College research / Rankings

Best Engineering Colleges in the Northeast (2026)

Updated

Regional list from Best Engineering Colleges in the United States

This page ranks 88 schools in the Northeast for Engineering by median earnings of Engineering graduates four years after completing. Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Engineering graduates four years after completing, highest first.

Only schools with a reported Engineering earnings cohort in the Northeast appear. Carnegie Mellon University ranks 1st on this list, reporting $161,265 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Across the 64 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $161,265 to $47,260, with a median of $93,034.

The list includes 30 public and 58 private nonprofit institutions. CUNY City College posts the lowest average net price at $3,776, while Princeton University reports the highest six-year completion rate at 98%.

Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 30th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

88 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Engineering EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Carnegie Mellon University · Pittsburgh, PA$161,265$31,944$9,09711.7%
Carnegie Mellon University reports $161,265 in median earnings for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (166 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (113 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (65 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($250,168), Mechanical Engineering ($105,623)

2Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Cambridge, MANo published median$20,111-$2,5334.6%
Massachusetts Institute of Technology admits 5% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (142 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (73 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (59 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($161,118), Mechanical Engineering ($131,967), Chemical Engineering ($122,093)

3Maine Maritime Academy · Castine, MENo published median$23,414$9,51154.1%
A public institution in Castine, Maine Maritime Academy has an average net price of $23,414 and an admission rate of 54%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (61 graduates), Systems Engineering (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering ($137,352)

4Massachusetts Maritime Academy · Buzzards Bay, MA$125,016$21,582$8,75794.7%
Massachusetts Maritime Academy ranks 4th on this list, with median earnings of $125,016 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (59 graduates), Engineering, General (51 graduates), Energy Systems Engineering (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering ($125,016)

5Columbia University in the City of New York · New York, NYNo published median$21,590$4,5704.0%
Columbia University in the City of New York carries an average net price of $4,570 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Operations Research (73 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (61 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (45 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Operations Research ($167,572), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($143,332), Mechanical Engineering ($111,491)

6The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art · New York, NY$118,998$13,269$3,74920.7%
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art reports median earnings of $118,998 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,269.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (31 graduates), Chemical Engineering (23 graduates), Civil Engineering (18 graduates)

7Cornell University · Ithaca, NYNo published median$28,690$1,7768.8%
Cornell University admits 9% of applicants and has an average net price of $1,776 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (132 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (87 graduates), Operations Research (80 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Operations Research ($151,709), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($147,241), Chemical Engineering ($116,165)

8Dartmouth College · Hanover, NH$113,749$29,519$415.4%
Dartmouth College reports median earnings of $113,749 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Science (94 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering Science ($113,749)

9Monmouth University · West Long Branch, NJ$111,422$30,988$18,92489.0%
Monmouth University ranks 9th on this list and posts an admission rate of 89%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (5 graduates)

10Northeastern University · Boston, MA$111,345$30,915$2,2645.2%
Northeastern University reports median earnings of $111,345 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $2,264 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (275 graduates), Engineering, Other (162 graduates), Computer Engineering (114 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($135,416), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($118,150), Industrial Engineering ($111,430)

11University of Pennsylvania · Philadelphia, PANo published median$28,699-$3,0125.4%
University of Pennsylvania posts a six-year completion rate of 97% and an admission rate of 5%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Biomedical/Medical Engineering (53 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (43 graduates), Systems Engineering (36 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($126,419), Mechanical Engineering ($114,492), Chemical Engineering ($109,884)

12Bucknell University · Lewisburg, PANo published median$40,766$20,98028.9%
Bucknell University admits 29% of applicants and has an average net price of $40,766.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (32 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (26 graduates), Chemical Engineering (25 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($156,885), Mechanical Engineering ($99,860), Chemical Engineering ($99,536)

13Boston University · Boston, MA$107,854$24,402$9,50011.1%
Boston University reports median earnings of $107,854 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate reaches 89%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (149 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (126 graduates), Computer Engineering (122 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($135,394), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($99,024), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($98,953)

14Franklin W Olin College of Engineering · Needham, MANo published median$25,171Not reported25.2%
A private nonprofit institution in Needham, Franklin W Olin College of Engineering ranks 14th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (38 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (19 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($135,136)

15Princeton University · Princeton, NJNo published median$6,128$414.6%
Princeton University admits 5% of applicants and carries an average net price of $6,128.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Operations Research (64 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (53 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (40 graduates)

16SUNY Maritime College · Throggs Neck, NY$106,276$22,367$11,72672.4%
SUNY Maritime College, a public college in Throggs Neck, ranks 16th on this list with median earnings of $106,276 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (82 graduates), Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (41 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($107,749), Mechanical Engineering ($106,932), Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering ($106,186)

17Stevens Institute of Technology · Hoboken, NJ$105,781$41,346$27,22147.6%
With an admission rate of 48%, Stevens Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $105,781 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (159 graduates), Computer Engineering (111 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (65 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($124,037), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($112,047), Mechanical Engineering ($100,554)

18Rochester Institute of Technology · Rochester, NY$104,872$34,906$24,68066.9%
Rochester Institute of Technology graduates 70% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $34,906.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (149 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (148 graduates), Electrical and Computer Engineering (120 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($123,027), Industrial Engineering ($105,313), Chemical Engineering ($94,641)

19Brown University · Providence, RI$104,707$25,184-$4205.4%
Brown University reports median earnings of $104,707 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 96%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (78 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (23 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($108,550)

20Lehigh University · Bethlehem, PA$104,249$36,931$16,91725.9%
Lehigh University ranks 20th on this list and carries an average net price of $36,931.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (80 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (53 graduates), Chemical Engineering (39 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Engineering ($121,498), Computer Engineering ($116,214), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($108,503)

21University of Massachusetts-Boston · Boston, MA$100,902$17,707$14,07083.8%
A public university in Boston, University of Massachusetts-Boston admits 84% of applicants and reports median earnings of $100,902 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (30 graduates), Computer Engineering (8 graduates)

22Villanova University · Villanova, PA$100,323$43,756$17,82327.0%
Villanova University posts a six-year completion rate of 92% and an average net price of $43,756.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (77 graduates), Civil Engineering (62 graduates), Chemical Engineering (50 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($119,137), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($117,229), Chemical Engineering ($103,601)

23Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Worcester, MA$99,567$43,071$24,01860.2%
Worcester Polytechnic Institute reports median earnings of $99,567 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate stands at 60%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (274 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (132 graduates), Chemical Engineering (92 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($109,386), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($105,171), Chemical Engineering ($100,199)

24New York University · New York, NY$99,496$37,050$16,9779.2%
New York University ranks 24th on this list, admits 9% of applicants, and posts a six-year completion rate of 88%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (104 graduates), Civil Engineering (42 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($127,201), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($107,348), Civil Engineering ($94,867)

25University of Massachusetts-Amherst · Amherst, MA$98,160$22,383$10,16459.7%
University of Massachusetts-Amherst reports median earnings of $98,160 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,383.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (147 graduates), Civil Engineering (79 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (65 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($113,083), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($101,091), Chemical Engineering ($97,990)

26Stony Brook University · Stony Brook, NY$97,739$18,784$12,94349.0%
Stony Brook University admits 49% of applicants and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $97,739 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (99 graduates), Computer Engineering (56 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (50 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($128,038), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($98,573), Mechanical Engineering ($91,650)

27University of Rochester · Rochester, NY$97,587$29,278$9,67840.1%
A private nonprofit institution in Rochester, University of Rochester has a six-year completion rate of 85% and an average net price of $9,678 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (65 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (60 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (59 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($105,183), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($95,957), Mechanical Engineering ($95,060)

28Binghamton University · Vestal, NY$97,533$21,620$12,17138.6%
Binghamton University ranks 28th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 82%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (102 graduates), Industrial Engineering (66 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (57 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($117,721), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($99,397), Industrial Engineering ($95,354)

29Wentworth Institute of Technology · Boston, MA$97,331$34,170$27,01891.2%
Wentworth Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $97,331 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 91%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (109 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (45 graduates), Civil Engineering (44 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electromechanical Engineering ($100,012), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($99,617), Mechanical Engineering ($97,124)

30Rutgers University-New Brunswick · New Brunswick, NJNo published median$24,406$16,34358.2%
Rutgers University-New Brunswick holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on this page, 30th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and graduates 84% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (224 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (178 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (103 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($108,296), Chemical Engineering ($100,729), Mechanical Engineering ($94,561)

31CUNY City College · New York, NY$97,268$3,776$1,25160.0%
CUNY City College carries the lowest average net price on the list at $3,776, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $97,268 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (119 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (81 graduates), Civil Engineering (57 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($117,131), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($97,698), Mechanical Engineering ($97,270)

32Drexel University · Philadelphia, PANo published median$38,509$28,05579.4%
A private nonprofit university in Philadelphia, Drexel University admits 79% of applicants and has an average net price of $38,509.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (184 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (100 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (81 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($117,537), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($102,978), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($101,362)

33Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus · University Park, PA$95,820$32,875$19,84560.6%
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus graduates 86% of its students within six years, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $95,820 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (311 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (182 graduates), Chemical Engineering (172 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Petroleum Engineering ($113,669), Computer Engineering ($112,269), Industrial Engineering ($104,758)

34University of Massachusetts-Lowell · Lowell, MA$95,734$17,163$9,94383.0%
University of Massachusetts-Lowell reports an average net price of $9,943 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $95,734 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (166 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (106 graduates), Computer Engineering (66 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($101,054), Polymer/Plastics Engineering ($100,428), Chemical Engineering ($94,972)

35Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute · Troy, NYNo published median$36,228$24,07863.5%
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute ranks 35th on this list and has a six-year completion rate of 84%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (212 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (112 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (107 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,596), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($103,306), Chemical Engineering ($98,679)

36University of Connecticut · Storrs, CT$95,340$25,097$15,19352.4%
University of Connecticut admits 52% of applicants, and its Engineering graduates earn a median of $95,340 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (173 graduates), Computer Engineering (84 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (79 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($115,117), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($95,682), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($94,722)

37Manhattan University · Riverdale, NY$95,182$27,256$27,28178.9%
Manhattan University reports median earnings of $95,182 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 64%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (99 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (59 graduates), Chemical Engineering (25 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($100,884), Chemical Engineering ($96,134), Civil Engineering ($95,877)

38University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus · Pittsburgh, PA$94,669$30,434$14,70958.1%
With an average net price of $14,709 for families earning under $30,000, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus ranks 38th on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (165 graduates), Computer Engineering (99 graduates), Chemical Engineering (94 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($110,417), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($102,572), Industrial Engineering ($98,654)

39Lafayette College · Easton, PANo published median$34,433$12,71631.5%
Lafayette College admits 31% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 88%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (63 graduates), Civil Engineering (33 graduates), Chemical Engineering (31 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Chemical Engineering ($115,726), Mechanical Engineering ($101,348)

40Hofstra University · Hempstead, NY$93,706$34,176$28,21968.1%
Hofstra University ranks 882nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside median earnings of $93,706 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (30 graduates), Civil Engineering (21 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (17 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($94,744), Engineering Science ($90,246)

41New York Institute of Technology · Old Westbury, NY$93,704$22,443$17,08481.0%
A private nonprofit university in Old Westbury, New York Institute of Technology reports an average net price of $22,443 and a six-year completion rate of 59%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (51 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (33 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($99,480)

42Roger Williams University · Bristol, RI$93,158$37,999$29,77887.7%
Roger Williams University reports median earnings of $93,158 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 88%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (27 graduates), Civil Engineering (11 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (8 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($94,385)

43Central Connecticut State University · New Britain, CT$93,063$16,857$13,58973.3%
With an average net price of $13,589 for families earning under $30,000, Central Connecticut State University ranks 175th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (57 graduates), Civil Engineering (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($94,462), Civil Engineering ($87,366)

44University of Rhode Island · Kingston, RI$93,035$21,440$14,36872.2%
University of Rhode Island reports median earnings of $93,035 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 73%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (120 graduates), Civil Engineering (34 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (30 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,153), Chemical Engineering ($103,525), Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($96,532)

45Temple University · Philadelphia, PA$93,033$28,198$22,69480.4%
Temple University admits 80% of applicants and reports an average net price of $28,198.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (87 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (60 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (58 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($97,839), Mechanical Engineering ($91,131), Civil Engineering ($82,553)

46York College of Pennsylvania · York, PA$91,829$18,556$12,92773.7%
York College of Pennsylvania ranks 46th on this list, with median earnings of $91,829 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (44 graduates), Civil Engineering (19 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (7 graduates)

47New Jersey Institute of Technology · Newark, NJ$91,811$16,504$10,13865.1%
A public university in Newark, New Jersey Institute of Technology reports an average net price of $10,138 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (225 graduates), Civil Engineering (195 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (93 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Industrial Engineering ($101,547), Computer Engineering ($99,880), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($97,718)

48Fairfield University · Fairfield, CT$91,633$48,095$33,30233.3%
Fairfield University posts a six-year completion rate of 84% and an admission rate of 33%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (26 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (16 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($91,633)

49Tufts University · Medford, MANo published median$39,998$11,28411.5%
Tufts University ranks 49th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 94%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (66 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (49 graduates), Chemical Engineering (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($101,196)

50Western New England University · Springfield, MA$91,326$27,290$20,72683.5%
Western New England University reports median earnings of $91,326 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (42 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (28 graduates), Civil Engineering (18 graduates)

51Fordham University · Bronx, NY$90,465$44,338$32,47459.3%
Fordham University admits 59% of applicants and reports median earnings of $90,465 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Physics (23 graduates)

52Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania · Shippensburg, PA$90,384$23,726$18,70986.5%
Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania, a public university in Shippensburg, shows an average net price of $23,726.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Computer Engineering (32 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (12 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($90,384)

53University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth · North Dartmouth, MA$90,122$20,927$15,97690.6%
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth graduates 52% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $90,122 for its Engineering completers four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (46 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (37 graduates), Civil Engineering (28 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($94,683), Mechanical Engineering ($89,310), Civil Engineering ($79,051)

54Clarkson University · Potsdam, NY$90,081$30,305$21,33577.4%
Clarkson University ranks 654th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a six-year completion rate of 75%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (158 graduates), Civil Engineering (90 graduates), Chemical Engineering (45 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($107,790), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($97,750), Chemical Engineering ($93,614)

55Syracuse University · Syracuse, NYNo published median$38,793$15,81745.9%
Syracuse University ranks 55th on this list and carries an average net price of $15,817 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (50 graduates), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering (43 graduates), Civil Engineering (36 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($99,521), Mechanical Engineering ($91,438), Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($90,470)

56University of New Hampshire-Main Campus · Durham, NHNo published median$23,805$16,52388.2%
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus admits 88% of applicants and graduates 76% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (97 graduates), Civil Engineering (64 graduates), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,067), Chemical Engineering ($93,711), Mechanical Engineering ($93,622)

57Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ$88,763$22,408$15,30577.7%
Rowan University reports median earnings of $88,763 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,408.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (112 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (97 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (58 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($104,215), Mechanical Engineering ($90,084), Civil Engineering ($78,834)

58University at Buffalo · Buffalo, NY$88,398$20,995$14,66874.2%
University at Buffalo ranks 103rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $20,995.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (232 graduates), Civil Engineering (167 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (110 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Computer Engineering ($109,221), Chemical Engineering ($95,424), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($95,209)

59Duquesne University · Pittsburgh, PA$88,272$37,730$29,98683.6%
Duquesne University posts a six-year completion rate of 77% and an admission rate of 84%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Biomedical/Medical Engineering (30 graduates)

60Elizabethtown College · Elizabethtown, PA$88,104$26,598$17,77677.9%
Elizabethtown College reports median earnings of $88,104 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($88,104)

61University of Hartford · West Hartford, CT$87,893$30,282$25,92595.8%
University of Hartford, a private nonprofit university in West Hartford, reports median earnings of $87,893 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (42 graduates), Civil Engineering (22 graduates), Computer Engineering (14 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($88,530), Civil Engineering ($84,614), Engineering, General ($78,351)

62Widener University · Chester, PA$87,776$25,759$21,20070.9%
Widener University admits 71% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 68%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (30 graduates), Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering (22 graduates), Civil Engineering (20 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($95,901), Chemical Engineering ($91,145), Mechanical Engineering ($88,358)

63University of New Haven · West Haven, CT$87,481$34,192$27,83760.4%
University of New Haven carries an average net price of $34,192 and ranks 994th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (32 graduates), Civil Engineering (17 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (12 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($90,042), Mechanical Engineering ($89,099), Civil Engineering ($83,798)

64University of Maine · Orono, ME$86,857$17,510$12,64296.6%
The six-year completion rate at University of Maine is 55%, with an average net price of $12,642 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (111 graduates), Civil Engineering (58 graduates), Chemical Engineering (34 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($100,593), Chemical Engineering ($94,964), Mechanical Engineering ($85,064)

65Harvard University · Cambridge, MANo published median$19,066$8,6973.7%
Harvard University holds an admission rate of 4% and an average net price of $8,697 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering Science (45 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (18 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (8 graduates)

66Merrimack College · North Andover, MANo published median$37,927$31,71070.0%
Merrimack College ranks 1320th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports a six-year completion rate of 70%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (23 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (20 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (16 graduates)

67Messiah University · Mechanicsburg, PA$84,927$26,502$19,39379.0%
Messiah University reports median earnings of $84,927 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $26,502.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (16 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (10 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (7 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($84,927)

68College of Staten Island CUNY · Staten Island, NY$84,552$5,579$3,90392.3%
College of Staten Island CUNY shows an average net price of $3,903 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 34%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (40 graduates), Engineering, General (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($72,716)

69The College of New Jersey · Ewing, NJNo published median$27,646$7,90862.3%
The College of New Jersey ranks 484th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 86% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (51 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (37 graduates), Civil Engineering (31 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($91,052)

70Quinnipiac University · Hamden, CTNo published median$40,675$33,64972.2%
Quinnipiac University admits 72% of applicants and carries an average net price of $40,675.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (27 graduates), Civil Engineering (13 graduates), Industrial Engineering (7 graduates)

71Saint Vincent College · Latrobe, PA$84,180$23,510$17,24961.7%
Saint Vincent College reports median earnings of $84,180 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 69%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (15 graduates)

72Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus · Teaneck, NJ$83,798$15,404$10,21890.7%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus ranks 72nd on this list and shows an average net price of $10,218 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Civil Engineering (14 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (12 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (7 graduates)

73University of Vermont · Burlington, VT$82,973$19,343$11,12765.3%
University of Vermont reports median earnings of $82,973 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $19,343.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (88 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (34 graduates), Civil Engineering (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($83,438), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering ($77,348), Civil Engineering ($77,342)

74Gannon University · Erie, PA$82,856$22,553$18,48974.2%
A private nonprofit in Erie, Gannon University ranks 74th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 66%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (24 graduates), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering (11 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($82,856)

75SUNY Polytechnic Institute · Utica, NYNo published median$14,164$7,44281.4%
SUNY Polytechnic Institute admits 81% of applicants and carries an average net price of $7,442 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (27 graduates), Civil Engineering (19 graduates), Electrical and Computer Engineering (12 graduates)

76State University of New York at New Paltz · New Paltz, NYNo published median$18,809$10,54161.6%
State University of New York at New Paltz ranks 462nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 72% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (48 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (26 graduates), Computer Engineering (6 graduates)

77Union College · Schenectady, NYNo published median$34,561$11,77643.9%
With an admission rate of 44%, Union College posts a six-year completion rate of 80% and an average net price of $34,561.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (40 graduates), Biomedical/Medical Engineering (20 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($85,427)

78Norwich University · Northfield, VT$80,497$22,257$15,61074.4%
Norwich University reports median earnings of $80,497 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $15,610 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (29 graduates), Civil Engineering (12 graduates), Computer Engineering (10 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($82,477)

79Alfred University · Alfred, NY$79,033$25,620$16,51273.8%
Alfred University ranks 1194th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 57%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (58 graduates), Ceramic Sciences and Engineering (15 graduates), Materials Engineering (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($79,452)

80Swarthmore College · Swarthmore, PA$78,519$23,149$7,6907.5%
Swarthmore College admits 7% of applicants and reports median earnings of $78,519 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (28 graduates)

81Wilkes University · Wilkes-Barre, PA$76,540$27,743$25,06290.6%
Wilkes University ranks 81st on this list, with an average net price of $27,743 and a six-year completion rate of 63%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (42 graduates), Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (23 graduates), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($79,326), Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering ($70,039)

82University of Southern Maine · Portland, MENo published median$13,596$9,99979.2%
A public university in Portland, University of Southern Maine shows an average net price of $9,999 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 40%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (28 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (24 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Mechanical Engineering ($88,515)

83Geneva College · Beaver Falls, PA$75,535$25,890$20,283Not reported
Geneva College reports median earnings of $75,535 for its Engineering graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $25,890.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, General (45 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Engineering, General ($75,535)

84Robert Morris University · Moon Township, PA$74,446$23,003$19,54889.9%
Robert Morris University ranks 948th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 90% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Engineering, Other (63 graduates), Manufacturing Engineering (6 graduates)

85Yale University · New Haven, CTNo published median$23,777$17,6333.9%
Yale University ranks 85th on this list and posts a 96% six-year completion rate alongside an admission rate of 4%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Biomedical/Medical Engineering (25 graduates), Engineering Science (16 graduates), Mechanical Engineering (16 graduates)

86Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania · Bloomsburg, PA$55,512$15,699$11,37493.1%
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania, a public university in Bloomsburg, reports median earnings of $55,512 for its Engineering graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (11 graduates)

87Thomas Jefferson University · Philadelphia, PA$53,358$28,928$22,53781.0%
Thomas Jefferson University carries an average net price of $28,928 and admits 81% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechanical Engineering (5 graduates)

88Johnson & Wales University-Providence · Providence, RI$47,260$31,027$25,53088.4%
Johnson & Wales University-Providence ranks 1217th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,260 for its Engineering graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering (6 graduates), Engineering, Other (6 graduates)

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Engineering graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Engineering earnings cohort in the Northeast appear. The figures are medians for federally aided Engineering graduates who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 3 of the 88 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 64 schools with a published figure. Carnegie Mellon University reports $161,265, and the spread from that top figure to the lowest listed median of $47,260 is $114,005.

Job market context in the Northeast

The Bureau of Labor Statistics links Engineering to occupations such as Industrial Engineers, Civil Engineers, and Mechanical Engineers in the Northeast. The median annual wage across those occupations is $124,083, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $97,300. Projections for 2024 to 2034 show about 48,610 openings a year, or about 204 openings a year for every hundred graduates, with more projected openings than graduates. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 6.2% higher. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. These market figures describe the occupations, not the graduate earnings that order the list above.