Best Engineering Colleges in the West (2026)
Updated
Regional list from Best Engineering Colleges in the United States
This page lists the 76 Engineering programs in the West with a reported earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Engineering graduates four years after completing. University of California-Berkeley ranks 1st on this list, reporting $158,239 four years after completing.
Across the 63 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $158,239 to $69,434, with a median of $95,412. For 2 of the 63 programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 78% of the list, or 59 of the 76 schools. California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price at $3,967, while California Institute of Technology reports the highest six-year completion rate at 94%.
University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Engineering Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of California-Berkeley · Berkeley, CA | $158,239 | $13,481 | $5,311 | 11.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley reports $158,239 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside a 93% six-year completion rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (528 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (189 graduates), Civil Engineering (106 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($200,543), Chemical Engineering ($121,027), Mechanical Engineering ($119,371) | |||||
| 2 | Santa Clara University · Santa Clara, CA | No published median | $50,062 | $22,985 | 48.0% |
| Santa Clara University, a private nonprofit university in Santa Clara, ranks 2nd on this list and shows an average net price of $50,062. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (83 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (52 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($163,765), Mechanical Engineering ($122,111), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($114,426) | |||||
| 3 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $128,783 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| With an admission rate of 9%, University of California-Los Angeles posts median earnings of $128,783 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (162 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (142 graduates), Computer Engineering (96 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($126,209), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($116,525), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($115,706) | |||||
| 4 | Cal Poly Maritime Academy · Vallejo, CA | $126,395 | $20,555 | $13,552 | 95.0% |
| Cal Poly Maritime Academy admits 95% of applicants and reports median earnings of $126,395 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (42 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($126,395) | |||||
| 5 | Harvey Mudd College · Claremont, CA | $122,845 | $35,924 | $27,979 | 12.7% |
| Harvey Mudd College graduates 92% of its students within six years and lists an average net price of $35,924. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($122,845) | |||||
| 6 | University of California-Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA | $121,686 | $17,890 | $8,717 | 65.8% |
| University of California-Santa Cruz ranks 6th on this list, with median earnings of $121,686 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (132 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (40 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($124,641), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($118,290), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($98,567) | |||||
| 7 | University of California-Santa Barbara · Santa Barbara, CA | $120,049 | $16,109 | $9,231 | 33.0% |
| An average net price of $16,109 coincides with an 83% six-year completion rate at University of California-Santa Barbara. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (78 graduates), Computer Engineering (72 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (68 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($144,703), Chemical Engineering ($113,317), Mechanical Engineering ($104,336) | |||||
| 8 | University of Southern California · Los Angeles, CA | $115,921 | $32,740 | $13,516 | 9.8% |
| University of Southern California reports median earnings of $115,921 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 10%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (119 graduates), Industrial Engineering (57 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (56 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($131,532), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($125,514), Industrial Engineering ($112,150) | |||||
| 9 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $113,948 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo ranks 58th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $16,665. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (272 graduates), Computer Engineering (158 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (136 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($148,950), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($125,240), Industrial Engineering ($112,797) | |||||
| 10 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $112,757 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University posts median earnings of $112,757 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside a 58% six-year completion rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (25 graduates) | |||||
| 11 | University of California-San Diego · La Jolla, CA | $110,699 | $12,470 | $7,525 | 26.7% |
| University of California-San Diego holds an Azimuth composite rank of 1st among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $110,699 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (218 graduates), Computer Engineering (167 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (146 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($149,139), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($118,150), Mechanical Engineering ($104,229) | |||||
| 12 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $109,269 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| An admission rate of 39% and an average net price of $14,091 are reported by University of Washington-Seattle Campus. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (226 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (119 graduates), Civil Engineering (118 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($169,570), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($116,010), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($111,349) | |||||
| 13 | University of California-Davis · Davis, CA | $106,933 | $14,741 | $9,211 | 41.8% |
| University of California-Davis reports median earnings of $106,933 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate reaches 86%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (166 graduates), Civil Engineering (127 graduates), Computer Engineering (119 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($145,422), Engineering, General ($114,228), Chemical Engineering ($102,649) | |||||
| 14 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $106,892 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| With an admission rate of 29%, University of California-Irvine ranks 14th on this list and posts median earnings of $106,892 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (260 graduates), Computer Engineering (246 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (156 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($132,357), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,871), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($100,537) | |||||
| 15 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $100,916 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University carries an average net price of $15,364 and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $100,916 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (244 graduates), Civil Engineering (227 graduates), Computer Engineering (116 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,416), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($100,139), Mechanical Engineering ($97,825) | |||||
| 16 | Brigham Young University · Provo, UT | $100,449 | $15,564 | $10,444 | 67.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Provo, Brigham Young University ranks 16th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 81%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (158 graduates), Computer Engineering (97 graduates), Civil Engineering (77 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($133,111), Chemical Engineering ($101,726), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($99,774) | |||||
| 17 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $100,321 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Pomona admits 75% of applicants and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $100,321 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (277 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (276 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (163 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($106,171), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($103,924), Chemical Engineering ($102,849) | |||||
| 18 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $99,979 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| Ranking 7th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, California State University-Northridge reports median earnings of $99,979 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (185 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (78 graduates), Civil Engineering (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,065), Mechanical Engineering ($99,216), Civil Engineering ($97,123) | |||||
| 19 | Loyola Marymount University · Los Angeles, CA | $99,540 | $48,381 | $32,268 | 45.1% |
| Loyola Marymount University reports median earnings of $99,540 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $48,381. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (30 graduates), Civil Engineering (27 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($96,226) | |||||
| 20 | Stanford University · Stanford, CA | No published median | $13,807 | -$2,536* | 3.6% |
| Stanford University ranks 20th on this list, with an admission rate of 4% and a six-year completion rate of 92%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, Other (91 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (49 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (43 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, Other ($115,206) | |||||
| 21 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $99,148 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University reports an average net price of $12,278 and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $99,148 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (75 graduates), Civil Engineering (65 graduates), Computer Engineering (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($112,454), Mechanical Engineering ($102,104), Computer Engineering ($94,129) | |||||
| 22 | New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology · Socorro, NM | $99,091 | $9,873 | $5,136 | 44.5% |
| New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology ranks 22nd on this list, with median earnings of $99,091 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (47 graduates), Chemical Engineering (21 graduates), Civil Engineering (19 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($98,213) | |||||
| 23 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $99,077 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Riverside, California Baptist University admits 85% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (47 graduates), Civil Engineering (28 graduates), Computer Engineering (13 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($105,046), Computer Engineering ($96,506), Civil Engineering ($90,251) | |||||
| 24 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs · Colorado Springs, CO | $98,790 | $15,788 | $12,065 | 97.4% |
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs posts median earnings of $98,790 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 97%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (80 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (24 graduates), Computer Engineering (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($113,627), Mechanical Engineering ($91,192) | |||||
| 25 | Colorado School of Mines · Golden, CO | $98,326 | $28,690 | $16,849 | 60.7% |
| Colorado School of Mines reports median earnings of $98,326 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 82%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (304 graduates), Chemical Engineering (155 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (93 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Petroleum Engineering ($116,691), Mining and Mineral Engineering ($109,695), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,012) | |||||
| 26 | University of Colorado Boulder · Boulder, CO | No published median | $25,346 | $14,231 | 78.1% |
| University of Colorado Boulder admits 78% of applicants and carries an average net price of $25,346. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (235 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (199 graduates), Civil Engineering (81 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($116,350), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($100,631), Chemical Engineering ($95,780) | |||||
| 27 | University of California-Merced · Merced, CA | $97,539 | $11,983 | $7,945 | 90.5% |
| With an average net price of $11,983, University of California-Merced ranks 121st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (219 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (184 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (37 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($102,575), Mechanical Engineering ($95,040), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($88,795) | |||||
| 28 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $97,264 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach posts median earnings of $97,264 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 46%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (229 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (125 graduates), Civil Engineering (122 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($103,075), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($101,797), Computer Engineering ($98,967) | |||||
| 29 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $97,128 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| Graduating 56% of its students within six years, California State University-Sacramento reports median earnings of $97,128 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (178 graduates), Civil Engineering (145 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (94 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($104,394), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($103,512), Civil Engineering ($93,973) | |||||
| 30 | University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus · Denver, CO | $96,696 | $11,900 | $6,743 | 74.7% |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus has an average net price of $11,900 and an admission rate of 75%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (64 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (50 graduates), Civil Engineering (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($110,754), Mechanical Engineering ($94,320), Civil Engineering ($92,224) | |||||
| 31 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $96,458 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| Arizona State University Campus Immersion ranks 21st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $96,458 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (276 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (184 graduates), Engineering, General (165 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($112,543), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,757), Industrial Engineering ($102,439) | |||||
| 32 | University of New Mexico-Main Campus · Albuquerque, NM | $96,449 | $15,489 | $11,938 | 95.2% |
| Admitting 95% of applicants, University of New Mexico-Main Campus reports a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (71 graduates), Chemical Engineering (47 graduates), Civil Engineering (29 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Chemical Engineering ($96,810), Mechanical Engineering ($94,990), Civil Engineering ($81,933) | |||||
| 33 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $95,775 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado reports median earnings of $95,775 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $17,760. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (18 graduates) | |||||
| 34 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $95,699 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 51%, University of Nevada-Las Vegas ranks 76th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (98 graduates), Civil Engineering (66 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($100,765), Mechanical Engineering ($97,901), Computer Engineering ($93,830) | |||||
| 35 | University of California-Riverside · Riverside, CA | $95,412 | $14,304 | $8,852 | 76.4% |
| University of California-Riverside posts median earnings of $95,412 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 76%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (94 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (67 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (65 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($107,193), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($102,630), Mechanical Engineering ($93,721) | |||||
| 36 | University of Portland · Portland, OR | $95,041 | $28,210 | $20,070 | 89.2% |
| A private nonprofit institution, University of Portland has an average net price of $28,210 and a six-year completion rate of 80%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (54 graduates), Civil Engineering (24 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($105,859), Mechanical Engineering ($93,119), Civil Engineering ($89,448) | |||||
| 37 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $94,917 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| California State University-Chico reports median earnings of $94,917 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $14,480. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (88 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (72 graduates), Engineering, Other (34 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, Other ($103,272), Mechanical Engineering ($93,555), Civil Engineering ($92,472) | |||||
| 38 | University of Arizona · Tucson, AZ | No published median | $16,674 | $13,353 | 86.1% |
| University of Arizona ranks 38th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 68%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (110 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (101 graduates), Chemical Engineering (54 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mining and Mineral Engineering ($120,031), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($105,839), Chemical Engineering ($101,815) | |||||
| 39 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | No published median | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| With an admission rate of 87%, Washington State University admits the large majority of its applicants and carries an average net price of $7,074 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (265 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (110 graduates), Civil Engineering (101 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($114,635), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,354), Chemical Engineering ($99,506) | |||||
| 40 | Oregon State University · Corvallis, OR | $94,165 | $19,604 | $12,107 | 77.3% |
| Oregon State University ranks 126th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $94,165 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (315 graduates), Civil Engineering (123 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (111 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Engineering ($105,964), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($105,359), Industrial Engineering ($101,653) | |||||
| 41 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $94,133 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| California State University-Los Angeles holds the lowest average net price on the page at $3,967 and ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (130 graduates), Civil Engineering (73 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (52 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($96,014), Civil Engineering ($94,760), Mechanical Engineering ($93,028) | |||||
| 42 | Seattle University · Seattle, WA | $94,005 | $34,662 | $22,896 | 76.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Seattle, Seattle University reports median earnings of $94,005 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (44 graduates), Civil Engineering (26 graduates), Computer Engineering (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($111,410), Mechanical Engineering ($96,218) | |||||
| 43 | Gonzaga University · Spokane, WA | $93,936 | $35,119 | $20,833 | 81.7% |
| Gonzaga University graduates 86% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $20,833 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (55 graduates), Civil Engineering (34 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,155), Mechanical Engineering ($93,816), Civil Engineering ($86,942) | |||||
| 44 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $93,793 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay ranks 44th on this list, with median earnings of $93,793 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (16 graduates), Industrial Engineering (14 graduates) | |||||
| 45 | University of Utah · Salt Lake City, UT | $93,707 | $16,200 | $13,123 | 86.0% |
| With an admission rate of 86%, University of Utah reports an average net price of $16,200 and a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (182 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (77 graduates), Chemical Engineering (68 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Chemical Engineering ($98,215), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($96,353), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($91,361) | |||||
| 46 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $93,159 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton ranks 6th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $93,159 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (125 graduates), Civil Engineering (124 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (65 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Civil Engineering ($95,854), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($92,618), Mechanical Engineering ($86,808) | |||||
| 47 | University of Denver · Denver, CO | $93,026 | $36,131 | $20,097 | 77.8% |
| University of Denver reports an average net price of $20,097 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 76%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (32 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (10 graduates), Computer Engineering (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($93,026) | |||||
| 48 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $92,962 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno reports median earnings of $92,962 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $7,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (79 graduates), Civil Engineering (70 graduates), Computer Engineering (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($108,038), Computer Engineering ($103,896), Mechanical Engineering ($88,002) | |||||
| 49 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $92,905 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| Ranking 49th on this list, California State University-Bakersfield reports $92,905 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Science (42 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (30 graduates), Computer Engineering (15 graduates) | |||||
| 50 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $92,492 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| A public university in San Bernardino, California State University-San Bernardino graduates 55% of its students within six years and posts an average net price of $2,681 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($92,492) | |||||
| 51 | University of Alaska Anchorage · Anchorage, AK | $92,403 | $15,301 | $11,582 | Not reported |
| University of Alaska Anchorage ranks 577th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports $92,403 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (27 graduates), Civil Engineering (23 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($98,156), Civil Engineering ($85,650) | |||||
| 52 | Oregon Institute of Technology · Klamath Falls, OR | $92,311 | $15,706 | $9,085 | 95.0% |
| Admitting 95% of applicants, Oregon Institute of Technology reports $92,311 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (65 graduates), Civil Engineering (29 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($101,534), Mechanical Engineering ($95,470), Civil Engineering ($76,642) | |||||
| 53 | Portland State University · Portland, OR | No published median | $9,552 | $7,655 | 90.9% |
| Portland State University ranks 135th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 53% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (113 graduates), Civil Engineering (71 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($101,905), Mechanical Engineering ($94,223), Civil Engineering ($86,084) | |||||
| 54 | University of San Diego · San Diego, CA | No published median | $30,365 | $15,586 | 52.4% |
| A private nonprofit institution in San Diego, University of San Diego has a six-year completion rate of 84% and an average net price of $15,586 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (61 graduates), Industrial Engineering (38 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (23 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($110,314), Mechanical Engineering ($91,848) | |||||
| 55 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $90,469 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa reports $90,469 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and ranks 258th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (94 graduates), Civil Engineering (83 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($100,454), Mechanical Engineering ($92,555), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($88,869) | |||||
| 56 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $89,868 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| An average net price of $9,709 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 61% at Northern Arizona University. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (123 graduates), Civil Engineering (52 graduates), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($95,388), Mechanical Engineering ($91,941), Civil Engineering ($88,184) | |||||
| 57 | University of Alaska Fairbanks · Fairbanks, AK | $89,730 | $10,892 | $7,992 | Not reported |
| University of Alaska Fairbanks reports $89,730 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 38%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (26 graduates), Civil Engineering (16 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($91,522), Civil Engineering ($86,819) | |||||
| 58 | Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Fort Collins, CO | No published median | $21,279 | $13,259 | 88.5% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins admits 89% of applicants and ranks 200th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (179 graduates), Civil Engineering (109 graduates), Chemical Engineering (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($99,172), Chemical Engineering ($97,271), Mechanical Engineering ($94,260) | |||||
| 59 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $88,973 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| With an average net price of $12,915 for families earning under $30,000, Western Washington University reports $88,973 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical and Computer Engineering (32 graduates), Polymer/Plastics Engineering (19 graduates), Manufacturing Engineering (18 graduates) | |||||
| 60 | Saint Martin's University · Lacey, WA | $88,966 | $28,119 | $22,810 | 89.8% |
| Saint Martin's University ranks 720th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (22 graduates), Civil Engineering (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($92,321), Civil Engineering ($85,276) | |||||
| 61 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $88,783 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| Montana State University reports median earnings of $88,783 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 57%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (179 graduates), Chemical Engineering (85 graduates), Civil Engineering (66 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($98,331), Mechanical Engineering ($88,653), Chemical Engineering ($87,590) | |||||
| 62 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $88,405 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| With an average net price of $8,889, New Mexico State University-Main Campus admits 89% of applicants and ranks 235th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (108 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (68 graduates), Civil Engineering (42 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($96,510), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($95,683), Chemical Engineering ($90,091) | |||||
| 63 | Boise State University · Boise, ID | $87,798 | $21,610 | $18,165 | 87.2% |
| Boise State University graduates 60% of its students within six years, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $87,798 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (93 graduates), Civil Engineering (39 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (37 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($100,680), Mechanical Engineering ($85,354), Civil Engineering ($81,405) | |||||
| 64 | University of Idaho · Moscow, ID | $87,756 | $14,831 | $11,270 | 75.5% |
| Ranking 64th on this list, University of Idaho posts a six-year completion rate of 57% and an average net price of $14,831. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (62 graduates), Civil Engineering (37 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (31 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($94,484), Mechanical Engineering ($86,415), Civil Engineering ($86,310) | |||||
| 65 | University of Nevada-Reno · Reno, NV | $87,473 | $15,927 | $12,674 | 73.7% |
| University of Nevada-Reno reports median earnings of $87,473 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 74%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (135 graduates), Civil Engineering (64 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (57 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($96,291), Mechanical Engineering ($88,460), Chemical Engineering ($84,965) | |||||
| 66 | Montana Technological University · Butte, MT | No published median | $16,481 | $11,914 | 91.1% |
| Montana Technological University admits 91% of applicants and has an average net price of $16,481, with a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (42 graduates), Civil Engineering (25 graduates), Petroleum Engineering (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Petroleum Engineering ($106,076) | |||||
| 67 | Northwest Nazarene University · Nampa, ID | $85,643 | $29,580 | $28,732 | 64.7% |
| A private nonprofit university, Northwest Nazarene University reports median earnings of $85,643 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 71%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (14 graduates) | |||||
| 68 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $85,541 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University has an admission rate of 91% and an average net price of $13,886, while its Engineering graduates earn a median of $85,541 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (50 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (39 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($85,599), Mechanical Engineering ($85,495) | |||||
| 69 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | No published median | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 59%, University of Wyoming admits 97% of applicants and ranks 387th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (58 graduates), Civil Engineering (38 graduates), Chemical Engineering (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Petroleum Engineering ($100,911), Mechanical Engineering ($87,533), Civil Engineering ($83,184) | |||||
| 70 | California Institute of Technology · Pasadena, CA | $83,177 | $16,075 | -$2,133* | 2.6% |
| California Institute of Technology admits 3% of applicants, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $83,177 two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (28 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (15 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (10 graduates) | |||||
| 71 | Idaho State University · Pocatello, ID | No published median | $12,193 | $10,593 | Not reported |
| Idaho State University reports a six-year completion rate of 39% and an average net price of $12,193. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (14 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (7 graduates), Nuclear Engineering (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($90,053) | |||||
| 72 | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Arcata, CA | $78,225 | $13,171 | $8,483 | 98.2% |
| Ranking 72nd on this list, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt reports median earnings of $78,225 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and admits 98% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering ($78,225) | |||||
| 73 | Fort Lewis College · Durango, CO | $77,389 | $17,296 | $18,622 | 77.3% |
| Fort Lewis College reports median earnings of $77,389 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $17,296. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (29 graduates), Computer Engineering (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($77,389) | |||||
| 74 | Seattle Pacific University · Seattle, WA | No published median | $24,488 | $20,735 | 83.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Seattle, Seattle Pacific University admits 83% of applicants and graduates 62% within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (22 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (8 graduates) | |||||
| 75 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | No published median | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| University of the Pacific ranks 201st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $17,004 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Biomedical/Medical Engineering (17 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (17 graduates), Computer Engineering (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($99,573) | |||||
| 76 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $69,434 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University posts median earnings of $69,434 for its Engineering graduates two years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 69%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (248 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (166 graduates), Civil Engineering (101 graduates) | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Engineering graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Engineering earnings cohort in the West appear. The figures are medians for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled. For 2 of the 76 listed schools the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 63 schools with a published figure. University of California-Berkeley reports $158,239, and the spread from that top figure to the lowest listed median of $69,434 is $88,805.
Job market context in the West
Engineering graduates in the West enter a labor market that links to occupations such as Civil Engineers, Industrial Engineers, and Mechanical Engineers. The median annual wage across those occupations is $135,074, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $107,160. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 14.0% higher, with 83,160 projected openings a year, or about 285 openings a year for every hundred graduates, meaning more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the broader occupational wages described here.