Best Liberal Arts Colleges for Social Mobility in the South
Updated
Regional list from Best Liberal Arts Colleges for Social Mobility
Best Liberal Arts Colleges for Social Mobility in the South ranks 86 Liberal Arts colleges in the South by median earnings of all students ten years after entry. Schools first had to sit at or above the 60th percentile on Azimuth's mobility pillar; those that qualified are ordered by the school's median earnings of all students ten years after entry, highest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Georgetown University ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $103,494 ten years after entry. Across the listed schools, the figure ranges from $103,494 to $38,924, with a median of $50,868.
Public institutions dominate the list, accounting for 78 of the 86 schools, or 91%. New College of Florida posts the lowest average net price at $7,195.
George Mason University ranks 98th on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 10 years after entry | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Pell share | Mobility percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Georgetown University · Washington, DC | $103,494 | $40,815 | $5,064 | 10.1% | 83rd |
| Georgetown University reports median earnings of $103,494 for its students ten years after entry, and sits at the 83rd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($112,722) | ||||||
| 2 | Emory University · Atlanta, GA | $80,137 | $22,585 | $7,363 | 18.2% | 86th |
| An average net price of $7,363 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with an 86th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index at Emory University. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | ||||||
| 3 | George Mason University · Fairfax, VA | $76,343 | $17,915 | $11,942 | 30.1% | 98th |
| George Mason University, a public university in Fairfax, ranks 3rd on this list and shows median earnings of $76,343 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (321 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($61,100) | ||||||
| 4 | University of Miami · Coral Gables, FL | $75,328 | $37,244 | $15,978 | 14.9% | 76th |
| At University of Miami, the share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants is 15%, alongside median earnings of $75,328 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (29 graduates) | ||||||
| 5 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $75,121 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 25.9% | 99th |
| The University of Texas at Austin posts an average net price of $19,857 and a 99th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (253 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($73,089) | ||||||
| 6 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $72,200 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 20.0% | 95th |
| With a 95th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill reports median earnings of $72,200 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (45 graduates) | ||||||
| 7 | James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA | $69,954 | $23,322 | $11,444 | 17.1% | 93rd |
| James Madison University ranks 7th on this list, and its students' median earnings ten years after entry reach $69,954. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (243 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,026) | ||||||
| 8 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $68,758 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 19.6% | 95th |
| An average net price of $6,382 for families earning under $30,000 is reported at North Carolina State University at Raleigh, which holds a 95th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (31 graduates) | ||||||
| 9 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $68,424 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 14.3% | 71st |
| Texas Christian University shows a 71st percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its students' median earnings ten years after entry are $68,424. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,292) | ||||||
| 10 | Washington College · Chestertown, MD | $65,518 | $27,898 | $17,804 | 22.6% | 82nd |
| The share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants at Washington College is 23%, and the school reports median earnings of $65,518 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) | ||||||
| 11 | The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX | $63,199 | $13,951 | $11,893 | 42.3% | 99th |
| The University of Texas at Arlington, a public university in Arlington, posts median earnings of $63,199 for its students ten years after entry and a 99th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (237 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,975) | ||||||
| 12 | University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus · Norman, OK | $63,126 | $15,300 | $10,509 | 25.0% | 93rd |
| University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus reports an average net price of $15,300 and median earnings of $63,126 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (217 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($65,474) | ||||||
| 13 | Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX | $62,454 | $19,070 | $12,457 | 27.8% | 97th |
| Texas Tech University reports median earnings of $62,454 for all students ten years after entry, and sits at the 97th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (230 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,375) | ||||||
| 14 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $62,377 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 41.6% | 100th |
| A public university in Houston, University of Houston ranks 14th on this list and shows an average net price of $10,929 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($58,450) | ||||||
| 15 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $62,177 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 19.1% | 94th |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia posts median earnings of $62,177 ten years after entry, and 19% of its undergraduates receive Pell Grants. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (119 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,990) | ||||||
| 16 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $61,675 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 23.0% | 97th |
| With an average net price of $11,297, Florida State University ranks 16th on this list and reports median earnings of $61,675 for all students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (65 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($51,587) | ||||||
| 17 | Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD | $61,515 | $17,743 | $6,743 | 25.9% | 83rd |
| Salisbury University reaches the 83rd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its students' median earnings ten years after entry are $61,515. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (45 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,963) | ||||||
| 18 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $61,251 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 26.6% | 97th |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports an average net price of $13,056 for families earning under $30,000, and its median earnings for all students ten years after entry reach $61,251. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,964) | ||||||
| 19 | University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA | $60,613 | $20,667 | $10,304 | 21.1% | 78th |
| Ranking 19th on this list, University of Mary Washington shows a Pell share of 21% and median earnings of $60,613 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (114 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,336) | ||||||
| 20 | Florida International University · Miami, FL | $60,249 | $9,288 | $7,003 | 41.4% | 99th |
| Florida International University sits at the 99th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its average net price is $9,288. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (265 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,960) | ||||||
| 21 | Nova Southeastern University · Fort Lauderdale, FL | $59,209 | $30,371 | $26,603 | 35.8% | 73rd |
| A private nonprofit institution in Fort Lauderdale, Nova Southeastern University reports median earnings of $59,209 for all students ten years after entry and an average net price of $26,603 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (7 graduates) | ||||||
| 22 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $59,025 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 22.5% | 92nd |
| University of Kentucky ranks 22nd on this list, with 22% of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants and median earnings of $59,025 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (51 graduates) | ||||||
| 23 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $58,308 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 32.3% | 99th |
| With an average net price of $5,816 for families earning under $30,000, University of Central Florida reaches the 99th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,862) | ||||||
| 24 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $57,743 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 29.4% | 97th |
| University of South Florida reports median earnings of $57,743 for all students ten years after entry, and its average net price is $9,812. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (239 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($59,587) | ||||||
| 25 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $57,413 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 28.0% | 93rd |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $57,413 ten years after entry and sits at the 93rd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (249 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($52,152) | ||||||
| 26 | The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $57,131 | $10,836 | $7,870 | 44.1% | 98th |
| An average net price of $7,870 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a 44% share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants at The University of Texas at San Antonio. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (138 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,652) | ||||||
| 27 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $57,010 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 38.0% | 98th |
| University of North Texas ranks 27th on this list and posts median earnings of $57,010 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (459 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,562) | ||||||
| 28 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $56,906 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 37.2% | 99th |
| At the 99th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, Texas State University shows an average net price of $16,805. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (157 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,099) | ||||||
| 29 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $56,746 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 33.9% | 95th |
| Florida Atlantic University carries an average net price of $3,022 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $56,746 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (104 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,428) | ||||||
| 30 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $56,544 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 42.0% | 92nd |
| A 42% share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants and median earnings of $56,544 ten years after entry are reported by Texas Woman's University. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (192 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,626) | ||||||
| 31 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $55,939 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 21.6% | 78th |
| West Virginia University ranks 31st on this list with median earnings of $55,939 ten years after entry and an average net price of $15,634. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (150 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($56,132) | ||||||
| 32 | Frostburg State University · Frostburg, MD | $55,493 | $16,715 | $12,129 | 32.2% | 71st |
| Frostburg State University sits at the 71st percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $12,129 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (59 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($53,934) | ||||||
| 33 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $55,146 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 31.8% | 92nd |
| Median earnings of $55,146 ten years after entry and a 32% share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants mark East Carolina University. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (189 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,981) | ||||||
| 34 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $54,501 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 34.0% | 83rd |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham reports an average net price of $18,749 and ranks 34th on this list. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (95 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,714) | ||||||
| 35 | Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX | $54,211 | $16,404 | $12,474 | 41.3% | 96th |
| At the 96th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, Sam Houston State University posts median earnings of $54,211 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (59 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,082) | ||||||
| 36 | University of Louisville · Louisville, KY | $53,899 | $17,988 | $15,138 | 30.6% | 86th |
| University of Louisville shows a 31% share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants and an average net price of $15,138 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,829) | ||||||
| 37 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $53,236 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 36.3% | 95th |
| Georgia Southern University reports median earnings of $53,236 ten years after entry and sits at the 95th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (167 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,137) | ||||||
| 38 | Tarleton State University · Stephenville, TX | $53,040 | $20,783 | $15,574 | 34.4% | 88th |
| Tarleton State University carries an average net price of $15,574 for families earning under $30,000, alongside a Pell share of 34%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (70 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,106) | ||||||
| 39 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $51,836 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 26.4% | 91st |
| Appalachian State University ranks 39th on this list and posts median earnings of $51,836 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (16 graduates) | ||||||
| 40 | St. John's College · Annapolis, MD | $51,584 | $45,597 | $42,528 | 20.1% | 72nd |
| A private nonprofit institution in Annapolis, St. John's College shows an average net price of $45,597 and a Pell share of 20%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (106 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,652) | ||||||
| 41 | Mississippi State University · Mississippi State, MS | $51,513 | $17,595 | $14,332 | 29.3% | 88th |
| Mississippi State University reaches the 88th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $51,513 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (58 graduates) | ||||||
| 42 | The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga · Chattanooga, TN | $51,151 | $14,265 | $9,876 | 32.8% | 73rd |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga reports an average net price of $9,876 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $51,151 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (8 graduates) | ||||||
| 43 | University of Mississippi · University, MS | $50,994 | $13,314 | $8,945 | 21.7% | 89th |
| University of Mississippi ranks 43rd on this list and carries a Pell share of 22%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (84 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($39,871) | ||||||
| 44 | West Texas A & M University · Canyon, TX | $50,741 | $19,487 | $16,525 | 41.1% | 80th |
| West Texas A & M University posts median earnings of $50,741 ten years after entry, with a Pell share of 41%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (173 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,618) | ||||||
| 45 | Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD | $50,698 | $14,985 | $9,585 | 56.5% | 92nd |
| Morgan State University sits at the 92nd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $9,585 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (77 graduates) | ||||||
| 46 | East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX | $50,296 | $11,841 | $9,709 | 40.5% | 91st |
| East Texas A&M University carries an average net price of $11,841 and median earnings of $50,296 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (122 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,846) | ||||||
| 47 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $50,273 | Not reported | Not reported | 42.5% | 74th |
| Athens State University reports a Pell share of 42% and ranks 47th on this list. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (52 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,507) | ||||||
| 48 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $50,220 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 25.2% | 71st |
| Northern Kentucky University shows an average net price of $2,603 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $50,220 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (82 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,322) | ||||||
| 49 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $50,135 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 28.1% | 84th |
| University of North Georgia reports median earnings of $50,135 ten years after entry and an average net price of $9,823. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,699) | ||||||
| 50 | Lamar University · Beaumont, TX | $49,652 | $9,366 | $7,568 | 46.5% | 79th |
| Lamar University sits at the 79th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a Pell share of 46%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (97 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,753) | ||||||
| 51 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $49,361 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 52.3% | 80th |
| Valdosta State University ranks 51st on this list and shows median earnings of $49,361 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (80 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($40,044) | ||||||
| 52 | Delaware State University · Dover, DE | $49,307 | $13,910 | $11,135 | 48.5% | 71st |
| An average net price of $11,135 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies a Pell share of 48% at Delaware State University. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (36 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($55,509) | ||||||
| 53 | Clayton State University · Morrow, GA | $49,179 | $8,365 | $7,405 | 52.2% | 77th |
| Clayton State University posts median earnings of $49,179 ten years after entry, alongside an average net price of $8,365. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (82 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,110) | ||||||
| 54 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $48,587 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 46.2% | 77th |
| At the 77th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of South Carolina-Upstate reports a Pell share of 46%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (69 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,121) | ||||||
| 55 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $48,541 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 31.8% | 90th |
| Middle Tennessee State University ranks 55th on this list and carries an average net price of $9,289 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (93 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($54,747) | ||||||
| 56 | Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN | $48,501 | $14,246 | $9,815 | 30.9% | 88th |
| Median earnings of $48,501 ten years after entry coincide with a Pell share of 31% at Tennessee Technological University. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,846) | ||||||
| 57 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $48,458 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 41.2% | 88th |
| University of Memphis sits at the 88th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $48,458 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (84 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,798) | ||||||
| 58 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $48,351 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 36.5% | 81st |
| An average net price of $18,309 and a Pell share of 36% characterise University of Central Oklahoma, which ranks 58th on this list. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (220 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($49,383) | ||||||
| 59 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $48,160 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 50.2% | 92nd |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro posts median earnings of $48,160 ten years after entry and an average net price of $7,305 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (110 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,146) | ||||||
| 60 | New College of Florida · Sarasota, FL | $48,082 | $7,195 | $3,591 | 33.9% | 81st |
| New College of Florida reports the lowest average net price on the page at $7,195, alongside a Pell share of 34%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (77 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($39,137) | ||||||
| 61 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $47,258 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 26.2% | 72nd |
| Coastal Carolina University reports median earnings of $47,258 for its students ten years after entry, and an average net price of $9,563 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (70 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($38,460) | ||||||
| 62 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $47,089 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 41.5% | 91st |
| A public university in Lafayette, University of Louisiana at Lafayette sits at the 91st percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (297 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,010) | ||||||
| 63 | Northwestern State University of Louisiana · Natchitoches, LA | $47,021 | $13,606 | $11,693 | 35.2% | 71st |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana ranks 63rd on this list, with median earnings of $47,021 ten years after entry and a Pell share of 35%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (117 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($47,652) | ||||||
| 64 | University of Louisiana at Monroe · Monroe, LA | $46,769 | $13,466 | $11,490 | 34.8% | 73rd |
| With an average net price of $13,466, University of Louisiana at Monroe posts median earnings of $46,769 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (60 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,873) | ||||||
| 65 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $46,482 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 33.3% | 84th |
| Southeastern Louisiana University reaches the 84th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports median earnings of $46,482 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (189 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($42,692) | ||||||
| 66 | McNeese State University · Lake Charles, LA | $46,453 | $12,493 | $10,482 | 34.6% | 71st |
| McNeese State University reports an average net price of $10,482 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $46,453 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (112 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,669) | ||||||
| 67 | Marshall University · Huntington, WV | $46,354 | $7,502 | $4,648 | 38.7% | 79th |
| Marshall University carries an average net price of $7,502, and its students earn a median of $46,354 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (171 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,714) | ||||||
| 68 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $45,938 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 38.0% | 80th |
| University of Central Arkansas ranks 68th on this list, with a Pell share of 38% and an average net price of $14,656 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (35 graduates) | ||||||
| 69 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $45,795 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 41.1% | 82nd |
| A public university in Richmond, Eastern Kentucky University sits at the 82nd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (164 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,352) | ||||||
| 70 | Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA | $45,543 | $15,840 | $13,220 | 72.1% | 84th |
| Virginia State University reports a Pell share of 72% and median earnings of $45,543 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($50,015) | ||||||
| 71 | Northeastern State University · Tahlequah, OK | $45,379 | $12,710 | $10,598 | 45.1% | 75th |
| Northeastern State University posts median earnings of $45,379 ten years after entry, and an average net price of $10,598 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (81 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($41,705) | ||||||
| 72 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $45,344 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 64.9% | 84th |
| Winston-Salem State University ranks 72nd on this list, with a Pell share of 65% and median earnings of $45,344 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (37 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($42,020) | ||||||
| 73 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $45,235 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 42.6% | 83rd |
| Jacksonville State University reports median earnings of $45,235 ten years after entry and sits at the 83rd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (106 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($42,864) | ||||||
| 74 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $44,859 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 34.8% | 76th |
| An average net price of $12,433 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies a Pell share of 35% at East Tennessee State University, which ranks 74th on this list. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (94 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,738) | ||||||
| 75 | Liberty University · Lynchburg, VA | $44,813 | $29,357 | $30,667 | 38.3% | 99th |
| Liberty University, a private nonprofit university in Lynchburg, posts median earnings of $44,813 ten years after entry and an average net price of $29,357. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (41 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,257) | ||||||
| 76 | Murray State University · Murray, KY | $44,737 | $9,096 | $6,242 | 33.3% | 74th |
| Murray State University ranks 76th on this list and reports an average net price of $6,242 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (95 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($41,797) | ||||||
| 77 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $44,440 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 52.3% | 90th |
| With a Pell share of 52%, North Carolina A & T State University records median earnings of $44,440 ten years after entry and sits at the 90th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (162 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($45,367) | ||||||
| 78 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $44,301 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 43.5% | 78th |
| Austin Peay State University reports an average net price of $9,735 and median earnings of $44,301 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (134 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($48,177) | ||||||
| 79 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $44,140 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 46.3% | 82nd |
| University of Southern Mississippi ranks 79th on this list, with a Pell share of 46% and an average net price of $19,867 for families earning under $30,000. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (161 graduates) | ||||||
| 80 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $44,030 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 32.4% | 72nd |
| At the 72nd percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of North Carolina Asheville reports median earnings of $44,030 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (22 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($41,796) | ||||||
| 81 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $43,889 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 30.5% | 78th |
| Western Kentucky University posts an average net price of $7,087 for families earning under $30,000 and a Pell share of 30%. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (138 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,583) | ||||||
| 82 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $42,617 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 38.4% | 81st |
| Arkansas State University reports median earnings of $42,617 ten years after entry and an average net price of $12,366. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (201 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,733) | ||||||
| 83 | Alabama A & M University · Normal, AL | $40,628 | $17,621 | $16,500 | 63.0% | 79th |
| With a Pell share of 63%, Alabama A & M University ranks 83rd on this list and records median earnings of $40,628 ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($43,770) | ||||||
| 84 | Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC | $40,144 | $7,892 | $6,233 | 56.6% | 80th |
| Fayetteville State University reports an average net price of $6,233 for families earning under $30,000 and sits at the 80th percentile on Azimuth's mobility index among nonprofit four-year institutions. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (55 graduates) | ||||||
| 85 | Jackson State University · Jackson, MS | $39,060 | $23,836 | $22,869 | 72.3% | 77th |
| Jackson State University ranks 85th on this list, with median earnings of $39,060 for its students ten years after entry. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (48 graduates) | ||||||
| 86 | Texas Southern University · Houston, TX | $38,924 | $16,590 | $16,437 | 72.3% | 87th |
| Texas Southern University reports an average net price of $16,437 for families earning under $30,000, and a 72% share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants. | ||||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($44,953) | ||||||
How this list is ordered
Schools first had to sit at or above the 60th percentile on Azimuth's mobility pillar; those that qualified are ordered by the school's median earnings of all students ten years after entry, highest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The median covers all federally aided students at the institution who were working and not enrolled, measured ten years after entry. The figure does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 86 schools with a published figure. Georgetown University leads Emory University by $23,357 in median earnings ten years after entry, and the spread from Georgetown University to the bottom of the list is $64,570.