Best Sociology Programs in the Midwest (2026)
Updated
Part of Best Social Sciences Colleges in the Midwest
Regional list from Best Sociology Programs in the United States
This page ranks 117 Sociology programs in the Midwest by median earnings of Sociology graduates four years after completing. Northwestern University leads the list with median earnings of $75,267 for its graduates four years after completing.
The figures span from $75,267 to $20,140, with a median of $49,166 across the listed schools. For 23 of the 117 programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions account for 62% of the list, with 73 public and 44 private nonprofit schools represented. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor ranks 16th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Indiana University-Kokomo posts the lowest average net price, at $3,968.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $75,267 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| Northwestern University reports median earnings of $75,267 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 8%. | |||||
| 2 | University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, IN | $69,704 | $26,780 | $7,244 | 11.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Notre Dame left with a median of $19,000 in federal loans, and the school ranks 119th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 3 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor · Ann Arbor, MI | $63,419 | $13,138 | $1,043 | 15.6% |
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, a public university in Ann Arbor, posts median earnings of $63,419 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Michigan State University · East Lansing, MI | $62,204 | $19,680 | $7,068 | 84.8% |
| Michigan State University admits 85% of applicants and reports an average net price of $19,680. | |||||
| 5 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $61,429 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago shows median earnings of $61,429 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 40 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 6 | Miami University-Oxford · Oxford, OH | $61,149 | $28,384 | $16,015 | 75.4% |
| An average net price of $16,015 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $61,149 for Sociology graduates at Miami University-Oxford four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Franklin College · Franklin, IN | $58,827 | $22,855 | $14,790 | 69.8% |
| Franklin College ranks 7th on this list and reports a school-wide median federal debt of $27,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 8 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $58,023 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Northern Illinois University posts median earnings of $58,023 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and ranks 116th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 9 | University of Wisconsin-Madison · Madison, WI | $58,007 | $17,354 | $4,200 | 45.2% |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison admits 45% of applicants and reports median earnings of $58,007 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | Augustana College · Rock Island, IL | $57,943 | $22,736 | $15,787 | 62.7% |
| Augustana College reports an average net price of $22,736 and a school-wide median federal debt of $27,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 11 | Cleveland State University · Cleveland, OH | $57,211 | $14,764 | $11,958 | 91.3% |
| Cleveland State University shows median earnings of $57,211 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 91%. | |||||
| 12 | John Carroll University · University Heights, OH | $57,173 | $28,746 | $19,945 | 80.9% |
| John Carroll University reports an average net price of $19,945 for families earning under $30,000 and a school-wide median federal debt of $26,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 13 | Marquette University · Milwaukee, WI | $57,131 | $31,487 | $22,269 | 81.3% |
| Marquette University reports $57,131 in median earnings for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,269 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | University of Minnesota-Twin Cities · Minneapolis, MN | $56,690 | $16,778 | $6,642 | 79.8% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities admits 80% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $56,690 four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | Indiana University-Bloomington · Bloomington, IN | $56,591 | $16,264 | $6,324 | 78.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Indiana University-Bloomington with a median of $19,509 in federal loans, and the school ranks 96th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 16 | North Central College · Naperville, IL | $56,281 | $21,044 | $12,507 | 77.3% |
| North Central College ranks 16th on this list, with median earnings of $56,281 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | The College of Wooster · Wooster, OH | $56,115 | $23,458 | $12,512 | 59.5% |
| A private nonprofit university in Wooster, The College of Wooster has an average net price of $23,458 and a 17-graduate earnings cohort for Sociology. | |||||
| 18 | North Dakota State University-Main Campus · Fargo, ND | $56,040 | $15,543 | $9,370 | 95.0% |
| North Dakota State University-Main Campus posts a 95% admission rate and median earnings of $56,040 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Walsh University · North Canton, OH | $55,867 | $20,493 | $20,458 | 70.7% |
| Walsh University reports an average net price of $20,458 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $55,867 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Iowa State University · Ames, IA | $55,714 | $18,589 | $10,582 | 88.7% |
| Iowa State University ranks 194th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a 31-graduate earnings cohort for Sociology. | |||||
| 21 | Wayne State University · Detroit, MI | $55,499 | $12,766 | $11,090 | 81.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Wayne State University with a median of $21,250 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology graduates earn a median of $55,499 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $55,393 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign admits 42% of applicants and reports an average net price of $2,038 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 23 | University of Missouri-Columbia · Columbia, MO | $55,098 | $20,268 | $13,841 | 78.5% |
| With a 39-graduate earnings cohort for Sociology, University of Missouri-Columbia reports median earnings of $55,098 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Purdue University-Main Campus · West Lafayette, IN | $55,072 | $14,600 | $5,098 | 49.9% |
| Purdue University-Main Campus reports a 130-graduate earnings cohort for Sociology, and its graduates earn a median of $55,072 four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Dominican University · River Forest, IL | $54,686 | $11,745 | $9,759 | 90.3% |
| Dominican University, a private nonprofit university in River Forest, reports median earnings of $54,686 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 24 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 26 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $54,464 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Iowa left with a median of $22,500 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earned a median of $54,464 four years after graduating. | |||||
| 27 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $53,962 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $10,974 alongside median earnings of $53,962 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $53,747 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| With an admission rate of 75%, Northeastern Illinois University admits 75% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $53,747 four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | University of Michigan-Flint · Flint, MI | $53,484 | $7,007 | $1,517 | 70.5% |
| University of Michigan-Flint posts an average net price of $1,517 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $53,484 four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Beloit College · Beloit, WI | $53,351 | $21,526 | $15,176 | 63.0% |
| Beloit College ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $53,351 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and a school-wide median federal debt of $25,738 across all borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 31 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $53,198 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| University of Northern Iowa reports an average net price of $15,901 and median earnings of $53,198 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL | $53,075 | $24,185 | $17,892 | 73.6% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Elmhurst, Elmhurst University shows median earnings of $53,075 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 74%. | |||||
| 33 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $52,791 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| DePaul University graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $23,168 in federal loans, while its Sociology completers earned a median of $52,791 four years after graduating. | |||||
| 34 | Truman State University · Kirksville, MO | $52,584 | $12,780 | $6,046 | 83.8% |
| Truman State University ranks 678th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $6,046 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 35 | Saint Cloud State University · Saint Cloud, MN | $52,455 | $13,529 | $8,909 | 94.8% |
| With an admission rate of 95%, Saint Cloud State University admits 95% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $52,455 four years after completing. | |||||
| 36 | McKendree University · Lebanon, IL | $52,428 | $24,717 | $21,928 | 71.7% |
| McKendree University reports median earnings of $52,428 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 19 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 37 | Central College · Pella, IA | $51,996 | $23,377 | $16,231 | 86.2% |
| Central College, a private nonprofit institution in Pella, reports median earnings of $51,996 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 17 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 38 | South Dakota State University · Brookings, SD | $51,910 | $19,841 | $14,266 | 98.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at South Dakota State University left with a median of $23,250 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earn a median of $51,910 four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | Western Michigan University · Kalamazoo, MI | $51,835 | $15,273 | $5,263 | 84.6% |
| Western Michigan University ranks 39th on this list and posts an average net price of $5,263 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Minnesota State University-Mankato · Mankato, MN | $51,618 | $19,139 | $12,339 | 88.4% |
| With an admission rate of 88%, Minnesota State University-Mankato admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $51,618 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Chicago State University · Chicago, IL | $51,485 | $12,335 | $9,073 | 43.3% |
| Chicago State University sits 633rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $51,485 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $51,465 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville reports an average net price of $14,889 and median earnings of $51,465 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Ohio University-Main Campus · Athens, OH | $51,312 | $21,637 | $15,673 | 85.0% |
| Ohio University-Main Campus shows a median of $21,056 in federal loans across all of the school's borrowers who completed, alongside median earnings of $51,312 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | Kansas State University · Manhattan, KS | $51,237 | $19,406 | $13,178 | 81.7% |
| Kansas State University ranks 44th on this list, with 55 graduates in the earnings cohort and a median of $51,237 four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $51,000 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University posts an average net price of $11,568 for families earning under $30,000 and sits 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 46 | University of Wisconsin-Whitewater · Whitewater, WI | $50,827 | $14,158 | $8,440 | 85.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater reports median earnings of $50,827 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
| 47 | Northern State University · Aberdeen, SD | $50,765 | $15,812 | $10,762 | 93.0% |
| Northern State University shows a median of $22,320 in federal loans across all of the school's borrowers who completed, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $50,765 four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | University of Wisconsin-La Crosse · La Crosse, WI | $50,737 | $16,210 | $8,224 | 75.5% |
| University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ranks 48th on this list and reports an average net price of $16,210. | |||||
| 49 | Ohio State University-Main Campus · Columbus, OH | $50,457 | $17,339 | $4,885 | 60.6% |
| Ohio State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $50,457 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $4,885 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 50 | Hope College · Holland, MI | $50,222 | $27,182 | $17,606 | 79.2% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Holland, Hope College ranks 50th on this list and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $26,800 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 51 | University of Minnesota-Duluth · Duluth, MN | $50,174 | $18,743 | $7,256 | 88.8% |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth admits 89% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $50,174 four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | University of Cincinnati-Main Campus · Cincinnati, OH | $50,165 | $25,648 | $17,974 | 85.3% |
| With an Azimuth composite rank of 250th among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of Cincinnati-Main Campus posts median earnings of $50,165 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $50,080 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University reports an average net price of $12,937 and median earnings of $50,080 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | University of Missouri-Kansas City · Kansas City, MO | $49,936 | $13,310 | $10,576 | 72.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Missouri-Kansas City left with a median of $18,750 in federal loans, while the Sociology program reports median earnings of $49,936 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Black Hills State University · Spearfish, SD | $49,833 | $15,911 | $11,863 | 96.3% |
| Black Hills State University ranks 55th on this list, with an admission rate of 96% and median earnings of $49,833 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, ND | $49,665 | $18,551 | $13,126 | 76.9% |
| University of North Dakota reports median earnings of $49,665 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,126 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 57 | Columbia College · Columbia, MO | $49,542 | $22,715 | $23,967 | Not reported |
| A private nonprofit institution in Columbia, Columbia College shows a school-wide median federal debt of $23,879 across all of its borrowers who completed and an average net price of $22,715. | |||||
| 58 | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee · Milwaukee, WI | $49,486 | $15,014 | $10,329 | 90.7% |
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee admits 91% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $49,486 four years after completing. | |||||
| 59 | Winona State University · Winona, MN | $49,166 | $17,503 | $10,224 | 75.5% |
| With an Azimuth composite rank of 579th among nonprofit four-year institutions, Winona State University posts median earnings of $49,166 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $48,925 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University reports an average net price of $9,828 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $48,925 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | Purdue University Northwest · Hammond, IN | $48,830 | $6,079 | $1,432 | 72.4% |
| Purdue University Northwest reports median earnings of $48,830 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 19 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 62 | Capital University · Columbus, OH | $48,785 | $22,576 | $19,062 | 70.2% |
| A private nonprofit university in Columbus, Capital University ranks 62nd on this list and shows an admission rate of 70%. | |||||
| 63 | Doane University · Crete, NE | $48,705 | $26,364 | $21,129 | 98.0% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Doane University left with a median of $25,000 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earned a median of $48,705 four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | Grand Valley State University · Allendale, MI | $48,664 | $16,317 | $12,272 | 83.0% |
| Grand Valley State University posts an average net price of $16,317 and median earnings of $48,664 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point · Stevens Point, WI | $48,451 | $14,559 | $8,833 | 91.8% |
| With 58 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point reports median earnings of $48,451 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | University of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $48,432 | $14,860 | -$1,264* | 4.5% |
| University of Chicago admits 4% of applicants and ranks 38th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 67 | Central Michigan University · Mount Pleasant, MI | $48,389 | $17,597 | $12,185 | 89.8% |
| Central Michigan University ranks 67th on this list, with median earnings of $48,389 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $17,597. | |||||
| 68 | Saint Norbert College · De Pere, WI | $48,357 | $26,172 | $19,721 | 85.7% |
| A private nonprofit college in De Pere, Saint Norbert College shows median earnings of $48,357 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | University of Kansas · Lawrence, KS | $48,146 | $18,059 | $12,544 | 93.5% |
| University of Kansas reports an average net price of $18,059 and median earnings of $48,146 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | Oakland University · Rochester Hills, MI | $47,873 | $9,120 | $4,422 | 87.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Oakland University left with a median of $22,750 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earned a median of $47,873 four years after completing. | |||||
| 71 | University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE | $47,763 | $13,441 | $10,534 | 87.0% |
| University of Nebraska at Omaha ranks 186th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,763 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 72 | University of Dayton · Dayton, OH | $47,745 | $29,533 | $21,736 | 65.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Dayton left with a median of $23,250 in federal loans, alongside median earnings of $47,745 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Hamline University · Saint Paul, MN | $46,877 | $20,744 | $15,371 | 87.6% |
| Hamline University reports median earnings of $46,877 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $20,744. | |||||
| 74 | Minnesota State University Moorhead · Moorhead, MN | $46,439 | $17,997 | $11,129 | 58.8% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead admits 59% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $46,439 four years after completing. | |||||
| 75 | University of Wisconsin-Parkside · Kenosha, WI | $46,005 | $11,772 | $7,425 | 75.4% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left University of Wisconsin-Parkside with a median of $20,492 in federal loans, while its Sociology completers report median earnings of $46,005 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | University of Central Missouri · Warrensburg, MO | $45,862 | $14,462 | $10,965 | 63.8% |
| University of Central Missouri ranks 76th on this list and posts an average net price of $10,965 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 77 | University of Wisconsin-River Falls · River Falls, WI | $45,741 | $14,054 | $8,472 | 81.7% |
| An average net price of $8,472 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a Sociology earnings cohort of 26 graduates at University of Wisconsin-River Falls. | |||||
| 78 | University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE | $45,674 | $17,747 | $12,751 | 87.5% |
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln reports median earnings of $45,674 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 87%. | |||||
| 79 | Emporia State University · Emporia, KS | $45,661 | $16,261 | $11,452 | 97.7% |
| Emporia State University admits 98% of applicants and its Sociology completers earn a median of $45,661 four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Indiana University-Southeast · New Albany, IN | $45,610 | $7,888 | $3,782 | 84.5% |
| Indiana University-Southeast carries an average net price of $3,782 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $45,610 four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | Wittenberg University · Springfield, OH | $44,809 | $18,649 | $17,609 | 72.4% |
| Wittenberg University ranks 1175th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $44,809 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 82 | Fort Hays State University · Hays, KS | $44,405 | $12,569 | $7,661 | 90.3% |
| Fort Hays State University reports a Sociology earnings cohort of 38 graduates and a median of $44,405 four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Wright State University-Main Campus · Dayton, OH | $44,227 | $15,415 | $11,952 | 96.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left Wright State University-Main Campus with a median of $22,750 in federal loans, and its Sociology completers earn a median of $44,227 four years after completing. | |||||
| 84 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $43,798 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| Bradley University posts an average net price of $17,269 for families earning under $30,000, with median earnings of $43,798 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | Indiana University-Indianapolis · Indianapolis, IN | $43,678 | $11,668 | $5,701 | 76.4% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis reports median earnings of $43,678 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,668. | |||||
| 86 | Shawnee State University · Portsmouth, OH | $43,602 | $14,381 | $12,310 | Not reported |
| The median federal debt across all of Shawnee State University's borrowers who completed is $23,000, and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $43,602 four years after completing. | |||||
| 87 | Missouri State University-Springfield · Springfield, MO | $43,425 | $17,613 | $13,718 | 90.5% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield admits 91% of applicants and ranks 589th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 88 | Wichita State University · Wichita, KS | $42,450 | $13,194 | $9,734 | 94.0% |
| Wichita State University ranks 88th on this list, with median earnings of $42,450 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | Eastern Michigan University · Ypsilanti, MI | $41,831 | $15,407 | $13,250 | 79.6% |
| Eastern Michigan University posts an average net price of $13,250 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $41,831 four years after completing. | |||||
| 90 | Missouri Southern State University · Joplin, MO | $40,957 | $12,007 | $9,759 | 97.0% |
| Missouri Southern State University reports median earnings of $40,957 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 13 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 91 | Kent State University at Kent · Kent, OH | $40,217 | $20,787 | $15,280 | 86.3% |
| Kent State University at Kent ranks 415th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $40,217 four years after completing. | |||||
| 92 | University of Missouri-St Louis · Saint Louis, MO | $39,878 | $15,071 | $13,031 | 62.7% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis admits 63% of applicants, and the median federal debt across all of its borrowers who completed is $20,000. | |||||
| 93 | Hanover College · Hanover, IN | $39,729 | $21,829 | $16,832 | 83.7% |
| Hanover College, a private nonprofit institution, reports median earnings of $39,729 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 94 | Hiram College · Hiram, OH | $39,277 | $21,058 | $16,550 | 93.5% |
| Hiram College posts an average net price of $21,058, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $39,277 four years after completing. | |||||
| 95 | Ball State University · Muncie, IN | $38,857 | $14,940 | $7,834 | 85.5% |
| Ball State University reports median earnings of $38,857 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $7,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 96 | Bowling Green State University-Main Campus · Bowling Green, OH | $38,346 | $24,022 | $18,396 | 81.0% |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus ranks 96th on this list, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $38,346 four years after completing. | |||||
| 97 | Indiana University-Kokomo · Kokomo, IN | $37,208 | $3,968 | -$583* | 86.5% |
| Indiana University-Kokomo carries the lowest average net price on this list at $3,968 and reports median earnings of $37,208 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 98 | Illinois Wesleyan University · Bloomington, IL | $36,674 | $28,199 | $17,732 | 39.3% |
| Illinois Wesleyan University admits 39% of applicants and shows an average net price of $17,732 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 99 | University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Eau Claire, WI | $36,421 | $16,550 | $10,270 | 82.3% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire reports median federal debt of $20,909 across all of its borrowers who completed, alongside median earnings of $36,421 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 100 | DePauw University · Greencastle, IN | $36,312 | $22,264 | $11,820 | 57.2% |
| DePauw University ranks 100th on this list and posts an average net price of $22,264. | |||||
| 101 | Carthage College · Kenosha, WI | $36,134 | $26,565 | $23,293 | 87.1% |
| With an admission rate of 87%, Carthage College reports median earnings of $36,134 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 102 | Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL | $35,600 | $20,194 | $18,018 | 97.2% |
| Roosevelt University ranks 699th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $18,018 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 103 | Grinnell College · Grinnell, IA | $33,993 | $17,648 | $9,970 | 14.5% |
| Grinnell College admits 15% of applicants and reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 104 | Augsburg University · Minneapolis, MN | $33,993 | $23,873 | $21,318 | 82.0% |
| Augsburg University ranks 361st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts an average net price of $23,873. | |||||
| 105 | Gustavus Adolphus College · Saint Peter, MN | $33,993 | $22,900 | $12,015 | 61.0% |
| With an admission rate of 61%, Gustavus Adolphus College shows an average net price of $12,015 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 106 | Drake University · Des Moines, IA | $33,993 | $29,127 | $25,824 | 63.9% |
| Drake University reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and carries an average net price of $29,127. | |||||
| 107 | Simpson College · Indianola, IA | $32,925 | $21,936 | $17,941 | 86.2% |
| Simpson College ranks 1042nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $32,925 four years after completing. | |||||
| 108 | Southwest Minnesota State University · Marshall, MN | $32,925 | $15,291 | $10,559 | 62.2% |
| Southwest Minnesota State University shows an average net price of $10,559 for families earning under $30,000 and reports median earnings of $32,925 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 109 | Augustana University · Sioux Falls, SD | $32,569 | $23,894 | $18,746 | 67.8% |
| Augustana University reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 110 | Saint Ambrose University · Davenport, IA | $32,382 | $24,691 | $22,037 | 77.3% |
| Saint Ambrose University has an admission rate of 77% and carries an average net price of $24,691. | |||||
| 111 | Hastings College · Hastings, NE | $32,382 | $24,452 | $21,646 | 71.7% |
| Hastings College ranks 1374th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows an average net price of $21,646 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 112 | Coe College · Cedar Rapids, IA | $30,988 | $18,745 | $11,479 | 64.0% |
| Coe College posts median earnings of $30,988 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 64%. | |||||
| 113 | University of Akron Main Campus · Akron, OH | $30,228 | $13,946 | $10,413 | 59.7% |
| University of Akron Main Campus reports an average net price of $13,946 and median earnings of $30,228 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 114 | Calvin University · Grand Rapids, MI | $28,598 | $22,992 | $19,281 | 70.9% |
| Calvin University ranks 114th on this list, with median earnings of $28,598 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 115 | Oberlin College · Oberlin, OH | $28,236 | $38,645 | $18,774 | 34.2% |
| Oberlin College has an admission rate of 34% and reports an average net price of $18,774 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 116 | Saginaw Valley State University · University Center, MI | $25,596 | $10,775 | $9,844 | 72.1% |
| Saginaw Valley State University carries an average net price of $10,775 and ranks 360th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 117 | Albion College · Albion, MI | $20,140 | $14,301 | $10,036 | 80.7% |
| Albion College reports median earnings of $20,140 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 11 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Sociology graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the Midwest appear. The figure captures federally aided completers of a Sociology program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 23 of the 117 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The gap from Northwestern University to University of Notre Dame is $5,563, and the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $55,127.