College research / Rankings

Computer and Information Sciences Programs in the Midwest

Updated

Part of Best Computer Science Colleges in the Midwest

This page ranks the 89 Computer and Information Sciences programs in the Midwest by median earnings of Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $172,904 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the 88 programs with a published figure, median earnings range from $172,904 to $44,170, with a median of $87,395. For 5 of the 89 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions account for 71% of the list, or 63 of the 89 programs, alongside 26 private nonprofits. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price, at $3,968.

The ranked list

89 schools in list order
RankSchoolProgram EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI$172,904$13,138$1,04315.6%
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor reports $172,904 in median earnings for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1st on this list.
2University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL$146,946$14,355$2,03842.4%
With an admission rate of 42%, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign posts median earnings of $146,946 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
3University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN$142,970$26,780$7,24411.3%
University of Notre Dame, a private nonprofit university in Notre Dame, ranks 3rd on this list and shows median earnings of $142,970 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
4Oberlin College · Oberlin, OH$129,395$38,645$18,77434.2%
Oberlin College reports median earnings of $129,395 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $38,645.
5University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI$119,655$17,354$4,20045.2%
University of Wisconsin-Madison ranks 5th on this list, with 733 graduates in the earnings cohort and median earnings of $119,655 four years after completing.
6Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH$118,833$17,339$4,88560.6%
Ohio State University-Main Campus admits 61% of applicants and reports median earnings of $118,833 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
7Kalamazoo College · Kalamazoo, MI$117,826$19,072$12,01975.3%
Kalamazoo College shows median earnings of $117,826 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $26,077 in federal loans.
8Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI$116,905$19,680$7,06884.8%
Michigan State University ranks 8th on this list, with median earnings of $116,905 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $19,680.
9University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE$116,221$17,747$12,75187.5%
University of Nebraska-Lincoln reports median earnings of $116,221 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and median federal debt of $20,500 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
10Macalester College · Saint Paul, MN$109,457$32,149$13,77228.5%
Macalester College, a private nonprofit college in Saint Paul, ranks 10th on this list and reports median earnings of $109,457 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
11Missouri University of Science and Technology · Rolla, MO$107,195$16,298$10,91272.6%
Missouri University of Science and Technology posts median earnings of $107,195 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,298.
12Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS$107,194$19,406$13,17881.7%
Kansas State University ranks 12th on this list, with 105 graduates in the earnings cohort and median earnings of $107,194 four years after completing.
13University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI$106,724$16,550$10,27082.3%
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire reports median earnings of $106,724 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,270 for families earning under $30,000.
14Carthage College · Kenosha, WI$106,611$26,565$23,29387.1%
A private nonprofit in Kenosha, Carthage College ranks 14th on this list and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $26,000 across all of its borrowers who completed.
15Wayne State University · Detroit, MI$104,630$12,766$11,09081.2%
Wayne State University admits 81% of applicants and places 80th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
16University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH$100,975$25,648$17,97485.3%
With 200 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Cincinnati-Main Campus posts median earnings of $100,975 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
17University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO$100,234$20,268$13,84178.5%
University of Missouri-Columbia carries a median federal debt of $20,906 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and an average net price of $20,268.
18Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN$99,896$14,600$5,09849.9%
Purdue University-Main Campus ranks 87th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $99,896 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
19Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL$99,112$36,079$28,99281.6%
Loyola University Chicago shows an average net price of $28,992 for families earning under $30,000 and a median federal debt of $21,295 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
20Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN$98,539$16,264$6,32478.2%
Indiana University-Bloomington admits 78% of applicants and reports median earnings of $98,539 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 416 graduates in the earnings cohort.
21Illinois State University · Normal, IL$98,382$19,398$11,56888.2%
Illinois State University ranks 21st on this list and carries an average net price of $19,398.
22Marquette University · Milwaukee, WI$98,108$31,487$22,26981.3%
At Marquette University, median earnings of $98,108 for Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing accompany a median federal debt of $21,762 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
23Illinois Institute of Technology · Chicago, IL$97,153$18,425$12,96454.9%
Illinois Institute of Technology places 206th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 55% of applicants.
24Bethel University · Saint Paul, MN$97,008$28,556$22,21887.8%
Bethel University shows a school-wide median federal debt of $21,500 across all of its borrowers who completed and an average net price of $22,218 for families earning under $30,000.
25Lakeland University · Plymouth, WI$96,835$24,212$22,45386.3%
Lakeland University reports median earnings of $96,835 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $24,212.
26South Dakota School of Mines and Technology · Rapid City, SD$95,639$20,183$15,34879.9%
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology admits 80% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans.
27Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN$95,398$19,139$12,33988.4%
Minnesota State University-Mankato ranks 27th on this list, with 89 graduates in the earnings cohort and an average net price of $12,339 for families earning under $30,000.
28Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI$94,330$16,317$12,27283.0%
Grand Valley State University sits 210th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $94,330 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
29Southeast Missouri State University · Cape Girardeau, MO$93,795$15,882$12,70473.5%
Southeast Missouri State University reports a median federal debt of $22,500 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, with an admission rate of 74%.
30Simpson College · Indianola, IA$93,749$21,936$17,94186.2%
Simpson College shows median earnings of $93,749 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $26,000 in federal loans.
31University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI$93,633$16,210$8,22475.5%
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ranks 31st on this list and carries an average net price of $8,224 for families earning under $30,000.
32Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL$92,824$12,937$6,94171.2%
Western Illinois University reports median earnings of $92,824 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 18 graduates in the earnings cohort.
33Hope College · Holland, MI$92,116$27,182$17,60679.2%
Hope College admits 79% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing earn a median of $92,116.
34University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS$92,008$18,059$12,54493.5%
University of Kansas sits 183rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with 143 graduates in the earnings cohort for Computer and Information Sciences.
35Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH$92,006$15,415$11,95296.3%
Wright State University-Main Campus posts a median of $25,000 in federal loans among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed and an average net price of $15,415.
36Walsh College · Troy, MI$91,273Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Walsh College reports median earnings of $91,273 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $14,566 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
37Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI$90,737$9,120$4,42287.8%
Oakland University reports median earnings of $90,737 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,120.
38Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI$90,681$10,775$9,84472.1%
Saginaw Valley State University admits 72% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $90,681 four years after completing.
39Saint Louis University · Saint Louis, MO$90,660$24,398$22,50175.0%
Saint Louis University shows median federal debt of $25,000 across all of the school's borrowers who completed, while its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $90,660 four years after completing.
40Drake University · Des Moines, IA$90,639$29,127$25,82463.9%
Drake University ranks 40th on this list, with median earnings of $90,639 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
41Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI$90,620$15,407$13,25079.6%
Eastern Michigan University posts an average net price of $13,250 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $90,620 four years after completing.
42University of Michigan-Dearborn · Dearborn, MI$90,430$9,492$7,21155.6%
University of Michigan-Dearborn sits 88th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $90,430 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
43Northern Michigan University · Marquette, MI$90,337$14,085$7,69784.0%
Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Northern Michigan University with a median of $21,474 in federal loans, while its Computer and Information Sciences completers earn a median of $90,337 four years after completing.
44University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA$88,264$22,531$15,31683.6%
University of Iowa reports median earnings of $88,264 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 84%.
45Lindenwood University · Saint Charles, MO$86,526$19,638$15,67856.8%
Lindenwood University shows median federal debt of $23,343 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $86,526 four years after completing.
46University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND$86,268$18,551$13,12676.9%
University of North Dakota ranks 46th on this list and reports an average net price of $13,126 for families earning under $30,000.
47Dakota State University · Madison, SD$85,696$21,057$17,31788.1%
Dakota State University admits 88% of applicants, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $85,696 four years after completing.
48Ferris State University · Big Rapids, MI$85,131$8,624$2,55691.4%
Ferris State University posts an average net price of $2,556 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $85,131 four years after completing.
49DePaul University · Chicago, IL$84,554$30,902$27,35975.9%
DePaul University reports median earnings of $84,554 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with median federal debt of $21,666 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
50South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD$83,815$19,841$14,26698.3%
South Dakota State University admits 98% of applicants and posts median earnings of $83,815 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
51Iowa State University · Ames, IA$83,267$18,589$10,58288.7%
Iowa State University ranks 194th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $83,267 four years after completing.
52University of Wisconsin-Stout · Menomonie, WI$82,853$17,490$10,96687.7%
An average net price of $10,966 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $82,853 for University of Wisconsin-Stout's Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
53University of Wisconsin-Platteville · Platteville, WI$82,652$16,032$9,00989.4%
University of Wisconsin-Platteville ranks 53rd on this list and reports a median federal debt of $21,750 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
54The College of Saint Scholastica · Duluth, MN$82,175$27,846$14,43393.0%
The College of Saint Scholastica posts median earnings of $82,175 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $27,846.
55Wichita State University · Wichita, KS$81,265$13,194$9,73494.0%
Wichita State University's Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $81,265 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $9,734 for families earning under $30,000.
56Columbia College · Columbia, MO$81,090$22,715$23,967Not reported
Columbia College ranks 592nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $25,718.
57Northwest Missouri State University · Maryville, MO$80,690$16,244$13,17686.1%
Northwest Missouri State University admits 86% of applicants and reports median earnings of $80,690 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
58University of Toledo · Toledo, OH$80,501$17,249$13,52492.0%
University of Toledo's Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $80,501 four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $29,909 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
59University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI$79,799$14,158$8,44085.7%
With an average net price of $8,440 for families earning under $30,000, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater ranks 59th on this list.
60University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI$78,823$14,559$8,83391.8%
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point posts median earnings of $78,823 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and the school ranks 519th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
61Washburn University · Topeka, KS$78,778$15,280$20,310Not reported
Washburn University reports median earnings of $78,778 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,280.
62Park University · Parkville, MO$78,561$21,032$18,687Not reported
Park University, a private nonprofit university in Parkville, ranks 62nd on this list and shows a median of $21,394 in federal debt among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
63Trine University · Angola, IN$78,520$25,355$19,66185.5%
Trine University admits 85% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $78,520 four years after completing.
64Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN$77,983$11,668$5,70176.4%
With an average net price of $11,668, Indiana University-Indianapolis posts median earnings of $77,983 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
65Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH$76,515$20,787$15,28086.3%
Kent State University at Kent ranks 65th on this list, with a median of $25,000 in federal debt among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed.
66University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO$76,216$13,310$10,57672.2%
University of Missouri-Kansas City reports median earnings of $76,216 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $13,310.
67Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN$75,513$3,968-$58386.5%
Indiana University-Kokomo carries the lowest average net price on the page at $3,968, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $75,513 four years after completing.
68Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN$75,365$6,079$1,43272.4%
Purdue University Northwest shows an average net price of $1,432 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $75,365 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
69Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO$75,295$12,007$9,75997.0%
Missouri Southern State University admits 97% of applicants and reports a median of $19,174 in federal debt across all of the school's borrowers who completed.
70Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI$74,566$15,273$5,26384.6%
Western Michigan University ranks 70th on this list, with median earnings of $74,566 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
71Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL$73,513$14,889$8,48397.5%
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville posts an average net price of $8,483 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $73,513 four years after completing.
72Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI$73,112$17,597$12,18589.8%
Central Michigan University reports a median of $27,000 in federal debt among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $73,112 four years after completing.
73Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL$72,220$12,786$9,82865.4%
Eastern Illinois University reports $72,220 in median earnings for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,786.
74Siena Heights University · Adrian, MINo published median$17,124$15,62468.9%
Siena Heights University, a private nonprofit university, admits 69% of applicants and carries an average net price of $15,624 for families earning under $30,000.
75Governors State University · University Park, IL$70,895$12,329$9,56348.3%
Governors State University reports median federal debt of $15,000 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and the school ranks 254th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
76Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH$70,493$24,022$18,39681.0%
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus posts median earnings of $70,493 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 81%.
77Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL$69,552$13,297$9,41586.9%
With an admission rate of 87%, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale reports $69,552 in median earnings for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
78Purdue University Fort Wayne · Fort Wayne, IN$69,013$13,171$8,30683.9%
Purdue University Fort Wayne shows an average net price of $8,306 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $69,013 four years after completing.
79Missouri Western State University · Saint Joseph, MO$68,405$13,251$11,243Not reported
Missouri Western State University reports median federal debt of $18,350 among Computer and Information Sciences completers who borrowed, and its graduates earn a median of $68,405 four years after completing.
80Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL$64,872$20,194$18,01897.2%
Roosevelt University admits 97% of applicants and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $64,872 four years after completing.
81Peru State College · Peru, NE$64,278$11,632$9,986Not reported
Peru State College ranks 81st on this list, with an average net price of $11,632 and median earnings of $64,278 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
82University of South Dakota · Vermillion, SD$62,012$19,858$14,92198.8%
University of South Dakota admits 99% of applicants and carries an average net price of $14,921 for families earning under $30,000.
83University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE$61,988$16,242$13,06689.5%
Median earnings of $61,988 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing coincide with an average net price of $16,242 at University of Nebraska at Kearney.
84Indiana State University · Terre Haute, IN$61,424$10,873$6,45580.8%
Indiana State University shows an average net price of $6,455 for families earning under $30,000, and its Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn a median of $61,424 four years after completing.
85Lawrence Technological University · Southfield, MI$57,318$32,918$25,98055.9%
Lawrence Technological University reports median earnings of $57,318 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, with 5 graduates in the earnings cohort.
86Clarke University · Dubuque, IA$57,318$24,479$23,40571.8%
A private nonprofit university in Dubuque, Clarke University has an admission rate of 72% and an average net price of $24,479.
87Youngstown State University · Youngstown, OH$55,648$12,767$9,32884.5%
Youngstown State University ranks 87th on this list and posts median earnings of $55,648 for its Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing.
88Edgewood University · Madison, WI$55,512$26,113$22,29175.7%
Edgewood University admits 76% of applicants and reports an average net price of $26,113.
89Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN$44,170$7,888$3,78284.5%
Indiana University-Southeast sits 89th on this page, with an average net price of $7,888 and an admission rate of 84%.

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Computer and Information Sciences graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided Computer and Information Sciences graduates who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 5 of the 89 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 88 schools with a published figure. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor reports $172,904, which is $25,958 above the $146,946 posted by University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.