Best Sociology Programs in the South (2026)
Updated
Regional list from Best Sociology Programs in the United States
This page ranks 168 Sociology programs in the South by the median earnings of Sociology graduates four years after completing. William & Mary ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $87,655 for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed schools, the median earnings figure is $45,998, and the range stretches from $87,655 to $20,824.
Public institutions account for 75% of the programs on the list. The University of Texas at Arlington ranks 8th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, the best showing on the page.
Texas A & M International University posts the lowest average net price, at $3,637.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Program Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | William & Mary · Williamsburg, VA | $87,655 | $19,096 | $3,106 | 34.1% |
| William & Mary ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $87,655 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Vanderbilt University · Nashville, TN | $83,649 | $15,846 | $3,414 | 5.9% |
| A private nonprofit in Nashville, Vanderbilt University admits 6% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $83,649 four years after completing. | |||||
| 3 | George Washington University · Washington, DC | $78,857 | $36,586 | $17,440 | 47.1% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left George Washington University with a median of $20,449 in federal loans, while its Sociology completers report median earnings of $78,857 four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | University of Virginia-Main Campus · Charlottesville, VA | $68,538 | $21,565 | $8,174 | 16.8% |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus posts an average net price of $21,565 and its Sociology graduates, a cohort of 89, earn a median of $68,538 four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | University of Maryland-College Park · College Park, MD | $65,974 | $15,678 | $2,962 | 44.8% |
| Ranking 71st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of Maryland-College Park reports median earnings of $65,974 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | George Mason University · Fairfax, VA | $64,603 | $17,915 | $11,942 | 87.5% |
| With an admission rate of 87%, George Mason University reports median earnings of $64,603 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | University of Miami · Coral Gables, FL | $63,764 | $37,244 | $15,978 | 18.9% |
| University of Miami shows an average net price of $15,978 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $63,764 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University · Blacksburg, VA | $63,654 | $24,953 | $11,689 | 54.8% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ranks 8th on this list, with a Sociology earnings cohort of 209 graduates and a median of $63,654 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Shepherd University · Shepherdstown, WV | $63,412 | $11,363 | $7,906 | 96.8% |
| Shepherd University admits 97% of applicants, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $63,412 four years after completing. | |||||
| 10 | Morehouse College · Atlanta, GA | $62,517 | $39,013 | $36,359 | 44.0% |
| Morehouse College reports median federal debt of $25,000 across all of its borrowers who completed, alongside median earnings of $62,517 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Texas Christian University · Fort Worth, TX | $62,392 | $36,660 | $17,956 | 44.5% |
| A private nonprofit in Fort Worth, Texas Christian University posts an average net price of $36,660 and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $62,392 four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | University of Delaware · Newark, DE | $61,725 | $17,799 | $10,901 | 70.6% |
| University of Delaware ranks 242nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $61,725 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Duke University · Durham, NC | $61,425 | $29,612 | $735 | 5.7% |
| Duke University admits 6% of applicants and reports median earnings of $61,425 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 14 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $61,124 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from University of Georgia left with a median of $18,500 in federal loans, and the school ranks 95th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 15 | Wake Forest University · Winston-Salem, NC | $60,635 | $28,719 | $6,525 | 21.7% |
| Wake Forest University reports an average net price of $6,525 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $60,635 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Roanoke College · Salem, VA | $59,580 | $24,503 | $15,204 | 83.1% |
| Roanoke College ranks 16th on this list, with a cohort of 8 graduates in the earnings cohort and an admission rate of 83%. | |||||
| 17 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | $58,807 | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| The University of Texas at Austin reports median earnings of $58,807 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $19,857. | |||||
| 18 | University of Mary Washington · Fredericksburg, VA | $58,224 | $20,667 | $10,304 | 79.8% |
| University of Mary Washington admits 80% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $58,224 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Texas A&M University-College Station · College Station, TX | $57,857 | $21,315 | $12,784 | 57.4% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station ranks 25th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $57,857 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Baylor University · Waco, TX | $57,822 | $41,104 | $22,024 | 51.3% |
| Baylor University reports an average net price of $22,024 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $57,822 four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley · Edinburg, TX | $57,807 | $4,831 | $3,785 | 94.2% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley ranks 11th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $4,831. | |||||
| 22 | The University of Tampa · Tampa, FL | $57,474 | $36,211 | $30,011 | 40.3% |
| The University of Tampa reports median earnings of $57,474 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 40%. | |||||
| 23 | Mount St. Mary's University · Emmitsburg, MD | $57,290 | $22,655 | $11,603 | 73.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from Mount St. Mary's University left with a median of $25,391 in federal loans, and the school reports an average net price of $22,655. | |||||
| 24 | Bowie State University · Bowie, MD | $57,075 | $19,298 | $17,071 | 72.4% |
| Bowie State University ranks 24th on this list, with median earnings of $57,075 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY | $56,266 | $18,851 | $12,182 | 92.9% |
| University of Kentucky reports median earnings of $56,266 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,851. | |||||
| 26 | McDaniel College · Westminster, MD | $55,851 | $21,916 | $12,210 | 77.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Westminster, McDaniel College ranks 26th on this list and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $25,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 27 | Christopher Newport University · Newport News, VA | $55,057 | $23,015 | $12,461 | 86.0% |
| Christopher Newport University admits 86% of applicants and posts median earnings of $55,057 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $54,780 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from Clemson University left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earn a median of $54,780 four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | West Virginia University · Morgantown, WV | $54,596 | $15,634 | $9,450 | 89.0% |
| West Virginia University ranks 359th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $9,450 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 30 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $54,442 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 73.3% |
| With 158 graduates in the earnings cohort, Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College records median earnings of $54,442 for its Sociology completers four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | The University of Texas at Arlington · Arlington, TX | $54,401 | $13,951 | $11,893 | 79.9% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington holds an admission rate of 80% and an average net price of $13,951, while its Sociology graduates earn a median of $54,401 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Frostburg State University · Frostburg, MD | $54,197 | $16,715 | $12,129 | 89.2% |
| Frostburg State University ranks 32nd on this list, with median earnings of $54,197 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and a school-wide median federal debt of $21,105. | |||||
| 33 | Radford University · Radford, VA | $54,122 | $14,578 | $8,965 | 89.5% |
| An average net price of $8,965 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $54,122 for Sociology graduates of Radford University four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Washington College · Chestertown, MD | $53,799 | $27,898 | $17,804 | 56.9% |
| Washington College, a private nonprofit college in Chestertown, reports median earnings of $53,799 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 57%. | |||||
| 35 | Old Dominion University · Norfolk, VA | $53,734 | $14,638 | $9,739 | 90.4% |
| Old Dominion University ranks 154th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $24,000 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 36 | University of North Texas at Dallas · Dallas, TX | $53,689 | $6,420 | $4,713 | 84.5% |
| University of North Texas at Dallas posts an average net price of $6,420 and median earnings of $53,689 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 30 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 37 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN | $53,635 | $18,976 | $10,029 | 41.6% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville reports median earnings of $53,635 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $18,976. | |||||
| 38 | Jacksonville University · Jacksonville, FL | $53,457 | $25,180 | $21,893 | 56.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Jacksonville, Jacksonville University admits 57% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $53,457 four years after completing. | |||||
| 39 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $53,434 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| Texas State University ranks 39th on this list, and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $53,434 four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $53,293 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 60.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of South Carolina-Columbia left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, while its Sociology completers earned a median of $53,293 four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Virginia Commonwealth University · Richmond, VA | $53,122 | $23,433 | $17,512 | 92.6% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University has an admission rate of 93% and an average net price of $17,512 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 42 | University of Central Florida · Orlando, FL | $52,197 | $10,411 | $5,816 | 40.1% |
| University of Central Florida reports median earnings of $52,197 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 104 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 43 | Texas Woman's University · Denton, TX | $52,196 | $11,963 | $9,948 | 96.1% |
| Texas Woman's University ranks 43rd on this list and posts an average net price of $11,963. | |||||
| 44 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh · Raleigh, NC | $52,142 | $17,303 | $6,382 | 41.7% |
| A public university in Raleigh, North Carolina State University at Raleigh reports median federal debt of $20,121 across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 45 | Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA | $52,125 | $15,048 | $12,235 | 69.2% |
| Kennesaw State University ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $52,125 four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD | $52,116 | $14,985 | $9,585 | 82.2% |
| Morgan State University admits 82% of applicants and reports an average net price of $9,585 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 47 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Chapel Hill, NC | $51,801 | $11,655 | $2,004 | 15.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill reports median earnings of $51,801 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 106 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 48 | Texas Tech University · Lubbock, TX | $51,527 | $19,070 | $12,457 | 72.7% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Texas Tech University left with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, while its Sociology completers earned a median of $51,527 four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | University of Maryland-Baltimore County · Baltimore, MD | $51,421 | $16,467 | $5,087 | 72.4% |
| University of Maryland-Baltimore County reports median earnings of $51,421 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 49 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 50 | University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus · Norman, OK | $51,277 | $15,300 | $10,509 | 76.6% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $20,654 in federal loans at University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus, which ranks 50th on this list. | |||||
| 51 | University of Florida · Gainesville, FL | $51,039 | $6,541 | $1,982 | 24.2% |
| University of Florida posts an average net price of $6,541 and an admission rate of 24%. | |||||
| 52 | Florida Atlantic University · Boca Raton, FL | $50,983 | $8,752 | $3,022 | 66.1% |
| Florida Atlantic University ranks 100th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $50,983 four years after completing. | |||||
| 53 | Tulane University of Louisiana · New Orleans, LA | $50,847 | $39,949 | $16,126 | 14.0% |
| A private nonprofit university in New Orleans, Tulane University of Louisiana admits 14% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,847 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Florida State University · Tallahassee, FL | $50,612 | $11,297 | $5,938 | 24.2% |
| Florida State University shows an average net price of $5,938 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $50,612 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | University of Louisville · Louisville, KY | $50,397 | $17,988 | $15,138 | 79.4% |
| With 15 graduates in the earnings cohort, University of Louisville reports median earnings of $50,397 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Morehead State University · Morehead, KY | $50,331 | $9,793 | $7,150 | 77.2% |
| Morehead State University carries a school-wide median federal debt of $22,250 across all borrowers who completed, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $50,331 four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Saint Leo University · Saint Leo, FL | $50,231 | $21,293 | $19,602 | 78.4% |
| Saint Leo University ranks 57th on this list and posts an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 58 | Florida Gulf Coast University · Fort Myers, FL | $50,136 | $12,568 | $8,220 | 63.4% |
| Florida Gulf Coast University reports median earnings of $50,136 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and ranks 259th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 59 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte · Charlotte, NC | $49,765 | $15,435 | $10,357 | 79.6% |
| An average net price of $10,357 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with an admission rate of 80% at University of North Carolina at Charlotte. | |||||
| 60 | University of South Carolina Aiken · Aiken, SC | $49,530 | $11,641 | $8,987 | 78.5% |
| University of South Carolina Aiken reports median earnings of $49,530 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a school-wide median federal debt of $24,275 across all borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 61 | Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD | $49,411 | $17,743 | $6,743 | 87.5% |
| Salisbury University reports median earnings of $49,411 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,743. | |||||
| 62 | Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA | $49,333 | $15,931 | $13,787 | 55.4% |
| Georgia State University admits 55% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $49,333 four years after completing. | |||||
| 63 | University of North Texas · Denton, TX | $49,257 | $15,649 | $12,311 | 72.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left University of North Texas with a median of $19,250 in federal loans, while the school ranks 41st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 64 | Bridgewater College · Bridgewater, VA | $49,139 | $17,800 | $13,283 | 91.7% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Bridgewater, Bridgewater College shows an average net price of $13,283 for families earning under $30,000 and Sociology earnings of $49,139 four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | James Madison University · Harrisonburg, VA | $48,774 | $23,322 | $11,444 | 71.5% |
| James Madison University ranks 65th on this list, with a Sociology earnings cohort of 37 graduates and a median of $48,774 four years after completing. | |||||
| 66 | College of Charleston · Charleston, SC | $48,709 | $18,960 | $12,133 | 60.0% |
| College of Charleston posts an admission rate of 60% and an average net price of $12,133 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 67 | University of North Carolina Wilmington · Wilmington, NC | $48,591 | $20,109 | $10,778 | 64.2% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington reports median earnings of $48,591 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and a school-wide median federal debt of $19,500 across all borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 68 | University of Central Oklahoma · Edmond, OK | $48,562 | $18,309 | $15,275 | 78.1% |
| An average net price of $18,309 coincides with median Sociology earnings of $48,562 four years after completing at University of Central Oklahoma. | |||||
| 69 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $48,276 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Middle Tennessee State University shows an average net price of $13,359 and median Sociology earnings of $48,276 four years after completing. | |||||
| 70 | Randolph-Macon College · Ashland, VA | $48,275 | $27,866 | $16,601 | 86.6% |
| Randolph-Macon College admits 87% of applicants, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 71 | Oklahoma State University-Main Campus · Stillwater, OK | $48,175 | $17,447 | $12,243 | 75.0% |
| Oklahoma State University-Main Campus reports median earnings of $48,175 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an earnings cohort of 47 graduates. | |||||
| 72 | Tennessee State University · Nashville, TN | $47,853 | $15,796 | $15,005 | 70.1% |
| Tennessee State University ranks 72nd on this list, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $47,853 four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | McNeese State University · Lake Charles, LA | $47,592 | $12,493 | $10,482 | 78.3% |
| McNeese State University reports median earnings of $47,592 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 30 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 74 | Florida International University · Miami, FL | $47,538 | $9,288 | $7,003 | 54.7% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $16,500 in federal loans at Florida International University, which ranks 14th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 75 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $47,412 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia admits 52% of applicants and posts an average net price of $10,339 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 76 | University of South Florida · Tampa, FL | $47,379 | $9,812 | $4,122 | 43.2% |
| An average net price of $4,122 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $47,379 for Sociology graduates of University of South Florida four years after completing. | |||||
| 77 | Nicholls State University · Thibodaux, LA | $47,361 | $12,947 | $10,714 | 90.8% |
| Nicholls State University reports a 91% admission rate and median earnings of $47,361 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | Appalachian State University · Boone, NC | $47,180 | $16,836 | $9,325 | 90.1% |
| Appalachian State University reports a median of $20,231 in federal loans across all of its borrowers who completed, alongside median earnings of $47,180 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 79 | Winthrop University · Rock Hill, SC | $47,178 | $15,343 | $12,608 | 79.3% |
| Winthrop University ranks 696th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $47,178 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $47,056 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| With an admission rate of 75%, Coastal Carolina University reports median earnings of $47,056 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | The University of Texas at Dallas · Richardson, TX | $46,551 | $18,267 | $12,814 | 65.1% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas posts an average net price of $12,814 for families earning under $30,000 and a median of $18,000 in federal loans across all of its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 82 | University of Maryland Eastern Shore · Princess Anne, MD | $46,314 | $13,338 | $9,914 | 96.4% |
| University of Maryland Eastern Shore admits 96% of applicants, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $46,314 four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Western Carolina University · Cullowhee, NC | $46,195 | $13,315 | $8,816 | 81.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $21,868 in federal loans at Western Carolina University, which ranks 83rd on this list. | |||||
| 84 | University of Houston-Downtown · Houston, TX | $46,106 | $10,542 | $9,439 | 90.0% |
| University of Houston-Downtown reports median earnings of $46,106 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $10,542. | |||||
| 85 | Arkansas State University · Jonesboro, AR | $45,889 | $12,366 | $10,098 | 82.3% |
| Arkansas State University reports median earnings of $45,889 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $12,366. | |||||
| 86 | The University of Texas at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $45,866 | $10,836 | $7,870 | 86.8% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at The University of Texas at San Antonio left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans, and the school ranks 34th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 87 | University of Houston · Houston, TX | $45,530 | $14,276 | $10,929 | 73.9% |
| University of Houston admits 74% of applicants and posts median earnings of $45,530 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 88 | East Texas A&M University · Commerce, TX | $45,301 | $11,841 | $9,709 | 92.2% |
| Ranking 88th on this list, East Texas A&M University shows an average net price of $9,709 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 89 | Longwood University · Farmville, VA | $45,204 | $19,066 | $11,896 | 90.2% |
| Longwood University reports median earnings of $45,204 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 30 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 90 | Texas A&M University-San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $45,191 | $11,196 | $9,596 | 92.8% |
| A public university in San Antonio, Texas A&M University-San Antonio ranks 278th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 91 | University of North Carolina at Pembroke · Pembroke, NC | $44,935 | $10,260 | $7,919 | 93.3% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke reports median earnings of $44,935 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 93%. | |||||
| 92 | East Carolina University · Greenville, NC | $44,918 | $15,739 | $10,046 | 89.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at East Carolina University left with a median of $22,750 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology graduates earn a median of $44,918 four years after completing. | |||||
| 93 | University of North Carolina Asheville · Asheville, NC | $44,824 | $12,250 | $8,219 | 91.9% |
| University of North Carolina Asheville ranks 93rd on this list and shows an average net price of $8,219 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 94 | Texas A & M International University · Laredo, TX | $44,654 | $3,637 | $3,097 | 44.4% |
| Texas A & M International University reports an average net price of $3,637, the lowest on the page, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $44,654 four years after completing. | |||||
| 95 | Columbus State University · Columbus, GA | $44,506 | $13,115 | $11,271 | 99.1% |
| With an admission rate of 99%, Columbus State University reports median earnings of $44,506 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 96 | Lander University · Greenwood, SC | $44,287 | $15,363 | $11,450 | 81.3% |
| Lander University ranks 826th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $44,287 four years after completing. | |||||
| 97 | Lamar University · Beaumont, TX | $44,286 | $9,366 | $7,568 | 86.4% |
| Lamar University reports median earnings of $44,286 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,366. | |||||
| 98 | Lee University · Cleveland, TN | $44,193 | $18,878 | $12,834 | 70.5% |
| Lee University, a private nonprofit university in Cleveland, ranks 98th on this list and shows a school-wide median federal debt of $25,750 for its borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 99 | Louisiana Tech University · Ruston, LA | $44,192 | $11,864 | $7,676 | 86.4% |
| Louisiana Tech University admits 86% of applicants and posts median earnings of $44,192 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 100 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $44,176 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 67.9% |
| University of North Georgia ranks 255th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $6,981 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 101 | University of North Florida · Jacksonville, FL | $44,152 | $10,154 | $6,647 | 53.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed from University of North Florida left with a median of $15,531 in federal loans, and the school reports median earnings of $44,152 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 102 | North Carolina A & T State University · Greensboro, NC | $44,104 | $10,846 | $8,223 | 49.9% |
| North Carolina A & T State University ranks 102nd on this list, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 103 | Fayetteville State University · Fayetteville, NC | $43,889 | $7,892 | $6,233 | 82.2% |
| Fayetteville State University shows an average net price of $7,892 and median earnings of $43,889 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 104 | Southern University and A & M College · Baton Rouge, LA | $43,844 | $20,077 | $19,047 | 35.1% |
| Southern University and A & M College admits 35% of applicants and ranks 227th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 105 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $43,745 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate reports median earnings of $43,745 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with a cohort of 9 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 106 | Savannah State University · Savannah, GA | $43,690 | $8,172 | $6,739 | Not reported |
| Savannah State University ranks 106th on this list, and its school-wide median federal debt is $28,000 for borrowers who completed. | |||||
| 107 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $43,612 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 96.4% |
| Austin Peay State University admits 96% of applicants and shows an average net price of $7,588 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 108 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $43,595 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 72.0% |
| University of Memphis reports median earnings of $43,595 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 72%. | |||||
| 109 | Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY | $43,520 | $10,990 | $7,087 | 93.9% |
| Western Kentucky University reports median earnings of $43,520 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $10,990. | |||||
| 110 | Georgia Southwestern State University · Americus, GA | $43,457 | $12,019 | $10,477 | 75.2% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Georgia Southwestern State University left with a median of $18,851 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earn a median of $43,457 four years after completing. | |||||
| 111 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Greensboro, NC | $43,427 | $10,965 | $7,305 | 88.5% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro ranks 160th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a median of $43,427 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 112 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $43,316 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| An admission rate of 87% and median earnings of $43,316 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing are reported by University of Louisiana at Lafayette. | |||||
| 113 | University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, AR | $43,290 | $18,209 | $14,319 | 74.3% |
| University of Arkansas reports median earnings of $43,290 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $18,209. | |||||
| 114 | Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN | $42,830 | $14,246 | $9,815 | 76.1% |
| Tennessee Technological University ranks 114th on this list, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $42,830 four years after completing. | |||||
| 115 | University of Arkansas at Little Rock · Little Rock, AR | $42,390 | $17,248 | $15,195 | 58.8% |
| University of Arkansas at Little Rock reports an average net price of $15,195 for families earning under $30,000, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $42,390 four years after completing. | |||||
| 116 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $42,305 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| Georgia Southern University ranks 124th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $42,305 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 117 | Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, TX | $42,152 | $16,404 | $12,474 | 90.3% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Sam Houston State University left with a median of $21,983 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earn a median of $42,152 four years after completing. | |||||
| 118 | Tougaloo College · Tougaloo, MS | $42,121 | $17,043 | $17,294 | 59.9% |
| Tougaloo College, a private nonprofit institution, reports median earnings of $42,121 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $17,043. | |||||
| 119 | McMurry University · Abilene, TX | $41,749 | $19,581 | $15,946 | 57.0% |
| McMurry University admits 57% of applicants and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $41,749 four years after completing. | |||||
| 120 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $41,433 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University ranks 120th on this list, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $41,433 four years after completing. | |||||
| 121 | American University · Washington, DC | $41,025 | $41,943 | $23,233 | 62.0% |
| American University reports median earnings of $41,025 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $41,943. | |||||
| 122 | The University of Texas Permian Basin · Odessa, TX | $41,007 | $12,723 | $11,930 | 94.9% |
| The University of Texas Permian Basin admits 95% of applicants and ranks 298th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 123 | University of Central Arkansas · Conway, AR | $40,873 | $16,511 | $14,656 | 89.5% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at University of Central Arkansas left with a median of $20,346 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earned a median of $40,873 four years after completing. | |||||
| 124 | The Catholic University of America · Washington, DC | $40,467 | $29,561 | $17,358 | 82.8% |
| The Catholic University of America ranks 124th on this list, with an average net price of $17,358 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 125 | Virginia State University · Petersburg, VA | $40,432 | $15,840 | $13,220 | 88.6% |
| Virginia State University reports median earnings of $40,432 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 89%. | |||||
| 126 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $40,148 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham ranks 265th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earned a median of $40,148 four years after completing. | |||||
| 127 | Georgetown University · Washington, DC | $39,729 | $40,815 | $5,064 | 12.9% |
| Georgetown University admits 13% of applicants and reports an average net price of $5,064 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 128 | Claflin University · Orangeburg, SC | $39,353 | $17,800 | $16,354 | 64.9% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Claflin University left with a median of $29,000 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earned a median of $39,353 four years after completing. | |||||
| 129 | Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX | $39,067 | $11,656 | $8,856 | 93.5% |
| Midwestern State University ranks 129th on this list, with an average net price of $11,656 and median earnings of $39,067 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 130 | Rice University · Houston, TX | $39,009 | $13,370 | $5,827 | 8.0% |
| Rice University reports an admission rate of 8% and ranks 64th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 131 | Winston-Salem State University · Winston-Salem, NC | $38,245 | $13,479 | $11,463 | 78.3% |
| Winston-Salem State University reports median earnings of $38,245 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $13,479. | |||||
| 132 | Augusta University · Augusta, GA | $37,769 | $13,787 | $11,064 | 86.4% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Augusta University left with a median of $20,500 in federal loans, and the school admits 86% of applicants. | |||||
| 133 | Texas Lutheran University · Seguin, TX | $37,748 | $24,654 | $20,512 | 95.7% |
| Texas Lutheran University reports median earnings of $37,748 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $24,654. | |||||
| 134 | Francis Marion University · Florence, SC | $36,995 | $11,386 | $9,723 | 86.4% |
| Graduates across all fields who borrowed at Francis Marion University left with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, and the school's Sociology completers earn a median of $36,995 four years after completing. | |||||
| 135 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $36,966 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 86.2% |
| East Tennessee State University admits 86% of applicants and ranks 469th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 136 | University of Southern Mississippi · Hattiesburg, MS | $36,907 | $21,708 | $19,867 | 99.1% |
| University of Southern Mississippi ranks 136th on this list, with median earnings of $36,907 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 137 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $36,560 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University posts an average net price of $24,323, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $36,560 four years after completing. | |||||
| 138 | The University of Texas at El Paso · El Paso, TX | $35,325 | $9,403 | $7,863 | 99.9% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso reports median earnings of $35,325 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $18,000 in federal loans. | |||||
| 139 | Southern Methodist University · Dallas, TX | $35,060 | $40,892 | $23,544 | 63.4% |
| Southern Methodist University ranks 324th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its Sociology graduates earn a median of $35,060 four years after completing. | |||||
| 140 | Emory University · Atlanta, GA | $34,847 | $22,585 | $7,363 | 10.7% |
| Emory University admits 11% of applicants and reports an average net price of $7,363 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 141 | Mary Baldwin University · Staunton, VA | $34,420 | $12,756 | $12,717 | Not reported |
| Mary Baldwin University reports median earnings of $34,420 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $12,756. | |||||
| 142 | Lane College · Jackson, TN | $34,242 | $10,904 | $10,904 | Not reported |
| Lane College ranks 142nd on this list, and graduates across all fields who borrowed left with a median of $30,500 in federal loans. | |||||
| 143 | Howard University · Washington, DC | $33,993 | $50,539 | $46,051 | 41.3% |
| Howard University posts an average net price of $50,539 and an admission rate of 41%. | |||||
| 144 | University of North Alabama · Florence, AL | $33,810 | $12,170 | $9,741 | 87.3% |
| University of North Alabama reports median earnings of $33,810 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $9,741 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 145 | Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY | $32,569 | $8,191 | $2,603 | 67.7% |
| Northern Kentucky University reports median earnings of $32,569 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 13 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 146 | St. Mary's College of Maryland · St. Mary's City, MD | $31,839 | $18,441 | $2,889 | 68.6% |
| An average net price of $2,889 for families earning under $30,000 accompanies St. Mary's College of Maryland's 146th position on this list. | |||||
| 147 | Angelo State University · San Angelo, TX | $31,305 | $15,091 | $12,008 | 83.0% |
| Angelo State University admits 83% of applicants and shows median earnings of $31,305 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 148 | Texas A&M University-Kingsville · Kingsville, TX | $31,133 | $12,090 | $10,207 | 90.9% |
| Ranking 148th on this page, Texas A&M University-Kingsville sits at 281st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 149 | Clayton State University · Morrow, GA | $31,133 | $8,365 | $7,405 | 68.5% |
| Clayton State University carries an average net price of $8,365 alongside a 68% admission rate. | |||||
| 150 | Stephen F Austin State University · Nacogdoches, TX | $30,409 | $14,260 | $10,318 | 94.0% |
| With 14 graduates in the earnings cohort, Stephen F Austin State University posts median earnings of $30,409 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 151 | Stetson University · Deland, FL | $29,685 | $19,372 | $15,931 | 71.6% |
| A private nonprofit university in Deland, Stetson University reports an average net price of $15,931 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 152 | Furman University · Greenville, SC | $29,685 | $30,308 | $16,401 | 43.0% |
| Furman University ranks 152nd on this list and shows a 43% admission rate, with an average net price of $30,308. | |||||
| 153 | Emory & Henry University · Emory, VA | $29,685 | $19,061 | $14,246 | 83.7% |
| Median earnings of $29,685 four years after completing coincide with an average net price of $19,061 at Emory & Henry University. | |||||
| 154 | Albany State University · Albany, GA | $29,322 | $11,898 | $10,693 | Not reported |
| Albany State University holds an Azimuth composite rank of 152nd among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports 9 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 155 | Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University · Tallahassee, FL | $28,960 | $13,739 | $13,299 | 20.6% |
| Admitting 21% of applicants, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University lists median earnings of $28,960 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 156 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $28,960 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University ranks 156th on this page, with an average net price of $10,507 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 157 | Coker University · Hartsville, SC | $28,598 | $20,286 | $16,789 | 94.0% |
| Coker University reports median earnings of $28,598 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with 6 graduates in the earnings cohort. | |||||
| 158 | Meredith College · Raleigh, NC | $28,236 | $22,488 | $17,207 | 74.2% |
| Meredith College admits 74% of applicants and shows an average net price of $22,488. | |||||
| 159 | University of New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $25,967 | $12,384 | $11,532 | 74.3% |
| University of New Orleans ranks 159th on this list and carries an average net price of $12,384. | |||||
| 160 | Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KY | $25,194 | $11,040 | $8,591 | 77.6% |
| Eastern Kentucky University posts median earnings of $25,194 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,040. | |||||
| 161 | University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL | $25,194 | $17,683 | $14,471 | 53.9% |
| University of Montevallo ranks 940th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $25,194 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 162 | Goucher College · Baltimore, MD | $25,194 | $22,470 | $13,471 | 77.7% |
| Goucher College shows an average net price of $22,470 and an admission rate of 78%. | |||||
| 163 | University of Richmond · University Of Richmond, VA | $23,693 | $31,309 | $12,808 | 22.2% |
| University of Richmond admits 22% of applicants and reports median earnings of $23,693 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 164 | Xavier University of Louisiana · New Orleans, LA | $23,649 | $17,127 | $14,405 | 69.0% |
| Xavier University of Louisiana ranks 164th on this list, with median earnings of $23,649 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 165 | Flagler College · Saint Augustine, FL | $22,329 | $30,525 | $21,733 | 80.8% |
| Flagler College carries an average net price of $30,525 and reports median earnings of $22,329 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 166 | Northeastern State University · Tahlequah, OK | $21,964 | $12,710 | $10,598 | 99.6% |
| Northeastern State University admits 100% of applicants and ranks 388th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 167 | Fairmont State University · Fairmont, WV | $21,508 | $9,032 | $8,434 | 98.6% |
| Fairmont State University reports median earnings of $21,508 for its Sociology graduates four years after completing, with an average net price of $9,032. | |||||
| 168 | Paine College · Augusta, GA | $20,824 | $16,670 | $15,322 | 95.4% |
| Paine College ranks 168th on this list and shows an admission rate of 95%. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Programs are ordered by the median earnings of their Sociology graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only programs with a reported earnings cohort in the South appear. The figure is the median for federally aided completers of the program who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 35 of the 168 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from William & Mary to the bottom of the list is $66,831, and the gap between William & Mary and Vanderbilt University is $4,006.