Best Engineering Technology Colleges in the Midwest (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 54 schools in the Midwest that offer Engineering Technology by median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. Across the 42 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $99,473 at Miami University-Oxford to $40,017, with a median of $82,437.
The list mixes four-year and two-year completion medians; for 4 of the 54 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 87% of the list, with 47 public and 7 private nonprofit schools. Michigan State University ranks 69th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the strongest showing on the page.
Purdue University Northwest posts the lowest average net price at $6,079, while Purdue University-Main Campus reports the highest six-year completion rate at 83%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Engineering Technology Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $99,473 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| Miami University-Oxford reports $99,473 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $16,015 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (16 graduates) | |||||
| 2 | North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND | $95,019 | $15,543 | $9,370 | 95.0% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 64%, North Dakota State University-Main Campus ranks 2nd on this list and posts median earnings of $95,019 four years after completing its Engineering Technology program. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (49 graduates) | |||||
| 3 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $94,382 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University admits 85% of applicants and ranks 69th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (172 graduates), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (41 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($95,387), Engineering-Related Fields ($94,143) | |||||
| 4 | The University of Findlay · Findlay, OH | $94,131 | $27,221 | $22,052 | 83.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Findlay, The University of Findlay reports $94,131 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $27,221. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians ($94,131) | |||||
| 5 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $92,140 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Wayne State University shows median earnings of $92,140 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $11,090 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (23 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (18 graduates), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($96,821) | |||||
| 6 | Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO | $91,035 | $16,298 | $10,912 | 72.6% |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology reports median earnings of $91,035 four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (77 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering-Related Fields ($91,035) | |||||
| 7 | Ohio Northern University · Ada, OH | $89,697 | $24,478 | $18,525 | 74.4% |
| Ohio Northern University posts an average net price of $18,525 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $89,697 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (17 graduates) | |||||
| 8 | University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE | $88,628 | $17,747 | $12,751 | 87.5% |
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln admits 87% of applicants and reports $88,628 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($88,628) | |||||
| 9 | Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN | No published median | $14,600 | $5,098 | 49.9% |
| Purdue University-Main Campus posts a six-year completion rate of 83% and an average net price of $5,098 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (307 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (163 graduates), Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians (105 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($97,594), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($88,474), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($86,891) | |||||
| 10 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $88,001 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| Kansas State University reports median earnings of $88,001 four years after completing and an average net price of $19,406. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (69 graduates), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($91,809), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($72,544) | |||||
| 11 | Michigan Technological University · Houghton, MI | $87,299 | $14,182 | $2,045 | 92.4% |
| Michigan Technological University ranks 11th on this list and shows an average net price of $2,045 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (36 graduates), Engineering-Related Fields (21 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($83,394) | |||||
| 12 | University of Toledo · Toledo, OH | $87,111 | $17,249 | $13,524 | 92.0% |
| University of Toledo posts a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $87,111 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (65 graduates), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (30 graduates), Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians ($98,529), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($84,736), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($83,465) | |||||
| 13 | Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI | $85,763 | $8,624 | $2,556 | 91.4% |
| Ferris State University reports $85,763 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $8,624. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (106 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (99 graduates), Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians (34 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($91,993), Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians ($88,670), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($86,348) | |||||
| 14 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $85,578 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 59%, Central Michigan University ranks 14th on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (22 graduates), Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians (13 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($86,472) | |||||
| 15 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $84,687 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis posts median earnings of $84,687 four years after completing and an average net price of $5,701 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (52 graduates), Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians (38 graduates), Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($90,782), Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($87,114), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($85,533) | |||||
| 16 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $84,669 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| Western Michigan University admits 85% of applicants and ranks 353rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (27 graduates), Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians (20 graduates), Engineering-Related Fields (13 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering-Related Fields ($88,746), Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($84,622), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($82,740) | |||||
| 17 | Bemidji State University · Bemidji, MN | $84,387 | $15,261 | $10,073 | 56.0% |
| Bemidji State University graduates 48% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $84,387 for its Engineering Technology graduates. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (22 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($90,868) | |||||
| 18 | Illinois Institute of Technology · Chicago, IL | $84,305 | $18,425 | $12,964 | 54.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Chicago, Illinois Institute of Technology has an average net price of $18,425 and a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (15 graduates) | |||||
| 19 | University of Wisconsin-Platteville · Platteville, WI | $83,958 | $16,032 | $9,009 | 89.4% |
| University of Wisconsin-Platteville reports $83,958 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,009 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (98 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($83,958) | |||||
| 20 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | No published median | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| Ranking 20th on this page, University of Northern Iowa admits 93% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 68%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (35 graduates), Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($87,580) | |||||
| 21 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $82,722 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale posts median earnings of $82,722 four years after completing and graduates 62% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (89 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (64 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($87,442), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($79,299) | |||||
| 22 | Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH | $82,655 | $14,381 | $12,310 | Not reported |
| Shawnee State University reports $82,655 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $14,381. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (18 graduates), Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other ($84,015), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($81,446) | |||||
| 23 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $82,548 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 75%, Iowa State University ranks 194th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (93 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering-Related Fields ($82,548) | |||||
| 24 | Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI | $82,326 | $14,085 | $7,697 | 84.0% |
| Northern Michigan University admits 84% of applicants and reports median earnings of $82,326 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (16 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (8 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($82,326) | |||||
| 25 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $81,554 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 49%, Northern Illinois University reports median earnings of $81,554 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($81,554) | |||||
| 26 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | $81,544 | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus lists an average net price of $18,396 for families earning under $30,000 and posts a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other (72 graduates), Engineering-Related Fields (53 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other ($75,677) | |||||
| 27 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $81,385 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| Admitting 86% of applicants, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater lists median earnings of $81,385 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and ranks 27th on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (50 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians ($81,385) | |||||
| 28 | University of Dayton · Dayton, OH | $81,195 | $29,533 | $21,736 | 65.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Dayton, University of Dayton posts a six-year completion rate of 80% alongside median earnings of $81,195 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (30 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (19 graduates), Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($80,475) | |||||
| 29 | University of Wisconsin-Stout · Menomonie, WI | $80,582 | $17,490 | $10,966 | 87.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stout ranks 29th on this page with median earnings of $80,582 four years after completing, and its average net price of $10,966 for families earning under $30,000 sits below the all-incomes figure. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (42 graduates), Engineering-Related Fields (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering-Related Fields ($86,490), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($76,784) | |||||
| 30 | Washburn University · Topeka, KS | $80,436 | $15,280 | $20,310 | Not reported |
| Washburn University reports a six-year completion rate of 53% and an average net price of $15,280, while its Engineering Technology graduates earn a median of $80,436 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (8 graduates) | |||||
| 31 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $80,398 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Ranking 210th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, Grand Valley State University shows median earnings of $80,398 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and admits 83% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians ($80,398) | |||||
| 32 | University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH | No published median | $13,946 | $10,413 | 59.7% |
| University of Akron Main Campus ranks 32nd on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 52%, with an average net price of $10,413 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (42 graduates), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (21 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($85,391), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($80,611), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($77,488) | |||||
| 33 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | No published median | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| Purdue University Northwest carries the lowest average net price on the page at $6,079 and admits 72% of applicants, while its six-year completion rate stands at 43%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (41 graduates), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (38 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($85,242) | |||||
| 34 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $78,498 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University reports median earnings of $78,498 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank of 137th among nonprofit four-year institutions coincides with a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (33 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (23 graduates), Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians ($76,731), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($76,121) | |||||
| 35 | Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH | No published median | $12,767 | $9,328 | 84.5% |
| Youngstown State University ranks 35th on this list with an admission rate of 84% and an average net price of $9,328 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians (10 graduates), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (10 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($86,361), Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($78,450) | |||||
| 36 | Trine University · Angola, IN | $77,517 | $25,355 | $19,661 | 85.5% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Angola, Trine University lists median earnings of $77,517 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $25,355. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians (39 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($77,517) | |||||
| 37 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $77,103 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| Wichita State University reports $77,103 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,194. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (25 graduates), Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (21 graduates) | |||||
| 38 | Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN | No published median | $10,873 | $6,455 | 80.8% |
| Indiana State University, a public university in Terre Haute, admits 81% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (70 graduates), Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (19 graduates), Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($79,527) | |||||
| 39 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $75,922 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| With a 71% admission rate, Western Illinois University posts median earnings of $75,922 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($75,922) | |||||
| 40 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | No published median | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato ranks 40th on this list and carries an average net price of $19,139 alongside a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (14 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (11 graduates), Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($83,115), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($80,482) | |||||
| 41 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | No published median | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri graduates 54% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $14,462. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (35 graduates), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (27 graduates), Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians ($84,738), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($75,375), Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians ($71,326) | |||||
| 42 | Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN | No published median | $13,171 | $8,306 | 83.9% |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne admits 84% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 36%, ranking 42nd on this page. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (26 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (8 graduates), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($81,259), Construction Engineering Technology/Technician ($72,564) | |||||
| 43 | Lawrence Technological University · Southfield, MI | $73,949 | $32,918 | $25,980 | 55.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Southfield, Lawrence Technological University reports $73,949 in median earnings for its Engineering Technology graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (10 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (6 graduates) | |||||
| 44 | Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN | $73,695 | $13,529 | $8,909 | 94.8% |
| Saint Cloud State University shows median earnings of $73,695 four years after completing and an average net price of $13,529. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (26 graduates), Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($73,695) | |||||
| 45 | Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH | No published median | $14,764 | $11,958 | 91.3% |
| Ranking 45th on this list, Cleveland State University holds an Azimuth composite rank of 211th among nonprofit four-year institutions and a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (13 graduates), Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians (10 graduates) | |||||
| 46 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $71,514 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports $71,514 in median earnings of Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing and graduates 62% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (34 graduates) | |||||
| 47 | Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO | $71,326 | $15,882 | $12,704 | 73.5% |
| With an admission rate of 74%, Southeast Missouri State University posts median earnings of $71,326 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General (30 graduates), Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians ($80,820), Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General ($62,781) | |||||
| 48 | Wayne State College · Wayne, NE | $68,431 | $15,360 | $12,844 | Not reported |
| Wayne State College reports $68,431 in median earnings four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (40 graduates) | |||||
| 49 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | No published median | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| Eastern Michigan University admits 80% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 46%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (37 graduates), Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians (21 graduates), Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($79,829), Engineering-Related Fields ($75,528) | |||||
| 50 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | No published median | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus, a public university in Cincinnati, has an average net price of $25,648 and a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering-Related Fields (22 graduates) | |||||
| 51 | Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO | $59,124 | $13,251 | $11,243 | Not reported |
| Missouri Western State University reports median earnings of $59,124 for its Engineering Technology graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (9 graduates) | |||||
| 52 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $57,318 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| With an average net price of $12,007, Missouri Southern State University ranks 631st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (12 graduates) | |||||
| 53 | McPherson College · Mcpherson, KS | $52,781 | $26,441 | $22,587 | 76.8% |
| McPherson College, a private nonprofit institution in Mcpherson, reports median earnings of $52,781 for its Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (28 graduates) | |||||
| 54 | Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO | $40,017 | $16,244 | $13,176 | 86.1% |
| Northwest Missouri State University reports median earnings of $40,017 for its Engineering Technology graduates two years after completing and an average net price of $16,244. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (18 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Engineering Technology graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Engineering Technology earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 4 of the 54 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or the characteristics of the students who enroll, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 42 schools with a published figure. Miami University-Oxford leads the list at $99,473, with a gap of $4,454 over second-place North Dakota State University-Main Campus.
Job market context in the Midwest
In the Midwest, Engineering Technology graduates enter occupations such as Inspectors, Testers, Sorters, Samplers, and Weighers, Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers, and Industrial Engineers. The median annual wage across those occupations is $73,046, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $59,525. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 4.8% higher, with 127,550 projected openings a year, or about 2,528 openings a year for every hundred graduates, suggesting more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the broader occupational wage figures shown here.
Related rankings
- Engineering Technology Colleges
- Best Colleges in the Midwest
- Engineering Technology Colleges in the Northeast
- Engineering Technology Colleges in the South
- Engineering Technology Colleges in the West
- Best Engineering Technology Colleges for Social Mobility in the Midwest