Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs in the Northeast
Updated
Part of Best Education Colleges in the Northeast
Regional list from Best Subject-Specific Teacher Education Programs by Earnings
This page ranks the 69 Subject-Specific Teacher Education programs in the Northeast by median earnings of Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. CUNY Brooklyn College ranks 1st with median earnings of $80,207 four years after completing.
Across the listed programs, the figure ranges from $80,207 to $20,140, with a median of $53,350. For 22 of the 69 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 37 of the programs and private nonprofits for 32. CUNY Hunter College ranks 20th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the best on the list. CUNY Hunter College posts the lowest average net price, at $2,984.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CUNY Brooklyn College · Brooklyn, NY | $80,207 | $3,103 | $1,029 | 58.4% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College reports median earnings of $80,207 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list. | |||||
| 2 | St. John's University-New York · Queens, NY | $78,215 | $29,999 | $27,787 | 83.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Queens, St. John's University-New York ranks 2nd on this page with an admission rate of 83%. | |||||
| 3 | CUNY Queens College · Queens, NY | $76,925 | $4,195 | $1,541 | 64.4% |
| CUNY Queens College carries an average net price of $4,195 and posts median earnings of $76,925 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | College of Staten Island CUNY · Staten Island, NY | $75,272 | $5,579 | $3,903 | 92.3% |
| Across all of College of Staten Island CUNY's borrowers who completed, median federal debt is $14,350, and the program's earnings cohort includes 46 graduates. | |||||
| 5 | Hofstra University · Hempstead, NY | $74,525 | $34,176 | $28,219 | 68.1% |
| Hofstra University ranks 5th on this list, with median federal debt of $23,517 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 6 | CUNY Hunter College · New York, NY | $72,919 | $2,984 | $1,029 | 53.8% |
| CUNY Hunter College holds an average net price of $2,984 and ranks 20th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 7 | Adelphi University · Garden City, NY | $70,416 | $30,783 | $24,095 | 65.9% |
| Adelphi University reports median earnings of $70,416 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 26 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 8 | SUNY Oneonta · Oneonta, NY | $66,128 | $19,158 | $11,044 | 69.6% |
| SUNY Oneonta admits 70% of applicants and lists median earnings of $66,128 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Syracuse University · Syracuse, NY | $65,410 | $38,793 | $15,817 | 45.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Syracuse, Syracuse University carries an average net price of $38,793 and ranks 9th on this page. | |||||
| 10 | Montclair State University · Montclair, NJ | $65,007 | $15,566 | $10,880 | 87.9% |
| Montclair State University posts median earnings of $65,007 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 11 | St. Joseph's University-New York · Brooklyn, NY | $63,672 | $19,035 | $16,876 | 72.1% |
| St. Joseph's University-New York reports median federal debt of $25,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed and an average net price of $19,035. | |||||
| 12 | William Paterson University of New Jersey · Wayne, NJ | $63,203 | $18,745 | $16,171 | 90.1% |
| William Paterson University of New Jersey ranks 12th on this list, with median earnings of $63,203 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | State University of New York at Cortland · Cortland, NY | $63,201 | $22,345 | $12,550 | 59.8% |
| State University of New York at Cortland reports $63,201 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,345. | |||||
| 14 | Kean University · Union, NJ | $63,156 | $12,447 | $7,374 | 75.9% |
| With a 76% admission rate, Kean University ranks 140th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $63,156 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | University of Connecticut · Storrs, CT | $62,630 | $25,097 | $15,193 | 52.4% |
| University of Connecticut's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed had a median federal debt of $24,148, while the program's median earnings four years after completing reached $62,630. | |||||
| 16 | SUNY College at Geneseo · Geneseo, NY | $62,420 | $18,211 | $10,018 | 66.5% |
| SUNY College at Geneseo ranks 16th on this list, with median earnings of $62,420 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $10,018 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 17 | The College of New Jersey · Ewing, NJ | $62,281 | $27,646 | $7,908 | 62.3% |
| A public university in Ewing, The College of New Jersey admits 62% of applicants and reports median earnings of $62,281 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Rider University · Lawrenceville, NJ | $61,208 | $24,792 | $15,824 | 78.6% |
| Rider University's Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $61,208, and the median federal debt among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed was $27,000. | |||||
| 19 | Southern Connecticut State University · New Haven, CT | $60,780 | $20,857 | $17,736 | 91.5% |
| Southern Connecticut State University ranks 336th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing posted median earnings of $60,780. | |||||
| 20 | State University of New York at New Paltz · New Paltz, NY | $60,371 | $18,809 | $10,541 | 61.6% |
| With an average net price of $18,809, State University of New York at New Paltz reports median earnings of $60,371 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Boston University · Boston, MA | $59,858 | $24,402 | $9,500 | 11.1% |
| Boston University admits 11% of applicants and reports median earnings of $59,858 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $9,500 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | State University of New York at Oswego · Oswego, NY | $59,412 | $16,236 | $8,714 | 80.6% |
| State University of New York at Oswego's Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed had a median federal debt of $21,500, and the program's median earnings four years after completing reached $59,412. | |||||
| 23 | Ithaca College · Ithaca, NY | $58,902 | $33,926 | $21,901 | 69.0% |
| Ithaca College ranks 1290th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing posted median earnings of $58,902. | |||||
| 24 | Bridgewater State University · Bridgewater, MA | $58,255 | $16,383 | $10,007 | 87.8% |
| Bridgewater State University reports $58,255 in median earnings for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,383. | |||||
| 25 | SUNY College at Potsdam · Potsdam, NY | $57,949 | $13,624 | $8,623 | 77.7% |
| SUNY College at Potsdam reports median earnings of $57,949 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,624. | |||||
| 26 | Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ | $57,739 | $22,408 | $15,305 | 77.7% |
| Rowan University admits 78% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $25,250 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 27 | Western Connecticut State University · Danbury, CT | $56,882 | $17,604 | $13,507 | 87.0% |
| Western Connecticut State University ranks 27th on this list, with 24 graduates in the earnings cohort and an average net price of $13,507 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | Central Connecticut State University · New Britain, CT | $56,607 | $16,857 | $13,589 | 73.3% |
| Central Connecticut State University shows median earnings of $56,607 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, and median federal debt of $22,500 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 29 | University of Maine · Orono, ME | $56,169 | $17,510 | $12,642 | 96.6% |
| University of Maine ranks 615th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an admission rate of 97%. | |||||
| 30 | East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania · East Stroudsburg, PA | $55,303 | $18,134 | $15,365 | 92.1% |
| East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania posts median earnings of $55,303 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $18,134. | |||||
| 31 | Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Boston, MA | $54,947 | $24,100 | $16,351 | 76.3% |
| Massachusetts College of Art and Design has 21 graduates in the earnings cohort and median federal debt of $26,250 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 32 | Messiah University · Mechanicsburg, PA | $54,115 | $26,502 | $19,393 | 79.0% |
| Messiah University, a private nonprofit university in Mechanicsburg, reports median earnings of $54,115 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Long Island University · Brookville, NY | $54,050 | $33,062 | $22,019 | 86.2% |
| Long Island University ranks 33rd on this list and shows an average net price of $22,019 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 34 | SUNY Brockport · Brockport, NY | $53,378 | $16,353 | $10,911 | 70.7% |
| SUNY Brockport reports median earnings of $53,378 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside a median federal debt of $21,663 among those completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 35 | Nazareth University · Rochester, NY | $53,350 | $29,357 | $22,796 | 74.7% |
| Nazareth University admits 75% of applicants and reports median earnings of $53,350 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | SUNY at Fredonia · Fredonia, NY | $53,292 | $15,897 | $9,395 | 77.7% |
| SUNY at Fredonia ranks 790th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $15,897. | |||||
| 37 | Rhode Island College · Providence, RI | $53,057 | $9,478 | $6,378 | 91.8% |
| Rhode Island College reports median earnings of $53,057 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,478. | |||||
| 38 | Temple University · Philadelphia, PA | $52,739 | $28,198 | $22,694 | 80.4% |
| Temple University admits 80% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed left with a median of $25,187 in federal loans. | |||||
| 39 | Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus · University Park, PA | $52,131 | $32,875 | $19,845 | 60.6% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus ranks 271st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $52,131. | |||||
| 40 | Centenary University · Hackettstown, NJ | $51,273 | $20,503 | $13,329 | 83.1% |
| A private nonprofit in Hackettstown, Centenary University shows an average net price of $13,329 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 41 | Russell Sage College · Troy, NY | $51,080 | $22,917 | $6,662 | 53.3% |
| Russell Sage College posts median federal debt of $26,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, with median earnings of $51,080 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | New York University · New York, NY | $50,606 | $37,050 | $16,977 | 9.2% |
| With an admission rate of 9%, New York University is the most selective school on this list and reports median earnings of $50,606 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | SUNY Buffalo State University · Buffalo, NY | $49,853 | $11,346 | $7,405 | 73.0% |
| SUNY Buffalo State University reports an average net price of $7,405 for families earning under $30,000, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $49,853. | |||||
| 44 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania · Kutztown, PA | $49,665 | $21,331 | $15,957 | 90.8% |
| Kutztown University of Pennsylvania ranks 44th on this list, with median federal debt of $27,000 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 45 | Keene State College · Keene, NH | $49,312 | $17,887 | $12,192 | 90.3% |
| Keene State College admits 90% of applicants and shows median earnings of $49,312 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Plymouth State University · Plymouth, NH | $49,154 | $19,216 | $14,676 | 87.5% |
| Plymouth State University reports median federal debt of $26,281 among Subject-Specific Teacher Education completers who borrowed, alongside an average net price of $19,216. | |||||
| 47 | Marist University · Poughkeepsie, NY | $48,745 | $41,544 | $26,083 | 56.5% |
| Marist University ranks 987th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earned a median of $48,745. | |||||
| 48 | Duquesne University · Pittsburgh, PA | $48,096 | $37,730 | $29,986 | 83.6% |
| Duquesne University posts an average net price of $29,986 for families earning under $30,000, with median earnings of $48,096 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | York College of Pennsylvania · York, PA | $47,667 | $18,556 | $12,927 | 73.7% |
| York College of Pennsylvania reports median earnings of $47,667 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,556. | |||||
| 50 | University of Hartford · West Hartford, CT | $47,260 | $30,282 | $25,925 | 95.8% |
| University of Hartford admits 96% of applicants and carries an average net price of $30,282. | |||||
| 51 | University of Vermont · Burlington, VT | $44,006 | $19,343 | $11,127 | 65.3% |
| With 49 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Vermont reports median earnings of $44,006 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Lebanon Valley College · Annville, PA | $43,426 | $26,979 | $20,788 | 83.8% |
| Lebanon Valley College posts an average net price of $26,979 and an admission rate of 84%. | |||||
| 53 | Susquehanna University · Selinsgrove, PA | $43,426 | $28,819 | $19,757 | 81.4% |
| Susquehanna University sits 53rd on this page and reports median earnings of $43,426 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | CUNY Lehman College · Bronx, NY | $39,369 | $3,148 | $1,589 | 56.6% |
| CUNY Lehman College carries an average net price of $3,148 and ranks 42nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 55 | Eastern Connecticut State University · Willimantic, CT | $39,099 | $21,067 | $17,654 | 83.0% |
| Eastern Connecticut State University shows median earnings of $39,099 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 19 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 56 | St. Francis College · Brooklyn, NY | $38,289 | $18,129 | $15,700 | Not reported |
| St. Francis College reports an average net price of $18,129 and median earnings of $38,289 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Lesley University · Cambridge, MA | $38,289 | $31,152 | $24,799 | 96.9% |
| Lesley University admits 97% of applicants and its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing earn a median of $38,289. | |||||
| 58 | Roger Williams University · Bristol, RI | $37,208 | $37,999 | $29,778 | 87.7% |
| Roger Williams University ranks 58th on this list, with an average net price of $37,999 and 21 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 59 | Cairn University-Langhorne · Langhorne, PA | $36,674 | $27,642 | $24,029 | 88.2% |
| Cairn University-Langhorne reports median earnings of $36,674 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 88%. | |||||
| 60 | Emerson College · Boston, MA | $35,600 | $49,180 | $32,650 | 51.3% |
| Emerson College posts an average net price of $49,180 and ranks 1438th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 61 | Geneva College · Beaver Falls, PA | $35,060 | $25,890 | $20,283 | Not reported |
| Geneva College reports median earnings of $35,060 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with 10 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 62 | Marywood University · Scranton, PA | $33,459 | $23,388 | $18,941 | 60.6% |
| Marywood University admits 61% of applicants and shows an average net price of $23,388. | |||||
| 63 | University of Southern Maine · Portland, ME | $32,569 | $13,596 | $9,999 | 79.2% |
| A public university in Portland, University of Southern Maine ranks 63rd on this list and posts an average net price of $13,596. | |||||
| 64 | CUNY York College · Jamaica, NY | $29,685 | $4,456 | $2,861 | 64.1% |
| CUNY York College carries an average net price of $4,456 and ranks 157th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 65 | Berklee College of Music · Boston, MA | $29,685 | $49,465 | $42,734 | 43.5% |
| Berklee College of Music reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 44%. | |||||
| 66 | Saint Joseph's College of Maine · Standish, ME | $25,194 | $27,555 | $20,728 | 83.5% |
| Saint Joseph's College of Maine ranks 66th on this list, with an admission rate of 84% and 9 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 67 | Seton Hill University · Greensburg, PA | $23,649 | $22,204 | $15,143 | 79.5% |
| Seton Hill University shows an average net price of $22,204 and median earnings of $23,649 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | Norwich University · Northfield, VT | $22,999 | $22,257 | $15,610 | 74.4% |
| Norwich University ranks 663rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports 8 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 69 | University of Rochester · Rochester, NY | $20,140 | $29,278 | $9,678 | 40.1% |
| University of Rochester posts median earnings of $20,140 for its Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 40%. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Subject-Specific Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Northeast appear. The figure is the median for federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 22 of the 69 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from CUNY Brooklyn College to the bottom of the list is $60,067, and the gap between CUNY Brooklyn College and St. John's University-New York is $1,992.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the Northeast
- Best Education Colleges in the Northeast
- Education Colleges in the Northeast for Social Mobility
- Teacher Education Colleges in the Northeast for Social Mobility