Best Biology, General Programs in the West (2026)
Updated
This page lists the 117 Biology, General programs in the West with a reported earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Biology, General graduates four years after completing, highest first. University of the Pacific ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $83,012 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed schools, the median figure is $55,707, with values spanning from $83,012 to $14,935. For 17 of the 117 programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 71 of the listed programs and private nonprofits for 46. University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price, at $3,967.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $83,012 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| University of the Pacific ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $83,012 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Loyola Marymount University · Los Angeles, CA | $80,317 | $48,381 | $32,268 | 45.1% |
| Loyola Marymount University reports an average net price of $48,381 and median earnings of $80,317 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | University of California-Berkeley · Berkeley, CA | $79,163 | $13,481 | $5,311 | 11.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley admits 11% of applicants and its Biology, General graduates earn a median of $79,163 four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $75,913 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| Dominican University of California's Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, alongside median earnings of $75,913 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Westmont College · Santa Barbara, CA | $75,889 | $29,053 | $20,899 | 77.1% |
| Westmont College ranks 1084th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $75,889 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $74,204 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University posts median earnings of $74,204 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $12,278. | |||||
| 7 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $74,010 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay's Biology, General graduates earn a median of $74,010 four years after completing, and the school admits 97% of applicants. | |||||
| 8 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $71,726 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| Median federal debt of $17,600 among Biology, General completers who borrowed coincides with median earnings of $71,726 four years after completing at California State University-Chico. | |||||
| 9 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $70,789 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| Ranked 9th on this list, California State University-San Marcos reports median earnings of $70,789 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $69,854 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| With an admission rate of 31%, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo reports median earnings of $69,854 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $69,440 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| University of San Francisco reports an average net price of $41,431 and median earnings of $69,440 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $68,861 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University's Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $18,010 in federal loans, alongside median earnings of $68,861 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | University of California-Davis · Davis, CA | $68,120 | $14,741 | $9,211 | 41.8% |
| University of California-Davis reports median earnings of $68,120 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,741. | |||||
| 14 | University of Redlands · Redlands, CA | $66,639 | $30,031 | $28,287 | 82.7% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Redlands, University of Redlands admits 83% of applicants and its Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $26,040. | |||||
| 15 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $65,365 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University shows an average net price of $30,999 for families earning under $30,000 and reports median earnings of $65,365 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | University of California-Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA | $65,036 | $17,890 | $8,717 | 65.8% |
| University of California-Santa Cruz ranks 109th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $65,036 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | California Lutheran University · Thousand Oaks, CA | $64,939 | $30,109 | $22,161 | 75.7% |
| California Lutheran University reports median earnings of $64,939 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 59 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 18 | University of California-Santa Barbara · Santa Barbara, CA | $64,520 | $16,109 | $9,231 | 33.0% |
| University of California-Santa Barbara admits 33% of applicants and its Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $14,500. | |||||
| 19 | Chapman University · Orange, CA | $64,461 | $46,555 | $33,559 | 65.4% |
| Chapman University shows an average net price of $46,555 and its Biology, General graduates four years after completing earned a median of $64,461. | |||||
| 20 | University of California-San Diego · La Jolla, CA | $64,437 | $12,470 | $7,525 | 26.7% |
| University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $64,437 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | University of Southern California · Los Angeles, CA | $63,125 | $32,740 | $13,516 | 9.8% |
| Median earnings of $63,125 for Biology, General graduates four years after completing are reported by University of Southern California, and Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median federal debt of $4,618. | |||||
| 22 | Southern Oregon University · Ashland, OR | $63,008 | $16,732 | $11,830 | 88.6% |
| Southern Oregon University shows an average net price of $11,830 for families earning under $30,000 and reports median earnings of $63,008 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | University of Utah · Salt Lake City, UT | $62,950 | $16,200 | $13,123 | 86.0% |
| University of Utah ranks 23rd on this list and its Biology, General graduates four years after completing earned a median of $62,950. | |||||
| 24 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $62,384 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| California State University-Channel Islands admits 95% of applicants and shows an average net price of $9,849. | |||||
| 25 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $62,087 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| University of Nevada-Las Vegas reports $62,087 in median earnings for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,359. | |||||
| 26 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $61,804 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| With an admission rate of 9%, University of California-Los Angeles ranks 22nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 27 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $61,775 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento posts median earnings of $61,775 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, and its Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $14,900 in federal loans. | |||||
| 28 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $61,688 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| An average net price of $11,531 coincides with a rank of 15th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions for California State Polytechnic University-Pomona. | |||||
| 29 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $61,492 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach admits 46% of applicants and reports median earnings of $61,492 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Fort Collins, CO | $60,981 | $21,279 | $13,259 | 88.5% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $60,981 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $60,418 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University shows an average net price of $7,074 for families earning under $30,000, and its Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $18,647 in federal loans. | |||||
| 32 | Rocky Mountain College · Billings, MT | $60,305 | $19,751 | $15,404 | 69.6% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Billings, Rocky Mountain College reports median earnings of $60,305 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $60,014 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University ranks 1161st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $31,495. | |||||
| 34 | Occidental College · Los Angeles, CA | $59,985 | $38,263 | $20,705 | 44.2% |
| Occidental College admits 44% of applicants, and its Biology, General completers who borrowed left with a median of $26,272 in federal loans. | |||||
| 35 | University of San Diego · San Diego, CA | $59,950 | $30,365 | $15,586 | 52.4% |
| University of San Diego reports median earnings of $59,950 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,586 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 36 | University of Nevada-Reno · Reno, NV | $59,715 | $15,927 | $12,674 | 73.7% |
| An admission rate of 74% and a rank of 36th on this list are posted by University of Nevada-Reno. | |||||
| 37 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $59,443 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus reports $59,443 in median earnings for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with 226 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 38 | University of California-Merced · Merced, CA | $59,249 | $11,983 | $7,945 | 90.5% |
| A public university in Merced, University of California-Merced admits 91% of applicants and ranks 121st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 39 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $59,229 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| California State University-Stanislaus posts an average net price of $6,067 and a median federal debt of $14,116 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 40 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $59,100 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| Ranking 7th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, California State University-Northridge shows median earnings of $59,100 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | University of La Verne · La Verne, CA | $58,897 | $20,161 | $20,151 | 71.2% |
| University of La Verne, a private nonprofit institution, reports an average net price of $20,151 for families earning under $30,000 alongside median earnings of $58,897 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $58,885 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left California State University-Bakersfield with a median of $16,600 in federal loans, and the school's admission rate stands at 94%. | |||||
| 43 | Colorado State University Pueblo · Pueblo, CO | $58,607 | $10,051 | $9,374 | 94.9% |
| Colorado State University Pueblo ranks 43rd on this list, with median earnings of $58,607 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | $58,479 | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| With an admission rate of 97%, University of Wyoming reports a median federal debt of $15,721 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 45 | University of California-Riverside · Riverside, CA | $58,339 | $14,304 | $8,852 | 76.4% |
| University of California-Riverside posts median earnings of $58,339 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, drawing from a cohort of 639 graduates. | |||||
| 46 | Seattle University · Seattle, WA | $58,242 | $34,662 | $22,896 | 76.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Seattle, Seattle University reports an average net price of $22,896 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 671st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 47 | University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus · Denver, CO | $58,231 | $11,900 | $6,743 | 74.7% |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus admits 75% of applicants and reports median earnings of $58,231 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | University of Arizona · Tucson, AZ | $58,119 | $16,674 | $13,353 | 86.1% |
| Ranking 75th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of Arizona shows a median federal debt of $21,500 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 49 | University of Portland · Portland, OR | $58,051 | $28,210 | $20,070 | 89.2% |
| University of Portland, a private nonprofit university in Portland, reports median earnings of $58,051 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 50 | Metropolitan State University of Denver · Denver, CO | $57,920 | $15,327 | $12,481 | 98.8% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver ranks 50th on this list and posts an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 51 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $56,799 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| With an average net price of $2,681 for families earning under $30,000, California State University-San Bernardino carries a median federal debt of $15,391 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 52 | Adams State University · Alamosa, CO | $56,467 | $12,980 | $9,947 | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Adams State University with a median of $19,500 in federal loans, and the school reports an average net price of $12,980. | |||||
| 53 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $56,345 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University reports median earnings of $56,345 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, and ranks 199th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 54 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $56,273 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| University of California-Irvine admits 29% of applicants and reports a median federal debt of $15,526 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 55 | Central Washington University · Ellensburg, WA | $56,154 | $18,476 | $11,846 | 90.6% |
| Central Washington University ranks 55th on this list, with median earnings of $56,154 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $56,083 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University carries an average net price of $9,547 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 316th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 57 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $56,037 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| Arizona State University Campus Immersion reports median earnings of $56,037 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, from a cohort of 957 graduates. | |||||
| 58 | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Arcata, CA | $55,707 | $13,171 | $8,483 | 98.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt carries a median federal debt of $19,875 among Biology, General completers who borrowed and admits 98% of applicants. | |||||
| 59 | Gonzaga University · Spokane, WA | $55,707 | $35,119 | $20,833 | 81.7% |
| Gonzaga University, a private nonprofit university in Spokane, reports an average net price of $35,119 and median earnings of $55,707 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $55,654 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay posts median earnings of $55,654 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, and ranks 134th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 61 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $55,446 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University ranks 61st on this list, with median earnings of $55,446 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 62 | Regis University · Denver, CO | $55,356 | $18,397 | $13,713 | 86.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Denver, Regis University posts an admission rate of 86% and a median federal debt of $25,750 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 63 | University of Idaho · Moscow, ID | $55,147 | $14,831 | $11,270 | 75.5% |
| University of Idaho reports an average net price of $14,831 and median earnings of $55,147 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | Portland State University · Portland, OR | $54,934 | $9,552 | $7,655 | 90.9% |
| Portland State University ranks 135th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports $54,934 in median earnings for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs · Colorado Springs, CO | $54,639 | $15,788 | $12,065 | 97.4% |
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs admits 97% of applicants and reports median earnings of $54,639 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | University of Denver · Denver, CO | $54,513 | $36,131 | $20,097 | 77.8% |
| Median federal debt among Biology, General completers who borrowed is $20,500 at University of Denver, which ranks 66th on this list and carries an average net price of $36,131. | |||||
| 67 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $54,405 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills reports median earnings of $54,405 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $7,303 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 68 | University of Hawaii at Hilo · Hilo, HI | $54,200 | $11,856 | $8,983 | 60.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Hilo ranks 68th on this list, with an admission rate of 61% and a median federal debt of $22,000 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 69 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $53,908 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| California State University-Los Angeles posts median earnings of $53,908 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $3,967. | |||||
| 70 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $53,470 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado admits 86% of applicants and reports a median federal debt of $22,598 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 71 | University of Alaska Anchorage · Anchorage, AK | $53,306 | $15,301 | $11,582 | Not reported |
| Median earnings of $53,306 four years after completing place University of Alaska Anchorage 71st on this list, alongside a school-wide median federal debt of $20,210 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 72 | Pacific University · Forest Grove, OR | $53,092 | $35,273 | $23,318 | 89.6% |
| Pacific University reports an average net price of $35,273 and median earnings of $53,092 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $53,077 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| Median earnings of $53,077 for Pacific Lutheran University Biology, General graduates four years after completing sit below the list median of $55,707. | |||||
| 74 | University of Puget Sound · Tacoma, WA | $52,645 | $38,394 | $23,643 | 72.3% |
| University of Puget Sound has a median federal debt of $24,309 among Biology, General completers who borrowed and reports earnings of $52,645 four years after completing. | |||||
| 75 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $52,567 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| A public university in Las Cruces, New Mexico State University-Main Campus ranks 75th on this list and admits 89% of applicants. | |||||
| 76 | George Fox University · Newberg, OR | $52,264 | $31,679 | $22,871 | 93.5% |
| George Fox University posted median earnings of $52,264 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with 36 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 77 | Idaho State University · Pocatello, ID | $52,171 | $12,193 | $10,593 | Not reported |
| An average net price of $12,193 at Idaho State University coincides with median earnings of $52,171 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $52,118 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| With an admission rate of 85%, California Baptist University reports median earnings of $52,118 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 79 | University of New Mexico-Main Campus · Albuquerque, NM | $51,987 | $15,489 | $11,938 | 95.2% |
| University of New Mexico-Main Campus has a median federal debt of $17,251 among Biology, General completers who borrowed and reports earnings of $51,987 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus · Portales, NM | $51,496 | $4,904 | $3,663 | 91.7% |
| Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus ranks 80th on this list and shows an average net price of $3,663 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 81 | University of Oregon · Eugene, OR | $51,459 | $22,182 | $15,909 | 88.3% |
| Ranks 81st on this list, University of Oregon reports median earnings of $51,459 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 82 | Lewis-Clark State College · Lewiston, ID | $51,290 | $15,635 | $13,080 | 87.7% |
| Lewis-Clark State College graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $18,500 in federal loans, while its Biology, General graduates earned $51,290 four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Western Colorado University · Gunnison, CO | $50,954 | $16,425 | $11,490 | 99.7% |
| Admitting 100% of applicants, Western Colorado University reports median earnings of $50,954 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 84 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $50,728 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno ranks 26th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $50,728 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $50,711 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| Montana State University, a public university in Bozeman, reports median earnings of $50,711 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 83. | |||||
| 86 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $50,027 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| Western Washington University admits 93% of applicants and shows median federal debt of $16,950 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 87 | Linfield University · Mcminnville, OR | $49,714 | $26,536 | $20,059 | 85.2% |
| Linfield University ranks 546th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Biology, General graduates posted median earnings of $49,714 four years after completing. | |||||
| 88 | Boise State University · Boise, ID | $49,570 | $21,610 | $18,165 | 87.2% |
| Boise State University reports an average net price of $21,610 and median earnings of $49,570 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Lewis & Clark College · Portland, OR | $49,503 | $36,013 | $15,962 | 78.5% |
| Lewis & Clark College posts an average net price of $15,962 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $49,503 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | Hawaii Pacific University · Honolulu, HI | $49,335 | $29,657 | $25,758 | 85.9% |
| Hawaii Pacific University shows median federal debt of $28,438 among Biology, General completers who borrowed, and its graduates earned a median of $49,335 four years after completing. | |||||
| 91 | New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology · Socorro, NM | $48,211 | $9,873 | $5,136 | 44.5% |
| New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology reports an average net price of $9,873 and a school-wide median federal debt of $19,085 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 92 | Oregon State University · Corvallis, OR | $47,221 | $19,604 | $12,107 | 77.3% |
| Oregon State University ranks 126th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $47,221 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 93 | The College of Idaho · Caldwell, ID | $47,149 | $19,481 | $14,026 | 49.1% |
| The College of Idaho admits 49% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,149 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 94 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $45,307 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa shows an average net price of $10,675 for families earning under $30,000, and its Biology, General graduates earned a median of $45,307 four years after completing. | |||||
| 95 | Western Oregon University · Monmouth, OR | $45,268 | $17,237 | $15,575 | 98.1% |
| Western Oregon University reports median federal debt of $25,895 among Biology, General completers who borrowed, alongside median earnings of $45,268 four years after completing. | |||||
| 96 | Willamette University · Salem, OR | $45,197 | $25,121 | $16,182 | 77.1% |
| Willamette University ranks 1311th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Biology, General graduates posted median earnings of $45,197 four years after completing. | |||||
| 97 | University of Alaska Fairbanks · Fairbanks, AK | $41,862 | $10,892 | $7,992 | Not reported |
| University of Alaska Fairbanks reports median earnings of $41,862 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,892. | |||||
| 98 | Fort Lewis College · Durango, CO | $41,694 | $17,296 | $18,622 | 77.3% |
| Fort Lewis College admits 77% of applicants, and median federal debt of $17,653 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 99 | Saint Mary's College of California · Moraga, CA | $41,565 | $30,378 | $19,462 | 86.5% |
| Saint Mary's College of California, a private nonprofit university in Moraga, ranks 99th on this list with median earnings of $41,565 four years after completing. | |||||
| 100 | The University of Montana · Missoula, MT | $37,771 | $16,784 | $13,960 | 95.9% |
| The University of Montana posts an admission rate of 96% and its Biology, General graduates four years after completing earned a median of $37,771. | |||||
| 101 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $35,060 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University ranks 23rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $13,760. | |||||
| 102 | Santa Clara University · Santa Clara, CA | $34,526 | $50,062 | $22,985 | 48.0% |
| Santa Clara University reports median earnings of $34,526 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $22,985 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 103 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $33,281 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University admits 88% of applicants and its Biology, General graduates four years after completing earned a median of $33,281. | |||||
| 104 | Carroll College · Helena, MT | $32,530 | $23,960 | $17,072 | 70.9% |
| Carroll College ranks 104th on this list, and median federal debt of $27,000 among Biology, General completers who borrowed. | |||||
| 105 | Westminster University · Salt Lake City, UT | $31,848 | $27,094 | $22,972 | 66.6% |
| Westminster University reports an average net price of $27,094 and median earnings of $31,848 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 106 | Oregon Institute of Technology · Klamath Falls, OR | $29,685 | $15,706 | $9,085 | 95.0% |
| Oregon Institute of Technology admits 95% of applicants and ranks 283rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 107 | Chaminade University of Honolulu · Honolulu, HI | $29,685 | $28,856 | $31,589 | 91.4% |
| Chaminade University of Honolulu reports median earnings of $29,685 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $31,589 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 108 | University of Providence · Great Falls, MT | $28,960 | $17,649 | $14,257 | 50.3% |
| University of Providence admits 50% of applicants and its Biology, General graduates four years after completing earned a median of $28,960. | |||||
| 109 | Whitworth University · Spokane, WA | $28,381 | $26,534 | $16,788 | 89.8% |
| Whitworth University reports median earnings of $28,381 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing, with 27 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 110 | Saint Martin's University · Lacey, WA | $28,055 | $28,119 | $22,810 | 89.8% |
| Admitting 90% of applicants, Saint Martin's University posts an average net price of $28,119 alongside median earnings of $28,055 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 111 | Reed College · Portland, OR | $26,739 | $33,013 | $12,674 | 24.6% |
| Reed College ranks 964th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows median earnings of $26,739 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 112 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $26,353 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| With an average net price of $21,413, Mount Saint Mary's University reports median earnings of $26,353 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 113 | Stanford University · Stanford, CA | $25,194 | $13,807 | -$2,536* | 3.6% |
| Stanford University admits 4% of applicants and reports median earnings of $25,194 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 114 | Whitman College · Walla Walla, WA | $22,999 | $33,313 | $13,567 | 38.2% |
| Whitman College reports an average net price of $13,567 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $22,999 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 115 | La Sierra University · Riverside, CA | $22,771 | $45,566 | $44,988 | 91.5% |
| La Sierra University ranks 1420th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $22,771 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 116 | Northwest University · Kirkland, WA | $21,508 | $22,288 | $17,996 | 83.2% |
| Northwest University admits 83% of applicants and reports median earnings of $21,508 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 117 | Whittier College · Whittier, CA | $14,935 | $25,757 | $21,718 | 80.8% |
| Whittier College reports an average net price of $25,757 and median earnings of $14,935 for its Biology, General graduates four years after completing. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Biology, General graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the West appear. The figures cover federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 17 of the 117 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap between first-ranked University of the Pacific and second-ranked Loyola Marymount University is $2,695. The median across the list is $55,707, with a spread of $68,077 from top to bottom.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in the West
- Best Biology, General Programs in the Midwest
- Best Biology, General Programs in the South
- Biology, General Programs in the Northeast
- Biological Sciences Colleges in the West for Social Mobility