 | $15,048 | $12,235 | 69.2% |
| Kennesaw State University shows a median federal debt of $24,357 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $52,657 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | University of North Florida · Jacksonville, FL | $52,496 | $10,154 | $6,647 | 53.2% |
| University of North Florida reports an average net price of $6,647 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $52,496 four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $52,435 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| Admitting 88% of applicants, University of Alabama at Birmingham ranks 35th on this list and reports median earnings of $52,435 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA | $52,410 | $15,931 | $13,787 | 55.4% |
| Georgia State University posts median earnings of $52,410 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and ranks 44th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 37 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $52,093 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 43.2% |
| University of South Florida reports median earnings of $52,093 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,812. | |||||
| 38 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $51,863 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 72.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Valdosta State University with a median of $24,779 in federal loans, and the program's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers earned a median of $51,863 four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | Hardin-Simmons University · Abilene, TX | $51,722 | $19,555 | $13,822 | 90.0% |
| Hardin-Simmons University, a private nonprofit university in Abilene, admits 90% of applicants and posts median federal debt of $25,312 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 40 | Northwestern State University of Louisiana · Natchitoches, LA | $51,672 | $13,606 | $11,693 | 92.5% |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana ranks 40th on this list, with median earnings of $51,672 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,606. | |||||
| 41 | University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus · Norman, OK | $51,533 | $15,300 | $10,509 | 76.6% |
| University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus reports an average net price of $10,509 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earned a median of $51,533 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $51,403 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 89.0% |
| West Virginia University ranks 359th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $24,250 in federal loans. | |||||
| 43 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $51,379 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| With 250 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Kentucky reports median earnings of $51,379 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | University of Mount Olive · Mount Olive, NC | $51,250 | $18,853 | $18,227 | 75.8% |
| University of Mount Olive admits 76% of applicants and reports an average net price of $18,227 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 45 | Harding University · Searcy, AR | $51,067 | $22,130 | $15,418 | 70.5% |
| Harding University ranks 45th on this list, with median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and median earnings of $51,067 four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Southern Nazarene University · Bethany, OK | $50,918 | $22,084 | $18,931 | Not reported |
| Southern Nazarene University reports median earnings of $50,918 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $21,900 in federal loans. | |||||
| 47 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $50,811 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 67.9% |
| University of North Georgia ranks 255th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earned a median of $50,811 four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $50,800 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| Georgia Southern University reports an average net price of $15,267 and median earnings of $50,800 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | Northwestern Oklahoma State University · Alva, OK | $50,705 | $10,104 | $6,439 | 65.5% |
| Northwestern Oklahoma State University reports median earnings of $50,705 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,104. | |||||
| 50 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $50,497 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 72.0% |
| University of Memphis admits 72% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $21,623 in federal loans. | |||||
| 51 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $50,212 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Clemson University admits 38% of applicants and posts median earnings of $50,212 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Regent University · Virginia Beach, VA | $50,123 | $19,923 | $20,064 | 38.1% |
| Regent University, a private nonprofit university in Virginia Beach, ranks 52nd on this list with median earnings of $50,123 four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Abilene Christian University · Abilene, TX | $49,566 | $26,182 | $20,285 | 66.0% |
| Abilene Christian University shows an average net price of $26,182 and median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 54 | Mississippi State University · Mississippi State, MS | $49,541 | $17,595 | $14,332 | 77.6% |
| Mississippi State University ranks 299th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $49,541 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Southeastern Oklahoma State University · Durant, OK | $49,466 | $8,039 | $5,193 | 76.4% |
| Southeastern Oklahoma State University carries an average net price of $8,039 and a school-wide median federal debt of $17,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 56 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $49,331 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| With a cohort of 43 graduates in the earnings cohort, Athens State University reports median earnings of $49,331 four years after completing its Subject-Specific Teacher Education program. | |||||
| 57 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $49,247 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| East Carolina University admits 89% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $25,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 58 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $49,113 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| University of Central Arkansas posts median earnings of $49,113 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $16,511. | |||||
| 59 | Southern Arkansas University Main Campus · Magnolia, AR | $48,923 | $14,027 | $13,187 | 75.3% |
| Southern Arkansas University Main Campus ranks 59th on this list and reports median federal debt of $12,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 60 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $48,851 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| University of Central Oklahoma shows an average net price of $18,309 and median earnings of $48,851 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $48,671 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| Ranked 61st on this list, University of North Carolina at Greensboro reports median earnings of $48,671 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 62 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $48,602 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| An admission rate of 71% and median earnings of $48,602 four years after completing mark University of South Alabama's Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates. | |||||
| 63 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $48,474 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University carries an average net price of $24,323 and ranks 264th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 64 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $48,370 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke ranks 64th on this list, with 13 graduates in the earnings cohort and a median of $48,370 four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA | $48,362 | $15,840 | $13,220 | 88.6% |
| Virginia State University shows median federal debt of $27,524 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside earnings of $48,362 four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $48,255 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University posts an average net price of $9,325 for families earning under $30,000 and a median of $48,255 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 67 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $48,232 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Admitting 82% of applicants, Western Carolina University ranks 343rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 68 | Charleston Southern University · Charleston, SC | $48,154 | $21,666 | $20,145 | 96.5% |
| Charleston Southern University, a private nonprofit university in Charleston, reports median earnings of $48,154 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | Columbus State University · Columbus, GA | $48,125 | $13,115 | $11,271 | 99.1% |
| Columbus State University carries an average net price of $13,115 and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $48,125 four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $47,830 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 77.7% |
| Jacksonville State University shows median federal debt of $22,189 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, while its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $47,830 four years after completing. | |||||
| 71 | Southwestern Oklahoma State University · Weatherford, OK | $47,607 | $14,459 | $10,987 | Not reported |
| Southwestern Oklahoma State University reports median earnings of $47,607 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,987 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 72 | Lipscomb University · Nashville, TN | $47,544 | $24,739 | $20,048 | 67.7% |
| Lipscomb University admits 68% of applicants and carries an average net price of $24,739. | |||||
| 73 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $47,307 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University reports $47,307 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,154. | |||||
| 74 | Morehead State University · Morehead, KY | $47,242 | $9,793 | $7,150 | 77.2% |
| Morehead State University admits 77% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $28,420. | |||||
| 75 | University of Mississippi · University, MS | $47,048 | $13,314 | $8,945 | 96.6% |
| University of Mississippi ranks 179th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $47,048. | |||||
| 76 | McMurry University · Abilene, TX | $47,035 | $19,581 | $15,946 | 57.0% |
| A private nonprofit university in Abilene, McMurry University posts an average net price of $19,581 and a median of $47,035 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 77 | Oklahoma Baptist University · Shawnee, OK | $46,956 | $20,958 | $17,562 | 49.4% |
| Oklahoma Baptist University shows a median of $46,956 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with a median federal debt of $21,050 among program completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 78 | McNeese State University · Lake Charles, LA | $46,673 | $12,493 | $10,482 | 78.3% |
| McNeese State University ranks 78th on this list, with median earnings of $46,673 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $12,493. | |||||
| 79 | Newberry College · Newberry, SC | $46,620 | $21,656 | $19,887 | 89.8% |
| Newberry College has a school-wide median federal debt of $26,805 across all of its borrowers who completed, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers earned a median of $46,620 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Lee University · Cleveland, TN | $46,573 | $18,878 | $12,834 | 70.5% |
| Lee University reports an average net price of $18,878 and a median of $46,573 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | Anderson University · Anderson, SC | $46,273 | $23,544 | $17,188 | 54.7% |
| Anderson University admits 55% of applicants, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 82 | Houston Christian University · Houston, TX | $46,087 | $20,629 | $17,933 | 84.4% |
| Houston Christian University ranks 474th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $46,087 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Cameron University · Lawton, OK | $45,932 | $10,912 | $8,752 | Not reported |
| Cameron University posts median earnings of $45,932 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 84 | North Greenville University · Tigerville, SC | $45,918 | $21,063 | $18,947 | 66.7% |
| North Greenville University reports a median of $45,918 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $18,312 among program completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 85 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $45,804 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 60.2% |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia reports median earnings of $45,804 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,811. | |||||
| 86 | Carson-Newman University · Jefferson City, TN | $45,780 | $20,251 | $16,672 | 90.5% |
| Carson-Newman University ranks 86th on this list, with median federal debt of $24,861 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and median earnings of $45,780 four years after completing. | |||||
| 87 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $45,738 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 67.7% |
| Northern Kentucky University shows an average net price of $2,603 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $45,738 four years after completing. | |||||
| 88 | Northeastern State University · Tahlequah, OK | $45,474 | $12,710 | $10,598 | 99.6% |
| With an admission rate of 100%, Northeastern State University posts median earnings of $45,474 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Oklahoma City University · Oklahoma City, OK | $45,219 | $22,857 | $15,187 | 77.0% |
| Oklahoma City University sits at 973rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $45,219 four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $44,990 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 99.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Southern Mississippi left with a median of $22,500 in federal loans, while the Subject-Specific Teacher Education program reports median earnings of $44,990 four years after completing. | |||||
| 91 | Florida Gulf Coast University · Fort Myers, FL | $44,835 | $12,568 | $8,220 | 63.4% |
| Florida Gulf Coast University shows an average net price of $8,220 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $44,835 four years after completing. | |||||
| 92 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $44,780 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 82.3% |
| Arkansas State University ranks 92nd on this list, with a cohort of 52 graduates in the earnings cohort and median earnings of $44,780 four years after completing. | |||||
| 93 | Grambling State University · Grambling, LA | $44,665 | $19,809 | $18,666 | 44.9% |
| Grambling State University admits 45% of applicants, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $36,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 94 | East Texas Baptist University · Marshall, TX | $44,356 | $23,911 | $20,420 | 57.8% |
| East Texas Baptist University reports median earnings of $44,356 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,911. | |||||
| 95 | Mississippi Christian University · Clinton, MS | $44,329 | $27,712 | $25,984 | 29.1% |
| Mississippi Christian University sits at 951st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates earn a median of $44,329 four years after completing. | |||||
| 96 | Bryan College-Dayton · Dayton, TN | $43,654 | $20,614 | $19,500 | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Bryan College-Dayton left with a median of $23,000 in federal loans, while the Subject-Specific Teacher Education program reports median earnings of $43,654 four years after completing. | |||||
| 97 | Bob Jones University · Greenville, SC | $43,329 | $16,641 | $14,287 | Not reported |
| Bob Jones University reports $43,329 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 23 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 98 | Delta State University · Cleveland, MS | $43,300 | $13,540 | $12,223 | 100.0% |
| Delta State University, a public university in Cleveland, admits 100% of applicants and posts median earnings of $43,300 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 99 | Winthrop University · Rock Hill, SC | $43,069 | $15,343 | $12,608 | 79.3% |
| Winthrop University ranks 99th on this list and carries a median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 100 | University of Maryland-College Park · College Park, MD | $42,868 | $15,678 | $2,962 | 44.8% |
| University of Maryland-College Park sits at 71st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $2,962 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 101 | Oral Roberts University · Tulsa, OK | $42,753 | $25,365 | $21,894 | 98.9% |
| Oral Roberts University shows median earnings of $42,753 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 102 | Ferrum College · Ferrum, VA | $42,664 | $20,082 | $16,940 | 89.0% |
| Ferrum College reports an average net price of $20,082 and median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 103 | Florida International University · Miami, FL | $42,574 | $9,288 | $7,003 | 54.7% |
| Florida International University ranks 14th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $42,574 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 104 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $41,893 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Eastern Kentucky University posts an average net price of $11,040 and an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 105 | South Carolina State University · Orangeburg, SC | $41,075 | $18,097 | $16,846 | 82.6% |
| South Carolina State University carries a median federal debt of $31,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, with 18 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 106 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $40,838 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University reports median earnings of $40,838 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,990. | |||||
| 107 | Florida Southern College · Lakeland, FL | $40,821 | $28,551 | $23,624 | 64.4% |
| Florida Southern College, a private nonprofit institution in Lakeland, admits 64% of applicants and reports median earnings of $40,821 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 108 | Lane College · Jackson, TN | $40,707 | $10,904 | $10,904 | Not reported |
| Lane College shows an average net price of $10,904 and a median federal debt of $35,480 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 109 | Shorter University · Rome, GA | $40,402 | $16,646 | $15,929 | 96.5% |
| Shorter University ranks 109th on this list and posts an average net price of $16,646 alongside an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
| 110 | Jackson State University · Jackson, MS | $40,365 | $23,836 | $22,869 | 93.2% |
| Jackson State University reports median earnings of $40,365 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 60 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 111 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $40,017 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| University of Arkansas is 218th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates posted median earnings of $40,017 four years after completing. | |||||
| 112 | Louisiana Christian University · Pineville, LA | $39,369 | $13,113 | $13,203 | 77.2% |
| Louisiana Christian University, a private nonprofit university in Pineville, shows an average net price of $13,113 and an admission rate of 77%. | |||||
| 113 | University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff · Pine Bluff, AR | $39,026 | $12,653 | $12,302 | 41.2% |
| University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff reports median federal debt of $22,220 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $39,026 four years after completing. | |||||
| 114 | Wingate University · Wingate, NC | $38,993 | $20,748 | $18,772 | 91.1% |
| Wingate University ranks 114th on this list and posts an admission rate of 91% with an average net price of $20,748. | |||||
| 115 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $38,289 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University reports median earnings of $38,289 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 11 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 116 | Henderson State University · Arkadelphia, AR | $38,289 | $23,405 | $23,386 | Not reported |
| Henderson State University is 714th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates posted median earnings of $38,289 four years after completing. | |||||
| 117 | Shenandoah University · Winchester, VA | $38,289 | $30,298 | $24,356 | 77.0% |
| Shenandoah University, a private nonprofit university in Winchester, shows an average net price of $30,298 and an admission rate of 77%. | |||||
| 118 | Campbell University · Buies Creek, NC | $37,568 | $24,516 | $20,751 | 87.2% |
| Campbell University reports median earnings of $37,568 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 7 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 119 | Maryville College · Maryville, TN | $37,568 | $19,360 | $15,094 | 60.9% |
| Maryville College ranks 119th on this list and posts an admission rate of 61% with an average net price of $19,360. | |||||
| 120 | Union University · Jackson, TN | $37,424 | $27,171 | $25,839 | 60.4% |
| Union University is 1164th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates posted median earnings of $37,424 four years after completing. | |||||
| 121 | John Brown University · Siloam Springs, AR | $37,208 | $20,397 | $17,484 | 76.1% |
| John Brown University reports median earnings of $37,208 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 7 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 122 | University of West Alabama · Livingston, AL | $37,054 | $12,684 | $12,179 | 42.7% |
| University of West Alabama admits 43% of applicants and carries an average net price of $12,684. | |||||
| 123 | Oklahoma Christian University · Edmond, OK | $36,132 | $21,872 | $17,818 | 96.5% |
| Oklahoma Christian University ranks 975th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an admission rate of 97%. | |||||
| 124 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $35,179 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia shows an average net price of $10,339 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $35,179 four years after completing. | |||||
| 125 | Kentucky State University · Frankfort, KY | $34,522 | $8,040 | $10,225 | 96.1% |
| Kentucky State University reports median federal debt of $18,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and median earnings of $34,522 four years after completing. | |||||
| 126 | Bethune-Cookman University · Daytona Beach, FL | $33,933 | $12,030 | $10,896 | 88.2% |
| Bethune-Cookman University reports a school-wide median federal debt of $31,000 across all of its borrowers who completed, alongside an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 127 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $33,281 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| Coastal Carolina University ranks 127th on this list, with median earnings of $33,281 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 128 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $32,711 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate admits 67% of applicants and reports an average net price of $13,557. | |||||
| 129 | Ouachita Baptist University · Arkadelphia, AR | $27,439 | $22,409 | $15,207 | 67.5% |
| Ouachita Baptist University ranks 1298th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows median earnings of $27,439 four years after completing. | |||||
| 130 | Reinhardt University · Waleska, GA | $21,508 | $24,425 | $21,877 | 61.5% |
| Reinhardt University reports an average net price of $21,877 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 62%. | |||||
| 131 | Bethany College · Bethany, WV | $20,140 | $18,605 | $14,315 | 58.8% |
| Bethany College ranks 131st on this list, with median earnings of $20,140 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 24 of the 131 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for cost, graduate school enrollment, or who enters the program, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from University of Louisville to the bottom of the list is $54,733, and the gap between University of Louisville and William Carey University is $12,895.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the South
- Education Colleges in the South for Social Mobility
- Education Colleges in the South
- Teacher Education Colleges in the South for Social Mobility